Hormone therapy for prostate cancer

Hormone therapy is often used to treat prostate cancer. Hormone therapy for prostate cancer works by reducing the amount of androgens (male hormones) or blocking androgens from being used.

Androgens, such as testosterone, help prostate cancer cells to grow. Androgens control the development of male physical traits, such as a deep voice and the growth of hair on the body and face. Androgens are made mainly by the testicles.

Drugs or surgery can be used to block the production or effects of androgens like testosterone. Hormone therapy alone can't cure prostate cancer, but it can shrink tumours, slow the growth of cancer cells and help you live longer.

You may have hormone therapy to:

  • treat cancer that has spread outside of the prostate (called locally advanced or metastatic prostate cancer)
  • treat prostate cancer that comes back after treatment (called recurrent prostate cancer)
  • treat prostate cancer along with radiation therapy for cancer that has a higher risk of coming back
  • shrink a tumour before other treatments (called neoadjuvant therapy), such as surgery or radiation therapy

Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan your hormone therapy. You may start hormone therapy soon after you are diagnosed. Or you may not start treatment until the symptoms of prostate cancer get worse. You may be on hormone therapy longer than others. You may start and stop hormone therapy (called intermittent hormone therapy), while others will take it continuously for a long time.

Hormone therapy can stop working over time so that prostate cancer begins to grow again (called castration-resistant prostate cancer). When this happens, doctors may offer other hormone therapies or other treatments. They can't predict how long hormone therapy will work, so you will have regular blood tests to check prostate-specific antigen (PSA) and testosterone levels. If the PSA level starts to rise and the testosterone level is low, it may mean that the cancer has started to grow again.

Types of hormone therapy

There are different types of hormone therapy used to treat prostate cancer:

Luteinizing hormone–releasing hormone (LHRH) agonists

Luteinizing hormone–releasing hormone (LHRH) agonists are drugs that stop the testicles from making testosterone. LHRH agonists are also called LHRH analogs or gonadotropin-releasing hormone (GnRH) agonists.

The most common LHRH agonists used to treat prostate cancer are:

  • leuprolide (Lupron, Lupron depot, Eligard)
  • goserelin (Zoladex)
  • triptorelin (Trelstar)

These drugs are given either as an injection or as an implant placed under the skin. Different drugs are given on schedules that vary from once a month to once a year.

When you first take LHRH agonists, they cause a temporary rise in testosterone that lasts for about a week. This rise may cause symptoms to worsen for a few weeks. This is called a tumour flare reaction. Your doctor will likely prescribe another type of hormone therapy called an anti-androgen to help prevent a tumour flare reaction. Anti-androgens are usually started at the same time as LHRH agonists and are taken for a few weeks.

Luteinizing hormone–releasing hormone (LHRH) antagonists

LHRH antagonists (also called GnRH antagonists) are drugs that stop the pituitary gland from making LH. This causes the testicles to stop making testosterone. LHRH antagonists usually lower testosterone levels more quickly than LHRH agonists. They also don't cause a tumour flare reaction.

The LHRH antagonist used to treat prostate cancer is degarelix (Firmagon). It is given as a monthly injection.

Androgen synthesis inhibitors

Androgen synthesis inhibitors block enzymes that the body needs to make testosterone.

Androgen synthesis inhibitors include abiraterone (Zytiga). They may be used to treat advanced prostate cancers. Because these drugs can also block the production of cortisol, you will need to take a corticosteroid such as prednisone, methyl-prednisone or hydrocortisone.

Anti-androgens

Anti-androgens block the use of testosterone. They attach to androgen receptors on prostate cancer cells and prevent them from using testosterone to grow.

Anti-androgen drugs usually aren't given alone to treat prostate cancer. They may be used along with an orchiectomy or an LHRH agonist or LHRH antagonist (called combined androgen blockade, or CAB) as the main treatment for prostate cancer. Anti-androgens can also be given if the cancer starts to grow after an orchiectomy or while you are taking an LHRH agonist or LHRH antagonist (called castration-resistant prostate cancer). These drugs can also be used to prevent a tumour flare reaction if you are taking LHRH agonists. Because these drugs can also block the use of cortisol, you will need to take a corticosteroid such as prednisone or hydrocortisone.

Anti-androgens are given by mouth in pill or liquid form. The anti-androgens that are most commonly used be to treat prostate cancer are:

  • bicalutamide (Casodex)
  • flutamide
  • nilutamide (Anandron)
  • apalutamide (Erleada)
  • enzalutamide (Xtandi)
  • darolutamide (Nubeqa)

If prostate cancer stops responding to anti-androgens and the cancer begins to grow again, anti-androgen therapy is stopped. Sometimes prostate cancer stops growing when anti-androgens are stopped, but doctors aren't sure why this happens. This is called an anti-androgen withdrawal effect.

