Radiation therapy for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer

Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. Most people with nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer have radiation therapy. Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan the type and amount of radiation, and when and how it is given. You may also receive other treatments.

Radiation therapy is often combined with chemotherapy to treat nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer. This is called chemoradiation. The chemotherapy drug most often used is cisplatin. The 2 treatments are given during the same time period.

Radiation therapy is given for different reasons. You may have radiation therapy or chemoradiation to:

  • destroy the cancer cells in the body

  • shrink a tumour before other treatments such as surgery or chemotherapy (called neoadjuvant therapy)

  • destroy cancer cells left behind after surgery or chemotherapy to reduce the risk that the cancer will come back (recur) (called adjuvant therapy)

  • relieve pain or control the symptoms of advanced nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer (called palliative therapy)

  • destroy cancer cells that may have spread to the lymph nodes in the neck

Talk to your healthcare team to find out what you need to do before radiation therapy begins. They may discuss the following, depending on your personal needs.

Visiting your dentist. Radiation therapy to the head and neck can affect your dental health. Most people have a thorough dental exam before radiation therapy begins to prevent dental problems. The dentist will remove unhealthy teeth and develop a dental care plan for you to follow after radiation therapy.

Meeting with a registered dietitian. Radiation therapy to the head and neck can make swallowing difficult and painful. A registered dietitian will meet with you and assess your nutrition status. You may need to get a feeding tube placed if you may not be able to meet your nutrition needs during and after radiation therapy treatment. Find out more about tube feeding.

Quitting smoking. Smoking during treatment may make the radiation therapy less effective. People who smoke tobacco may also have worse side effects from radiation therapy. If you smoke, get help to quit smoking before you start radiation therapy.

The following types of radiation therapy are most commonly used to treat nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer.

External radiation therapy

During external radiation therapy (also called external beam radiation therapy), a machine directs radiation through the skin to the tumour and some of the tissue around it. You may also have radiation to the neck if your doctor thinks that the cancer may have spread to the lymph nodes in the neck (called cervical lymph nodes). Small tumours in the nasal cavity can be treated successfully by radiation therapy alone. It is often done instead of surgery because radiation therapy does not change the look of your face as much.

Before you start external radiation, you will be fitted with a custom immobilization mask. An immobilization mask is often used when radiation therapy is given to the head and neck. The mask makes sure that you don't move during treatment and that radiation is directed at exactly the same place each time. You need to wear it during treatment planning and all radiation treatments.

External radiation therapy is usually given once each day for 5 to 7 weeks. If it is given after surgery, radiation therapy usually starts 4 to 6 weeks after you have surgery. The healthcare team will try to protect healthy tissue in the area from radiation as much as possible.

Some people with nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer may benefit from smaller doses of radiation given more frequently (called hyperfractionation) or having the same total dose in a shorter amount of time (called accelerated fractionation).

The following are newer ways to giving external radiation therapy. They may be used to treat nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer.

Intensity-modulated radiation therapy (IMRT)

Intensity-modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) is a type of external radiation therapy called conformal radiation therapy. It uses a special device to shape and aim many radiation beams at the tumour from different angles. The strength (intensity) of the radiation beams can also be changed. This reduces the amount of radiation that reaches sensitive areas of the head and neck, while allowing a higher dose to be given to the tumour and causing less side effects. IMRT may be a treatment option for large tumours in the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses and tumours that have grown into the base of the skull.

Proton therapy

Proton therapy uses protons (positively charged particles) to treat cancer. It may also be called proton beam therapy. It uses proton beams instead of x-ray beams. Protons release more energy after reaching a certain distance and then stop, while x-ray beams release energy before and after they hit their target. So protons cause less damage to tissues they pass through before reaching their target. Proton therapy causes the least amount of damage to nearby healthy tissues.

3D conformal radiation therapy (3D-CRT)

3D conformal radiation therapy (3D-CRT) delivers radiation to the tumour from different directions. The radiation beams are all the same strength.

Internal radiation therapy

Internal radiation therapy places radioactive materials in the body. Larger doses of radiation can be given with internal radiation therapy than with external radiation therapy.

Brachytherapy

Brachytherapy is a type of internal radiation therapy. It uses a radioactive material called a radioactive isotope. It is placed right into the tumour or in the area where the tumour was removed. The radiation kills the cancer cells over time.

Brachytherapy may be used, with or without external radiation therapy, to treat early-stage tumours in the nasal cavity or the nasal vestibule. Interstitial brachytherapy is usually given for these tumours. It uses implants, which are thin needles containing a radioactive substance, placed directly into the tumour and surrounding tissue.

