Risks for prostate cancer

Certain behaviours, substances or conditions can affect your risk, or chance, of developing cancer. Some things increase your risk and some things decrease it. Most cancers are the result of many risks. But sometimes cancer develops in people who don't have any risks.

The risk for prostate cancer increases as men get older. The chance of being diagnosed with prostate cancer is greater after age 50. Prostate cancer is most often diagnosed in men in their 60s.

The following can increase your risk for prostate cancer. Most of these risks cannot be changed.

Family history of prostate cancer

Black ethnicity (including African or Caribbean ancestry)

Obesity or overweight

Tall adult height

Inherited gene mutations

Family history of prostate cancer

There is convincing evidence that having a family history of prostate cancer increases your risk of developing the disease. This risk is higher if one of your first-degree relatives (your father, brother or son) has been diagnosed. The more first-degree relatives with prostate cancer you have, the greater your risk of developing prostate cancer.

Prostate cancer risk also depends on your relative's age at diagnosis. If your relative was diagnosed with prostate cancer before the age of 65, your chance of developing prostate cancer is higher than if your relative was diagnosed at an older age.

Black ethnicity (including African or Caribbean ancestry)

Prostate cancer occurs in Black men (including men of African or Caribbean ancestry) more often than in men of other ethnicities. Black men are also more likely to have prostate tumours that grow and spread quickly and more likely to die from prostate cancer compared to other men. The reason for this is not clear.

Obesity or overweight

There is strong evidence that having obesity or overweight increases the risk for prostate cancer. Having these conditions makes it more likely that prostate cancer will be diagnosed at a later stage. High body fat is also linked with a higher risk of developing high grade prostate cancer.

Your risk for prostate cancer is higher if you have excess weight with

  • a high body mass index (BMI)
  • a large waist measurement – your waist is 94 cm (37 inches) or larger
  • a high waist-to-hip ratio – your waist measurement divided by your hip measurement is 1.0 or higher

Tall adult height

There is evidence that being a tall adult man increases the risk for prostate cancer. Several factors that lead to tall adult height, such as genetics and rate of growth during childhood, seem to contribute to the greater risk.

Inherited gene mutations

Some inherited gene mutations may increase the chance of developing prostate cancer. Only a very small number of prostate cancer cases are linked with inherited gene mutations. Right now, gene testing is not commonly done for prostate cancer.

The 2 most common gene mutations related to prostate cancer are HOXB13 and BRCA2. (The BRCA2 gene mutation also increases the risk for breast or ovarian cancer). Researchers are studying many other gene mutations that may affect the risk of developing prostate cancer.

Possible risks

The following have been linked with prostate cancer, but there is not enough evidence to know for sure that they are risks. More research is needed.

Diets high in dairy products and calcium

There is some evidence that diets high in dairy products and calcium may increase the risk for prostate cancer. Milk, yogurt and cheese are examples of dairy products and are also foods high in calcium.

Low blood levels of vitamin E or selenium

Some research shows that men who have low levels of vitamin E or selenium in their blood may have a higher risk of developing prostate cancer. But there is not enough research to show that increasing the intake of vitamin E or selenium through diet or supplements can lower the risk for prostate cancer.

Working with certain chemicals

Some evidence suggests that contact with the following chemicals may increase the risk for prostate cancer.

Pesticides used in agriculture jobs are linked with a higher risk for prostate cancer. The risk may be even higher for men with a family history of prostate cancer. Researchers don't know how much exposure to pesticides and which specific chemicals affect prostate cancer risk.

Cadmium is a metal known to cause cancer (called a carcinogen). Some studies show that men who have contact with cadmium in smelting or battery manufacturing industries have a higher risk of developing prostate cancer. Not all research has shown this increased risk.

Chemicals in rubber manufacturing may increase the risk for prostate cancer.

Inflammation of the prostate

Inflammation of the prostate is called prostatitis. Many studies, but not all, show that long-term prostatitis increases the risk of developing prostate cancer. It also makes prostate cancer grow and spread more quickly. Find out more about prostatitis.

Smoking tobacco

Smoking tobacco may increase the risk for prostate cancer. Some studies also show that smoking may increase the risk of being diagnosed with fast-growing (aggressive) or advanced prostate cancer. It is unclear if smoking affects incidence, prognosis or both.

