Treatments for recurrent prostate cancer

Last medical review:

Recurrent prostate cancer is cancer that comes back (recurs) after it has been treated. Recurrent prostate cancer is also diagnosed when the prostate-specific antigen (PSA) level starts to rise quickly after initial treatment but there are no other signs of cancer. This is called a biochemical recurrence or PSA failure.

The following are treatment options for recurrent prostate cancer. Your healthcare team will suggest treatments based on your needs and work with you to develop a treatment plan. The type of treatment that you receive will depend on:

  • the treatments you've already had
  • where the cancer comes back
  • whether the cancer has spread
  • your overall health and whether you have other illnesses
  • your age and life expectancy
  • your personal preferences

After radical prostatectomy

Treatment options after a radical prostatectomy for cancer that recurs in or around the prostate include:

After radiation therapy

Treatment options after radiation therapy for cancer that recurs in or around the prostate include:

Cancer that recurs outside of the prostate

Treatment options for prostate cancer that has spread to other parts of the body include:

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy may be offered for prostate cancer that recurs after a radical prostatectomy. It uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. Radiation therapy may be given with or without hormone therapy.

External radiation therapy

External radiation therapy is the type of radiation therapy most often used. It may be given together with hormone therapy.

If the cancer was treated with surgery and it comes back in the same area of the prostate, radiation therapy may be used to treat it. If the cancer was treated with external radiation therapy, this treatment can't be given to the same area again. This is because the radiation would do too much damage to the organs around the prostate, such as the bladder and rectum.

Brachytherapy

Brachytherapy is a form of radiation therapy that uses a radioactive substance (radioactive isotope) placed directly into the tumour or very close to it (called an implant). You may be offered brachytherapy to treat a recurrence if external radiation therapy was first used to treat the tumour in the prostate and if the cancer hasn't spread to other parts of the body.

Hormone therapy

Hormone therapy (also called androgen deprivation therapy) may be used to treat prostate cancer that recurs after surgery or radiation therapy. It is the main treatment for prostate cancer that recurs outside of the prostate area. It decreases the levels of hormones or blocks certain hormones to slow the growth and spread of cancer cells. Hormone therapy may be given alone or along with radiation therapy. If one type of hormone therapy isn't helpful then another type may be used.

Hormone therapies may be used on their own or combined and include:

  • a luteinizing hormone–releasing hormone (LHRH) agonist
  • an LHRH antagonist
  • an anti-androgen
  • an androgen synthesis inhibitor
  • an orchiectomy (surgery to remove the testicles)

Find out more about hormone therapy for prostate cancer.

Watchful waiting

You may be offered watchful waiting if you are elderly and don't want the side effects that come along with treatment or are unable to have treatment due to other medical conditions. Watchful waiting is less intensive than active surveillance. There are no routine tests and it relies more on changes in symptoms. If you start to have symptoms while under watchful waiting, your doctor may discuss treatment for the symptoms.

Find out more about watchful waiting for prostate cancer.

Surgery

Surgery is rarely used to treat recurrent prostate cancer that was treated previously with radiation therapy.

Cryosurgery

Cryosurgery is a procedure that uses extremely cold or freezing temperatures to destroy abnormal cells or tissue. It is sometimes used to treat cancer that recurs in the prostate when radiation therapy was the first treatment given. Cryosurgery may be used if you are unable to have surgery or radiation therapy because of other health conditions.

Find out more about cryosurgery.

High-intensity focused ultrasound (HIFU)

High-intensity focused ultrasound (HIFU) uses focused ultrasound waves to create intense heat, which destroys cancer cells. Right now, HIFU is an experimental treatment for prostate cancer. Sometimes doctors use it to treat prostate cancer that comes back after it has been treated with radiation therapy.

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy may be offered for prostate cancer that recurs outside of the prostate. It uses anticancer drugs to destroy cancer cells.

Docetaxel and prednisone are the drugs used most often. They are used along with hormone therapy.

Find out more about chemotherapy for prostate cancer.

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on cancer cells or inside them to stop the growth and spread of cancer and limit harm to normal cells. Targeted therapy may be used to treat recurrent prostate cancer that has certain genetic mutations.

Targeted therapy drugs that may be used include:

  • olaparib (Lynparza)

Find out more about targeted therapy for prostate cancer.

