Risk factors for esophageal cancer

A risk factor is something that increases the risk of developing cancer. It could be a behaviour, substance or condition. Most cancers are the result of many risk factors. But sometimes esophageal cancer develops in people who don’t have any of the risk factors described below.

The most common types of esophageal cancer are adenocarcinoma and squamous cell carcinoma (SCC). Some risk factors are common to both types of esophageal cancer, but other risk factors are linked with only adenocarcinoma or SCC.

Men are more likely to be diagnosed with cancer of the esophagus than women. Most people diagnosed with esophageal cancer are men over the age of 60. The highest rates of SCC of the esophagus occur in parts of China, Iran, South America, France and Africa, and the incidence is decreasing worldwide. In contrast the incidence of adenocarcinoma of the esophagus is increasing, especially in high- and middle-income countries. Low socioeconomic status increases the risk of esophageal cancer, especially SCC.

Barrett’s esophagus is the most common precancerous condition of the esophagus. It isn’t cancer, but it can sometimes become esophageal cancer if it isn’t treated. Some of the risk factors for esophageal cancer may also cause Barrett’s esophagus. Find out more about Barrett’s esophagus.

Risk factors are generally listed in order from most to least important. But in most cases, it is impossible to rank them with absolute certainty.

Tobacco

Using any kind of tobacco has been linked to the development of esophageal cancer. Tobacco use combined with drinking alcohol increases the risk of developing esophageal cancer more than either risk factor alone.

Cigarettes

The risk of developing both squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) and adenocarcinoma of the esophagus increases the longer and the more you smoke.

Smoking causes both SCC and adenocarcinoma of the esophagus, but smokers are more likely to develop SCC. Smokers have a much higher risk of developing SCC of the esophagus than non-smokers. The more you smoke, the greater your risk is of developing SCC of the esophagus.

Researchers have shown that the risk of developing SCC of the esophagus decreases after you stop smoking. For adenocarcinoma of the esophagus, the risk is lower in former smokers than in current smokers, but it is not clear how much a person’s risk decreases after they stop smoking.

Pipes and cigars

People who smoke pipes and cigars have a higher risk of developing SCC of the esophagus.

Smokeless tobacco

Researchers have shown that smokeless tobacco increases the risk for both SCC and adenocarcinoma of the esophagus.

Alcohol

Drinking alcohol is a risk factor for SCC of the esophagus. The more alcohol you drink, the greater your risk. It is not known for sure if alcohol is a risk factor for adenocarcinoma of the esophagus.

Drinking alcohol combined with using tobacco increases the risk of esophageal cancer more than either risk factor alone.

Betel quid

Betel quid, or paan, is areca nut (the seed from the fruit of the oriental palm) and lime wrapped in a betel leaf. Some people chew areca nut by itself. Chewing betel quid is common in China, India and some other countries in Asia and among some Asian immigrants in Canada.

Betel quid contains cancer-causing substances that increase the risk of developing SCC of the esophagus. Betel quid and tobacco are often chewed together, but there is a risk of developing SCC of the esophagus whether or not tobacco is also chewed.

Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD)

Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) is a disorder in which the contents of the stomach (including stomach acid) back up, or reflux, into the esophagus. This causes heartburn and discomfort in the upper abdomen or chest. The stomach acid can damage the tissue at the lower end of the esophagus.

GERD increases the risk of Barrett’s esophagus, which increases the risk of developing adenocarcinoma of the esophagus.

Having overweight or obesity

Having overweight or obesity increases the risk of adenocarcinoma of the esophagus. These factors also increase the risk of GERD.

Drinking very hot beverages

People who drink very hot coffee, tea, maté and other beverages (hotter than 65°C) have a higher risk of developing esophageal cancer, particularly squamous cell carcinoma. Hot maté is made by pouring boiling water over leaves of the yerba maté plant and is drunk through a metal straw. Drinking very hot maté is common in South American countries. Drinking very hot tea or coffee is common in China, Japan, Iran and Turkey.

