Treatments for localized prostate cancer

Last medical review:

Localized prostate cancer is only in the prostate. Localized prostate cancer is divided into risk groups based on the risk of the cancer coming back (recurring) after treatment. Treatment is based on these risk groups. Lower-risk localized prostate cancer grows very slowly and is unlikely to become life-threatening. Higher-risk localized prostate cancer has a higher chance of growing or spreading.

Choosing a treatment for localized prostate cancer can be complicated, especially if the cancer is lower risk and growing slowly. Prostate cancer treatments can seriously affect your quality of life and cause side effects such as erectile dysfunction (problems getting or keeping an erection) and incontinence (loss of bladder control).

It's important to consider the likelihood that cancer will cause problems before deciding what to do. You may not need to be treated right away. You will also need to consider how side effects of treatment may affect your quality of life. Some people are less concerned about these side effects and are more concerned about getting rid of the cancer.

People in higher-risk groups are usually offered aggressive treatment. Those in lower-risk groups may be offered active surveillance without immediate treatment.

If you are older or have other serious health problems and the cancer is growing slowly, it might be helpful to think of prostate cancer as a chronic disease when you consider your treatment options. If you are younger and otherwise healthy, you may be more willing to accept possible side effects if they give you the best chance of a cure.

It may be helpful to talk over your treatment options with someone you trust. You may also want to talk to other people who have had prostate cancer. It's important to know that each person's experience is different. You may also want to consider getting more than one medical opinion.

Your healthcare team will suggest treatments based on your needs and work with you to develop a treatment plan.

Very low and low-risk localized prostate cancer

Favourable intermediate-risk localized prostate cancer

Unfavourable intermediate-risk localized prostate cancer

High and very high risk localized prostate cancer

Very low and low-risk localized prostate cancer

Very low and low-risk localized prostate cancer usually grows slowly and often doesn't cause symptoms.

Treatment options for very low and low-risk localized prostate cancer include:

  • active surveillance
  • watchful waiting
  • surgery
  • radiation therapy

Surgery

Surgery is a standard treatment for localized prostate cancer. A radical prostatectomy removes the prostate and some tissue around it. A radical prostatectomy may be offered if you are healthy and are expected to live for at least 10 more years. It is not usually offered if you are older than 75.

If certain adverse features are found during surgery, radiation therapy or hormone therapy or both may be given after surgery. Adverse features include positive surgical margins, cancer involving the seminal vesicles or cancer that has grown through the capsule.

Find out more about surgery for prostate cancer.

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy is a standard treatment for localized prostate cancer. It uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells.

External radiation therapy may be offered if you are over the age of 70 and have a higher risk of complications with surgery.

Brachytherapy may be offered instead of external radiation therapy or surgery. Brachytherapy is a form of internal radiation therapy that uses a radioactive substance (radioactive isotope) placed directly into the tumour or very close to it (called an implant).

Find out more about radiation therapy for prostate cancer.

Favourable intermediate-risk localized prostate cancer

Favourable intermediate-risk localized prostate cancer usually grows slowly and often doesn't cause symptoms.

Treatment options for favourable intermediate-risk localized prostate cancer include:

  • active surveillance
  • watchful waiting
  • surgery
  • radiation therapy

Active surveillance

Active surveillance is a standard treatment for slow-growing localized prostate cancer. Treatments for prostate cancer can cause long-term side effects, so you may not want treatment right away. Active surveillance involves monitoring the cancer with regular tests and exams to check if it is starting to grow or cause symptoms. If the cancer starts to grow or you experience symptoms while under active surveillance, you will be offered treatments.

Find out more about active surveillance for prostate cancer.

Watchful waiting

You may be offered watchful waiting if you are elderly and don't want the side effects that come along with treatment or are unable to have treatment due to other medical conditions. Watchful waiting is less intensive than active surveillance. There are no routine tests and it relies more on changes in symptoms. If you start to have symptoms while under watchful waiting, your doctor may discuss treatment for the symptoms.

Find out more about watchful waiting for prostate cancer.

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy is a standard treatment for localized prostate cancer. It uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells.

External radiation therapy may be offered if you are over the age of 70 and have a higher risk of complications with surgery.

Brachytherapy may be offered instead of external radiation therapy or surgery. Brachytherapy is a form of internal radiation therapy that uses a radioactive substance (radioactive isotope) placed directly into the tumour or very close to it (called an implant). Brachytherapy is also sometimes used to give a boost of radiation along with external radiation therapy.

