Supportive care for prostate cancer

Supportive care helps people meet the physical, practical, emotional and spiritual challenges of prostate cancer. It is an important part of cancer care. There are many programs and services available to help meet the needs and improve the quality of life of people living with cancer and their loved ones, especially after treatment has ended.

Recovering from prostate cancer and adjusting to life after treatment is different for each person, depending on the stage of cancer, the organs or tissues removed during surgery, the type of treatment and many other factors. The end of cancer treatment may bring mixed emotions. Even though treatment has ended, there may be other issues to deal with, such as coping with long-term side effects. If you have been treated for prostate cancer you may have the following concerns.

Coping with your emotions

Going through many emotions is a normal part of having cancer, whether you've just been diagnosed, finished treatment or found out that cancer has come back. Many people describe this as being on an emotional roller coaster.

Everyone reacts to a cancer diagnosis in their own way. It's hard to predict how quickly or easily someone will adjust to the situation. How you react and adjust to living with cancer often depends on how you face other problems and crises. Learning about the emotional effects of cancer can help you cope. It can also help you understand and support others through these hard times.

Find out more about coping with your emotions and coping with anxiety and stress.

Dealing with practical matters

When you have cancer, many things may feel like they are out of your control. You may worry about your job or dwell on money concerns. You may have new expenses to pay for, like help around the house or renovations to fit your new needs. Things such as travelling may need to be thought about in a whole new way.

Find out more about planning for the future, finances, work and travel.

Getting support and talking about cancer

Talking about cancer isn't easy. It's hard to know what to say. And it's hard to predict how others will react to news of a diagnosis, to updates about treatment or to hearing that cancer has come back. You may worry that you'll start to cry or that talking about your feelings is a sign of weakness. You may avoid talking about how you feel because you don't want people to get upset or worry about you.

But it's good to talk. It can help you understand your own emotions and feel more in control. It can make your relationships stronger and help people understand what you're going through. And it's the first step to getting support. Simply having someone listen can help you. And once people know what you're going through, they usually want to help in other ways as well.

Find out more about talking about cancer.

Self-esteem and body image

How a person feels about themselves is called self-esteem. Body image is how a person sees their own body. Prostate cancer and its treatments can affect your self-esteem and body image. Often this is because cancer or cancer treatments, such as hormone therapy or surgery, can result in body changes, such as:

  • loss of body weight and muscle mass
  • growth or tenderness of the breast tissue
  • hot flashes and mood swings
  • loss of one or both testicles
  • loss of bladder control (called urinary incontinence)
  • sexual problems, including erectile dysfunction

Some of these changes can be temporary. Others will last for a long time or be permanent.

Your healthcare team can help you find a counsellor or give you resources to help you cope with self-esteem and body image issues. They can also suggest other resources to help you. For example, you may choose to have testicular prosthesis surgery if you had one or both of your testicles removed. This surgery helps improve the appearance of the scrotum after your testicle is removed.

Sexuality

Many men continue to have strong, supportive relationships and a satisfying sex life after prostate cancer. If sexual problems happen because of prostate cancer or its treatments, there are ways to manage them.

Most men with prostate cancer are older when they are diagnosed, so not being able to get someone pregnant is often not an issue. Be sure to talk to your doctor if you have concerns about how treatment may affect your fertility.

Types of sexual problems

The following sexual problems can happen because of prostate cancer treatment.

Erectile dysfunction means not being able to get and keep an erection firm enough to have sex.

Retrograde ejaculation means that during orgasm the semen flows backward into the bladder and mixes with urine (pee), rather than coming out through the penis. This can happen in those who have had a transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP).

Dry orgasm means that a man reaches sexual climax but doesn't ejaculate semen. It can happen after a radical prostatectomy because this surgery removes the prostate and seminal vesicles, which make most of the fluid in semen. As a result, men who have this surgery aren't able to get someone pregnant naturally.

Loss of sex drive is also called decreased libido. It is common to have less interest in sex when you are diagnosed with cancer and during treatment. Hormone therapy in particular can lower your sex drive because it lowers testosterone levels. Your sex drive can be low after treatment because you may worry that it will be painful or that you won't be able to get an erection or have an orgasm.

Getting help

You might need help to deal with sexual concerns or problems. Health professionals who specialize in sexual problems can provide information and support to people with cancer and their partners. Sexual counselling can be done on a one-to-one basis, with a partner or in a group. Counselling can help you talk openly about your problems, work through your concerns and discover new ways of coping or finding sexual pleasure.

