Chemotherapy for esophageal cancer

Chemotherapy uses anticancer, or cytotoxic, drugs to destroy cancer cells. Chemotherapy is commonly used to treat esophageal cancer. Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan the drugs, doses and schedules of chemotherapy. You may also receive other treatments.

Chemotherapy for esophageal cancer is usually a systemic therapy. Most chemotherapy drugs are given as an injection into a vein (intravenous, or IV). The drugs then travel through the bloodstream to reach and destroy cancer cells all over the body, including those that may have broken away from the primary tumour in the esophagus.

Chemotherapy may be used in the following ways to treat esophageal cancer.

Chemotherapy drugs used for esophageal cancer

Chemotherapy drugs used to treat esophageal cancer are usually given in combination. Research has shown that this is more effective than giving them as single drugs.

The most common chemotherapy drugs used to treat esophageal cancer are:

  • capecitabine (Xeloda)
  • cisplatin and capecitabine
  • cisplatin and etoposide (Vepesid)
  • cisplatin and fluorouracil
  • cisplatin and irinotecan
  • carboplatin and fluorouracil
  • carboplatin and irinotecan
  • carboplatin and paclitaxel
  • epirubicin, carboplatin and fluorouracil
  • epirubicin, carboplatin and capecitabine
  • epirubicin, cisplatin and capecitabine
  • epirubicin, cisplatin and fluorouracil
  • fluorouracil and leucovorin
  • docetaxel (Taxotere), oxaliplatin, fluorouracil and leucovorin
  • oxaliplatin, fluorouracil and leucovorin
  • oxaliplatin and capecitabine

There are no standard treatments for esophageal cancer that does not respond to drugs used in earlier treatments or if it comes back. You may be given the same drugs that you were given before, or different drugs. The following drugs or drug combinations may be used:

  • cyclophosphamide (Procytox), doxorubicin and vincristine
  • etoposide, leucovorin, fluorouracil
  • epirubicin, oxaliplatin and fluorouracil
  • epirubicin, oxaliplatin and capecitabine
  • irinotecan, fluorouracil and leucovorin
  • docetaxel
  • paclitaxel
  • irinotecan

Lonsurf (trifluridine/tipiracil) may be used to treat recurrent or metastatic adenocarcinoma tumours at the gastroesophageal (GE) junction. It is used after you have had at least 2 different types of chemotherapy, including oxaliplatin and fluorouracil, along with docetaxel or paclitaxel, or irinotecan.

Targeted therapy drugs may be used in combination with some chemotherapy drugs for locally advanced or metastatic adenocarcinoma tumours at the gastroesophageal (GE) junction.

An immunotherapy drug, nivolumab (Opdivo) may be given with cisplatin or carboplatin and fluorouracil for advanced or metastatic tumours at the gastroesophageal (GE) junction, or for adenocarcinoma tumours of the esophagus.

Side effects

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment for esophageal cancer, but everyone's experience is different. Some people have many side effects. Other people have few or none at all.

Chemotherapy may cause side effects because it can damage healthy cells as it kills cancer cells. If you develop side effects, they can happen any time during, immediately after or a few days or weeks after chemotherapy. Sometimes late side effects develop months or years after chemotherapy. Most side effects go away on their own or can be treated, but some side effects may last a long time or become permanent.

Side effects of chemotherapy will depend mainly on the type of drug, the dose, whether or not radiation therapy is given at the same time as chemotherapy and your overall health. Some common side effects of chemotherapy drugs used for esophageal cancer are:

Tell your healthcare team if you have these side effects or others you think might be from chemotherapy. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help you deal with them.

Information about specific cancer drugs

Details on specific drugs change regularly. Find out more about sources of drug information and where to get details on specific drugs.

Questions to ask about chemotherapy

Find out more about chemotherapy and side effects of chemotherapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about chemotherapy.

Expert review and references

  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Esophageal and Esophagogastric Junction Cancers (Version 2.2018). http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp.
  • National Cancer Institute . Esophageal Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version . 2018 .
  • Posner MC, Minsky BD, Ilson DH . Cancer of the esophagus. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 45:574-612.
  • Lordick F, Mariette C, Haustermans K, et al . Oesophageal cancer: ESMO clinical practice guidelines for diagnosis, treatment and follow-up. Annals of Oncology. 2016.
  • National Cancer Institute. Esophageal Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. 2018.
  • Cox SJ, O'Cathail SM, Coles B, Crosby T, Mukherjee S . Update on neoadjuvant regimens for patients with operable oesophageal/gastrooesophageal junction adenocarcinomas and squamous cell carcinomas. Current Oncology Reports. 2017.

Chimiothérapie du cancer de l'œsophage

En chimiothérapie, on a recours à des médicaments anticancéreux, ou cytotoxiques, pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. On l’administre couramment pour traiter le cancer de l’œsophage. Votre équipe de soins prendra en considération vos propres besoins pour choisir les agents chimiothérapeutiques, les doses et les modes d’administration. Vous pourriez aussi recevoir d’autres traitements.

La chimiothérapie administrée pour le cancer de l’œsophage est habituellement systémique. On injecte la plupart des agents chimiothérapeutiques dans une veine (intraveineuse, ou IV). Ces médicaments circulent ensuite dans le sang pour atteindre et détruire les cellules cancéreuses dans tout le corps, dont celles qui auraient pu se détacher de la tumeur primitive à l’œsophage.

On peut avoir recours à la chimiothérapie de différentes façons pour traiter le cancer de l’œsophage.