Find out more about radiation therapy for prostate cancer.

Unfavourable intermediate-risk localized prostate cancer

Unfavourable intermediate-risk localized prostate cancer may grow or spread in a few years.

Treatment options for unfavourable intermediate-risk localized prostate cancer include:

  • surgery
  • radiation therapy with or without hormone therapy
  • watchful waiting

Surgery

Surgery is a standard treatment for localized prostate cancer. A radical prostatectomy removes the prostate and some tissue around it. It may be offered if you are healthy and are expected to live for at least 10 more years. It is not usually offered if you are older than 75. The surgeon may also remove lymph nodes from the pelvis (called a pelvic lymph node dissection) at the same time as a radical prostatectomy.

If certain adverse features are found during surgery, radiation therapy or hormone therapy or both may be given after surgery. Adverse features include positive surgical margins, involvement of seminal vesicles or cancer that has grown through the capsule.

Find out more about surgery for prostate cancer.

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy is a standard treatment for localized prostate cancer. Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. Radiation therapy is often given along with hormone therapy.

External radiation therapy may be offered instead of a radical prostatectomy. It may also be given after a radical prostatectomy (called adjuvant radiation therapy) to reduce the risk that the cancer will come back. It may also be used in combination with brachytherapy.

Brachytherapy may be offered as a boost along with external radiation therapy. It is sometimes used on its own instead of external radiation therapy or surgery. Brachytherapy is a form of radiation therapy that uses a radioactive substance (radioactive isotope) placed directly into the tumour or very close to it (called an implant).

Find out more about radiation therapy for prostate cancer.

Hormone therapy

If you have radiation therapy you may also be given hormone therapy before, during or after radiation therapy. Hormone therapy changes the levels of hormones or blocks certain hormones to slow the growth and spread of cancer cells.

Hormone therapies may be used on their own or combined and include:

  • a luteinizing hormone–releasing hormone (LHRH) agonist
  • an LHRH antagonist
  • an anti-androgen

  • an orchiectomy (surgery to remove the testicles)

Find out more about hormone therapy for prostate cancer.

High and very high risk localized prostate cancer

Treatment options for high or very high risk localized prostate cancer include:

  • radiation therapy and hormone therapy
  • surgery
  • watchful waiting

Radiation therapy

You may be offered radiation therapy for high or very high risk localized prostate cancer. Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. Radiation therapy is usually given along with hormone therapy. If you are having treatment to relieve your symptoms but not to cure the cancer, you may be given only radiation therapy or hormone therapy.

External radiation therapy may be offered instead of a radical prostatectomy. It may also be given after a radical prostatectomy (called adjuvant radiation therapy) to reduce the risk that the cancer will come back.

Brachytherapy may be offered along with external beam radiation therapy. Brachytherapy is a form of radiation therapy that uses a radioactive substance (radioactive isotope) placed directly into the tumour or very close to it (called an implant).

Find out more about radiation therapy for prostate cancer.

Hormone therapy

Hormone therapy is often used along with radiation therapy. It may be given before, during or after radiation therapy. Hormone therapy changes the levels of hormones or blocks certain hormones to slow the growth and spread of cancer cells. Hormone therapy is usually given along with radiation therapy. If you are having treatment to relieve your symptoms but not to cure the cancer, you may be given only radiation therapy or hormone therapy.

Hormone therapies may be used on their own or combined and include:

  • a luteinizing hormone–releasing hormone (LHRH) agonist
  • an LHRH antagonist
  • an anti-androgen

  • an orchiectomy (surgery to remove the testicles)

Find out more about hormone therapy for prostate cancer.

Surgery

A radical prostatectomy removes the prostate and some tissue around it. A radical prostatectomy may be offered if you are healthy and are expected to live for at least 10 more years. It is not usually offered if you are older than 75. The surgeon may also remove lymph nodes from the pelvis (called a pelvic lymph node dissection) at the same time as a radical prostatectomy.

If certain adverse features are found during surgery, radiation therapy or hormone therapy or both may be given after surgery. Adverse features include positive surgical margins, involvement of seminal vesicles or cancer that has grown through the capsule.

Find out more about surgery for prostate cancer.

Watchful waiting

You may be offered watchful waiting if you are elderly and don't want the side effects that come along with treatment or are unable to have treatment due to other medical conditions. Watchful waiting is less intensive than active surveillance. There are no routine tests and it relies more on changes in symptoms. If you start to have symptoms while under watchful waiting, your doctor may discuss treatment for the symptoms.