Talk to your healthcare team about resources available. They can suggest ways to cope with sexual problems, including physiotherapy, medicines, devices or prosthetics.

Find out more about sex, intimacy and cancer and ways to manage sexual problems.

Urinary incontinence

Urinary incontinence is a loss of bladder control. It can happen when a tumour in the prostate grows, presses on the urethra and blocks the flow of urine from the bladder. Surgery or radiation therapy for prostate cancer can also damage the nerves or muscles that control the bladder or the release of urine. Radiation therapy can also irritate the lining of the bladder, which can lead to the need to urinate often and an urgent need to urinate.

Urinary incontinence may be embarrassing and inconvenient, but it can be treated with medicine, surgery, changes in behaviour or medical devices to achieve better control.

Find out more about urinary incontinence.

Bowel problems

If you are treated with radiation therapy, you may develop bowel problems such as irregularity, excessive flatulence, cramping or diarrhea. Talk to your healthcare team if you have bowel problems. They can suggest changes to your diet or prescribe medicines that can help you manage these problems.

Fatigue

Fatigue causes a person to feel more tired than usual and can interfere with daily activities and sleep. It may be caused by a low red blood cell count (called anemia), specific drugs, poor appetite or depression. It may also be related to toxic substances that are made when cancer cells break down and die. Fatigue may get better as time goes by, or it can continue long after you have finished cancer treatment.

Find out more about fatigue.

Osteoporosis and bone fractures

Osteoporosis is when bones lose mass (density) and the bone tissue breaks down. Some hormone therapies used to treat prostate cancer can increase the risk for osteoporosis. These therapies lower the amount of testosterone in the body so cancer cells can't use it to grow. But testosterone also plays a role in maintaining strong bones, so hormone therapies that lower testosterone levels can cause bone loss. Cancer that has spread to the bones can also lead to bone weakness and fractures.

Finding and treating osteoporosis early can help prevent bone loss and bone fractures. Treatment for osteoporosis includes drugs called bisphosphonates and denosumab. It is important to also take calcium and vitamin D.

Find out more about osteoporosis.

Fear of recurrence

If you are treated for prostate cancer, you may worry that it will come back (recur). It is important to learn how to deal with these fears to maintain a good quality of life.

If you find that you're worried and anxious all the time, or if your anxiety is interfering with your daily life, you may want to talk to a counsellor. It is important to get worries under control so you can focus on living, take care of your health and make the most of each day.

Find out more about worrying that cancer will come back.

Second cancers

Survivors of prostate cancer have a higher risk of developing a different (second) cancer including:

  • small intestine cancer
  • soft tissue sarcoma
  • bladder cancer
  • thyroid cancer
  • thymus cancer
  • melanoma skin cancer
  • rectal cancer
  • acute myelogenous leukemia (AML)

The risk of developing a second cancer is linked to having certain genetic mutations or making certain lifestyle choices. Radiation therapy can also increase the risk for a second cancer, depending on the type and dose used. But the benefit of treating prostate cancer with radiation therapy usually far outweighs the risk.

Living a healthy lifestyle and developing a wellness plan

Living a healthy lifestyle that includes avoiding tobacco, eating well, getting enough physical activity, maintaining a healthy weight and limiting alcohol may help you live longer and lower your risk of recurrence or developing a second cancer. Your healthcare team can help you to develop a wellness plan for staying healthy. Routine screening to find a second cancer early, being aware of changes in your health and reporting problems to your doctor are also important parts of follow-up care after cancer treatment.

Nutrition

Eating a healthy, well-balanced diet that includes a variety of food groups can help you recover from prostate cancer. Eating well can also help you to live longer and may help lower your risk of developing a second cancer.

While recovering from prostate cancer, try to:

  • eat a diet high in vegetables, fruit and whole grains
  • limit high-calorie foods and beverages
  • eat a diet low in saturated fat

If you received hormone therapy or radiation therapy to treat prostate cancer, be sure to talk to your doctor or a dietitian about the best nutrition for you. Research shows that getting enough vitamin D and calcium can help prevent osteoporosis and bone fractures in those having hormone therapy. Some men who receive radiation therapy have problems properly absorbing nutrients from food.

Find out more about eating well.

