Research in esophageal cancer

We are always learning more about cancer. Researchers and healthcare professionals use what they learn from research studies to develop better ways to treat esophageal cancer. The following is a selection of research showing promise for treating esophageal cancer.

We've included information from the following sources. Each item has an identity number that links to a brief overview (sometimes called an abstract).

  • PubMed, US National Library of Medicine (PMID)
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)
  • Canadian Cancer Trials and ClinicalTrial.gov (NCT)

Surgery

Researchers are looking for better ways to treat esophageal cancer using surgery and improve how surgery is done.

Removing lymph nodes is a standard part of an esophagectomy to remove the esophagus. The number of lymph nodes that have cancer are part of staging esophageal cancer, but it is not known if removing more lymph nodes improves survival or reduces the risk of the cancer coming back after surgery. Researchers compared 2 groups of people who had surgery to remove their esophagus. One group had lymph nodes removed from 3 areas (the neck, chest and abdomen) and the other group had lymph nodes removed from 2 areas (the chest and abdomen). The study, which focused on people who had tumours in the middle to lower part of the esophagus, showed similar disease-free survival and overall survival in the 2 groups. These results suggest that surgery to remove more lymph nodes than are needed for staging may not be necessary (Journal of Thoracic Oncology, PMID 33307192).

Delaying surgery after chemoradiation until it is needed may help delay the significant side effects of surgery and improve quality of life. A clinical trial will compare a group of people having the standard treatment of neoadjuvant chemoradiation followed by surgery with another group of people who will have surgery only if cancer comes back after chemoradiation (NCT 04460352).

Robot-assisted surgery to remove the esophagus was shown in a clinical trial to improve outcomes after surgery. During this type of surgery, the surgeon sits near the operating table and controls robotic arms that perform the operation through several small cuts (incisions) in the chest. Compared to people who had standard minimally invasive surgery, people who had a robot-assisted surgery had fewer surgical complications, including anastomotic leaks, and shorter hospital stays (Frontiers in Oncology, PMID 36059666; Surgical Endoscopy, PMID 36097100). Robot-assisted surgery requires special equipment and extensive training that is very expensive, so it may not be available at all hospitals even if it does become an accepted treatment for esophageal cancer.

Radiation therapy

Researchers are looking for better ways of using radiation therapy to treat esophageal cancer.

Intensity-modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) is a specialized form of radiation therapy. IMRT gives external beam radiation in a targeted way using computers to vary the shape of the radiation field and the intensity of the dose delivered. This technique maximizes radiation to the tumour and minimizes the amount of radiation that normal tissue is exposed to.

  • A study compared boosting the amount of radiation delivered by IMRT, either at the time of chemoradiation or at a later time. Results showed that the main difference between the 2 groups was that there was better local control of the cancer in the group that were given the radiation boost at the same time as chemoradiation, but there was no difference in the overall survival rate (Frontiers in Surgery, PMID 35677748).
  • Higher doses of radiation given by IMRT during chemoradiation showed a better survival in people who had locally advanced esophageal cancer that couldn't be removed with surgery when compared to people who had a lower dose of radiation as a treatment (Medicine (Baltimore), PMID 35482986).

Proton beam radiation therapy uses proton beams instead of x-ray beams to destroy cancerous tissue. X-ray beams release energy before and after they hit their target. Proton beams are different because they release most of their energy after travelling a certain distance. As a result, proton beams cause very little damage to tissues that they pass through and more radiation can be delivered to the tumour. Researchers are studying chemoradiation with proton beam radiation therapy in people with esophageal cancer (Journal of Gastrointestinal Oncology, PMID 32175118; NCT 03801876, NCT 05055648). However, not all studies have shown that there is an advantage using proton beams (Cancers (Basel), PMID 35454939; PMID 36011037). The machines needed to make protons are expensive and this type of radiation therapy may not be available at all treatment centres.

Chemotherapy and chemoradiation

Chemoradiation is often used to treat esophageal cancer. Chemotherapy may also be used on its own. The following research shows promise in treating esophageal cancer:

Carboplatin and paclitaxel are being combined with external radiation therapy in a clinical trial. The goal of the trial is to find out if adding these chemotherapy drugs to radiation therapy improves swallowing problems in people who have esophageal cancer that can't be removed by surgery (NCT 02297217).

