Radiation therapy for prostate cancer

Last medical review:

Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. It is usually used to treat prostate cancer. Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan the type and amount of radiation, and when and how it is given. You may also be given hormone therapy together with radiation therapy.

Radiation therapy is given for different reasons. You may have radiation therapy to:

  • destroy cancer cells in the body
  • treat cancer that is not removed completely with surgery or that comes back after surgery (called salvage radiation therapy)
  • relieve pain or control the symptoms of advanced prostate cancer (called palliative therapy)

The following types of radiation therapy are most commonly used to treat prostate cancer.

External radiation therapy

During external radiation therapy (also called external beam radiation therapy), a machine directs radiation through the skin to the tumour and some of the tissue around it. Doctors give radiation to the smallest area possible to help reduce the risk of side effects. Lymph nodes in the pelvis may also be treated with external radiation therapy.

Doctors may use the following external radiation techniques to accurately target the area to be treated and spare as much surrounding normal tissue as possible.

3D conformal radiation therapy (3D-CRT) has many beams of radiation directed at the tumour. The radiation oncologist uses a CT scan or an MRI to map the exact location and shape of the tumour. The radiation beams are then shaped and aimed at the tumour from different directions to treat the tumour from all angles. Each individual beam is fairly weak and less likely to damage normal tissue. A higher dose of radiation is delivered where the beams meet at the tumour.

Intensity-modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) is similar to 3D-CRT in that it delivers radiation from many different angles to treat the entire tumour. In addition to shaping and aiming the radiation beams, IMRT allows the radiation oncologist to adjust the strength (intensity) of the individual beams. This reduces the dose of radiation reaching nearby normal tissue while allowing a higher dose to be delivered to the tumour. It is useful for treating tumours in hard-to-reach areas.

Volumetric-modulated arc therapy (VMAT) is an advanced form of IMRT that delivers a dose to the entire tumour in a 360-degree rotation. Most modern linear accelerators can deliver this type of treatment. This may shorten the daily treatment time.

Image-guided radiation therapy (IGRT) uses imaging mounted on the linear accelerator to improve the accuracy of radiation therapy. Repeated CT, MRI or PET scans are performed before and during treatment and processed by computers to show changes in tumour size and location compared to the last treatment. This allows the radiation treatment team to adjust your position on the table or the radiation dose to increase accuracy of the treatment. IGRT can lessen the amount of tissue treated and the total dose of radiation received by normal tissue. IGRT may be used to treat tumours in parts of the body that are likely to move, such as the lungs, liver and prostate, or tumours that are very close to vital structures or tissues.

Stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) delivers precisely targeted high doses of radiation to tumours in difficult or hard-to-reach areas in fewer sessions. It is also called stereotactic ablative radiation therapy (SABR). The majority of SBRT is delivered by modern linear accelerators but can also be delivered with a CyberKnife unit. It creates many beams of radiation from different angles that meet at the tumour. The tumour itself receives a high dose of radiation, while the individual beams that travel through surrounding tissue are a low dose. This lowers the effects of radiation on healthy tissue surrounding the tumour. SBRT is given in fewer treatments than standard external radiation therapy.

Proton therapy uses protons (positively charged particles) to treat cancer. It may also be called proton beam therapy. Proton therapy uses proton beams instead of x-ray beams. Protons release more energy after reaching a certain distance and then stop, while x-ray beams release energy before and after they hit their target. So protons cause less damage to tissues they pass through before reaching their target. Proton therapy causes the least amount of damage to nearby normal tissues. A machine called a synchrotron or cyclotron produces the protons. These machines are not available in Canada, and you may have to go to certain centres in the US to receive this treatment.

Brachytherapy

Brachytherapy is internal radiation therapy. Internal radiation therapy places radioactive materials in the body. Larger doses of radiation can be given with internal radiation therapy than with external radiation therapy. Brachytherapy uses an implant that contains a radioactive material called a radioactive isotope. The implant is placed right into the tumour or very close to it. This type of brachytherapy is called interstitial brachytherapy. The radiation kills the cancer cells over time.

If you had transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) and the surgeon had to remove a large amount of prostate tissue, you may not be able to have brachytherapy.

External radiation therapy and brachytherapy may both be used to treat prostate cancer that has a high risk of coming back after treatment.

Low-dose-rate (LDR) brachytherapy

Low-dose-rate (LDR) brachytherapy for prostate cancer uses a permanent implant to deliver continuous low doses of radiation over several weeks or months. Doctors often use a transrectal ultrasound (TRUS) to guide them when they place the implant. Iodine-125 or palladium-103 are the radioactive substances most commonly used for LDR brachytherapy to treat prostate cancer. Special safety precautions are taken to make sure other people aren't exposed to radiation.