Find out more about watchful waiting for prostate cancer.

Clinical trials

Talk to your doctor about clinical trials open to people with prostate cancer in Canada. Clinical trials look at new ways to prevent, find and treat cancer. Find out more about clinical trials.

Expert review and references

Traitements du cancer de la prostate localisé

Dernière révision médicale :

Le cancer de la prostate localisé se trouve seulement dans la prostate. Il est divisé en catégories de risque fondées sur le risque de réapparition (récidive) du cancer après le traitement. Le traitement se base sur ces catégories de risque. Un cancer de la prostate localisé d'une catégorie de risque faible se développe très lentement et il est peu probable qu'il finisse par mettre la vie en danger. Un cancer de la prostate localisé d'une catégorie de risque élevé risque davantage de se développer ou de se propager.

Il peut être compliqué de choisir un traitement pour un cancer de la prostate localisé, en particulier si la maladie est d'une catégorie de risque faible et si elle se développe lentement. Les traitements du cancer de la prostate peuvent vraiment affecter votre qualité de vie et provoquer des effets secondaires comme le dysfonctionnement érectile (difficulté à avoir et à maintenir une érection) et l'incontinence (perte du contrôle de la vessie).

Il est important de tenir compte de la probabilité que le cancer cause des problèmes avant de décider quoi faire. Vous pourriez ne pas avoir besoin de traitement dans l'immédiat. Vous devrez aussi prendre en considération les répercussions possibles des effets secondaires du traitement sur votre qualité de vie. Certaines personnes se soucient moins des effets secondaires et plus du cancer dont elles veulent se débarrasser.

Un cancer classé dans une catégorie de risque élevé est habituellement traité agressivement. Un cancer classé dans une catégorie de risque faible peut être surveillé activement, sans traitement immédiat.

Si vous êtes plus âgé ou atteint d'autres problèmes de santé graves et que le cancer se développe lentement, vous pourriez considérer le cancer de la prostate comme une maladie chronique quand vous évaluerez vos options de traitement. Si vous êtes plus jeune et en bonne santé malgré tout, vous pourriez être plus disposé à accepter de possibles effets secondaires si les traitements vous offrent une meilleure chance de guérison.

Il pourrait être utile de discuter des options de traitement avec quelqu'un en qui vous avez confiance. Vous pourriez aussi souhaiter parler à d'autres personnes qui ont été atteintes du cancer de la prostate. Il est important de savoir que l'expérience de chaque personne est différente. Vous pourriez également penser à obtenir plus d'un avis médical.

Votre équipe de soins vous proposera des traitements en fonction de vos besoins et discutera avec vous afin d’élaborer un plan de traitement.

Cancer de la prostate localisé à risque très faible ou faible

Cancer de la prostate localisé à risque intermédiaire favorable

Cancer de la prostate localisé à risque intermédiaire défavorable

Cancer de la prostate localisé à risque élevé ou très élevé

Cancer de la prostate localisé à risque très faible ou faible

Le cancer de la prostate localisé à risque très faible ou faible a l'habitude de se développer lentement et souvent, il ne cause pas de symptômes.

Les options de traitement du cancer de la prostate localisé à risque très faible ou faible comprennent celles-ci :

  • surveillance active;
  • observation vigilante;
  • chirurgie;
  • radiothérapie.

Chirurgie

La chirurgie est un traitement standard du cancer de la prostate localisé. La prostatectomie radicale consiste à enlever la prostate et une partie du tissu tout autour. On peut vous proposer la prostatectomie radicale si vous êtes en bonne santé et si on s'attend à ce que vous viviez au moins 10 ans. On n'offre habituellement pas ce traitement à une personne âgée de plus de 75 ans.

Si on observe certaines caractéristiques défavorables lors de la chirurgie, on peut administrer une radiothérapie ou une hormonothérapie, ou bien les deux, après l'opération. Les caractéristiques défavorables comprennent des marges chirurgicales positives, la présence du cancer dans les vésicules séminales ou un cancer qui a traversé la capsule.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chirurgie du cancer de la prostate.

Radiothérapie

La radiothérapie est un traitement standard du cancer de la prostate localisé. On a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses.

On peut vous proposer une radiothérapie externe si vous avez plus de 70 ans et que votre risque de complications liées à la chirurgie est élevé.