Side effects

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer, but everyone's experience is different. Some people have many side effects. Other people have only a few side effects.

During radiation therapy, the healthcare team protects healthy cells in the treatment area as much as possible. But damage to healthy cells can happen and may cause side effects. If you develop side effects, they can happen any time during, immediately after or a few days or weeks after radiation therapy. Sometimes late side effects develop months or years after radiation therapy. Most side effects go away on their own or can be treated, but some side effects may last a long time or become permanent.

Side effects of radiation therapy will depend mainly on the size of the area being treated, the specific area or organs being treated, the total dose of radiation, the treatment schedule and whether or not chemotherapy is given during the same time period as radiation therapy (called chemoradiation). Side effects tend to be worse with chemoradiation. Some common side effects of radiation therapy used for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer are:

Tell your healthcare team if you have these side effects or others you think might be from radiation therapy. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help you deal with them.

Questions to ask about radiation therapy

Find out more about radiation therapy and side effects of radiation therapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about radiation therapy.

Expert review and references

Radiothérapie du cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. La plupart des personnes atteintes d'un cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux reçoivent de la radiothérapie. Votre équipe de soins prendra en considération vos besoins personnels pour choisir le type de radiothérapie, la dose à administrer, la façon de le faire et l’horaire à suivre. Vous pourriez aussi recevoir d’autres traitements.

On associe souvent la radiothérapie à la chimiothérapie pour traiter le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux. C’est ce qu’on appelle une chimioradiothérapie. L'agent chimiothérapeutique le plus souvent employé est le cisplatine. Les 2 traitements sont administrés pendant la même période.

On administre la radiothérapie pour différentes raisons. Vous pouvez recevoir une radiothérapie ou une chimioradiothérapie pour :

  • détruire les cellules cancéreuses présentes dans votre corps;

  • réduire la taille d’une tumeur avant d’autres traitements comme une chirurgie ou une chimiothérapie (traitement néoadjuvant);

  • détruire les cellules cancéreuses qui restent après une chirurgie ou une chimiothérapie et réduire le risque de réapparition (récidive) du cancer (traitement adjuvant);

  • soulager la douleur ou contrôler les symptômes d’un cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux de stade avancé (traitement palliatif);

  • détruire les cellules cancéreuses qui auraient pu se propager aux ganglions lymphatiques du cou.

Demandez à votre équipe de soins ce que vous devez faire avant de commencer la radiothérapie. On pourrait aborder les sujets suivants, selon vos besoins personnels.

Consulter un dentiste La radiothérapie dirigée vers la tête et le cou peut affecter votre santé dentaire. Afin de prévenir les problèmes, la plupart des personnes passent un examen dentaire minutieux avant de recevoir une radiothérapie. Le dentiste procédera à l'extraction des dents qui ne sont pas en bonne santé et élaborera un plan de soins dentaires que vous devrez suivre après la radiothérapie.

Consulter une diététiste professionnelle. Une radiothérapie à la tête et au cou peut faire en sorte qu’il est difficile ou douloureux d’avaler. Une diététiste professionnelle vous rencontrera et évaluera votre état nutritionnel. Si vous n'êtes pas en mesure de combler vos besoins nutritionnels pendant et après la radiothérapie, il faudra peut-être avoir recours à une sonde d'alimentation. Apprenez-en davantage sur l’alimentation par sonde.

Cesser de fumer. Fumer en cours de traitement peut réduire l’efficacité de la radiothérapie. Les personnes qui fument peuvent également éprouver des effets secondaires plus graves. Si vous fumez, obtenez de l'aide pour cesser de fumer avant de commencer la radiothérapie.

On a le plus souvent recours aux types de radiothérapie suivants pour traiter le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.

Radiothérapie externe

Lors de la radiothérapie externe, un appareil émet des radiations à travers la peau jusqu’à la tumeur et une partie du tissu qui l’entoure. On peut aussi la diriger vers le cou si le médecin croit que le cancer pourrait s’être propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques du cou (ganglions cervicaux). On réussit à traiter les petites tumeurs des fosses nasales en ayant recours à la radiothérapie employée seule. On l’utilise souvent à la place de la chirurgie, car la radiothérapie modifie moins l’apparence du visage.

Avant de commencer la radiothérapie, on vous fera un masque d'immobilisation sur mesure. On a souvent recours au masque d’immobilisation quand on administre une radiothérapie à la tête et au cou. Le masque permet de s’assurer que vous ne bougez pas lors de la séance de traitement et que la radiation est dirigée exactement au même endroit chaque fois. Vous devez le porter lors de la planification du traitement et de toutes les séances de radiothérapie.