Tylosis

Tylosis is a rare inherited disease that increases the risk of developing esophageal cancer. Researchers have identified the tylosis esophageal cancer (TOC) gene. People with this abnormal gene develop scaly patches (hyperkeratosis) on the palms of the hands or soles of the feet. They also have growths with finger-like projections, called papillomas, in the esophagus.

Achalasia

Achalasia is an uncommon condition in which the nerves that control the normal rhythmic contractions in the esophagus and the lower esophageal sphincter do not work properly. The part of the esophagus above the sphincter becomes enlarged, and a person has a hard time swallowing food and liquid.

Researchers think that achalasia increases the risk for SCC of the esophagus because the food trapped in the esophagus can cause chronic irritation. After symptoms start, it can take many years for cancer to develop.

Plummer-Vinson syndrome

Plummer-Vinson syndrome is also called Paterson-Kelly syndrome. In this rare syndrome, the mucous membranes of the mouth, throat (pharynx) and esophagus waste away. A thin membrane of tissue (known as an esophageal web) can also grow anywhere along the esophagus, which causes problems swallowing. Doctors think Plummer-Vinson syndrome is caused by a lack of vitamins and iron. People with this syndrome often have iron-deficient anemia.

About 10% of people with Plummer-Vinson syndrome will develop SCC of the esophagus. Researchers think that this syndrome increases the risk for SCC of the esophagus because it causes nutritional problems, and the food trapped in the webs can cause chronic irritation.

Chemical injury to the esophagus

The esophagus can be damaged by exposure to chemicals. Drinking a caustic chemical such as lye can lead to narrowed areas called strictures in the esophagus. SCC of the esophagus can occur in these strictures many years after the chemical injury.

History of cancer in the upper airway

People who had cancer that started in the upper airway, such as oral, pharyngeal or laryngeal (voice box) cancer, are at risk for SCC of the esophagus. These cancers have some of the same risk factors as esophageal cancer, such as tobacco and alcohol use.

Exposure to ionizing radiation

People who were exposed to ionizing radiation have a higher risk of developing esophageal cancer, mainly SCC of the esophagus. Studies have shown that the risk of developing adenocarcinoma of the esophagus after exposure to ionizing radiation is much lower.

People who were given radiation therapy to treat breast cancer or Hodgkin lymphoma have a higher risk of developing SCC of the esophagus. However, the benefit of treating cancer often greatly outweighs the risk of developing esophageal cancer later in life.

Ankylosing spondylitis is a type of arthritis that affects the spine. People who were given x-ray therapy to treat this disease have a higher risk of developing SCC of the esophagus.

Possible risk factors

The following factors have been linked with esophageal cancer, but there is not enough evidence to show for sure that they are risk factors. More research is needed to clarify the role of these factors for esophageal cancer.

  • family history
  • human papillomavirus (HPV) infection
  • eating processed meat
  • a diet low in vegetables and fruit
  • physical inactivity

Questions to ask your healthcare team

To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about risks.

Expert review and references

Reducing your risk for esophageal cancer

Reducing your risk for esophageal cancer includes being a non-smoker and limiting the amount of alcohol you drink. Learn more about reducing your risk.

Facteurs de risque du cancer de l'œsophage

Un facteur de risque est quelque chose, comme un comportement, une substance ou un état, qui accroît le risque d’apparition d’un cancer. La plupart des cancers sont attribuables à de nombreux facteurs de risque. Mais il arrive que le cancer de l’œsophage se développe chez des personnes qui ne présentent aucun des facteurs de risque décrits ci-dessous.

Les types les plus fréquents de cancer de l’œsophage sont l’adénocarcinome et le carcinome épidermoïde. Ils ont certains facteurs de risque en commun, mais d'autres facteurs de risque ne sont liés qu'à l'adénocarcinome ou qu'au carcinome épidermoïde de l’œsophage.