Treatments for bone metastases

When prostate cancer spreads to other parts of the body, it most often spreads to the bones. The most common treatments for prostate cancer that has spread to the bones are:

  • bisphosphonates, such as zoledronic acid (Zometa)
  • denosumab (Xgeva), which is a type of monoclonal antibody therapy
  • corticosteroids, such as prednisone and dexamethasone
  • external radiation therapy
  • systemic radiation therapy with radium-223 dichloride (Xofigo)
  • a procedure to stabilize a collapsed bone (called kyphoplasty)
  • pain medicines

Find out more about bone metastases, including treatments and supportive therapies.

If you can’t have or don’t want cancer treatment

You may want to consider a type of care to make you feel better without treating the cancer itself. This may be because the cancer treatments don’t work anymore, they’re not likely to improve your condition or they may cause side effects that are hard to cope with. There may also be other reasons why you can’t have or don’t want cancer treatment.

Talk to your healthcare team. They can help you choose care and treatment for advanced cancer.

Clinical trials

Talk to your doctor about clinical trials open to people with prostate cancer in Canada. Clinical trials look at new ways to prevent, find and treat cancer. Find out more about clinical trials.

Expert review and references

Traitements de la récidive de cancer de la prostate

Dernière révision médicale :

La récidive d’un cancer de la prostate signifie que le cancer réapparaît à la suite du traitement : on peut aussi dire cancer de la prostate récidivant. Le cancer de la prostate récidivant est aussi diagnostiqué lorsque le taux d’antigène prostatique spécifique (APS) se met à augmenter rapidement après le traitement initial sans qu’il y ait d’autre signe de cancer. C'est ce qu'on appelle une récidive biochimique ou un échec de l'APS.

En présence d'une récidive de cancer de la prostate, on peut avoir recours aux options de traitement suivantes. Votre équipe de soins vous proposera des traitements en fonction de vos besoins et discutera avec vous afin d’élaborer un plan de traitement. Le type de traitement que vous recevrez dépend des facteurs suivants :

  • les traitements que vous avez déjà reçus;
  • les emplacements où le cancer est réapparu;
  • si le cancer s'est propagé;
  • votre état de santé global et la présence d'autres maladies;
  • votre âge et votre espérance de vie;
  • vos préférences personnelles.

Après une prostatectomie radicale

Les options de traitement après une prostatectomie radicale pratiquée pour un cancer qui a récidivé à l'intérieur ou autour de la prostate comprennent celles-ci :

Après une radiothérapie

Les options de traitement après une radiothérapie administrée pour un cancer qui a récidivé à l'intérieur ou autour de la prostate comprennent celles-ci :

Cancer qui récidive hors de la prostate

Les options de traitement du cancer de la prostate qui s'est propagé à d'autres parties du corps comprennent celles-ci :

Radiothérapie

La radiothérapie peut être une option pour le cancer de la prostate qui récidive après une prostatectomie radicale. On a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. La radiothérapie peut être associée ou non à une hormonothérapie.

Radiothérapie externe

La radiothérapie externe est le type de radiothérapie le plus souvent utilisé. On peut l'associer à une hormonothérapie.

Si le cancer a été traité par chirurgie et qu’il réapparaît dans la même région de la prostate, on pourrait avoir recours à la radiothérapie pour le traiter. Si le cancer a été traité par radiothérapie externe, il n'est pas possible de traiter de nouveau cette région par radiothérapie externe. C'est parce que la radiation causerait trop de dommages aux organes entourant la prostate, comme la vessie et le rectum.

Curiethérapie

La curiethérapie est une forme de radiothérapie qui consiste à placer une substance radioactive (radio-isotope) directement dans la tumeur ou tout près, ce qu'on appelle implant. On peut vous proposer la curiethérapie comme traitement d'une récidive si le premier traitement utilisé pour traiter la tumeur à la prostate était la radiothérapie externe et si le cancer ne s’est pas propagé à d’autres parties du corps.

Hormonothérapie

On peut administrer une hormonothérapie, aussi appelée traitement par privation androgénique, pour traiter le cancer de la prostate qui récidive après une chirurgie ou une radiothérapie. C'est le traitement principal du cancer de la prostate qui récidive hors de la région de la prostate. Elle réduit les taux d'hormones ou bloque certaines hormones dans le but de ralentir la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses. On peut administrer seulement une hormonothérapie ou l'associer à une radiothérapie. Si un type d'hormonothérapie n'est pas efficace, on peut alors en essayer un autre.