Oxaliplatin and capecitabine (Xeloda) were compared to cisplatin and paclitaxel in people who had adenocarcinoma of the gastroesophageal junction. Each chemotherapy combination was given along with external radiation therapy before surgery. Results of the study showed that there was better overall survival and progression-free survival with the combination of cisplatin and paclitaxel (European Journal of Cancer, PMID 33307192).

Chemotherapy given after neoadjuvant chemoradiation and surgery may help improve the survival of people with squamous cell carcinoma esophageal cancer who had cancer left behind after surgery (Journal of Personalized Medicine, PMID 36013201).

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on cancer cells or inside them. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells and limit harm to normal cells. The following targeted therapy drugs are showing promise in treating esophageal cancer.

Regorafenib (Stivarga) is being studied in a phase 3 clinical trial as a treatment for people who have adenocarcinoma of the gastroesophageal (GE) junction. The clinical trial, called INTEGRATE lla, is comparing regorafenib to a placebo as a treatment for locally recurrent or metastatic tumours that have not responded to 2 or more types of chemotherapy (NCT 02773524).

Bevacizumab (Avastin) is a targeted therapy drug that shrinks blood vessels. The combination of bevacizumab, gemcitabine and cisplatin was compared to gemcitabine and cisplatin as the first treatment given to people diagnosed with esophageal cancer. The results showed that people treated with bevacizumab, gemcitabine and cisplatin had a higher survival rate after 2 years compared to people who were treated with just gemcitabine and cisplatin (Biomedical Research International, PMID 35480138).

Zanidatamab is a new monoclonal antibody that targets adenocarcinoma tumours of the gastroesophageal junction that are HER2 positive. A new study called HERIZON-GEA-01 is comparing zanidatamab and chemotherapy, with or without tislelizumab (an immunotherapy drug), to trastuzumab and chemotherapy, as the first treatment in people with advanced or metastatic adenocarcinoma tumours. The study will look at how effective and safe the new treatment is (Future Oncology, PMID 36000541; NCT 05152147).

Immunotherapy

Immunotherapy helps to strengthen or restore the immune system's ability to find and destroy cancer cells. The immune system normally stops itself from attacking normal cells in the body by using specific proteins called checkpoints, which are made by some immune system cells. PD-1 is an immune checkpoint protein that stops T cells from attacking other cells in the body. It does this by attaching to PD-L1, a protein found on some normal cells and some cancer cells. Checkpoint inhibitor drugs may target either PD-1 or PD-L1 proteins.

Combining immunotherapy drugs with chemotherapy drugs is called chemoimmunotherapy. Research is looking at the following chemoimmunotherapy with PD-1 checkpoint inhibitors as potential treatments for esophageal cancer:

  • sintilimab (BMJ, PMID 3544046; Nature Communications, PMID 35165274)
  • tislelizumab (Cancer Control, PMID 35926155; NCT 03430843)
  • camrelizumab (Frontiers in Immunology, PMID 35911723; Cancer Management and Research, PMID 35795828; International Journal of Cancer, PMID 35188268)
  • toripalimab (Journal of Gastrointestinal Oncology, PMID 35557591; Oncologist, PMID 35305102)

Other noteworthy developments

The following are other noteworthy developments in esophageal cancer research.

Prehabilitation uses exercise, nutrition and psychological support to improve a person's overall physical and mental health before having treatment. The goal is to help people cope better with the significant side effects of surgery to remove all or part of the esophagus and the side effects of chemoradiation treatment for esophageal cancer. Prehabilitation studies show that it can improve nutritional status, physical fitness and quality of life. Some studies also suggested that prehabilitation can also help reduce the chance of dying because of surgery (Cancers (Basel), PMID 35565226; Diseases of the Esophagus, PMID 35795994, PMID 34875680; British Journal of Sports Medicine, PMID 35105604).

The Thoracic POISE project is looking at dietary supplements, nutritional counselling, physical activity recommendations and psychological support as part of an integrative healthcare approach to care for people with esophageal cancer. The intent of the study is to see if adding integrative healthcare practices can improve quality of life, reduce surgery side effects and help improve survival (NCT 04871412).

Learn more about cancer research

Researchers continue to try to find out more about cancer. Clinical trials are research studies that test new ways to treat cancer. They also look at ways to prevent, find and manage cancer.

