Grading prostate cancer

Grading describes how the cancer cells look compared to normal, healthy cells. Knowing the grade gives your healthcare team an idea of how quickly the cancer may be growing and how likely it is to spread. This helps them plan your treatment. The grade can also help the healthcare team predict future outcomes (your prognosis) and how the cancer might respond to treatment.

Gleason classification system

The Gleason classification system is most often used to grade prostate cancer. It is used for adenocarcinoma, which is the most common type of prostate cancer. The Gleason classification system looks at the differentiation of cancer cells and the pattern (arrangement) of the cancer cells in the prostate. Differentiation describes how different the cancer cells are.

Gleason patterns and grade

To find out the grade of prostate cancer, the pathologist looks at tissue samples from the prostate under a microscope.

There are 5 patterns of prostate cancer cells based on their differentiation. The lower the pattern number, the more cancer cells look, act and are arranged like normal cells. The pathologist will give a grade for each pattern of prostate cancer cells found in the biopsy. The grade of the cancer corresponds to the pattern number. Gleason patterns 1 and 2 look a lot like normal cells. Gleason pattern 5 looks very abnormal compared to normal cells. Gleason patterns 3 and 4 are somewhere in between. Most prostate cancers have a Gleason pattern of 3, 4 or 5.

Calculating the Gleason score

If the pathologist sees only 2 patterns of cancer cells, they will add the grades for each pattern together to get the total Gleason score. For example, if the pathologist gives the cancer cells in the most common pattern a grade of 3 and the cancer cells in the second most common pattern a grade of 4, the total Gleason score is 7. This is often written on the pathology report as 3 + 4 = 7 out of 10.

If there is a third pattern in the biopsy samples, the grade of the most common pattern of cancer cells is added to the pattern with the highest grade. This may be the second most common pattern or the least most common pattern. For example, if the pathologist gives the cancer cells in the most common pattern a grade of 3, the cancer cells in the second most common pattern a grade of 4, and another pattern of cancer cells a grade of 5, the total Gleason score is 8.

Grade group

To make the Gleason score easier to understand, doctors developed the Grade Group system. This gives a single score from 1 to 5 based on increasing Gleason scores. For example, Grade Group 1 corresponds to a Gleason score of 6 and Grade Group 5 corresponds to a Gleason score of 9 or 10.

Gleason score descriptions

The Gleason score and Grade Group are described in the following table.

Group grade

Gleason score

Description

1

6 or less The cancer is likely to grow and spread very slowly (called well differentiated or low grade).

2

3 + 4 = 7

The cancer is likely to grow and spread slowly (called moderately differentiated or intermediate grade).

3

4 + 3 = 7

The cancer is likely to grow and spread slowly (called moderately differentiated or intermediate grade). Grade Group 3 is more likely to grow and spread than Grade Group 2.

4

8

The cancer is likely to grow and spread quickly (called poorly differentiated or high grade).

5

9 or 10

The cancer is likely to grow and spread quickly (called poorly differentiated or high grade). Grade Group 5 is likely to grow and spread more quickly than Grade Group 4.

Expert review and references

Grades du cancer de la prostate

Le grade, ou classification histologique, définit l’apparence des cellules cancéreuses qu’on compare à celle des cellules normales et saines. Connaître le grade donne à votre équipe de soins une idée de la rapidité à laquelle le cancer peut se développer et de sa probabilité de propagation. Cela l’aide à planifier votre traitement. Le grade peut aussi aider l’équipe de soins à déterminer l’issue possible de la maladie (pronostic) et à prévoir comment le cancer pourrait répondre au traitement.

Classification de Gleason

La classification de Gleason est le système le plus souvent employé pour déterminer le grade du cancer de la prostate. Elle est utilisée dans le cas de l’adénocarcinome, qui est le type de cancer de la prostate le plus courant. La classification de Gleason repose sur le degré de différenciation des cellules cancéreuses et sur leur modèle de croissance (disposition) dans la prostate. La différenciation décrit à quel point les cellules cancéreuses sont différentes.

Modèles de croissance de Gleason et grade

Pour établir le grade du cancer de la prostate, le pathologiste examine au microscope des échantillons de tissu prélevés dans la prostate.

Les cellules du cancer de la prostate sont classées dans l'un des 5 modèles de croissance selon leur degré de différenciation. Plus le chiffre est bas, plus l’apparence, le comportement et la disposition des cellules cancéreuses ressemblent à ceux des cellules normales. Le pathologiste assigne un grade à chaque modèle de croissance des cellules cancéreuses présentes dans l’échantillon. Le grade du cancer correspond au chiffre du modèle de croissance. Pour les modèles de croissance de Gleason 1 et 2, les cellules cancéreuses ressemblent beaucoup à des cellules normales. Pour le modèle de croissance de Gleason 5, les cellules cancéreuses semblent très anormales comparativement aux cellules normales. Les modèles de croissance de Gleason 3 et 4 se situent quelque part entre les deux. Le modèle de croissance de Gleason de la plupart des cancers de la prostate est 3, 4 ou 5.

Calcul de la cote de Gleason

Si le pathologiste ne trouve que 2 modèles de croissance, il additionne le grade de chacun pour obtenir la cote de Gleason. Par exemple, s’il assigne le grade 3 aux cellules cancéreuses du modèle de croissance le plus présent et le grade 4 à celles du modèle de croissance qui arrive au deuxième rang, la cote de Gleason est de 7. Sur le rapport de pathologie, cela est souvent inscrit ainsi : « 3 + 4 = 7/10 ».

Si les échantillons comportent un troisième modèle de croissance, le grade du modèle de croissance le plus présent est additionné au grade le plus élevé, qu’il s’agisse du grade assigné au modèle de croissance arrivant au deuxième ou au troisième rang. Par exemple, si le pathologiste assigne le grade 3 aux cellules cancéreuses du modèle de croissance le plus présent, le grade 4 à celles du modèle de croissance arrivant au deuxième rang et le grade 5 à celles d’un troisième modèle de croissance, la cote de Gleason est de 8.

Groupe de grade

Afin de rendre la cote de Gleason plus facile à comprendre, les médecins ont conçu un système de groupes de grade. Ce système assigne un seul chiffre de 1 à 5 selon la cote de Gleason. Par exemple, le groupe de grade 1 correspond à une cote de Gleason de 6 et le groupe de grade 5 correspond à une cote de Gleason de 9 ou de 10.

Description des cotes de Gleason

Le tableau suivant décrit les cotes de Gleason et les groupes de grade.

Groupe de grade

Cote de Gleason

Description

1

6 ou moins Le cancer se développera et se propagera probablement très lentement (bien différencié, ou de bas grade).

2

3 + 4 = 7

Le cancer se développera et se propagera probablement lentement (modérément différencié, ou de grade intermédiaire).

3

4 + 3 = 7

Le cancer se développera et se propagera probablement lentement (modérément différencié, ou de grade intermédiaire). Le cancer de groupe de grade 3 est plus susceptible de se développer et de se propager que le cancer de groupe de grade 2.

4

8

Le cancer se développera et se propagera probablement rapidement (peu différencié, ou de haut grade).

5

9 ou 10

Le cancer se développera et se propagera probablement rapidement (peu différencié, ou de haut grade). Le cancer de groupe de grade 5 est susceptible de se développer et de se propager plus rapidement que le cancer de groupe de grade 4.

Révision par les experts et références