LDR brachytherapy is mainly used to treat early stage prostate cancer that is growing slowly and has a low risk of coming back after treatment.

High-dose-rate (HDR) brachytherapy

High-dose-rate (HDR) brachytherapy for prostate cancer uses a temporary implant to deliver a high dose of radiation in about 1 to 4 treatments over 2 days. A single treatment usually takes 5 to 15 minutes to deliver the radiation dose, but you may have to stay in the hospital until all of the treatments are finished if multiple treatments are used. Iridium-192 and cesium-137 are the radioactive substances most commonly used for HDR brachytherapy for prostate cancer.

HDR brachytherapy is mainly used to treat early stage prostate cancer that is growing quickly and is more likely to spread.

Systemic radiation therapy

Systemic radiation therapy is another type of internal radiation therapy. It may also be called radioisotope therapy. In systemic radiation therapy, a radioactive material (called a radioactive isotope) travels through the body. Cancer cells take up the radioactive material, which kills them.

For prostate cancer, radiation therapy may be given by attaching a radioactive material to a substance that targets specific molecules (such as proteins) on the surface of cancer cells. This allows the radiation to be delivered directly to the cancer cells, which may cause fewer or less severe side effects.

Radium-223 dichloride (Xofigo) is the type of systemic radiation therapy used most often for castration-resistant prostate cancer that has spread to bones and is causing pain. Castration-resistant prostate cancer is cancer that has come back or that didn't go away after treatment with hormone therapy.

Side effects

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment for prostate cancer, but everyone's experience is different. Some people have many side effects. Other people have few or none at all.

During radiation therapy, the healthcare team protects healthy cells in the treatment area as much as possible. But damage to healthy cells can happen and may cause side effects. If you develop side effects, they can happen any time during, immediately after or a few days or weeks after radiation therapy. Sometimes late side effects develop months or years after radiation therapy. Most side effects go away on their own or can be treated, but some side effects may last a long time or become permanent.

Side effects of radiation therapy will depend mainly on the size of the area being treated, the specific area or organs being treated, the total dose of radiation, the type of radiation therapy and the treatment schedule. Some common side effects of radiation therapy used for prostate cancer are:

  • fatigue
  • bowel problems, including diarrhea, blood in the stool, rectal pain, rectal burning or rectal leakage
  • bladder problems, including more frequent urination, burning with urination or urinary incontinence
  • sexual problems, including erectile dysfunction
  • pain and swelling between the scrotum and rectum
  • blood in the urine, which makes it reddish-brown

Tell your healthcare team if you have these side effects or others you think might be from radiation therapy. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help you deal with them.

PSA bounce

Sometimes the prostate-specific antigen (PSA) level will rise in the first year or 2 after treatment with radiation therapy. This is called a PSA bounce. In most cases, the PSA level will drop again the next time the doctor checks it. Treatment isn't needed unless the PSA level continues to rise.

Questions to ask about radiation therapy

Find out more about radiation therapy and side effects of radiation therapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about radiation therapy.

Expert review and references

Radiothérapie pour le cancer de la prostate

Dernière révision médicale :

En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. On administre habituellement une radiothérapie pour traiter le cancer de la prostate. Votre équipe de soins prendra en considération vos besoins personnels pour choisir le type de radiothérapie, la dose à administrer, la façon de le faire et l’horaire à suivre. Vous pourriez aussi recevoir une hormonothérapie en association avec la radiothérapie.

On administre une radiothérapie pour différentes raisons. Vous pouvez recevoir une radiothérapie pour :

  • détruire les cellules cancéreuses présentes dans votre corps;
  • traiter un cancer qui n'a pas été enlevé complètement par chirurgie ou qui réapparaît après une chirurgie (on parle alors de radiothérapie de rattrapage);
  • soulager la douleur ou contrôler les symptômes d’un cancer de la prostate de stade avancé (traitement palliatif).

On a le plus souvent recours aux types suivants de radiothérapie pour traiter le cancer de la prostate.

Radiothérapie externe

Lors de la radiothérapie externe, un appareil émet des radiations à travers la peau jusqu’à la tumeur et une partie du tissu qui l’entoure. Les médecins administrent les radiations à la plus petite région possible afin d’aider à réduire le risque d’effets secondaires. Les ganglions lymphatiques du bassin peuvent aussi être traités par radiothérapie externe.

Les médecins peuvent avoir recours aux techniques de radiothérapie externe qui suivent pour cibler avec précision la région à traiter et épargner le plus de tissu normal voisin.