Questions to ask about supportive care

To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about supportive care.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Prostate Cancer. Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2015: http://www.cancer.org/acs/groups/cid/documents/webcontent/003134-pdf.pdf.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Prostate Cancer. 2014: http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/prostate-cancer/view-all.
  • Barauskas Dorff T, Pinski J . The hormonal management of prostate cancer. Nargund VH, Raghavan D, Sandler HM (eds.). Urological Oncology. Springer; 2015: 48: 817-834.
  • Garnick MB (ed.). Harvard Medical School 2015 Annual Report on Prostate Diseases. 2015.
  • Hu MI, Jiminez C, Busaidy NL, Habra MA . Endocrinologic issues. Foxhall LE, Rodriguez MA (eds.). Advances in Cancer Survivorship Management. New York: Springer; 2015: 21: 343-360.
  • Klemanski, D. and Lester, J. L . Chronic gastrointestinal and genitourinary symptoms. Lester JL & Schitt P (eds.). Cancer Rehabilitation and Survivorship: Transdisciplinary Approaches to Personalized Care. Pittsburg: Oncology Nursing Society; 2011: 12: pp. 113-122.
  • Krebs, LU . Altered Body Image and Sexual Health. Yarbro CH, Wujcik D, & Holmes Gobel B (eds.). Cancer Symptom Management. 4th ed. Jones & Bartlett Learning; 2014: 24:507-540.
  • Patterson, JL, Davis JW, Kim J, Hoffman KE, Osai WE, Kuban DA . Genitourinary cancer survivorship management. Foxhall LE, Rodriguez MA (eds.). Advances in Cancer Survivorship Management. New York: Springer; 2015: 7: 95-124.
  • Skolarus TA, Wolf AMD, Erb NL, Brooks DD, Rivers BM, Underwood W III, et al . American Cancer Society prostate cancer survivorship care guidelines. CA: A Cancer Journal for Clinicians. 201: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.3322/caac.21234/full.

Soins de soutien pour le cancer de la prostate

Les soins de soutien permettent aux gens de surmonter les obstacles physiques, pratiques, émotifs et spirituels engendrés par le cancer de la prostate. C'est une composante importante des soins apportés aux personnes atteintes de cette maladie. De nombreux programmes et services permettent de répondre aux besoins et d'améliorer la qualité de vie de ces personnes et de leurs proches, en particulier une fois que le traitement est terminé.

Se rétablir d’un cancer de la prostate et s’adapter à sa vie après le traitement diffèrent pour chaque personne selon le stade du cancer, les organes ou tissus enlevés lors de la chirurgie, le type de traitement et bien d’autres facteurs. La fin du traitement d'un cancer peut engendrer des émotions partagées. Même si le traitement est terminé, il pourrait y avoir d'autres questions à régler, comme l'adaptation aux effets secondaires à long terme. Si vous avez été traité pour un cancer de la prostate, vous pourriez vous préoccuper des aspects suivants.

Faire face à vos émotions

Ressentir de nombreuses émotions est normal lorsqu'on a le cancer, que vous veniez tout juste de recevoir votre diagnostic, que vous ayez terminé votre traitement ou que vous ayez appris que le cancer est réapparu. Bien des gens comparent alors leur état émotionnel à des montagnes russes.

Chacun réagit à sa manière à un diagnostic de cancer. Il est difficile de prévoir la rapidité ou la facilité avec laquelle une personne s'adaptera à la situation. Comment vous réagissez et vous vous adaptez à la maladie dépend souvent de la façon dont vous surmontez d'autres problèmes et crises. Vous renseigner sur les conséquences émotionnelles du cancer peut vous aider à y faire face. Cela peut aussi vous aider à comprendre ce que vivent d’autres personnes et à les soutenir pendant ces moments difficiles.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les façons de faire face à vos émotions et de composer avec l'anxiété et le stress.

Régler les questions d'ordre pratique

Quand on a le cancer, bien des choses peuvent sembler nous échapper. Vous vous inquiéterez peut-être de votre emploi ou de questions d'argent. Il est possible que vous ayez de nouvelles dépenses pour obtenir de l’aide à la maison ou adapter votre domicile à vos nouveaux besoins. Vous devrez peut-être repenser complètement certains aspects de votre vie, comme les voyages.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la planification de l'avenir, les finances, le travail et les voyages.

