Treatments for childhood brain and spinal cord tumours

Your child’s treatment will be overseen by a pediatric neurosurgeon. They will work along with other specialists such as a pediatric neurologist, radiation oncologist, pediatric neuro-oncologist, endocrinologist and neuro-oncologist. Find out more about your child’s healthcare team.

If your child has a brain or spinal cord tumour, the healthcare team will create a treatment plan just for your child. It will be based on your child’s health and specific information about the cancer. When deciding which treatments to offer for childhood brain and spinal cord tumours, the healthcare team will consider:

  • the type, size and location of the tumour
  • how far the tumour has grown or spread
  • whether the tumour can be surgically removed
  • the grade of the tumour
  • your child’s age, neurological condition and general health

Surgery is often used to treat childhood brain and spinal cord tumours. The goal of surgery is to completely remove the tumour or remove as much of the tumour as possible.

Radiation therapy is commonly used to treat childhood brain and spinal cord tumours. Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. In children under 3 years old, radiation can damage developing brain cells, and doctors will try to postpone radiation therapy until the child is older.

Chemotherapy may also be used to treat childhood brain and spinal cord tumours. Chemotherapy uses anticancer (cytotoxic) drugs to destroy cancer cells.

Corticosteroids and antiseizure medicines (anticonvulsants) are often used to treat symptoms caused by childhood brain and spinal cord tumours and their treatment, such as swelling of the brain or spinal cord and seizures.

Stem cell transplant is sometimes used to treat certain childhood brain and spinal cord tumours. A stem cell transplant uses high-dose chemotherapy to destroy bone marrow cells. After high-dose chemotherapy, healthy stem cells are given to replace the ones in the bone marrow that were destroyed.

Active surveillance may be a treatment option for some types of low-grade brain or spinal cord tumours. Active surveillance means that the healthcare team watches the tumour closely. Treatment is given if there are any signs that the tumour is growing or there is an increased risk that the tumour will progress.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Brain and Spinal Cord Tumors in Children. 2016.
  • Macmillan Cancer Support. Brain tumours in children. Macmillan Cancer Support; 2015.
  • National Cancer Institute. Childhood Brain and Spinal Cord Tumors Treatment Overview (PDQ). 2015.
  • National Cancer Institute. Childhood Brain and Spinal Cord Tumors Treatment Overview - for health professionals (PDQ). 2015.
  • Brain tumours. National Childhood Cancer Foundation & Children's Oncology Group. CureSearch. Bethesda, MD: 2006.
  • The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids). AboutKidsHealth: Treatment of Brain Tumours. Toronto, ON: 2009: http://www.aboutkidshealth.ca/En/ResourceCentres/BrainTumours/TreatmentofBrainTumours/Pages/default.aspx.

Surgery for childhood brain and spinal cord tumours

Surgery is the primary treatment for childhood brain and spinal cord cancer. Surgery is used to remove a sample of the tumour (biopsy), to find out the type of tumour and plan treatment, and to remove as much of the tumour as possible (resection) while sparing neurologic function.

Radiation therapy for childhood brain and spinal cord tumours

Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. Radiation therapy plays a large role in the treatment of many childhood brain and spinal cord tumours.

Chemotherapy for childhood brain and spinal cord tumours

Chemotherapy is commonly used to treat childhood brain and spinal cord cancer.

Corticosteroids and antiseizure medicines (anticonvulsants)

Corticosteroids and antiseizure medicines (anticonvulsants) are commonly used to treat the symptoms caused by brain and spinal cord tumours and their treatment. They may be used after surgery or during radiation therapy to relieve symptoms.

Stem cell transplant for childhood brain and spinal cord tumours

A stem cell transplant is sometimes used to treat childhood brain and spinal cord tumours. Stem cells are found in the bone marrow, the blood and the umbilical cord. They are basic cells that develop into different types of cells that have different jobs. For example, all our blood cells develop from blood stem cells.

Active surveillance for childhood brain and spinal cord tumours

Active surveillance or observation may be a treatment option for some types of low-grade brain or spinal cord tumours. Active surveillance means the healthcare team watches the tumour closely. Treatment is given if there are any signs that the tumour is growing or there is an increased risk that the tumour will progress.

Follow-up after treatment for childhood brain and spinal cord tumours

Childhood brain and spinal cord cancer behaves differently in each child and the many different types of brain tumours react differently to treatment. Therefore, a standard follow-up schedule would not work for all children. Parents of children with brain and spinal cord cancer should talk to their child's doctor about a follow-up plan that suits their individual situation. Follow-up care is often shared among the cancer specialists and your family doctor.

Late effects of treatments for childhood brain and spinal cord tumours

The child's healthcare team will watch for late side effects and can help to prepare you for what to expect. They can also suggest ways to help your child.

Traitements des tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant

Le traitement de votre enfant sera supervisé par un neurochirurgien pédiatrique. Il collaborera avec d’autres spécialistes comme un neurologue pédiatrique, un radio-oncologue, un neuro-oncologue pédiatrique, un endocrinologue et un neuro-oncologue. Apprenez-en davantage sur l’équipe de soins de votre enfant.

