What is prostate cancer?

Check out this factsheet for a summary of the video.

Prostate cancer starts in the cells of the prostate. A cancerous (malignant) tumour consists of cancer cells that can grow into nearby tissue and destroy it. The tumour can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

Prostate cancer is the most common cancer in Canadian men. It is most common in older men. It is more common in Black men than in white men and less common in Asian men. Trans women and non-binary people who were assigned male at birth can also get prostate cancer.

The prostate is part of the male reproductive and urinary systems. It makes some of the fluid that is part of semen. It is located below the bladder and in front of the rectum. The urethra (tube that carries urine, or pee, and semen out of the body through the penis) goes through the prostate.

Diagram of the location of the prostate
Diagram of the location of the prostate

The prostate is usually about the size of a walnut in younger men but can change as you age and grow larger in older men.

Prostate cancer usually grows slowly and can often be completely removed or successfully managed when it is diagnosed before it has spread outside of the prostate. Older men with prostate cancer often die of other causes. Adenocarcinoma of the prostate is the most common type of prostate cancer. It accounts for 95% of all prostate cancers.

Adenocarcinoma

Adenocarcinoma starts in gland cells. Gland cells in the prostate make mucus and prostatic fluid, which mix with sperm and other fluids to make semen. Most adenocarcinomas are found in the outer part of the prostate.

Adenocarcinoma usually develops in more than one area (site) of the prostate. When cancer is found in more than one area of an organ it is called multifocal cancer. Each site in the prostate can have a different grade.

Rare cancerous tumours of the prostate

The following cancerous tumours of the prostate are rare:

  • urothelial carcinoma (also called transitional cell carcinoma)
  • sarcoma
  • small cell carcinoma
  • carcinoid tumours
  • squamous cell carcinoma

Possible precancerous conditions of the prostate

Precancerous conditions of the prostate are changes to prostate cells that could make them more likely to develop into cancer. These conditions are not yet cancer. But if they aren't treated, there is a chance that these abnormal changes will become prostate cancer.

Some experts classify prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (PIN), proliferative inflammatory atrophy (PIA) and atypical small acinar proliferation (ASAP) as precancerous conditions, but most experts don't think they are linked to a higher chance of developing prostate cancer. So those with PIN, PIA and ASAP aren't treated, and only those who have ASAP need follow-up.

Prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (PIN) is an abnormal condition of the epithelial cells that line the glands of the prostate. It can affect more than one area of the prostate (called multifocal PIN). PIN is usually found by a biopsy to check for prostate cancer or during a transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP). PIN can be classified as low grade or high grade. Many men with PIN will never develop prostate cancer but if high-grade PIN is found, there is a greater chance of developing prostate cancer over time.

Proliferative inflammatory atrophy (PIA) means that there are areas of inflammation in the prostate and the prostate cells look smaller than normal. PIA is not cancerous. Some research suggests a link between PIA and high-grade PIN or prostate cancer and some research does not.

Atypical small acinar proliferation (ASAP) is an abnormal growth of gland cells in the prostate. Some men with ASAP may have prostate cancer, so doctors may recommend doing a follow-up biopsy in 6 months. If the repeat biopsy also shows ASAP, doctors may recommend treatment.

Non-cancerous conditions of the prostate

A non-cancerous (benign) condition of the prostate is a change to prostate cells, but it is not cancer. Non-cancerous conditions do not spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body and are not usually life-threatening.

The most common non-cancerous conditions of the prostate are:

Expert review and references

The prostate

The prostate gland is part of a man's reproductive and urinary systems. The prostate is deep inside a man's pelvis, below the bladder and in front of the rectum.

Prostatitis

Prostatitis is a painful inflammation of the prostate. It is a common condition that can affect men at any age.

Benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH)

Benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH) is an enlargement of the prostate caused by an overgrowth of cells (called hyperplasia) in the prostate. BPH is a non-cancerous (benign) condition of the prostate.

Qu’est-ce que le cancer de la prostate?

Dernière révision médicale :

Consultez cette fiche pour lire un résumé de la vidéo.

Le cancer de la prostate prend naissance dans les cellules de la prostate. La tumeur cancéreuse (maligne) est constituée de cellules cancéreuses qui peuvent envahir et détruire le tissu voisin. Elle peut aussi se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Le cancer de la prostate est le cancer le plus répandu chez les hommes au Canada. Il affecte davantage les hommes âgés. Les hommes noirs en sont plus atteints que les hommes blancs, mais les hommes d'origine asiatique sont moins touchés. Les femmes trans et les personnes non binaires à qui on a attribué le sexe masculin à la naissance peuvent aussi avoir le cancer de la prostate.

La prostate fait partie des appareils reproducteur et urinaire masculins. Elle produit une certaine quantité du liquide qui forme le sperme. Elle est située sous la vessie et devant le rectum. L'urètre (tube qui fait circuler l'urine et le sperme jusqu'à l’extérieur du corps par le pénis) traverse la prostate.