Obtenir du soutien et parler du cancer

Parler du cancer n'est pas chose facile. On ne sait pas nécessairement quoi dire. Et il n’est pas évident de prédire la réaction des autres à l’annonce d’un diagnostic de cancer, des résultats du traitement ou d’une récidive de la maladie. Vous craignez peut-être de vous mettre à pleurer, ou vous vous dites que parler de vos émotions est un signe de faiblesse. Vous pourriez aussi éviter de partager vos états d’âme pour ne pas bouleverser ou inquiéter vos proches.

Mais il est bon de parler. Cela peut vous aider à mieux comprendre vos propres émotions et à avoir plus d’emprise sur la situation. Cela peut également renforcer vos liens avec vos proches et leur donner une idée plus précise de ce que vous vivez. Et c’est la première chose à faire pour obtenir du soutien de leur part. Le simple fait que quelqu’un vous écoute peut déjà vous apporter un certain réconfort. Lorsqu’ils sauront ce que vous traversez, les gens de votre entourage ne demanderont sans doute qu’à vous épauler de toutes les façons possibles.

Apprenez-en davatange sur les façons de parler du cancer.

Estime de soi et image corporelle

L’estime de soi, c’est ce qu’on ressent face à soi-même. L’image corporelle, c’est la façon dont on perçoit son propre corps. Le cancer de la prostate et ses traitements peuvent affecter votre estime de vous-même et votre image corporelle. C’est souvent parce que le cancer ou ses traitements, comme l'hormonothérapie ou la chirurgie, peuvent engendrer des changements corporels tels que ceux-ci :

  • perte de poids et de masse musculaire;
  • développement ou sensibilité du tissu mammaire;
  • bouffées de chaleur et sautes d’humeur;
  • perte de l’un ou des deux testicules;
  • perte du contrôle de la vessie (incontinence urinaire);
  • troubles sexuels, dont le dysfonctionnement érectile.

Certains de ces changements peuvent être temporaires. D’autres dureront longtemps ou seront permanents.

Votre équipe de soins peut vous aider à trouver un thérapeute ou vous fournir des ressources qui vous aideront à faire face aux problèmes d’estime de soi et d’image corporelle. Elle peut aussi vous proposer d’autres moyens de vous venir en aide. Vous pourriez, par exemple, opter pour la mise en place chirurgicale d'une prothèse testiculaire si on vous a enlevé un testicule ou les deux. Cette intervention aide à améliorer l’apparence du scrotum une fois que le testicule a été enlevé.

Sexualité

De nombreux hommes continuent de vivre des relations solides empreintes de soutien et d’avoir une vie sexuelle satisfaisante après un cancer de la prostate. Si des troubles sexuels se manifestent à cause du cancer de la prostate ou de ses traitements, il existe des moyens de les gérer.

La plupart des hommes atteints d'un cancer de la prostate sont âgés au moment du diagnostic, donc l’incapacité de mettre une personne enceinte pose rarement des problèmes. Discutez avec votre médecin si vous êtes préoccupé par l’effet du traitement sur votre fertilité.

Types de troubles sexuels

Les troubles sexuels suivants peuvent survenir à cause du traitement du cancer de la prostate.

Le dysfonctionnement érectile est l’incapacité d’avoir et de maintenir une érection suffisamment ferme pour permettre une relation sexuelle.

L’éjaculation rétrograde signifie que le sperme remonte dans la vessie et se mélange à l’urine au lieu de sortir par le pénis lors de l’orgasme. Elle peut se produire chez les personnes qui ont subi une résection transurétrale de la prostate (RTUP).

Un orgasme sec signifie qu’un homme n’éjacule pas de sperme au moment où il jouit. Cela peut arriver après une prostatectomie radicale puisque cette chirurgie consiste à enlever la prostate et les vésicules séminales, qui produisent la plus grande partie du liquide dans le sperme. Les personnes qui ont subi cette opération ne sont donc pas en mesure de rendre une personne enceinte naturellement.

La perte de désir sexuel est aussi appelée baisse de libido. Il est fréquent d’éprouver moins d’intérêt pour le sexe après avoir reçu un diagnostic de cancer et pendant le traitement. L’hormonothérapie risque particulièrement de réduire votre désir sexuel, car elle diminue le taux de testostérone. Il est également possible que vous ayez peu de désir sexuel après le traitement si vous craignez que les relations sexuelles soient douloureuses ou que vous ne soyez pas capable d’avoir une érection ou d’atteindre l’orgasme.