On peut administrer une seule hormonothérapie ou en associer dont celles-ci :

  • analogue de l’hormone de libération de la lutéinostimuline (LHRH);
  • antagoniste de la LHRH;
  • antiandrogène;
  • inhibiteur de la synthèse des androgènes;
  • orchidectomie (chirurgie pour enlever les testicules).

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’hormonothérapie du cancer de la prostate.

Observation vigilante

On peut vous proposer l'observation vigilante si vous êtes âgé et ne voulez pas éprouver les effets secondaires des traitements ou si vous n'êtes pas en mesure d'être traité parce que vous êtes atteint d'autres troubles médicaux. L'observation vigilante est moins intensive que la surveillance active.surveillance active Elle ne comporte pas d'examens courants et repose davantage sur les changements des symptômes. Si vous commencez à éprouver des symptômes alors que vous êtes en observation vigilante, votre médecin pourrait vous parler de traitement des symptômes.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’observation vigilante du cancer de la prostate.

Chirurgie

On a rarement recours à la chirurgie pour traiter le cancer de la prostate récidivant qui a déjà été traité par radiothérapie.

Cryochirurgie

La cryochirurgie est une intervention qui a recours à des températures extrêmement froides ou glaciales pour détruire les cellules ou les tissus anormaux. On fait parfois une cryochirurgie pour traiter un cancer qui a récidivé dans la prostate si le premier traitement administré a été la radiothérapie. On peut aussi effectuer une cryochirurgie si vous êtes incapable de subir une chirurgie ou une radiothérapie en raison d'autres affections médicales.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la cryochirurgie.

Ultrasons focalisés de haute intensité (UFHI)

Le traitement aux ultrasons focalisés de haute intensité (UFHI) consiste à utiliser des ondes ultrasonores ciblées pour produire une chaleur intense qui détruit les cellules cancéreuses. Pour le moment, les UFHI sont un traitement expérimental du cancer de la prostate. Les médecins y ont parfois recours pour traiter un cancer de la prostate qui est réapparu après avoir été traité par radiothérapie.

Chimiothérapie

La chimiothérapie peut être une option pour le cancer de la prostate qui récidive hors de cet organe. On a recours à des médicaments anticancéreux pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses.

Le docétaxel et la prednisone sont les médicaments les plus souvent administrés. On les associe à l'hormonothérapie.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chimiothérapie du cancer de la prostate.

Traitement ciblé

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques, comme des protéines, présentes à la surface ou à l’intérieur des cellules cancéreuses dans le but d’interrompre la croissance et la propagation du cancer tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales. On peut administrer un traitement ciblé pour une récidive de cancer de la prostate qui présente certaines mutations génétiques.

Le médicament ciblé qui suit peut être employé :

  • olaparib (Lynparza).

Apprenez-en davantage sur le traitement ciblé du cancer de la prostate.

Traitements des métastases osseuses

Lorsque le cancer de la prostate se propage à d’autres parties du corps, il le fait le plus souvent aux os. Les traitements suivants sont les plus employés dans le cas d’un cancer de la prostate qui s’est propagé aux os :

  • bisphosphonates, comme l'acide zolédronique (Zometa);
  • dénosumab (Xgeva), qui est un type d’anticorps monoclonal;
  • corticostéroïdes, comme la prednisone et la dexaméthasone;
  • radiothérapie externe;
  • radiothérapie systémique à base de chlorure de radium 223 (Xofigo);
  • intervention pour stabiliser un os qui s'est écrasé (spondyloplastie expansive);
  • antidouleurs.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les métastases osseuses, dont les traitements et les traitements de soutien.

Si vous ne pouvez pas ou ne voulez pas recevoir de traitement du cancer

Vous pourriez envisager des soins qui vous permettent de vous sentir mieux sans traiter le cancer lui-même. Ce pourrait être parce que les traitements du cancer n’agissent plus, qu’il n’est plus probable qu’ils améliorent votre état ou que leurs effets secondaires sont difficiles à tolérer. D’autres raisons peuvent expliquer pourquoi vous ne pouvez pas ou ne voulez pas recevoir de traitement du cancer.

Discutez-en avec les membres de votre équipe de soins. Ils peuvent vous aider à choisir les soins et le traitement pour un cancer avancé.

Essais cliniques

Demandez à votre médecin s’il y a des essais cliniques en cours au Canada pour les personnes atteintes d’un cancer de la prostate. Les essais cliniques visent à trouver de nouvelles méthodes de prévention, de détection et de traitement du cancer. Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Révision par les experts et références