On administre habituellement la radiothérapie externe chaque jour pendant 5 à 7 semaines. Si elle est administrée après une chirurgie, la radiothérapie débute généralement de 4 à 6 semaines après l’intervention. L’équipe de soins veillera à protéger le plus possible de la radiation les tissus sains entourant la tumeur.

Certaines personnes atteintes de cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux pourraient bénéficier de plus petites doses de radiation administrées plus souvent (hyperfractionnement) ou de l’administration de la même dose totale sur une période plus courte (fractionnement accéléré).

Les techniques de radiothérapie externe qui suivent sont plus récentes. On peut y avoir recours pour traiter le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.

Radiothérapie conformationnelle avec modulation d'intensité (RCMI)

La radiothérapie conformationnelle avec modulation d’intensité (RCMI) est un type de radiothérapie externe. On a recours à un dispositif particulier pour modeler et diriger de nombreux faisceaux de radiation vers la tumeur à partir de différents angles. Il est également possible de modifier la force (intensité) des faisceaux. On réduit ainsi la quantité de radiation qui atteint les régions sensibles de la tête et du cou, ce qui cause moins d'effets secondaires, tout en administrant une dose plus élevée à la tumeur. On peut envisager la RCMI pour traiter les grosses tumeurs des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux ainsi que les tumeurs qui ont envahi la base du crâne.

Protonthérapie

La protonthérapie a recours aux protons (particules chargées positivement) pour traiter le cancer. En protonthérapie, on se sert de faisceaux de protons plutôt que de faisceaux de rayons X. Les protons libèrent plus d’énergie après avoir parcouru une certaine distance puis cessent d'en émettre, tandis que les faisceaux de rayons X libèrent de l’énergie avant et après avoir atteint leur cible. Les protons causent donc moins de dommages aux tissus qu’ils traversent avant d’atteindre leur cible. La protonthérapie est la forme de radiothérapie qui cause le moins de dommages aux tissus sains voisins.

Radiothérapie conformationnelle tridimensionnelle (RC 3D)

La radiothérapie conformationnelle tridimensionnelle (RC 3D) émet la radiation vers la tumeur à partir de plusieurs directions. Les faisceaux de radiation sont tous de la même intensité.

Radiothérapie interne

Pour la radiothérapie interne, on introduit des matières radioactives dans le corps. La radiothérapie interne permet d’administrer de plus fortes doses que la radiothérapie externe.

Curiethérapie

La curiethérapie est un type de radiothérapie interne. Elle consiste à placer une matière radioactive, appelée radio-isotope, directement dans la tumeur ou dans la région où elle se trouvait avant d'être enlevée. La radiation détruit les cellules cancéreuses au fil du temps.

On peut avoir recours à la curiethérapie, associée ou non à la radiothérapie externe, pour traiter des tumeurs des fosses nasales ou du vestibule nasal à un stade précoce. Pour ces tumeurs, on emploie généralement la curiethérapie interstitielle. Celle-ci consiste à placer des implants (des aiguilles fines renfermant une substance radioactive) directement dans la tumeur et dans les tissus qui l’entourent.

Effets secondaires

Peu importe le traitement du cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque personne les ressent différemment. Certaines en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu.

Lors des séances de radiothérapie, l’équipe de soins protège le plus possible les cellules saines qui se trouvent dans la zone de traitement. Mais il est possible que les cellules saines soient endommagées et qu’elles provoquent ainsi des effets secondaires. Si des effets secondaires se manifestent, ils peuvent le faire n’importe quand pendant la radiothérapie, tout de suite après ou quelques jours, voire quelques semaines plus tard. Il arrive que des effets secondaires apparaissent des mois ou des années à la suite de la radiothérapie (effets tardifs). La plupart disparaissent d’eux-mêmes ou peuvent être traités, mais certains risquent de durer longtemps ou d’être permanents.

Les effets secondaires de la radiothérapie dépendent surtout de la taille de la région traitée, de la région ou des organes spécifiques traités, de la dose totale, du mode d’administration et de l’administration d’une chimiothérapie au cours de la même période (chimioradiothérapie). Les effets secondaires de la chimioradiothérapie sont généralement plus intenses. Voici certains effets secondaires courants de la radiothérapie employée pour traiter le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux :

Avisez votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez ces effets secondaires ou d’autres problèmes que vous croyez liés à la radiothérapie. Plus tôt vous signalez un problème, plus rapidement on pourra vous dire comment aider à le traiter.

Questions à poser sur la radiothérapie

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie et les effets secondaires de la radiothérapie. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur la radiothérapie à votre équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références