La radiothérapie conformationnelle tridimensionnelle (RC 3D) consiste à diriger de nombreux faisceaux de radiation vers la tumeur. Le radio-oncologue a recours à la TDM ou à l’IRM pour cartographier l’emplacement et la forme exacts de la tumeur. Les faisceaux de radiation sont ensuite modelés et visent la tumeur en provenance de différentes directions afin de la traiter de tous les angles. Individuellement, chaque faisceau est assez faible et moins susceptible d’endommager les tissus normaux. La dose de radiation reçue par la tumeur est plus élevée là où les faisceaux se rencontrent.

La radiothérapie conformationnelle avec modulation d'intensité (RCMI) ressemble à la RC 3D puisqu’elle émet la radiation de nombreux angles différents afin de traiter toute la tumeur. En plus de modeler et de diriger les faisceaux de radiation, la RCMI permet au radio-oncologue d’ajuster la force (intensité) de chacun des faisceaux. Cela réduit la dose de radiation qui atteint les tissus normaux voisins, tout en permettant à la tumeur de recevoir une dose plus élevée. Elle est utile pour traiter les tumeurs situées dans des régions difficiles à atteindre.

L’arcthérapie volumétrique modulée (VMAT) est une forme perfectionnée de RCMI qui permet d’émettre une dose à toute la tumeur en rotation de 360 degrés. La plupart des accélérateurs linéaires modernes peuvent administrer ce type de traitement. Cela peut réduire la durée des séances quotidiennes de traitement.

Lors de la radiothérapie guidée par l'image (IGRT), un dispositif d’imagerie fixé à un accélérateur linéaire permet d’améliorer la précision de la radiothérapie. On fait plusieurs examens de TDM, d’IRM ou de TEP avant et pendant le traitement qui sont traités par ordinateur afin de révéler les changements de taille et d’emplacement de la tumeur comparativement au traitement antérieur. Cela permet à l’équipe de radiothérapie d’ajuster votre position sur la table ou la dose de radiation afin d’accroître la précision du traitement. L’IGRT peut réduire la quantité de tissu traité et la dose totale de radiation reçue par le tissu normal. On peut administrer une IGRT pour traiter les tumeurs situées dans des parties du corps qui risquent de bouger, comme les poumons, le foie et la prostate, ou les tumeurs qui sont très près de structures ou de tissus vitaux.

La radiothérapie stéréotaxique corporelle (RSC) permet d’administrer des doses élevées de radiation à ciblage précis vers une tumeur située dans une région difficile à atteindre, en moins de séances. On l’appelle aussi radiothérapie stéréotaxique d’ablation (SABR). La plupart des RSC sont administrées par des accélérateurs linéaires modernes, mais on peut aussi se servir du cyberbistouri. La RSC émet de nombreux faisceaux de radiation de différents angles qui se rencontrent sur la tumeur. La tumeur reçoit donc une forte dose de radiation, alors que chaque faisceau qui circule dans le tissu voisin est de faible dose. Cela réduit les effets de la radiation sur le tissu sain entourant la tumeur. La RSC est administrée en moins de séances que la radiothérapie externe standard.

La protonthérapie a recours aux protons (particules chargées positivement) pour traiter le cancer. On n'utilise pas d'autres noms en français. On se sert de faisceaux de protons plutôt que de rayons X. Les protons libèrent plus d’énergie après avoir parcouru une certaine distance puis cessent d'en émettre, tandis que les faisceaux de rayons X libèrent de l’énergie avant et après avoir atteint leur cible. Les protons causent donc moins de dommages aux tissus qu’ils traversent avant d’atteindre leur cible. La protonthérapie est la forme de radiothérapie qui cause le moins de dommages aux tissus normaux voisins. Un appareil appelé synchrotron ou cyclotron génère les protons. Ces appareils ne sont pas disponibles au Canada, alors vous devrez peut-être aller dans certains centres de traitement américains pour recevoir ce traitement.

Curiethérapie

La curiethérapie est une radiothérapie interne. La radiothérapie interne consiste à mettre des matières radioactives dans le corps. La radiothérapie interne permet d’administrer de plus fortes doses que la radiothérapie externe. En curiethérapie, on se sert d’un implant qui contient une matière radioactive appelée radio-isotope. On insère l'implant directement dans la tumeur ou très près. Ce type de curiethérapie est appelé curiethérapie interstitielle. La radiation détruit les cellules cancéreuses au fil du temps.

Si vous avez subi une résection transurétrale de la prostate (RTUP) et que le chirurgien a dû enlever une grande quantité de tissu prostatique, il est possible que vous ne puissiez pas recevoir de curiethérapie.

La radiothérapie externe et la curiethérapie peuvent toutes deux servir à traiter un cancer de la prostate dont le risque de réapparition après le traitement est élevé.