Orchiectomy

An orchiectomy (also called surgical castration) is surgery to remove the testicles. Removing the testicles reduces the amount of testosterone in the body. An orchiectomy is not commonly used to treat prostate cancer.

Variations in treating prostate cancer with hormone therapy

Prostate cancer treatment has become very personalized. For that reason there are several different ways of using hormone therapy to treat prostate cancer.

Early versus delayed treatment

Doctors don't always agree on when is best to start hormone therapy. Some think it works better if it's started as soon as possible, even if you aren't having symptoms. But others feel that hormone therapy shouldn't be started until you have symptoms.

Intermittent versus continuous hormone therapy

Many prostate cancers treated with hormone therapy become resistant to this treatment after months or years. For this reason, some doctors may use intermittent (on-again, off-again) treatment. This also gives you a break from side effects of hormone therapy.

Combined androgen blockade

Combined androgen blockade combines different types of hormone therapies. An androgen synthesis inhibitor or anti-androgen is combined with an orchiectomy, LHRH agonist or LHRH antagonist to maximize the blocking of androgens.

Triple androgen blockade

Triple androgen blockade is when a 5-alpha reductase inhibitor such as finasteride (Proscar) or dutasteride (Avodart) is given with combined androgen blockade.

Side effects

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment for prostate cancer, but everyone's experience is different. Some people have many side effects. Other people have few or none at all.

If you develop side effects, they can happen any time during, immediately after or a few days or weeks after hormone therapy. Sometimes late side effects develop months or years after hormone therapy. Most side effects go away on their own or can be treated, but some side effects may last a long time or become permanent.

Side effects of hormone therapy will depend mainly on the type of hormone therapy, the dose of a drug or combination of drugs, if any other treatments are given and your overall health. Some common side effects of hormone therapy for prostate cancer are:

  • sexual problems (low sex drive, erectile dysfunction or shrinkage of the testicles and penis)
  • hot flashes
  • mood swings
  • breast tenderness and growth of breast tissue (called gynecomastia)
  • loss of muscle and physical strength
  • bone thinning (called osteoporosis) and bone fractures
  • fluid retention
  • joint or muscle pain
  • fatigue
  • diarrhea
  • constipation
  • high blood pressure
  • headache
  • upset stomach
  • nausea
  • depression, trouble concentrating and memory problems
  • increased cholesterol
  • heart problems

Tell your healthcare team if you have these side effects or others you think might be from hormone therapy. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help you deal with them.

Information about specific cancer drugs

Details on specific drugs change regularly. Find out more about sources of drug information and where to get details on specific drugs.

Questions to ask about hormonal therapy

Find out more about hormonal therapy and side effects of hormonal therapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about hormonal therapy.

Expert review and references

Hormonothérapie du cancer de la prostate

On a souvent recours à l’hormonothérapie pour traiter le cancer de la prostate. L'hormonothérapie administrée pour le cancer de la prostate réduit la quantité d'androgènes (hormones mâles) ou empêche les androgènes d'être utilisés.

Les androgènes, comme la testostérone, aide les cellules du cancer de la prostate à croître. Les androgènes contrôlent l’apparition des caractéristiques physiques mâles, comme la voix grave et la pilosité faciale et corporelle. Les androgènes sont produits surtout par les testicules.

On peut avoir recours à des médicaments ou à la chirurgie pour bloquer la production ou les effets des androgènes comme la testostérone. Employée seule, l’hormonothérapie ne permet pas de guérir le cancer de la prostate, mais elle peut réduire la taille des tumeurs, ralentir la croissance des cellules cancéreuses et vous aider à vivre plus longtemps.

Vous pouvez recevoir une hormonothérapie pour :

  • traiter un cancer qui s'est propagé hors de la prostate (cancer de la prostate localement avancé ou métastatique);
  • traiter un cancer de la prostate qui est réapparu après le traitement (cancer de la prostate récidivant, ou récidive de cancer de la prostate);
  • traiter également un cancer de la prostate par radiothérapie si son risque de réapparition est plus élevé;
  • réduire la taille d’une tumeur avant d’autres traitements (on parle alors de traitement néoadjuvant) comme une chirurgie ou une radiothérapie.

Votre équipe de soins prendra vos besoins personnels en considération pour planifier l'hormonothérapie. Vous pourriez commencer l'hormonothérapie peu après votre diagnostic. Ou le traitement pourrait être administré seulement quand les symptômes du cancer de la prostate s'aggraveront. Vous pourriez recevoir une hormonothérapie plus longtemps que d'autres. L’hormonothérapie est parfois interrompue avant d’être recommencée (hormonothérapie intermittente), alors qu'elle est administrée de façon continue durant une longue période dans certains cas.