Si votre enfant est atteint d’une tumeur au cerveau ou à la moelle épinière, l’équipe de soins élaborera un plan de traitement juste pour lui. Ce plan se basera sur la santé de votre enfant et sur l’information particulière ayant trait au cancer. Quand l’équipe de soins décide quels traitements proposer pour une tumeur au cerveau ou à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant, elle prend en considération les éléments suivants :

  • le type de tumeur, sa taille et son emplacement;
  • jusqu’où la tumeur s’est étendue ou propagée;
  • la possibilité d’enlever la tumeur par chirurgie;
  • le grade de la tumeur;
  • l'âge, l'état neurologique et l'état général de santé de votre enfant.

On a souvent recours à la chirurgie pour traiter les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant. Le but de la chirurgie est d’enlever complètement la tumeur ou du moins la plus grande partie possible.

On administre couramment une radiothérapie pour traiter les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant. On a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. Chez l’enfant âgé de moins de 3 ans, la radiation peut endommager les cellules cérébrales en développement, alors les médecins essaient de retarder la radiothérapie jusqu’à ce que l’enfant soit plus âgé.

On peut aussi administrer une chimiothérapie pour traiter les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant. On a recours à des médicaments anticancéreux (cytotoxiques) pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses.

On administre souvent des corticostéroïdes et des anticonvulsivants (antiépileptiques) pour traiter les symptômes des tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant et de leur traitement, comme l’enflure du cerveau ou de la moelle épinière et les crises d’épilepsie.

On fait parfois une greffe de cellules souches pour traiter certaines tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant. On administre alors une chimiothérapie à forte dose pour détruire les cellules dans la moelle osseuse. À la suite de la chimiothérapie à forte dose, on donne à l'enfant des cellules souches saines pour remplacer celles qui ont été détruites dans sa moelle osseuse.

La surveillance active peut être une option de traitement pour certains types de tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière qui sont de bas grade. La surveillance active consiste pour l’équipe de soins à observer attentivement la tumeur. On administre un traitement s’il y a des signes que la tumeur grossit ou s'il y a un plus grand risque que la tumeur évolue.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Brain and Spinal Cord Tumors in Children. 2016.
  • Macmillan Cancer Support. Brain tumours in children. Macmillan Cancer Support; 2015.
  • National Cancer Institute. Childhood Brain and Spinal Cord Tumors Treatment Overview (PDQ). 2015.
  • National Cancer Institute. Childhood Brain and Spinal Cord Tumors Treatment Overview - for health professionals (PDQ). 2015.
  • Brain tumours. National Childhood Cancer Foundation & Children's Oncology Group. CureSearch. Bethesda, MD: 2006.
  • The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids). AboutKidsHealth: Treatment of Brain Tumours. Toronto, ON: 2009: http://www.aboutkidshealth.ca/En/ResourceCentres/BrainTumours/TreatmentofBrainTumours/Pages/default.aspx.

Chirurgie des tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant

La chirurgie est le traitement principal du cancer du cerveau et de la moelle épinière chez l’enfant. On a recours à la chirurgie pour prélever un échantillon de la tumeur (biopsie), pour déterminer le type de tumeur et planifier le traitement, et pour retirer la plus grande partie possible de la tumeur (résection) tout en préservant les fonctions neurologiques.

Radiothérapie pour les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant

En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. La radiothérapie joue un grand rôle dans le traitement de nombreuses tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant.

Chimiothérapie des tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant

On administre souvent une chimiothérapie pour traiter le cancer du cerveau et de la moelle épinière chez l’enfant.

Corticostéroïdes et anticonvulsivants (antiépileptiques)

Les corticostéroïdes et les anticonvulsivants (antiépileptiques) sont souvent employés pour traiter les symptômes causés par les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière et leur traitement. Il est possible qu’on les administre après une chirurgie ou en cours de radiothérapie pour soulager les symptômes.

Greffe de cellules souches pour les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant

On fait parfois une greffe de cellules souches pour traiter les tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant. On trouve les cellules souches dans la moelle osseuse, le sang et le cordon ombilical. Les cellules souches sont des cellules de base qui se transforment en différents types de cellules ayant des fonctions distinctes. Toutes nos cellules sanguines, par exemple, proviennent des cellules souches sanguines.

Surveillance active des tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l'enfant

La surveillance active, ou observation vigilante, peut être une option de traitement pour certains types de tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière qui sont de bas grade. La surveillance active consiste pour l’équipe de soins à observer attentivement la tumeur. On administre un traitement s’il y a des signes que la tumeur grossit ou si le risque que la tumeur évolue augmente.

Suivi après le traitement des tumeurs au cerveau ou à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant

Le cancer du cerveau et de la moelle épinière chez l’enfant se comporte différemment chez chaque enfant et les nombreux types différents de tumeurs cérébrales répondent différemment au traitement. C’est pourquoi un programme de suivi standard ne convient pas à tous les cas. Les parents d'un enfant atteint d'un cancer du cerveau ou de la moelle épinière devraient discuter avec son médecin d’un plan de suivi qui convient à sa situation personnelle. Les spécialistes du cancer et le médecin de famille de votre enfant se partagent souvent la responsabilité du suivi.

Effets tardifs des traitements des tumeurs au cerveau et à la moelle épinière chez l’enfant

L’équipe de soins de l’enfant vérifie l’apparition d’effets tardifs et est en mesure de vous aider à vous préparer à ce qui peut arriver. Elle peut aussi vous dire comment aider votre enfant.