L'homme risque plus que la femme d'être atteint du cancer de l’œsophage. La plupart des hommes ayant reçu un diagnostic de cancer de l’œsophage ont plus de 60 ans. Les taux les plus élevés de carcinome épidermoïde de l’œsophage sont répertoriés dans certaines régions de Chine, d’Iran, d’Amérique du Sud, de France et d’Afrique. Par contre, l’incidence de l’adénocarcinome de l’œsophage augmente, surtout dans les pays à revenu intermédiaire ou élevé. Un statut socio-économique faible accroît le risque de cancer de l’œsophage, en particulier de carcinome épidermoïde.

L’œsophage de Barrett est l’état précancéreux de l’œsophage le plus fréquent. Ce n’est pas un cancer, mais il peut parfois se transformer en cancer de l’œsophage s’il n’est pas traité. Certains des facteurs de risque du cancer de l’œsophage peuvent aussi causer l’œsophage de Barrett. Apprenez-en davantage sur l’œsophage de Barrett.

Les facteurs de risque sont habituellement classés du plus important au moins important. Mais, dans la plupart des cas, il est impossible de les classer avec une certitude absolue.

Tabac

On a établi un lien entre toutes les formes de tabagisme et l’apparition du cancer de l'œsophage. L'usage du tabac associé à la consommation d'alcool fait augmenter davantage le risque de cancer de l'œsophage que l'un ou l'autre de ces facteurs de risque.

Cigarettes

Fumer la cigarette cause le carcinome épidermoïde et l'adénocarcinome de l'œsophage, mais les personnes qui fument sont plus susceptibles d'être atteintes d'un carcinome épidermoïde de l'œsophage.

Plus vous fumez, plus votre risque de développer un carcinome épidermoïde de l'œsophage est élevé. La recherche démontre que le risque de carcinome épidermoïde de l'œsophage diminue une fois que vous cessez de fumer.

Dans le cas de l'adénocarcinome de l’œsophage, le risque est moins élevé chez les personnes qui ont cessé de fumer que chez celles qui fument encore. Toutefois, on ne sait pas exactement jusqu'à quel point le risque d'une personne diminue après qu’elle a cessé de fumer.

Pipes et cigares

Les personnes qui fument la pipe et le cigare risquent davantage d'être atteintes d'un carcinome épidermoïde de l'œsophage.

Tabac sans fumée

Des chercheurs ont démontré que le tabac sans fumée accroît le risque de carcinome épidermoïde et d’adénocarcinome de l'œsophage.

Alcool

Consommer de l'alcool fait augmenter votre risque du carcinome épidermoïde de l'œsophage. La consommation d'alcool associée à l'usage du tabac accroît davantage le risque de cancer de l'œsophage que l'un ou l'autre de ces risques individuellement. On ne sait pas avec certitude si l’alcool constitue un risque d’adénocarcinome de l’œsophage. Moins vous buvez d'alcool, plus vous réduisez votre risque de cancer.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les façons de limiter la consommation d’alcool.

Chique de bétel

La chique de bétel, ou paan, est faite d'une noix d'arec (graine du fruit du palmier oriental) et de lime enveloppées dans une feuille de bétel. Certaines personnes chiquent seulement la noix d’arec. Chiquer du bétel est une pratique courante en Chine, en Inde et dans d’autres pays d’Asie et chez certains Asiatiques qui ont immigré au Canada.

La chique de bétel contient des substances qui causent le cancer et qui font augmenter le risque de carcinome épidermoïde de l'œsophage. On chique souvent du tabac avec le bétel, mais le risque demeure, qu'on y ajoute ou non du tabac.

Reflux gastro-œsophagien pathologique (RGOP)

Le reflux gastro-œsophagien pathologique (RGOP) est un trouble caractérisé par la remontée, ou reflux, du contenu de l'estomac (dont l'acide gastrique) dans l'œsophage, ce qui cause des brûlures d'estomac et un malaise dans la partie supérieure de l'abdomen ou au thorax. L'acide gastrique peut endommager le tissu qui recouvre l'extrémité inférieure de l'œsophage.