Il est possible que l’hormonothérapie cesse d’être efficace avec le temps et que le cancer de la prostate recommence à se développer (on dit alors que le cancer de la prostate est résistant à la castration). Quand cela se produit, les médecins peuvent proposer d’autres types d’hormonothérapie ou d’autres traitements. Ils ne peuvent pas savoir d’avance pendant combien de temps l’hormonothérapie sera efficace, alors on vous fera régulièrement des analyses sanguines pour mesurer vos taux d’antigène prostatique spécifique (APS) et de testostérone. Si le taux d’APS se met à augmenter tandis que le taux de testostérone reste faible, cela peut signifier que le cancer a recommencé à se développer.

Types d'hormonothérapie

On peut avoir recours à différents types d'hormonothérapie pour traiter le cancer de la prostate :

Analogues de l’hormone de libération de la lutéinostimuline (LHRH)

.

Les analogues de l'hormone de libération de la lutéinostimuline (LHRH) sont des médicaments qui empêchent les testicules de fabriquer la testostérone. Les analogues de la LHRH sont aussi appelés analogues de l'hormone de libération de la gonadotrophine (GnRH).

Les analogues de la LHRH les plus fréquemment utilisés pour traiter le cancer de la prostate sont les suivants :

  • leuprolide (Lupron, Lupron Depot, Eligard);
  • goséréline (Zoladex);
  • triptoréline (Trelstar).

Ces médicaments sont administrés par injection ou sous forme d’un implant placé sous la peau. Les modes d’administration des différents médicaments varient d’une fois par mois à une fois par année.

La première fois que des analogues de la LHRH sont administrés, le taux de testostérone augmente pendant environ une semaine. Cette hausse temporaire peut aggraver les symptômes pendant quelques semaines. C’est une réaction de flambée tumorale. Le médecin vous prescrira probablement un autre type d’hormonothérapie appelé anti-androgène pour aider à prévenir la réaction de flambée tumorale. L'administration des anti-androgènes commence habituellement en même temps que celle des analogues de la LHRH et elle dure quelques semaines.

Antagonistes de l'hormone de libération de la lutéinostimuline (LHRH)

Les antagonistes de la LHRH, aussi appelés antagonistes de la GnRH, sont des médicaments qui empêchent l'hypophyse de fabriquer la LH, ce qui fait que les testicules cessent de produire la testostérone. Habituellement, les antagonistes de la LHRH font baisser le taux de testostérone plus rapidement que les analogues de la LHRH. De plus, ils ne provoquent pas de réaction de flambée tumorale.

L’antagoniste de la LHRH employé pour traiter le cancer de la prostate est le dégarélix (Firmagon). On l’administre par injection une fois par mois.

Inhibiteurs de la synthèse des androgènes

Les inhibiteurs de la synthèse des androgènes bloquent les enzymes dont le corps a besoin pour produire la testostérone.

Les inhibiteurs de la synthèse des androgènes comprennent l'abiratérone (Zytiga). On peut y avoir recours pour traiter le cancer de la prostate avancé. Puisque ces médicaments peuvent aussi bloquer la production de cortisol, vous devrez prendre un corticostéroïde comme la prednisone, la méthylprednisone ou l'hydrocortisone.

Anti-androgènes

Les anti-androgènes bloquent l'emploi de la testostérone. Ils se lient aux récepteurs d'androgènes situés sur les cellules du cancer de la prostate et empêchent ces dernières d'utiliser la testostérone pour croître.

Les anti-androgènes ne sont généralement pas employés seuls pour traiter le cancer de la prostate. Comme traitement principal du cancer de la prostate, ils peuvent être associés à une orchidectomie, à un analogue de la LHRH ou à un antagoniste de la LHRH (blocage androgénique combiné, ou BAC). On peut également administrer des anti-androgènes si le cancer se met à se développer après une orchidectomie ou pendant que vous prenez un analogue ou un antagoniste de la LHRH (cancer de la prostate résistant à la castration). Les anti-androgènes peuvent aussi servir à prévenir une réaction de flambée tumorale si vous recevez un agoniste de la LHRH. Puisque ces médicaments peuvent aussi bloquer l'emploi du cortisol, vous devrez prendre un corticostéroïde comme la prednisone ou l'hydrocortisone.