On peut offrir une curiethérapie au lieu de la radiothérapie externe ou de la chirurgie. La curiethérapie est une forme de radiothérapie interne qui consiste à placer une substance radioactive (radio-isotope) directement dans la tumeur ou tout près, ce qu'on appelle implant.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie pour le cancer de la prostate.

Cancer de la prostate localisé à risque intermédiaire favorable

Le cancer de la prostate localisé à risque intermédiaire favorable a l'habitude de se développer lentement et souvent, il ne cause pas de symptômes.

Les options de traitement du cancer de la prostate localisé à risque intermédiaire favorable comprennent celles-ci :

  • surveillance active;
  • observation vigilante;
  • chirurgie;
  • radiothérapie.

Surveillance active

La surveillance active est un traitement standard du cancer de la prostate localisé à croissance lente. Les traitements du cancer de la prostate sont susceptibles de causer des effets secondaires à long terme, alors vous pourriez ne pas vouloir être traité immédiatement. La surveillance active consiste à suivre de près le cancer à l'aide de tests et d'examens effectués régulièrement pour vérifier s'il commence à grossir ou à provoquer des symptômes. Si le cancer se met à grossir ou si vous éprouvez des symptômes au cours de la surveillance active, on vous proposera des traitements.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la surveillance active du cancer de la prostate.

Observation vigilante

On peut vous proposer l'observation vigilante si vous êtes âgé et ne voulez pas éprouver les effets secondaires des traitements ou si vous n'êtes pas en mesure d'être traité parce que vous êtes atteint d'autres troubles médicaux. L'observation vigilante est moins intensive que la surveillance active. Elle ne comporte pas d'examens courants et repose davantage sur les changements des symptômes. Si vous commencez à éprouver des symptômes alors que vous êtes en observation vigilante, votre médecin pourrait vous parler de traitement des symptômes.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’observation vigilante du cancer de la prostate.

Radiothérapie

La radiothérapie est un traitement standard du cancer de la prostate localisé. On a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses.

On peut vous proposer une radiothérapie externe si vous avez plus de 70 ans et que votre risque de complications liées à la chirurgie est élevé.

On peut offrir une curiethérapie au lieu de la radiothérapie externe ou de la chirurgie. La curiethérapie est une forme de radiothérapie interne qui consiste à placer une substance radioactive (radio-isotope) directement dans la tumeur ou tout près, ce qu'on appelle implant. On a aussi parfois recours à la curiethérapie pour administrer un complément d'irradiation à la radiothérapie externe.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie pour le cancer de la prostate.

Cancer de la prostate localisé à risque intermédiaire défavorable

Le cancer de la prostate localisé à risque intermédiaire défavorable pourrait se développer ou se propager dans quelques années.

Les options de traitement du cancer de la prostate localisé à risque intermédiaire défavorable comprennent celles-ci :

  • chirurgie;
  • radiothérapie avec ou sans hormonothérapie;
  • observation vigilante.

Chirurgie

La chirurgie est un traitement standard du cancer de la prostate localisé. La prostatectomie radicale consiste à enlever la prostate et une partie du tissu tout autour. On peut vous la proposer si vous êtes en bonne santé et si on s'attend à ce que vous viviez au moins 10 ans. On n'offre habituellement pas ce traitement à une personne âgée de plus de 75 ans. Il se peut que le chirurgien enlève aussi les ganglions lymphatiques du bassin (curage ganglionnaire pelvien) pendant la prostatectomie radicale.

Si on observe certaines caractéristiques défavorables lors de la chirurgie, on peut administrer une radiothérapie ou une hormonothérapie, ou bien les deux, après l'opération. Les caractéristiques défavorables comprennent des marges chirurgicales positives, l'envahissement des vésicules séminales ou un cancer qui a traversé la capsule.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chirurgie du cancer de la prostate.

Radiothérapie

La radiothérapie est un traitement standard du cancer de la prostate localisé. En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. On associe souvent la radiothérapie à l'hormonothérapie.

Il est possible qu’on propose une radiothérapie externe au lieu d’une prostatectomie radicale. Elle peut aussi être administrée après une prostatectomie radicale (on parle alors de radiothérapie adjuvante) pour réduire le risque de réapparition (récidive) du cancer. On pourrait également l'associer à une curiethérapie.

La curiethérapie peut être proposée comme complément d'irradiation à la radiothérapie externe. On administre parfois seulement un complément d'irradiation plutôt que d'avoir recours à la radiothérapie externe ou à la chirurgie. La curiethérapie est une forme de radiothérapie qui consiste à placer une substance radioactive (radio-isotope) directement dans la tumeur ou tout près, ce qu'on appelle implant.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie pour le cancer de la prostate.