Schéma de l'emplacement de la prostate
Schéma de l'emplacement de la prostate

La prostate a habituellement la taille d'une noix de Grenoble chez les jeunes hommes, mais elle peut changer avec le vieillissement et grossir chez les hommes âgés.

Le cancer de la prostate a l'habitude de se développer lentement et on peut souvent l'enlever complètement ou le gérer efficacement s'il est diagnostiqué avant de s'être propagé hors de la prostate. Il est fréquent que les hommes âgés atteints d’un cancer de la prostate décèdent d’autres causes. L’adénocarcinome est le type de cancer de la prostate le plus courant. Il représente 95 % de tous les cancers de la prostate.

Adénocarcinome

L’adénocarcinome prend naissance dans les cellules glandulaires. Les cellules glandulaires de la prostate produisent du mucus et le liquide prostatique, qui se mélangent aux spermatozoïdes et à d’autres liquides pour former le sperme. La plupart des adénocarcinomes sont détectés dans la partie externe de la prostate.

L’adénocarcinome apparaît habituellement à plus d’un endroit (siège) dans la prostate. Quand un cancer se trouve en plusieurs endroits dans un organe, on dit qu’il est multifocal. Le grade de chaque siège dans la prostate peut varier.

Tumeurs cancéreuses rares de la prostate

Les tumeurs cancéreuses de la prostate qui suivent sont rares :

  • carcinome urothélial (aussi appelé carcinome transitionnel);
  • sarcome;
  • carcinome à petites cellules;
  • tumeurs carcinoïdes;
  • carcinome épidermoïde.

États précancéreux possibles de la prostate

Les états précancéreux de la prostate sont des changements subis par les cellules de la prostate qui les rendent plus susceptibles de devenir cancéreuses. Ces états ne sont pas encore cancéreux. Mais les changements anormaux dans les cellules pourraient se transformer en cancer de la prostate s’ils ne sont pas traités.

Certains experts considèrent la néoplasie intra-épithéliale de la prostate (NIP), l’atrophie inflammatoire proliférative (AIP) ainsi que la petite prolifération acinaire atypique (ASAP) comme des états précancéreux, mais la plupart ne croient pas qu’elles soient associées à une hausse du risque de cancer de la prostate. C'est pourquoi on ne traite pas la NIP, l'AIP et l'ASAP; seules les personnes atteintes d'une ASAP ont besoin d'un suivi.

La néoplasie intra-épithéliale de la prostate (NIP) est une affection anormale des cellules épithéliales qui tapissent les glandes de la prostate. Elle peut se manifester à plus d’un endroit dans la prostate (on parle alors de NIP multifocale). On détecte généralement la NIP lors d’une biopsie effectuée pour vérifier la présence d’un cancer de la prostate ou lors d’une résection transurétrale de la prostate (RTUP). On peut classer la NIP de bas grade ou de haut grade. De nombreux hommes atteints de NIP ne développeront jamais le cancer de la prostate, mais si on détecte une NIP de haut grade, le risque augmente avec le temps.

L’atrophie inflammatoire proliférative (AIP) signifie que des régions de la prostate sont enflammées et que les cellules prostatiques sont plus petites que la normale. L'AIP n'est pas cancéreuse. Certaines recherches laissent entendre qu'il y a un lien entre l'AIP et la NIP de haut grade ou le cancer de la prostate, mais ce n'est pas le cas pour d'autres.

La petite prolifération acinaire atypique (ASAP) désigne une prolifération anormale des cellules glandulaires de la prostate. Certains hommes ayant une ASAP pourraient être atteints d’un cancer de la prostate, donc il est possible que les médecins recommandent de faire une biopsie de suivi 6 mois plus tard. Si cette autre biopsie révèle également la présence d'une ASAP, les médecins pourraient recommander un traitement.

Affections non cancéreuses de la prostate

L’affection non cancéreuse, ou bénigne, de la prostate est un changement subi par les cellules de la prostate, mais ce n’est pas un cancer. Les affections non cancéreuses ne se propagent pas à d’autres parties du corps (pas de métastases) et ne mettent habituellement pas la vie en danger.

Les affections non cancéreuses de la prostate les plus courantes sont celles-ci :

Révision par les experts et références

  • Peter Chung, MBChB, FRCPC
  • Krista Noonan, MD, FRCPC

La prostate

La prostate est une glande qui fait partie des appareils reproducteur et urinaire de l'homme. La prostate est située en profondeur dans le bassin, sous la vessie et devant le rectum.

Prostatite

La prostatite est une inflammation douloureuse de la prostate. Il s’agit d’une affection courante qui peut toucher les hommes de tout âge.

Hyperplasie bénigne de la prostate (HBP)

L’hyperplasie bénigne de la prostate (HBP) est l'augmentation de la taille de la prostate causée par une prolifération (hyperplasie) des cellules dans la prostate. L’HBP est une affection non cancéreuse (bénigne).