Treatments for locally advanced prostate cancer

Last medical review:

The following are treatment options for locally advanced prostate cancer. Locally advanced prostate cancer has spread outside of the prostate but hasn't spread to lymph nodes or distant parts of the body. Your healthcare team will suggest treatments based on your needs and work with you to develop a treatment plan.

Treatment options for locally advanced prostate cancer include:

  • radiation therapy with hormone therapy
  • surgery and radiation therapy, with or without hormone therapy
  • hormone therapy alone
  • watchful waiting

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. It is often used to treat locally advanced prostate cancer. It is usually given together with hormone therapy.

External radiation therapy is the main treatment for locally advanced prostate cancer. It may also be given after a radical prostatectomy (called adjuvant radiation therapy) to reduce the risk that the cancer will come back (recur).

Brachytherapy is a form of radiation therapy that uses a radioactive substance (radioactive isotope) placed directly into the tumour or very close to it (called an implant). It is sometimes given in combination with external radiation therapy.

Find out more about radiation therapy for prostate cancer.

Surgery

You may be offered one of the following types of surgery for locally advanced prostate cancer.

Radical prostatectomy removes the prostate and some tissues around it. The surgeon may also remove lymph nodes from the pelvis (called a pelvic lymph node dissection) at the same time as a radical prostatectomy. Radiation therapy or hormone therapy or both are sometimes given after a radical prostatectomy.

Transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) removes part of the prostate through the urethra. TURP may be used to:

  • relieve urinary (peeing) problems caused by an enlarged prostate pressing on the urethra
  • reduce the size of the tumour before radiation therapy or hormone therapy

Find out more about surgery for prostate cancer.

Hormone therapy

Hormone therapy changes the levels of hormones or blocks certain hormones to slow the growth and spread of cancer cells. It may be offered before, during or after radiation therapy for locally advanced prostate cancer. It may also be used alone as a main treatment if you can't have radiation therapy or surgery or if you are elderly and aren't having any symptoms.

Hormone therapies may be used on their own or combined and include:

  • a luteinizing hormone–releasing hormone (LHRH) agonist
  • an LHRH antagonist
  • an anti-androgen

  • an androgen synthesis inhibitor

  • an orchiectomy (surgery to remove the testicles)

Find out more about hormone therapy for prostate cancer.

Watchful waiting

You may be offered watchful waiting if you are elderly and don't want the side effects that come along with treatment or are unable to have treatment due to other medical conditions. Watchful waiting is less intensive than active surveillance. There are no routine tests and it relies more on changes in symptoms. If you start to have symptoms while under watchful waiting, your doctor may discuss treatment for the symptoms.

Find out more about watchful waiting for prostate cancer.

Clinical trials

Talk to your doctor about clinical trials open to people with prostate cancer in Canada. Clinical trials look at new ways to prevent, find and treat cancer. Find out more about clinical trials.

Expert review and references

Traitements du cancer de la prostate localement avancé

Dernière révision médicale :

En présence d’un cancer de la prostate localement avancé, on peut avoir recours aux options de traitement suivantes. Un cancer de la prostate localement avancé s'est propagé hors de la prostate mais pas aux ganglions lymphatiques ou à des parties du corps éloignées. Votre équipe de soins vous proposera des traitements en fonction de vos besoins et discutera avec vous afin d’élaborer un plan de traitement.

Les options de traitement du cancer de la prostate localement avancé comprennent celles-ci :

  • radiothérapie avec hormonothérapie;
  • chirurgie et radiothérapie, avec ou sans hormonothérapie;
  • hormonothérapie seulement;
  • observation vigilante.

Radiothérapie

En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. On administre souvent la radiothérapie pour traiter le cancer de la prostate localement avancé. On l'associe habituellement à l'hormonothérapie.

La radiothérapie externe est le traitement principal du cancer de la prostate localement avancé. Elle peut aussi être administrée après une prostatectomie radicale (on parle alors de radiothérapie adjuvante) pour réduire le risque de réapparition du cancer.

La curiethérapie est une forme de radiothérapie qui consiste à placer une substance radioactive (radio-isotope) directement dans la tumeur ou tout près, ce qu'on appelle implant. Elle est parfois administrée en association avec la radiothérapie externe.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie pour le cancer de la prostate.

Chirurgie

On pourrait vous proposer l’un des types de chirurgie suivants pour traiter le cancer de la prostate localement avancé.

La prostatectomie radicale consiste à enlever la prostate et certains tissus tout autour. Il se peut que le chirurgien enlève aussi les ganglions lymphatiques du bassin (curage ganglionnaire pelvien) pendant la prostatectomie radicale. On administre parfois une radiothérapie ou une hormonothérapie, ou bien les deux, après une prostatectomie radicale.

La résection transurétrale de la prostate (RTUP) consiste à enlever une partie de la prostate en passant par l’urètre. On peut avoir recours à la RTUP pour :

  • soulager les troubles urinaires causés par une prostate enflée qui exerce une pression sur l’urètre;
  • réduire la taille de la tumeur avant une radiothérapie ou une hormonothérapie.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chirurgie du cancer de la prostate.

Hormonothérapie

L'hormonothérapie modifie les taux d'hormones ou bloque certaines hormones dans le but de ralentir la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses. On peut la proposer avant, pendant ou après la radiothérapie pour le cancer de la prostate localement avancé. Il est aussi possible d'administrer seulement une hormonothérapie comme traitement principal si vous ne pouvez pas avoir de radiothérapie ou de chirurgie ou si vous êtes âgé et vous n'éprouvez pas de symptômes.

On peut administrer une seule hormonothérapie ou en associer dont celles-ci :

  • analogue de l’hormone de libération de la lutéinostimuline (LHRH);
  • antagoniste de la LHRH;
  • antiandrogène;

  • inhibiteur de la synthèse des androgènes;

  • orchidectomie (chirurgie pour enlever les testicules).

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’hormonothérapie du cancer de la prostate.

Observation vigilante

On peut vous proposer l'observation vigilante si vous êtes âgé et ne voulez pas éprouver les effets secondaires des traitements ou si vous n'êtes pas en mesure d'être traité parce que vous êtes atteint d'autres troubles médicaux. L'observation vigilante est moins intensive que la surveillance active.surveillance active Elle ne comporte pas d'examens courants et repose davantage sur les changements des symptômes. Si vous commencez à éprouver des symptômes alors que vous êtes en observation vigilante, votre médecin pourrait vous parler de traitement des symptômes.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’observation vigilante du cancer de la prostate.

Essais cliniques

Demandez à votre médecin s’il y a des essais cliniques en cours au Canada pour les personnes atteintes d’un cancer de la prostate. Les essais cliniques visent à trouver de nouvelles méthodes de prévention, de détection et de traitement du cancer. Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Révision par les experts et références