respiratory system


The group of organs and tissues that are involved in breathing.

The respiratory system includes the nose, mouth, sinuses around the nose (called the paranasal sinuses), pharynx, larynx (voice box), trachea (windpipe), bronchi and lungs. It also includes the respiratory muscles, which are the muscles that help you breathe (such as the diaphragm).