Les anti-androgènes sont administrés par la bouche sous forme de pilules ou de liquide. Les anti-androgènes les plus souvent employés pour traiter le cancer de la prostate sont ceux-ci :

  • bicalutamide (Casodex);
  • flutamide;
  • nilutamide (Anandron);
  • apalutamide (Erleada);
  • enzalutamide (Xtandi);
  • darolutamide (Nubeqa).

Si le cancer de la prostate ne répond plus aux anti-androgènes et qu’il commence à se développer de nouveau, on cesse le traitement anti-androgénique. Il arrive que le cancer de la prostate arrête de se développer quand on cesse l’administration d’anti-androgènes, mais les médecins ne sont pas certains de comprendre pourquoi cela se produit. Cet effet est appelé réaction de sevrage anti-androgénique.

Orchidectomie

L’orchidectomie, ou castration chirurgicale, est une opération consistant à enlever les testicules. L’ablation des testicules réduit la quantité de testostérone dans le corps. On n'a pas fréquemment recours à l'orchidectomie pour traiter le cancer de la prostate.

Variations du traitement du cancer de la prostate par hormonothérapie

Le traitement du cancer de la prostate est devenu très personnalisé. C'est pourquoi on peut administrer l'hormonothérapie de plusieurs façons différentes pour traiter le cancer de la prostate.

Traitement précoce versus traitement tardif

Les médecins ne s'entendent pas toujours sur le moment où il est préférable de commencer l'hormonothérapie. Certains croient qu'elle est plus efficace si on l'administre le plus tôt possible, même si vous n'avez pas de symptômes. Mais d'autres pensent que l'hormonothérapie ne devrait pas commencer avant que vous ayez des symptômes.

Hormonothérapie intermittente versus hormonothérapie continue

De nombreux cancers de la prostate traités par hormonothérapie deviennent résistants à ce traitement après des mois ou des années. C'est pourquoi certains médecins peuvent administrer l'hormonothérapie de façon intermittente, c'est-à-dire qu'on l'arrête pour une période déterminée avant de la recommencer. Cela permet aussi d'éviter les effets secondaires de l'hormonothérapie pendant un certain temps.

Blocage androgénique combiné

Le blocage androgénique combiné consiste à associer différents types d'hormonothérapies. On associe un inhibiteur de la synthèse des androgènes ou un anti-androgène à une orchidectomie, un analogue de la LHRH ou un antagoniste de la LHRH afin de maximiser le blocage des androgènes.

Blocage androgénique triple

Le blocage androgénique triple consiste à associer un inhibiteur de la 5 alpha-réductase, comme le finastéride (Proscar) ou le dutastéride (Avodart), au blocage androgénique combiné.

Effets secondaires

Peu importe le traitement du cancer de la prostate, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque personne les ressent différemment. Certaines en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu ou pas du tout.

Si des effets secondaires se manifestent, ils peuvent le faire n’importe quand pendant l’hormonothérapie, tout de suite après ou quelques jours, voire quelques semaines plus tard. Il arrive que des effets secondaires apparaissent des mois ou des années à la suite de l’hormonothérapie (effets tardifs). La plupart disparaissent d’eux-mêmes ou peuvent être traités, mais certains risquent de durer longtemps ou d’être permanents.

Les effets secondaires de l’hormonothérapie dépendent surtout du type d’hormonothérapie, de la dose du ou des médicaments employés, de l’administration d’autres traitements et de votre état de santé global. Voici certains effets secondaires courants de l'hormonothérapie administrée pour le cancer de la prostate :

  • troubles sexuels (baisse de libido, dysfonctionnement érectile ou rétrécissement des testicules et du pénis);
  • bouffées de chaleur;
  • sautes d'humeur;
  • sensibilité des seins et développement du tissu mammaire (gynécomastie);
  • perte de masse musculaire et de force physique;
  • amincissement des os (ostéoporose) et fractures;
  • rétention de liquide;
  • douleur musculaire ou osseuse;
  • fatigue;
  • diarrhée;
  • constipation;
  • pression artérielle élevée;
  • maux de tête;
  • estomac dérangé;
  • nausées;
  • dépression, difficulté à se concentrer et troubles de la mémoire;
  • hausse du taux de cholestérol;
  • troubles cardiaques.

Avisez votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez ces effets secondaires ou d’autres problèmes que vous croyez liés à l’hormonothérapie. Plus tôt vous signalez un problème, plus rapidement on pourra vous dire comment aider à le traiter.

Informations sur des médicaments anticancéreux spécifiques

Les renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques changent régulièrement. Apprenez-en davantage sur les sources d’information sur les médicaments ainsi que sur les sites où vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques.

Questions à poser sur l’hormonothérapie

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’hormonothérapie et les effets secondaires de l’hormonothérapie. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur l’hormonothérapie à votre équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références