Clinical trials provide information about the safety and effectiveness of new approaches to see if they should become widely available. Most of the standard treatments for esophageal cancer were first shown to be effective through clinical trials.

Find out more about clinical trials.

Expert review and references

  • Donna Maziak, MD, MSc, FRCPC

Recherche sur le cancer de l'œsophage

On en apprend toujours plus sur le cancer. Les chercheurs et les professionnels de la santé se servent de ce qu’ils ont appris lors des études de recherche pour élaborer de meilleures façons de traiter le cancer de l'œsophage. Le texte qui suit traite de différentes recherches qui se révèlent prometteuses dans le traitement du cancer de l'œsophage.

Nous avons inclus de l’information qui provient des sources suivantes. Chaque article comporte un numéro d’identification dont le lien mène à un bref résumé.

  • PubMed, US National Library of Medicine (PMID)
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)
  • Essais canadiens sur le cancer et ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT)

Chirurgie

Des chercheurs tentent de trouver les meilleures façons de traiter le cancer de l'œsophage à l’aide de la chirurgie et d’améliorer comment on pratique la chirurgie.

Le retrait de ganglions lymphatiques est un élément standard d'une œsophagectomie pratiquée pour enlever l'œsophage. On ignore si le fait d'enlever un plus grand nombre de ganglions lymphatiques améliore la survie ou réduit le risque de réapparition du cancer après la chirurgie. Des chercheurs ont comparé 2 groupes de personnes ayant subi une intervention pour retirer leur œsophage. Dans un groupe, on a enlevé des ganglions dans 3 régions (le cou, le thorax et l'abdomen) et dans l'autre groupe, on a enlevé des ganglions dans 2 régions (le thorax et l'abdomen). L'étude, qui portait sur des personnes dont les tumeurs étaient situées dans la partie du milieu ou du bas de l'œsophage, a montré que la survie sans récidive et la survie globale étaient semblables dans les 2 groupes. Ces résultats donnent à penser que le retrait chirurgical d'un plus grand nombre de ganglions lymphatiques n'est peut-être pas nécessaire (Journal of Thoracic Oncology, PMID 33307192).

Différer la chirurgie après une chimioradiothérapie jusqu'à ce que l'intervention soit requise pourrait aider à retarder les effets secondaires importants de la chirurgie et à améliorer la qualité de vie. Un essai clinique sera mené pour comparer un groupe de personnes recevant le traitement standard, soit une chimioradiothérapie néoadjuvante suivie d'une chirurgie, avec un autre groupe de personnes qui subiront une intervention chirugicale seulement si le cancer réapparaît après la chimioradiothérapie (NCT 04460352).

La chirurgie robotique pour enlever l'œsophage s'est avérée efficace pour améliorer les résultats après la chirurgie dans le cadre d'un essai clinique. Lors de ce type d'intervention, le chirurgien, qui est assis près de la table d'opération, manipule les bras robotiques qui réalisent l'opération à travers plusieurs petites coupures (incisions) dans le thorax. Si on les compare aux personnes ayant subi une chirurgie minimalement invasive, les personnes chez qui on a pratiqué une chirurgie robotique ont eu moins de complications chirurgicales, notamment des fuites anastomotiques, et ont séjourné moins longtemps à l'hôpital (Frontiers in Oncology, PMID 36059666; Surgical Endoscopy, PMID 36097100). Si elle est acceptée comme traitement du cancer de l'œsophage, il est possible que la chirurgie robotique ne soit pas offerte dans tous les hôpitaux en raison de l'équipement spécial très coûteux qui est nécessaire pour la réaliser.

Radiothérapie

Les chercheurs tentent de trouver de meilleures façons d’utiliser la radiothérapie pour traiter le cancer de l'œsophage.

La radiothérapie conformationnelle avec modulation d'intensité (RCMI) est une forme spécialisée de radiothérapie. La RCMI permet d'administrer une radiothérapie externe de façon ciblée à l’aide d’ordinateurs afin de varier la forme du champ de rayonnement ainsi que l’intensité de la dose émise. Cette technique maximise l'irradiation de la tumeur et réduit le plus possible la quantité de radiation à laquelle le tissu normal est exposé.