High levels of androgens

Androgens are male sex hormones that control the growth, development and function of the male reproductive system, which includes the prostate. Testosterone is the main androgen. It is naturally found in the body. It can also be taken as a treatment (called testosterone therapy) for certain conditions.

Some evidence suggests that high levels of androgens in the body are related to the development and growth of prostate cancer. More research is needed to understand the long-term effects of having high androgen levels and taking testosterone therapy.

Understanding your cancer risk

To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your doctor questions to ask about risks. Learn how cancer can be prevented and what you can do to reduce your risk.

Expert review and references

  • Canadian Cancer Society's Advisory Committee on Cancer Statistics. Canadian Cancer Statistics 2017. Toronto, ON: Canadian Cancer Society; 2017.
  • Cheng I, Witte JS, Jacobsen SJ, et al . Prostatitis, sexually transmitted diseases, and prostate cancer: the California Men's Health Study. PloS One. Public Library of Science (PLoS); 2010: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2806913/.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 83: Tobacco smoke and involuntary smoking. 2004: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol83/mono83.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100C: Arsenic, metals, fibres and dusts: a review of human carcinogens. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100C/mono100C.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100F: Chemical agents and related occupations: a review of human carcinogens. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100F/index.php.
  • Lewis-Mikhael AM, Bueno-Cavanillas A, Ofir Giron T, Olmedo-Requena R, Delgado-Rodriguez M, Jimenez-Moleon JJ . Occupational exposure to pesticides and prostate cancer: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Occupational and Environmental Medicine. 2016.
  • Mersch J, Jackson MA, Park M, et al . Cancers associated with BRCA1 and BRCA2 mutations other than breast and ovarian. American Cancer Society. Cancer. 2015: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25224030.
  • Schenk JM, Kristal AR, Arnold KB et al . Association of symptomatic benign prostatic hyperplasia and prostate cancer: results from the prostate cancer prevention trial. American Journal of Epidemiology. Oxford Journals; 2011: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3276227/.
  • Schenk JM, Till C, Hsing AW, et al. . Serum androgens and prostate cancer risk: results from the placebo arm of the Prostate Cancer Prevention Trial. Cancer Causes and Control. 2016: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4724283/.
  • Scher HI, Scardino PT, Zelefsky . Cancer of the prostate. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 68:932-980.
  • Tangen CM, Neuhouser ML, Stanford JL . Prostate cancer. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 53:997-1018.
  • World Cancer Research Fund and American Institute for Cancer Research. Continuous Update Project Report: Diet, Nutrition, Physical Activity and Prostate Cancer. 2018: https://www.wcrf.org/sites/default/files/Prostate-cancer-report.pdf.
  • World Cancer Research Fund, American Institute for Cancer Research (AICR). Food, Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Prostate Cancer. Washington, DC: American Institute for Cancer Research (AICR); 2014: http://www.wcrf.org/sites/default/files/Prostate-Cancer-2014-Report.pdf.

Risques du cancer de la prostate

Certains comportements, substances ou états peuvent affecter votre risque, ou probabilité, d’avoir le cancer. Il y a des choses qui font augmenter votre risque alors que d’autres le font diminuer. La plupart des cancers sont attribuables à de nombreux risques. Mais le cancer apparaît parfois chez des personnes qui ne présentent aucun risque.

Le risque de cancer de la prostate augmente quand les hommes vieillissent. Les probabilités de recevoir un diagnostic de cancer de la prostate sont plus élevées après l’âge de 50 ans. On diagnostique la maladie le plus souvent chez les hommes dans la soixantaine.

Le cancer de la prostate apparaît plus fréquemment chez les hommes noirs d’origine africaine ou carribéenne que chez les hommes d’autres groupes ethniques. Les hommes noirs sont également plus susceptibles d'avoir une tumeur agressive et de mourir de la maladie que les autres hommes. On ne s'explique pas clairement la cause de ces différences.

Les éléments suivants peuvent accroître votre risque de cancer de la prostate. La plupart ne peuvent pas être changés.