Curiethérapie à faible débit de dose (FDD)

Lors de la curiethérapie à faible débit de dose (FDD), on traite le cancer de la prostate au moyen d’un implant permanent qui émet de faibles doses de radiation en continu durant quelques semaines ou quelques mois. Les médecins ont souvent recours à l’échographie transrectale (ETR) pour les guider lorsqu’ils mettent l’implant en place. L’iode 125 et le palladium 103 sont les substances radioactives les plus couramment utilisées lors de la curiethérapie à FDD visant à traiter le cancer de la prostate. Des mesures de sécurité particulières sont prises pour s'assurer que d’autres personnes ne sont pas exposées à la radiation.

On a surtout recours à la curiethérapie à FDD pour traiter le cancer de la prostate de stade précoce qui se développe lentement et qui risque peu de réapparaître après le traitement.

Curiethérapie à haut débit de dose (HDD)

Lors de la curiethérapie à haut débit de dose (HDD), on traite le cancer de la prostate au moyen d’un implant temporaire qui émet une dose élevée de radiation au cours d’environ 1 à 4 traitements administrés sur une période de 2 jours. Chaque traitement dure généralement de 5 à 15 minutes, mais il est possible que vous deviez rester à l’hôpital jusqu’à ce que tous les traitements soient terminés, si on en fait plusieurs. L'iridium 192 et le césium 137 sont les substances radioactives les plus couramment utilisées lors de la curiethérapie à HDD visant à traiter le cancer de la prostate.

On a surtout recours à la curiethérapie à HDD pour traiter le cancer de la prostate de stade précoce qui se développe rapidement et qui est plus susceptible de se propager.

Radiothérapie systémique

La radiothérapie systémique est un autre type de radiothérapie interne. On peut aussi l'appeler traitement radio-isotopique. La radiothérapie systémique a recours à une matière radioactive (radio-isotope) qui circule dans le corps. Les cellules cancéreuses absorbent la matière radioactive, qui les détruit.

Dans le cas du cancer de la prostate, cette matière peut être fixée à une substance qui cible des molécules spécifiques, comme des protéines, à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. Cela permet d’administrer la radiothérapie directement aux cellules cancéreuses, ce qui peut provoquer moins d’effets secondaires ou des effets secondaires moins graves.

Le chlorure de radium 223 (Xofigo) est le type de radiothérapie systémique le plus souvent employé pour traiter un cancer de la prostate résistant à la castration qui s’est propagé aux os et qui cause de la douleur. Un cancer de la prostate résistant à la castration est un cancer qui réapparaît ou qui ne disparaît pas après avoir été traité par hormonothérapie.

Effets secondaires

Peu importe le traitement du cancer de la prostate, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque personne les ressent différemment. Certaines en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu ou pas du tout.

Lors des séances de radiothérapie, l’équipe de soins protège le plus possible les cellules saines qui se trouvent dans la zone de traitement. Mais il est possible que les cellules saines soient endommagées et qu’elles provoquent ainsi des effets secondaires. Si des effets secondaires se manifestent, ils peuvent le faire n’importe quand pendant la radiothérapie, tout de suite après ou quelques jours, voire quelques semaines plus tard. Il arrive que des effets secondaires apparaissent des mois ou des années à la suite de la radiothérapie (effets tardifs). La plupart disparaissent d’eux-mêmes ou peuvent être traités, mais certains risquent de durer longtemps ou d’être permanents.

Les effets secondaires de la radiothérapie dépendent surtout de la taille de la région traitée, de la région ou des organes spécifiques traités, de la dose totale, du type de radiothérapie et du mode d’administration. Voici certains effets secondaires courants de la radiothérapie administrée pour le cancer de la prostate :

  • fatigue;
  • troubles intestinaux, dont la diarrhée, du sang dans les selles, la douleur rectale, une sensation de brûlure dans le rectum ou des fuites rectales;
  • troubles de la vessie, dont le besoin d’uriner plus souvent, une sensation de brûlure quand on urine ou l'incontinence urinaire;
  • troubles sexuels, dont le dysfonctionnement érectile;
  • douleur et enflure entre le scrotum et le rectum;
  • sang dans l’urine, qui prend une couleur brun-rouge.

Avisez votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez ces effets secondaires ou d’autres que vous croyez liés à la radiothérapie. Plus vite vous mentionnez un problème, plus rapidement on pourra vous dire comment aider à le soulager.

Rebond d'APS

Il arrive que le taux d’antigène prostatique spécifique (APS) augmente au cours de la première et même de la deuxième année suivant la radiothérapie. C’est ce qu’on appelle un rebond d’APS. Dans la plupart des cas, le taux d’APS aura redescendu la prochaine fois que le médecin le mesurera. Un traitement n’est pas nécessaire, à moins que le taux d’APS continue d’augmenter.

Questions à poser sur la radiothérapie

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie et les effets secondaires de la radiothérapie. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur la radiothérapie à votre équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références