  • Lors d'une étude comparative, on a administré un complément de dose à la quantité de radiation émise par la RCMI, soit au moment de la chimioradiothérapie, soit plus tard. Les résultats ont montré que la principale différence entre les 2 groupes était un meilleur contrôle local du cancer dans le groupe ayant reçu le complément d'irradiation en même temps que la chimioradiothérapie, mais qu'il n'y avait aucune différence quant au taux de survie globale (Frontiers in Surgery, PMID 35677748).
  • Des doses plus élevées de radiation administrées par la RCMI durant la chimioradiothérapie ont engendré une meilleure survie chez les personnes atteintes d'un cancer de l'œsophage localement avancé qui ne pouvait pas être enlevé par chirurgie, comparativement aux personnes traitées au moyen d'une dose de radiation moins élevée (Medicine (Baltimore), PMID 35482986).

La protonthérapie a recours à des faisceaux de protons plutôt que de rayons X pour détruire le tissu cancéreux. Les faisceaux de rayons X libèrent de l’énergie avant et après avoir atteint leur cible. Les faisceaux de protons sont différents puisqu’ils libèrent la plus grande partie de leur énergie après avoir parcouru une certaine distance. Ils causent ainsi très peu de dommages aux tissus qu’ils traversent et on peut donc administrer plus de radiation à la tumeur. Les chercheurs étudient la chimioradiothérapie accompagnée de la protonthérapie chez les personnes atteintes d'un cancer de l'œsophage (Journal of Gastrointestinal Oncology, PMID 32175118; Cancers (Basel), PMID 35454939; PMID 36011037; NCT 03801876, NCT 05055648). Les appareils nécessaires à la production de protons coûtent cher et ce type de radiothérapie pourrait ne pas être offert dans tous les centres de traitement.

Chimiothérapie et chimioradiothérapie

On a souvent recours à la chimiothérapie dans le cadre d’une chimioradiothérapie pour traiter le cancer de l’œsophage. On peut aussi l'administrer seule. Les recherches qui suivent se révèlent prometteuses pour le traitement du cancer de l'œsophage.

Le carboplatine et le paclitaxel sont administrés en association avec la radiothérapie externe dans le cadre d'un essai clinique. L'essai a pour objectif de déterminer si le fait d'ajouter ces agents chimiothérapeutiques à la radiothérapie atténue les troubles de la déglutition chez les personnes atteintes d'un cancer de l’œsophage qui ne peut être enlevé par chirurgie (NCT 02297217).

L'oxaliplatine et la capécitabine (Xeloda) ont été comparés au cisplatine et au paclitaxel comme traitement d'un adénocarcinome de la jonction œsophago-gastrique. On a administré chaque association chimiothérapeutique avec une radiothérapie externe avant la chirurgie. Les résultats de l'étude ont montré que la survie globale et la survie sans évolution étaient meilleures lorsqu'on avait recours au cisplatine associé au paclitaxel (European Journal of Cancer, PMID 33307192).

La chimiothérapie administrée après la chimioradiothérapie néoadjuvante et la chirurgie peut améliorer la survie chez les personnes atteintes d'un carcinome épidermoïde de l’œsophage, lorsque la totalité du cancer n'a pu être enlevée lors de la chirurgie (Journal of Personalized Medicine, PMID 36013201).

Traitement ciblé

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques, comme des protéines, présentes à la surface ou à l’intérieur des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales. Les médicaments ciblés qui suivent se révèlent prometteurs dans le traitement du cancer de l'œsophage.

Le régorafénib (Stivarga) est à l'étude dans un essai clinique de phase 3 en tant que traitement pour les personnes atteintes d'un adénocarcinome de la jonction œsophago-gastrique (OG). L'essai clinique, appelé INTEGRATElla, compare le régorafénib à un placebo pour traiter les récidives locales ou les tumeurs métastatiques qui n'ont pas répondu à au moins 2 types de chimiothérapie (NCT 02773524).

Le bévacizumab (Avastin) est un médicament ciblé qui rétrécit les vaisseaux sanguins. On a comparé l'association de bévacizumab, de gemcitabine et de cisplatine à la gemcitabine et au cisplatine comme premier traitement administré aux personnes ayant reçu un diagnostic de cancer de l'œsophage. Les résultats ont montré que les personnes traitées au moyen du bévacizumab, de la gemcitabine et du cisplatine avaient un taux de survie plus élevé après 2 ans, comparativement aux personnes traitées au moyen de la gemcitabine et du cisplatine seulement (Biomedical Research International, PMID 35480138).