Le RGOP fait augmenter le risque d'œsophage de Barrett, qui lui accroît le risque d’adénocarcinome de l’œsophage.

Embonpoint ou obésité

L’embonpoint et l’obésité font augmenter le risque d’adénocarcinome de l’œsophage. Ces facteurs font aussi augmenter le risque de RGOP.

Consommation de boissons très chaudes

Les personnes qui boivent du café, du thé, du maté ou d’autres boissons très chauds, soit plus de 65° C, risquent davantage d’avoir le cancer de l’œsophage, en particulier un carcinome épidermoïde. Le maté chaud est fait d’eau bouillante versée sur des feuilles de yerba mate qu’on boit à l’aide d’une paille en métal. Boire du maté très chaud est une pratique courante dans les pays d’Amérique du Sud. Boire du thé ou du café très chaud est fréquent en Chine, au Japon, en Iran et en Turquie.

Tylose

La tylose est une maladie héréditaire rare qui accroît le risque de cancer de l'œsophage. Des chercheurs ont identifié le gène de la tylose (gène TOC). Les personnes porteuses de ce gène anormal ont des plaques écailleuses (hyperkératose) sur les paumes des mains ou la plante des pieds ainsi que des masses en forme de doigts de gants (papillomes) dans l'œsophage.

Achalasie

L'achalasie est une affection peu fréquente caractérisée par le mauvais fonctionnement des nerfs qui contrôlent les contractions rythmiques normales de l'œsophage et du sphincter de l'œsophage inférieur. La partie de l'œsophage qui se trouve au-dessus du sphincter s'élargit et il devient difficile d'avaler des aliments et des liquides.

Des chercheurs croient que l'achalasie accroît le risque de carcinome épidermoïde de l'œsophage parce que les aliments emprisonnés dans l'œsophage peuvent causer une irritation chronique. Une fois que les symptômes apparaissent, de nombreuses années peuvent être nécessaires à l’apparition d'un cancer.

Syndrome de Plummer-Vinson

Le syndrome de Plummer-Vinson est aussi appelé syndrome de Kelly-Paterson. Ce syndrome rare est caractérisé par une diminution du volume des muqueuses de la bouche, de la gorge (pharynx) et de l'œsophage. Une mince membrane de tissu, appelée repli œsophagien, peut se former n'importe où le long de l'œsophage, ce qui fait qu'il est difficile d'avaler. Les médecins croient que le syndrome de Plummer-Vinson est causé par une carence en vitamines et en fer. Les personnes atteintes de ce syndrome font souvent de l’anémie attribuable à un déficit en fer.

Environ 10 % des personnes atteintes du syndrome de Plummer-Vinson auront un carcinome épidermoïde de l'œsophage. Les chercheurs croient que ce syndrome fait augmenter le risque de carcinome épidermoïde de l'œsophage parce qu’il cause des troubles nutritionnels et que les aliments emprisonnés dans les replis peuvent causer une irritation chronique.

Lésion chimique de l'œsophage

L’œsophage peut être endommagé lors d’une exposition à des produits chimiques. Ingérer une substance caustique comme l'hydroxyde de potassium peut faire rétrécir des régions de l’œsophage, ce qu’on appelle sténose. Il est possible qu'un carcinome épidermoïde de l'œsophage se forme dans les régions qui ont rétréci de nombreuses années après l'apparition de la lésion chimique.

Antécédents de cancer des voies respiratoires supérieures

Les personnes qui ont déjà été atteintes d'un cancer qui a pris naissance dans leurs voies respiratoires supérieures, comme un cancer de la cavité buccale, du pharynx ou du larynx, risquent d’avoir un carcinome épidermoïde de l'œsophage. Ces cancers ont en commun certains facteurs de risque avec le cancer de l'œsophage, comme l'alcool et le tabac.