Antécédents familiaux de cancer de la prostate

Obésité et embonpoint

Grande taille à l’âge adulte

Mutations génétiques héréditaires

Antécédents familiaux de cancer de la prostate

Des preuves convaincantes permettent d’affirmer que des antécédents familiaux de cancer de la prostate font augmenter votre risque d'avoir cette maladie. Ce risque est plus élevé si l'un de vos parents au premier degré (votre père, frère ou fils) a reçu ce diagnostic. Plus vous avez de parents au premier degré qui sont atteints du cancer de la prostate, plus votre risque est grand.

Le risque de cancer de la prostate dépend également de l'âge auquel votre proche parent a reçu son diagnostic. Si cette personne a reçu son diagnostic de cancer de la prostate avant 65 ans, votre risque d'être atteint du cancer de la prostate est plus élevé que si le diagnostic avait été posé à un âge plus avancé.

Obésité et embonpoint

Selon des preuves solides, l'obésité et l'embonpoint font augmenter le risque de cancer de la prostate. Si vous êtes obèse ou si vous faites de l'embonpoint, il est plus probable que le cancer de la prostate sera diagnostiqué à un stade plus avancé. Une quantité importante de graisse corporelle est également liée à un risque plus élevé de cancer de la prostate de haut grade.

Votre risque de cancer de la prostate est plus élevé si vous avez un excès de poids ainsi que :

  • un indice de masse corporelle (IMC) élevé;
  • un tour de taille élevé − votre taille mesure 94 cm (37 po) ou plus;
  • un rapport taille-hanches élevé − votre tour de taille divisé par votre tour de hanches est égal ou supérieur à 1,0.

Grande taille à l’âge adulte

On a la preuve que le fait d’être grand à l’âge adulte accroît le risque de cancer de la prostate. Plusieurs facteurs à l’origine d’une grande taille à l’âge adulte, comme la génétique et la vitesse de croissance durant l’enfance, semblent contribuer à l'augmentation du risque.

Mutations génétiques héréditaires

Certaines mutations génétiques héréditaires pourraient faire augmenter le risque de cancer de la prostate. Il n’y a qu’un très faible nombre de cas de cancer de la prostate qui sont liés à des mutations génétiques héréditaires. À l'heure actuelle, on n'a pas couramment recours au dépistage génétique pour le cancer de la prostate.

Les 2 mutations génétiques les plus fréquemment associées au cancer de la prostate sont HOXB13 et BRCA2. (La mutation génétique BRCA2 fait également augmenter le risque de cancer du sein et de l’ovaire.) Des chercheurs étudient de nombreuses autres mutations génétiques susceptibles d’affecter le risque de cancer de la prostate.

Risques possibles

On a établi un certain lien entre les éléments qui suivent et le cancer de la prostate, mais on ne possède pas suffisamment de preuves pour affirmer qu'ils sont des risques. On doit faire plus de recherches.

Régimes alimentaires riches en produits laitiers et en calcium

Certaines données portent à croire que les régimes alimentaires riches en produits laitiers et en calcium peuvent faire augmenter le risque de cancer de la prostate. Le lait, le yogourt et le fromage sont des exemples de produits laitiers et d’aliments riches en calcium.

Faibles taux sanguins de vitamine E ou de sélénium

Des études montrent que les hommes dont le taux sanguin de vitamine E ou de sélénium est bas pourraient être plus à risque d’avoir un cancer de la prostate. Toutefois, on n’a pas encore effectué suffisamment de recherches pour conclure qu’un apport accru en vitamine E ou en sélénium par l’alimentation ou la prise de suppléments permet de réduire le risque de cancer de la prostate.

Travailler avec certains produits chimiques

Des données laissent entendre que le contact avec les produits ou substances chimiques qui suivent pourrait accroître le risque de cancer de la prostate.

Les pesticides utilisés dans les milieux de travail agricoles sont associés à un plus haut risque de cancer de la prostate. Ce risque peut être encore plus élevé en présence d'antécédents familiaux de cancer de la prostate. Les chercheurs ne savent pas spécifiquement quel niveau d’exposition aux pesticides ni quelles substances chimiques particulières influencent le risque de cancer de la prostate.