Le zanidatamab est un nouvel anticorps monoclonal qui cible les adénocarcinomes de la jonction œsophago-gastrique HER2 positifs. Une nouvelle étude appelée HERIZON-GEA-01 compare le zanidatamab et la chimiothérapie, avec ou sans tislélizumab (un médicament immunothérapeutique), au trastuzumab et à la chimiothérapie comme premier traitement chez les personnes atteintes d'un adénocarcinome avancé ou métastatique. L'étude évaluera l'efficacité et l'innocuité de ce nouveau traitement (Future Oncology, PMID 36000541; NCT 05152147).

Immunothérapie

L’immunothérapie aide à renforcer ou à rétablir la capacité du système immunitaire de combattre le cancer et de détruire les cellules cancéreuses. Le système immunitaire s’empêche habituellement d’attaquer les cellules normales en se servant de protéines spécifiques appelées points de contrôle, qui sont fabriquées par certaines cellules du système immunitaire. La PD-1 est une protéine spécifique de point de contrôle immunitaire qui empêche les cellules T d’attaquer d’autres cellules. Elle y parvient en se liant à la PD-L1, une protéine présente à la surface de certaines cellules normales ou cancéreuses. Les inhibiteurs de point de contrôle peuvent cibler la protéine PD-1 ou la protéine PD-L1.

L'association de médicaments immunothérapeutiques à des agents chimiothérapeutiques porte le nom d'immunochimiothérapie. La recherche se penche sur les inhibiteurs du point de contrôle PD-1 utilisés en immunochimiothérapie comme traitements potentiels du cancer de l'œsophage :

  • sintilimab (BMJ, PMID: 3544046; Nature Communications, PMID: 35165274);
  • tislélizumab (Cancer Control, PMID 35926155; NCT 03430843);
  • camrélizumab (Frontiers in Immunology, PMID 35911723, Cancer Management and Research, PMID 35795828; International Journal of Cancer, PMID 35188268);
  • toripalimab (Journal of Gastrointestinal Oncology, PMID 35557591; Oncologist, PMID 35305102).

Autres avancées importantes

Voici d'autres avancées importantes de la recherche sur le cancer de l'œsophage.

La préadaptation fait appel à l'exercice, à l'alimentation et au soutien psychologique pour améliorer l'état général de santé physique et mentale d'une personne avant l'administration d'un traitement. L'objectif est d'aider la personne à mieux composer avec les effets secondaires importants d'une chirurgie pratiquée pour enlever la totalité ou une partie de l'œsophage de même qu'avec les effets secondaires d'une chimioradiothérapie pour le cancer de l'œsophage. Les études sur la préadaptation montrent que celle-ci peut améliorer l'état nutritionnel, la forme physique et la qualité de vie. Certaines études laissent entendre que la préadaptation peut également aider à réduire les risques de décès en raison de la chirurgie (Cancers (Basel), PMID 35565226; Diseases of the Esophagus, PMID 35795994, PMID 34875680; British Journal of Sports Medicine, PMID 35105604).

Le projet Thoracic POISE se penche sur les suppléments alimentaires, les conseils en nutrition, les recommandations relatives à l'activité physique et le soutien psychologique dans le cadre d'une approche intégrée pour les soins aux personnes atteintes d'un cancer de l'œsophage. L'objectif de l'étude est de voir si l'ajout de pratiques de soins de santé intégrés peut rehausser la qualité de vie, réduire les effets secondaires de la chirurgie et aider à améliorer la survie (NCT 04871412).

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la recherche sur le cancer

Les chercheurs tentent toujours d’en savoir davantage sur le cancer. L’essai clinique est une étude de recherche lors de laquelle on met à l’essai de nouvelles façons de traiter le cancer. On évalue également des manières de prévenir le cancer, de le trouver ou de le gérer.

L’essai clinique permet d'obtenir des renseignements sur l'innocuité et l'efficacité de nouvelles approches afin de déterminer si elles doivent être offertes à plus grande échelle. La plupart des traitements standards du cancer de l'œsophage ont d'abord démontré leur efficacité en essai clinique.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.