Breast reconstruction and prostheses

After surgery to remove breast cancer, you may find it hard to cope with the loss of your breast and the change to your appearance. Breast reconstruction and breast prostheses are options that are intended to help you feel better about yourself and your body. But many women choose not to reconstruct or wear a prosthesis – they choose to “stay flat.” Only you can decide which option is best for you.

Breast reconstruction recreates all or part of a breast that has been removed by breast cancer surgery. It is done by a plastic surgeon who has special training in breast reconstruction surgery. A breast can be reconstructed with an implant, your own body tissue or a combination of an implant and body tissue.

A breast prosthesis is an artificial breast form. You wear it inside your bra to create the natural shape of a breast.

Choosing to stay flat is a decision that you can make to not have breast reconstruction or wear a prosthesis.

Expert review and references

Breast reconstruction

Breast reconstruction helps restore the look of the breast after surgery for breast cancer. Learn about deciding whether to have the surgery and how it’s done.

Types of breast reconstruction

Breast implants are made of rubberized silicone, filled with saline or silicone gel. Learn about implant surgery after breast cancer and its side effects.

Breast prostheses

Some women wear a temporary or permanent breast prosthesis after a mastectomy. Learn about types of breast prostheses and how to shop for a prosthesis.

Choosing to stay flat

You do not have to have breast reconstruction or use a breast prosthesis after a mastectomy. This is sometimes called “staying flat.” The decision is a personal one. Some women say that they choose to stay flat because they don’t need a prosthesis or reconstruction to make them feel like a woman.

Reconstruction mammaire et prothèses

Après la chirurgie pratiquée pour enlever le cancer du sein, vous pouvez trouver difficile de faire face à la perte de votre sein et à votre changement d’apparence. La reconstruction mammaire et les prothèses mammaires sont des options qui visent à vous faire sentir mieux face à vous-même et à votre corps. Mais de nombreuses femmes décident de ne pas faire reconstruire leur sein et de ne pas porter de prothèse mammaire : elles choisissent de garder leur sein plat. Vous êtes la seule qui peut décider quelle est la meilleure option pour vous.

La reconstruction mammaire permet de recréer, en entier ou en partie, un sein qu’on a enlevé lors d’une chirurgie du cancer du sein. C’est un chirurgien plasticien ayant reçu une formation spéciale en chirurgie de reconstruction mammaire qui pratique l’opération. On peut reconstruire le sein à l’aide d’un implant, de vos propres tissus corporels ou en associant l’implant à vos tissus.

La prothèse mammaire est un coussinet qui remplace le sein. Vous la portez à l’intérieur de votre soutien-gorge pour créer la forme naturelle du sein.

Garder le sein plat est une décision que vous pouvez prendre, c’est-à-dire de ne pas avoir de reconstruction mammaire ou de ne pas porter de prothèse mammaire.

Révision par les experts et références

Reconstruction mammaire

La reconstruction mammaire aide à rétablir l’apparence du sein après la chirurgie. Voyez comment prendre une décision et en quoi cette chirurgie consiste.

Types de reconstruction mammaire

Les implants mammaires sont faits de silicone caoutchouté remplis de saline ou de gel de silicone. Renseignez-vous sur la pose d’implants après la chirurgie et sur ses effets secondaires.

Prothèses mammaires

Certaines femmes portent une prothèse temporaire ou permanente après la mastectomie. Renseignez-vous sur les types de prothèses et comment en magasiner une.

Garder son sein plat

Vous n’êtes pas obligée d’avoir une reconstruction mammaire ou de porter une prothèse mammaire après une mastectomie. Votre sein resterait donc plat. Cette décision est très personnelle. Certaines femmes choisissent de garder leur sein plat parce qu’elles n’ont pas besoin d’avoir une prothèse ou une reconstruction pour se sentir femme.