Le cadmium est un métal qui cause le cancer (carcinogène). Certaines études montrent que les hommes qui entrent en contact avec du cadmium dans l’industrie de fabrication des piles ou de la fusion risquent davantage d’être atteints du cancer de la prostate. Les études ne font pas toutes état d’une telle augmentation du risque.

Les produits chimiques utilisés dans l’industrie de la fabrication du caoutchouc peuvent faire augmenter le risque de cancer de la prostate.

Inflammation de la prostate

L’inflammation de la prostate est appelée prostatite. De nombreuses études, mais pas toutes, montrent qu’une prostatite qui dure longtemps accroît le risque de cancer de la prostate. Elle le fait aussi grossir et se propager plus rapidement. Apprenez-en davantage sur la prostatite.

Fumer du tabac

Fumer du tabac pourrait accroître le risque de cancer de la prostate. Certaines études montrent aussi que fumer du tabac pourrait faire augmenter le risque de recevoir un diagnostic de cancer de la prostate à croissance rapide (agressif) ou de stade avancé. On ne sait pas vraiment si le fait de fumer affecte l’incidence de la maladie, son pronostic ou les deux.

Taux élevés d’androgènes

Les androgènes sont des hormones sexuelles mâles qui contrôlent la croissance, le développement et la fonction de l’appareil reproducteur masculin, qui comprend la prostate. La testostérone est le principal androgène. Elle est présente naturellement dans le corps. On peut également la prendre pour traiter certaines affections (traitement de remplacement de la testostérone).

D'après certaines observations, des taux élevés d’androgènes dans le corps seraient liés à l'apparition et à la croissance du cancer de la prostate. Il faudra approfondir la recherche pour comprendre les effets à long terme de taux élevés d’androgènes et d’un traitement de remplacement de la testostérone.

Comprendre votre risque de cancer

Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur les risques à votre médecin. Renseignez-vous sur les façons de prévenir le cancer et de réduire votre risque.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Canadian Cancer Society's Advisory Committee on Cancer Statistics. Canadian Cancer Statistics 2017. Toronto, ON: Canadian Cancer Society; 2017.
  • Cheng I, Witte JS, Jacobsen SJ, et al . Prostatitis, sexually transmitted diseases, and prostate cancer: the California Men's Health Study. PloS One. Public Library of Science (PLoS); 2010: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2806913/.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 83: Tobacco smoke and involuntary smoking. 2004: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol83/mono83.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100C: Arsenic, metals, fibres and dusts: a review of human carcinogens. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100C/mono100C.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100F: Chemical agents and related occupations: a review of human carcinogens. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100F/index.php.
  • Lewis-Mikhael AM, Bueno-Cavanillas A, Ofir Giron T, Olmedo-Requena R, Delgado-Rodriguez M, Jimenez-Moleon JJ . Occupational exposure to pesticides and prostate cancer: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Occupational and Environmental Medicine. 2016.
  • Mersch J, Jackson MA, Park M, et al . Cancers associated with BRCA1 and BRCA2 mutations other than breast and ovarian. American Cancer Society. Cancer. 2015: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25224030.
  • Schenk JM, Kristal AR, Arnold KB et al . Association of symptomatic benign prostatic hyperplasia and prostate cancer: results from the prostate cancer prevention trial. American Journal of Epidemiology. Oxford Journals; 2011: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3276227/.
  • Schenk JM, Till C, Hsing AW, et al. . Serum androgens and prostate cancer risk: results from the placebo arm of the Prostate Cancer Prevention Trial. Cancer Causes and Control. 2016: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4724283/.
  • Scher HI, Scardino PT, Zelefsky . Cancer of the prostate. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 68:932-980.
  • Tangen CM, Neuhouser ML, Stanford JL . Prostate cancer. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 53:997-1018.
  • World Cancer Research Fund and American Institute for Cancer Research. Continuous Update Project Report: Diet, Nutrition, Physical Activity and Prostate Cancer. 2018: https://www.wcrf.org/sites/default/files/Prostate-cancer-report.pdf.
  • World Cancer Research Fund, American Institute for Cancer Research (AICR). Food, Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Prostate Cancer. Washington, DC: American Institute for Cancer Research (AICR); 2014: http://www.wcrf.org/sites/default/files/Prostate-Cancer-2014-Report.pdf.