Exposition à des rayonnements ionisants

Les personnes qui ont été exposées à des rayonnements ionisants risquent davantage d'être atteintes d'un cancer de l'œsophage, en particulier d'un carcinome épidermoïde. Des études ont démontré que le risque d’apparition d’un adénocarcinome de l’œsophage après une exposition à des rayonnements ionisants est beaucoup plus faible.

Les personnes qui ont reçu une radiothérapie comme traitement d’un cancer du sein ou d’un lymphome hodgkinien risquent davantage d’avoir un carcinome épidermoïde de l’œsophage. Cependant, les bienfaits du traitement du cancer surpassent souvent largement le risque qu’un cancer de l’œsophage apparaisse un jour.

La spondylarthrite ankylosante est un type d'arthrite qui affecte la colonne vertébrale. Les personnes ayant reçu une radiothérapie comme traitement de cette maladie risquent davantage d’avoir un carcinome épidermoïde de l'œsophage.

Facteurs de risque possibles

On a établi un certain lien entre les facteurs qui suivent et le cancer de l’œsophage, mais on ne possède pas suffisamment de preuves pour affirmer qu'ils sont des facteurs de risque. On doit faire plus de recherches pour clarifier le rôle de ces facteurs dans l’apparition du cancer de l’œsophage :

  • antécédents familiaux
  • infection au virus du papillome humain (VPH)
  • consommation de viande transformée
  • alimentation faible en fruits et en légumes
  • inactivité physique

Questions à poser à votre équipe de soins

Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur les risques à votre équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Blot WJ and Tarone RE . Esophageal cancer. Thun MJ (ed.). Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 30:579-592.
  • Castro C. Peleteiro B, Lunet N . Modifiable factors and esophageal cancer: a systematic review of published meta-analyses. Journal of Gastroenterology. 2018.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 44: Alcohol drinking. 1988: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol44/mono44.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100D: Radiation: a review of human carcinogens. 2011: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100D/mono100D.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100E: Personal Habits and Indoor Combustions. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100E/mono100E.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100B: Biological agents: a review of human carcinogens. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100B/mono100B.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 114 Red Meat and Processed Meat. 2018: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol114/mono114.pdf.
  • Loomis D, Guyton KZ, Grosse Y, Lauby-Secretan B, El Ghissassi F, Bouvard V, et al . Carcinogenicity of drinking coffee, mate, and very hot beverages. Lancet Oncology. 2016.
  • National Cancer Institute. Esophageal Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. 2018.
  • National Cancer Institute . Esophageal Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version . 2018 .
  • World Cancer Research Fund and American Institute for Cancer Research . Continuous Update Project Report: Diet, Nutrition, Physical Activity and Oesophageal Cancer . 2016 .

Réduire le risque de cancer de l'œsophage

Vous pouvez réduire votre risque de cancer de l’œsophage p. ex. en ne fumant pas et en limitant la quantité d’alcool que vous buvez. Apprenez-en davantage.

Non-responsabilité médicale

L'information fournie par la Société canadienne du cancer ne saurait remplacer le lien qui vous unit à votre médecin. Nos renseignements sont d’ordre général; avant de prendre toute décision de nature médicale ou si vous avez des questions concernant votre état de santé personnel, assurez-vous de parler à un professionnel de la santé qualifié.

Nous faisons le maximum pour que les renseignements que nous diffusons soient toujours exacts et fiables, mais nous ne pouvons garantir leur exhaustivité, pas plus que l’absence totale d’erreur.

La Société canadienne du cancer n’assume aucune responsabilité quant à la qualité des renseignements ou des services offerts par d'autres organismes mentionnés sur cancer.ca, pas plus qu’elle ne cautionne un service, un produit, un traitement ou une thérapie en particulier. 


1-888-939-3333 | cancer.ca | © 2024 Canadian Cancer Society