Hormonothérapie

Si on vous administre une radiothérapie, vous pourriez aussi recevoir une hormonothérapie avant, pendant ou après la radiothérapie. L'hormonothérapie modifie les taux d'hormones ou bloque certaines hormones dans le but de ralentir la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses.

On peut administrer une seule hormonothérapie ou en associer dont celles-ci :

  • analogue de l’hormone de libération de la lutéinostimuline (LHRH);
  • antagoniste de la LHRH;
  • antiandrogène;

  • orchidectomie (chirurgie pour enlever les testicules).

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’hormonothérapie du cancer de la prostate.

Cancer de la prostate localisé à risque élevé ou très élevé

Les options de traitement du cancer de la prostate localisé à risque élevé ou très élevé comprennent celles-ci :

  • radiothérapie et hormonothérapie;
  • chirurgie;
  • observation vigilante.

Radiothérapie

On peut vous proposer une radiothérapie pour un cancer de la prostate localisé à risque élevé ou très élevé. En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. On associe habituellement la radiothérapie à l'hormonothérapie. Si on vous traite pour soulager vos symptômes mais pas pour vous guérir du cancer, on pourrait vous administrer seulement une radiothérapie ou une hormonothérapie.

Il est possible qu’on propose une radiothérapie externe au lieu d’une prostatectomie radicale. Elle peut aussi être administrée après une prostatectomie radicale (on parle alors de radiothérapie adjuvante) pour réduire le risque de réapparition du cancer.

La curiethérapie peut être proposée en association avec la radiothérapie externe. C'est une forme de radiothérapie qui consiste à placer une substance radioactive (radio-isotope) directement dans la tumeur ou tout près, ce qu'on appelle implant.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie pour le cancer de la prostate.

Hormonothérapie

On associe souvent l'hormonothérapie à la radiothérapie. Elle peut être administrée avant, pendant ou après la radiothérapie. L'hormonothérapie modifie les taux d'hormones ou bloque certaines hormones dans le but de ralentir la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses. On associe habituellement l'hormonothérapie à la radiothérapie. Si on vous traite pour soulager vos symptômes mais pas pour vous guérir du cancer, on pourrait vous administrer seulement une radiothérapie ou une hormonothérapie.

On peut administrer une seule hormonothérapie ou en associer dont celles-ci :

  • analogue de l’hormone de libération de la lutéinostimuline (LHRH);
  • antagoniste de la LHRH;
  • antiandrogène;

  • orchidectomie (chirurgie pour enlever les testicules).

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’hormonothérapie du cancer de la prostate.

Chirurgie

La prostatectomie radicale consiste à enlever la prostate et une partie du tissu tout autour. On peut vous proposer la prostatectomie radicale si vous êtes en bonne santé et si on s'attend à ce que vous viviez au moins 10 ans. On n'offre habituellement pas ce traitement à une personne âgée de plus de 75 ans. Il se peut que le chirurgien enlève aussi les ganglions lymphatiques du bassin (curage ganglionnaire pelvien) pendant la prostatectomie radicale.

Si on observe certaines caractéristiques défavorables lors de la chirurgie, on peut administrer une radiothérapie ou une hormonothérapie, ou bien les deux, après l'opération. Les caractéristiques défavorables comprennent des marges chirurgicales positives, l'envahissement des vésicules séminales ou un cancer qui a traversé la capsule.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chirurgie du cancer de la prostate.

Observation vigilante

On peut vous proposer l'observation vigilante si vous êtes âgé et ne voulez pas éprouver les effets secondaires des traitements ou si vous n'êtes pas en mesure d'être traité parce que vous êtes atteint d'autres troubles médicaux. L'observation vigilante est moins intensive que la surveillance active.surveillance active Elle ne comporte pas d'examens courants et repose davantage sur les changements des symptômes. Si vous commencez à éprouver des symptômes alors que vous êtes en observation vigilante, votre médecin pourrait vous parler de traitement des symptômes.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’observation vigilante du cancer de la prostate.

Essais cliniques

Demandez à votre médecin s’il y a des essais cliniques en cours au Canada pour les personnes atteintes d’un cancer de la prostate. Les essais cliniques visent à trouver de nouvelles méthodes de prévention, de détection et de traitement du cancer. Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Révision par les experts et références