What is breast cancer?

Breast cancer starts in the cells of the breast. A cancerous (malignant) tumour is a group of cancer cells that can grow into and destroy nearby tissue. It can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

Cells in the breast sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous (benign) breast conditions such as atypical hyperplasia and cysts. They can also lead to non-cancerous tumours such as intraductal papillomas.

But in some cases, changes to breast cells can cause breast cancer. Most often, breast cancer starts in cells that line the ducts, which are the tubes that carry milk from the glands to the nipple. This type of breast cancer is called ductal carcinoma. Cancer can also start in the cells of the lobules, which are the groups of glands that make milk. This type of cancer is called lobular carcinoma. Both ductal carcinoma and lobular carcinoma can be in situ, which means that the cancer is still where it started and has not grown into surrounding tissues. They can also be invasive, which means they have grown into surrounding tissues.

Less common types of breast cancer can also develop. These include inflammatory breast cancer, Paget disease of the breast and triple negative breast cancer. Rare types of breast cancer include non-Hodgkin lymphoma and soft tissue sarcoma.

Diagram of side view cross-section of the breast
Diagram of side view cross-section of the breast

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Breast Cancer. 2015: http://www.cancer.org/cancer/breastcancer/index.
  • Foxson SB, Lattimer JG & Felder B . Breast cancer. Yarbro, CH, Wujcki D, & Holmes Gobel B. (eds.). Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice. 7th ed. Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett; 2011: 48: pp. 1091-1145.
  • Martini FH, Timmons MJ, Tallitsch RB. Human Anatomy. 7th ed. San Francisco: Pearson Benjamin Cummings; 2012.
  • Morrow M, Burstein HJ, and Harris JR . Malignant tumors of the breast. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 79: 1117-1156.

The breasts

Learn about the anatomy and physiology of the breast, including the structure, lymph nodes, development, hormones and function of the breast.

Cancerous tumours of the breast

Malignant tumours of the breast are cancerous growths that have the potential to spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

Breast cancer in men

Breast cancer in men is rare, making up less than 1% of all breast cancers. Learn about risks, symptoms, diagnosis and treatment of breast cancer in men.

Breast calcifications

Breast calcifications are deposits of calcium in the breast tissue. Most are not associated with breast cancer. Learn about the 2 types of calcifications.

Non-cancerous tumours of the breast

Learn about benign tumours of the breast – non-cancerous growths that do not spread to other parts of the body and are not usually life-threatening.

Non-cancerous conditions of the breast

Learn about benign (non-cancerous) conditions of the breast, such as breast cysts, which are not related to breast cancer and usually not life-threatening.

Qu’est-ce que le cancer du sein?

Le cancer du sein prend naissance dans les cellules du sein. La tumeur cancéreuse (maligne) est un groupe de cellules cancéreuses qui peuvent envahir les tissus voisins et les détruire. Elle peut également se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

Les cellules du sein subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des affections non cancéreuses (bénignes) du sein, comme l’hyperplasie atypique et des kystes. Ils peuvent aussi entraîner la formation de tumeurs non cancéreuses, dont les papillomes intracanalaires.

Dans certains cas, cependant, des modifications dans les cellules mammaires peuvent causer un cancer du sein. Le cancer du sein apparaît le plus souvent dans les cellules tapissant les canaux, qui sont des tubes qui transportent le lait des glandes au mamelon. Ce type de cancer du sein est appelé carcinome canalaire. Le cancer peut aussi se former dans les cellules des lobules, qui sont les groupes de glandes productrices de lait. Ce type de cancer porte le nom de carcinome lobulaire. Le carcinome canalaire et le carcinome lobulaire peuvent être in situ, c’est-à-dire que le cancer reste dans son emplacement d’origine et qu’il n’a pas envahi les tissus voisins. Ils peuvent également être infiltrants, ou invasifs, c’est-à-dire qu’ils ont envahi les tissus voisins.

Des types de cancer du sein moins fréquents peuvent aussi se manifester. Le cancer inflammatoire du sein, la maladie de Paget du sein et le cancer du sein triple négatif en sont des exemples. Des types rares de cancer du sein sont entre autres le lymphome non hodgkinien et le sarcome des tissus mous.

Schéma d'une vue latérale du sein
Schéma d'une vue latérale du sein

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Breast Cancer. 2015: http://www.cancer.org/cancer/breastcancer/index.
  • Foxson SB, Lattimer JG & Felder B . Breast cancer. Yarbro, CH, Wujcki D, & Holmes Gobel B. (eds.). Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice. 7th ed. Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett; 2011: 48: pp. 1091-1145.
  • Martini FH, Timmons MJ, Tallitsch RB. Human Anatomy. 7th ed. San Francisco: Pearson Benjamin Cummings; 2012.
  • Morrow M, Burstein HJ, and Harris JR . Malignant tumors of the breast. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 79: 1117-1156.

Les seins

Découvrez l’anatomie et la physiologie du sein – structure, ganglions lymphatiques, développement, hormones et fonctionnement du sein.

Tumeurs cancéreuses du sein

Une tumeur maligne du sein est une masse cancéreuse qui peut se propager (métastases) vers d'autres parties du corps.

Cancer du sein chez l’homme

Le cancer du sein est rare chez l’homme – moins de 1 % de tous les cancers du sein. Renseignez-vous sur les risques, les symptômes, le diagnostic et le traitement chez l’homme.

Calcifications mammaires

Les calcifications du sein sont des dépôts de calcium dans le sein et pour la plupart, sont non liées au cancer du sein. Voyez les 2 types de calcifications.

Tumeurs non cancéreuses du sein

Informez-vous sur les tumeurs bénignes du sein – masses non cancéreuses ne se propageant pas ailleurs dans le corps et habituellement sans danger pour la vie.

Affections non cancéreuses du sein

Renseignez-vous sur les affections non cancéreuses, ou bénignes, du sein, comme les kystes, qui ne se propagent pas à d’autres parties du corps (pas de métastases) et ne mettent habituellement pas la vie en danger.