Agents chimiothérapeutiques administrés pour le cancer de l’œsophage

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques auxquels on a recours pour traiter le cancer de l’œsophage sont habituellement administrés en associations. La recherche a démontré que les associations sont plus efficaces que l’administration d’un seul médicament.

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques les plus souvent employés pour traiter le cancer de l’œsophage sont les suivants :

  • capécitabine (Xeloda);
  • cisplatine et capécitabine;
  • cisplatine et étoposide (Vepesid);
  • cisplatine et fluorouracil;
  • cisplatine et irinotécan;
  • carboplatine et fluorouracil;
  • carboplatine et irinotécan;
  • carboplatine et paclitaxel;
  • épirubicine, carboplatine et fluorouracil;
  • épirubicine, carboplatine et capécitabine;
  • épirubicine, cisplatine et capécitabine;
  • épirubicine, cisplatine et fluorouracil;
  • fluorouracil et leucovorine;
  • docétaxel (Taxotere), oxaliplatine, fluorouracil et leucovorine;
  • oxaliplatine, fluorouracil et leucovorine;
  • oxaliplatine et capécitabine.

Il n’y a pas de traitements standards pour le cancer de l’œsophage qui ne répond pas aux médicaments déjà administrés ou qui réapparaît. Vous pourriez recevoir les mêmes médicaments qu’avant ou d’autres. Il est possible d’avoir recours aux médicaments ou aux associations médicamenteuses qui suivent :

  • cyclophosphamide (Procytox), doxorubicine et vincristine;
  • étoposide, leucovorine, fluorouracil;
  • épirubicine, oxaliplatine et fluorouracil;
  • épirubicine, oxaliplatine et capécitabine;
  • irinotécan, fluorouracil et leucovorine;
  • docétaxel;
  • paclitaxel;
  • irinotécan.

Le médicament Lonsurf (trifluridine/tipiracil) peut être employé pour traiter l’adénocarcinome de la jonction œsophago-gastrique (OG) qui récidive ou qui est métastatique. On y a recours après que vous avez reçu au moins 2 types différents de chimiothérapie, dont l’oxaliplatine et le fluorouracil, associés au docétaxel ou au paclitaxel, ou l’irinotécan.

On peut associer des médicaments utilisés pour le traitement ciblé à certains agents chimiothérapeutiques pour un adénocarcinome de la jonction œsophago-gastrique (OG) qui est localement avancé ou métastatique.

Effets secondaires

Peu importe le traitement du cancer de l’œsophage, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque personne les ressent différemment. Certaines en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu ou pas du tout.

La chimiothérapie peut causer des effets secondaires puisqu’elle risque d’endommager les cellules saines tout en détruisant les cellules cancéreuses. Si des effets secondaires se manifestent, ils peuvent le faire n’importe quand pendant la chimiothérapie, tout de suite après ou quelques jours, voire quelques semaines plus tard. Il arrive que des effets secondaires apparaissent des mois ou des années à la suite de la chimiothérapie (effets tardifs). La plupart disparaissent d’eux-mêmes ou peuvent être traités, mais certains risquent de durer longtemps ou d’être permanents.

Les effets secondaires de la chimiothérapie dépendent surtout du type de médicament, de la dose, de l’administration d’une radiothérapie pendant la même période et de votre état de santé global. Voici certains effets secondaires courants des agents chimiothérapeutiques administrés pour le cancer de l’œsophage :

Avisez votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez ces effets secondaires ou d’autres que vous croyez liés à la chimiothérapie. Plus tôt vous signalez un problème, plus rapidement on pourra vous dire comment aider à le traiter.

Informations sur des médicaments anticancéreux spécifiques

Les renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques changent régulièrement. Apprenez-en davantage sur les sources d’information sur les médicaments ainsi que sur les sites où vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques.

Questions à poser sur la chimiothérapie

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chimiothérapie et les effets secondaires de la chimiothérapie. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur la chimiothérapie à l’équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Esophagus Cancer. Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2013.
  • Esophageal cancer treatment options. American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.Net. Alexandria, VA.: American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO); 2013.
  • Baldwin, K. M. et al . Esophageal cancer treatment and management. eMedicine.com. Omaha: eMedicine, Inc; 2014.
  • Esophageal and esophagogastric junction. BC Cancer Agency (BCCA). Cancer Management Guidelines. BC Cancer Agency; 2013.
  • Oesophageal cancer. Cancer Research UK. CancerHelp UK. Cancer Research UK; 2014.
  • Chemotherapy for oesophageal cancer. Macmillan Cancer Support. Macmillan Cancer Support. London, UK: Macmillan Cancer Support; 2012.
  • National Cancer Institute. Esophageal Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.
  • Esophageal and esophagogastric junction cancers. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology. National Comprehensive Cancer Network; 2013.
  • Posner, MC, Minsky BD, & Ilson DH . Cancer of the esophagus. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 79: pp. 887-923.
  • Siewert JR, Molls M, Zimmermann F, et al . Esophageal Cancer: Clinical Management. Kelsen, D. P., Daly, J. M., Kern, S. E., Levin, B., Tepper, J. E., & Van Cutsem, E. (eds.). Principles and Practice of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: 18: pp. 203-228.
  • Tian, J. and Wang, K. K . Esophageal squamous cell carcinoma. Jankowiski J & Hawk E (eds.). Handbook of Gastrointestinal Cancer. Wiley-Blackwell; 2013: Chapter 1: pp. 1-24.