Obtenir de l’aide

Vous pourriez avoir besoin d'aide pour faire face aux troubles sexuels ou aux préoccupations liées à la sexualité. Des professionnels de la santé spécialisés en troubles sexuels peuvent fournir de l’information et apporter du soutien aux personnes atteintes de cancer et à leurs partenaires. Le counseling sexuel peut se faire individuellement, en couple ou en groupe. Le counseling peut vous aider à parler ouvertement de vos problèmes, à affronter vos préoccupations et à découvrir de nouvelles manières de vous adapter ou d’obtenir du plaisir sexuel.

Discutez des ressources qui existent avec votre équipe de soins. Elle peut vous proposer des moyens de vous adapter aux troubles sexuels, comme la physiothérapie, des médicaments, des dispositifs ou des prothèses.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la sexualité, l'intimité et le cancer et les façons de gérer les troubles sexuels.

Incontinence urinaire

L’incontinence urinaire est la perte du contrôle de la vessie. Elle peut survenir lorsqu’une tumeur de la prostate grossit, qu'elle exerce une pression sur l’urètre puis qu'elle bloque l'écoulement de l’urine par la vessie. Une chirurgie ou une radiothérapie visant à traiter un cancer de la prostate peut aussi endommager les nerfs ou les muscles qui contrôlent la vessie ou l’écoulement de l’urine. La radiothérapie peut également irriter le revêtement de la vessie, ce qui peut provoquer un besoin d’uriner souvent et un besoin pressant d'uriner.

L’incontinence urinaire peut être embarrassante et incommodante, mais on peut la traiter à l’aide de médicaments, d’une chirurgie, de changements comportementaux ou de dispositifs médicaux afin d'obtenir un meilleur contrôle de la vessie.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’incontinence urinaire.

Troubles intestinaux

Si vous êtes traité par radiothérapie, vous pourriez avoir des troubles intestinaux comme l'irrégularité, des flatulences excessives, des crampes ou de la diarrhée. Parlez à votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez des troubles intestinaux. Elle peut vous proposer des changements alimentaires ou vous prescrire des médicaments susceptibles de vous aider à gérer ces problèmes.

Fatigue

La fatigue rend une personne plus lasse que d’habitude et peut nuire aux activités quotidiennes et au sommeil. Elle peut être causée par un nombre peu élevé de globules rouges (anémie), des médicaments particuliers, une perte d’appétit ou la dépression. Elle peut aussi être associée à des substances toxiques produites lorsque les cellules cancéreuses se décomposent et meurent. La fatigue peut s’atténuer avec le temps, mais elle peut également se prolonger bien après la fin du traitement du cancer.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la fatigue.

Ostéoporose et fractures

L’ostéoporose est la perte de masse (densité) osseuse et la dégradation du tissu osseux. Certaines hormonothérapies administrées comme traitement du cancer de la prostate peuvent accroître le risque d’ostéoporose. Ces traitements réduisent la quantité de testostérone dans le corps, empêchant ainsi les cellules cancéreuses de l’utiliser pour croître. Mais la testostérone joue aussi un rôle dans le maintien d’os solides, donc les hormonothérapies qui abaissent le taux de testostérone peuvent causer une perte osseuse. Un cancer qui s’est propagé aux os risque également d’affaiblir les os et de provoquer des fractures.

La détection précoce et le traitement rapide de l’ostéoporose peuvent aider à prévenir la perte osseuse et les fractures. Le traitement de l'ostéoporose comprend l'administration de médicaments appelés bisphosphonates et de dénosumab. Il est important de prendre du calcium et de la vitamine D.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’ostéoporose.

Peur de la récidive

Si vous êtes traité pour un cancer de la prostate, vous vous préoccupez peut-être de la réapparition (récidive) possible du cancer. Il est important d’apprendre à faire face à ces inquiétudes afin de maintenir une bonne qualité de vie.

Si vous constatez que vous êtes constamment inquiet et angoissé ou si votre anxiété nuit à votre vie quotidienne, vous pourriez envisager de parler avec un thérapeute. Il est important d’apprendre à maîtriser votre inquiétude afin de consacrer votre énergie à vivre votre vie, à prendre soin de votre santé et à profiter le plus possible de chaque journée.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’inquiétude face à la réapparition possible du cancer.

Cancers secondaires

Les survivants du cancer de la prostate risquent davantage d’être atteints d’un autre (deuxième) cancer dont ceux-ci :

  • cancer de l’intestin grêle;
  • sarcome des tissus mous;
  • cancer de la vessie;
  • cancer de la thyroïde;
  • cancer du thymus;
  • mélanome;
  • cancer du rectum;
  • leucémie aiguë myéloblastique (LAM).

Le risque d’apparition d’un cancer secondaire est lié à certaines mutations génétiques ou à certaines habitudes de vie. La radiothérapie peut aussi accroître le risque de cancer secondaire, selon le type employé et la dose administrée. Mais en général, les bienfaits du traitement du cancer de la prostate par radiothérapie surpassent largement le risque.

Adopter un mode de vie sain et concevoir un plan de mieux-être

Adopter un mode de vie sain, y compris éviter le tabac, bien s’alimenter, faire suffisamment d’activité physique, maintenir un poids santé et limiter sa consommation d’alcool, peut vous aider à vivre plus longtemps et à réduire votre risque de récidive ou de cancer secondaire. Votre équipe de soins peut vous aider à concevoir un plan de mieux-être afin de rester en bonne santé. Faire un dépistage systématique visant la détection précoce des cancers secondaires, être conscient des changements qui affectent votre santé et signaler tout problème à votre médecin sont également des composantes importantes du suivi après un traitement du cancer.

Alimentation

Une alimentation saine et bien équilibrée composée d’une variété de groupes alimentaires peut vous aider à vous rétablir du cancer de la prostate. Bien vous alimenter peut aussi contribuer à prolonger votre vie et peut-être à réduire votre risque de cancer secondaire.

Pendant que vous vous rétablissez du cancer de la prostate, essayez de :

  • adopter une alimentation riche en légumes, en fruits et en grains entiers;
  • limiter les aliments et les boissons riches en calories;
  • consommer des aliments faibles en gras saturés.

Si vous avez reçu une hormonothérapie ou une radiothérapie comme traitement du cancer de la prostate, discutez avec votre médecin ou avec une diététiste pour déterminer le régime alimentaire qui vous convient le mieux. La recherche indique qu’un apport suffisant en vitamine D et en calcium peut aider à prévenir l’ostéoporose et les fractures quand on reçoit une hormonothérapie. Certains hommes traités par radiothérapie ont de la difficulté à bien absorber les éléments nutritifs contenus dans la nourriture.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les façons de bien manger.

.

Questions à poser sur les soins de soutien

Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur les soins de soutien à votre équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Prostate Cancer. Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2015: http://www.cancer.org/acs/groups/cid/documents/webcontent/003134-pdf.pdf.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Prostate Cancer. 2014: http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/prostate-cancer/view-all.
  • Barauskas Dorff T, Pinski J . The hormonal management of prostate cancer. Nargund VH, Raghavan D, Sandler HM (eds.). Urological Oncology. Springer; 2015: 48: 817-834.
  • Garnick MB (ed.). Harvard Medical School 2015 Annual Report on Prostate Diseases. 2015.
  • Hu MI, Jiminez C, Busaidy NL, Habra MA . Endocrinologic issues. Foxhall LE, Rodriguez MA (eds.). Advances in Cancer Survivorship Management. New York: Springer; 2015: 21: 343-360.
  • Klemanski, D. and Lester, J. L . Chronic gastrointestinal and genitourinary symptoms. Lester JL & Schitt P (eds.). Cancer Rehabilitation and Survivorship: Transdisciplinary Approaches to Personalized Care. Pittsburg: Oncology Nursing Society; 2011: 12: pp. 113-122.
  • Krebs, LU . Altered Body Image and Sexual Health. Yarbro CH, Wujcik D, & Holmes Gobel B (eds.). Cancer Symptom Management. 4th ed. Jones & Bartlett Learning; 2014: 24:507-540.
  • Patterson, JL, Davis JW, Kim J, Hoffman KE, Osai WE, Kuban DA . Genitourinary cancer survivorship management. Foxhall LE, Rodriguez MA (eds.). Advances in Cancer Survivorship Management. New York: Springer; 2015: 7: 95-124.
  • Skolarus TA, Wolf AMD, Erb NL, Brooks DD, Rivers BM, Underwood W III, et al . American Cancer Society prostate cancer survivorship care guidelines. CA: A Cancer Journal for Clinicians. 201: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.3322/caac.21234/full.