Supportive care for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer

Supportive care helps people meet the physical, practical, emotional and spiritual challenges of nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer. It is an important part of cancer care. There are many programs and services available to help meet the needs and improve the quality of life of people living with cancer and their loved ones, especially after treatment has ended.

Recovering from nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer and adjusting to life after treatment is different for each person, depending on the stage of the cancer, the tissues removed during surgery, the type of treatment and many other factors. The end of cancer treatment may bring mixed emotions. Even though treatment has ended, there may be other issues to deal with, such as coping with long-term side effects. A person who has been treated for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer may have the following concerns.

Rehabilitation after treatment

Rehabilitation is an important part of cancer care. The type of rehabilitation you have will depend on the stage of the cancer and the type of treatment you had.

Find out more about rehabilitation after nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer treatment.

Self-esteem and body image

How a person feels about themselves is called self-esteem. Body image is how a person sees their own body. Nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer and its treatments can affect a person's self-esteem and body image. Often this is because cancer or cancer treatments may result in body changes, such as:

  • scars
  • skin changes
  • changes to the shape and appearance of the face
  • having a prosthesis in the mouth, nose or eye
  • weight loss

Some of these changes can be temporary. Others will last for a long time or be permanent. Today's surgical techniques and reconstructive surgery help to lessen the changes to the appearance of the face after surgery.

Your face plays a big role in your self-esteem and body image because it is the most visible parts of your body. For many people, body image and how they think other people see them is closely linked to self-esteem. These issues may be a real concern for you and can cause considerable distress. You may feel angry or upset, afraid to go out or afraid others will reject you, even if the effects of treatment are not that noticeable.

Find out more about how to cope with body image and self-esteem worries.

Poor nutrition and weight loss

Both surgery and radiation therapy for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer can make chewing and swallowing difficult. Other side effects of treatment may cause difficulty opening the jaw (called trismus), sore mouth (called mucositis), dry mouth (called xerostomia), taste changes, loss of teeth and loss of appetite. All of these problems can lead to poor nutrition and weight loss.

Your healthcare team can make suggestions on how you can eat well during and after treatment. A registered dietitian can often help you cope with eating-related side effects and help prevent weight loss.

In some cases, treatments may make it difficult for you to meet all of your nutrition needs with food or supplements by mouth. You may need to get nutrients through a feeding tube until you are able to eat normally. Find out more about eating well after treatment and tube feeding. You can also learn more about the following problems and how to manage them:

Mouth and dental care

Good mouth and dental care is very important after treatments for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer. Radiation therapy and some types of surgery can put you at risk for infection in your mouth and cavities in your teeth. Radiation therapy to the head and neck can lead to a dry mouth if the salivary glands become damaged. Having a dry mouth increases the risk of developing cavities.

You will be told to use a solution of water, salt and baking soda (called a saline solution) to rinse out and clean the inside of your mouth. It is important to make sure the area of the surgery is cleaned well. Brush your teeth and floss as soon as possible after eating. You will also have regular fluoride treatments and frequent visits to your dentist to prevent tooth decay and loss of teeth.

Osteoradionecrosis

Osteoradionecrosis is bone death due to radiation. The bone dies because radiation damages its blood vessels. Radiation therapy for cancer in the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses can cause osteoradionecrosis in the jawbone.

Practise good mouth care before and after treatment, including having regular dental exams and fluoride treatments to prevent cavities.

Find out more about osteoradionecrosis.

Quitting smoking

Smoking tobacco can increase your chances of cancer coming back. It can also affect how well you heal and your rehabilitation after treatment. Learn more about how you can live smoke-free.

Questions to ask about supportive care

To make decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about supportive care.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Nasal Cavity and Paranasal Sinuses Cancer. Atlanta: American Cancer Society; 2009.
  • Living with nasal and sinus cancer . Cancer Research UK . CancerHelp UK . Cancer Research UK ; 2006 .
  • Costantino, P. D., Murphy, M. R. & Moche, J. A . Cancer of the nasal vestibule, nasal cavity, and paranasal sinus: surgical management. Harrison, L. B., Sessions, R. B., & Hong, W. K., (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2004: 21: pp. 455-479.
  • Helsper, J. T., Recabaren, J. A. & Dollinger, M . Head and neck. Dollinger, M., Rosenbaum, E., Tempero, M., & Mulvihill, S. Everyone's Guide to Cancer Therapy: How Cancer is Diagnosed, Treated and Managed Day to Day. 4th ed. Kansas City: Andrews McMeel Publishing; 2002: pp. 543-566.
  • National Cancer Institute. Oral Complications of Chemotherapy and Head/Neck Radiation (PDQ®): Health Professional Version. Bethesda: National Cancer Institute; 2009.
  • National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. Oral Complications of Cancer Treatment: What the Dental Team Can Do. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health; 2008.
  • National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. Oral Complications of Cancer Treatment: What the Oncology Team Can Do. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health; 2008.
  • Parsons, J. T., & Kies, M. S . Cancer of the nasal vestibule, nasal cavity, and paranasal sinus: radiation therapy and chemotherapy management. Harrison, L. B., Sessions, R. B., & Hong, W. K., (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2004: 22: pp. 480-528.

Rehabilitation after nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer treatment

Learn about rehabilitation after treatment for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer.

Soins de soutien pour le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

Les soins de soutien permettent aux gens de surmonter les obstacles physiques, pratiques, émotifs et spirituels engendrés par le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux. C'est une composante importante des soins apportés aux personnes atteintes. De nombreux programmes et services permettent de répondre aux besoins et d'améliorer la qualité de vie de ces personnes et de leurs proches, en particulier une fois que le traitement est terminé.

Se rétablir du cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux et s'adapter à sa vie après le traitement diffèrent pour chacun, selon le stade du cancer, les tissus enlevés lors de la chirurgie, le type de traitement et bien d'autres facteurs. La fin du traitement d'un cancer peut engendrer des émotions partagées. Même si le traitement est terminé, il pourrait y avoir d'autres questions à régler, comme l'adaptation aux effets secondaires à long terme. Une personne qui a été traitée pour un cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux peut se préoccuper des aspects suivants.

Réadaptation après le traitement

La réadaptation est une composante importante des soins apportés aux personnes atteintes de cancer. Le type de réadaptation que vous suivrez dépend du stade du cancer et du type de traitement que vous avez eu.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la réadaptation après un traitement du cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.

Estime de soi et image corporelle

L'estime de soi, c'est ce qu'on ressent face à soi-même. L’image corporelle, c’est la façon dont on perçoit son propre corps. Le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux de même que ses traitements peuvent affecter l’estime de soi et l’image corporelle d’une personne, en particulier s'ils engendrent des changements corporels tels que ceux-ci :

  • cicatrices;
  • changements de la peau;
  • changements de la forme et de l’apparence du visage;
  • présence d'une prothèse dans la bouche, le nez ou l'œil;
  • perte de poids.

Certains de ces changements peuvent être temporaires. D’autres dureront longtemps ou seront permanents. De nos jours, les techniques chirurgicales et la chirurgie reconstructive permettent d'atténuer les changements de l’apparence du visage après l'intervention.

Votre visage joue un rôle important dans votre estime de vous-même et votre image corporelle puisqu’il est la partie la plus visible de votre corps. Pour de nombreuses personnes, l’image corporelle et la perception du regard des autres sont étroitement liées à l’estime de soi. Il peut s’agir pour vous d’une préoccupation réelle et susceptible de causer une détresse considérable. Même si les effets du traitement ne sont pas très évidents, vous pourriez ressentir de la colère ou de la peine, avoir peur de sortir ou craindre d’être rejeté par les autres.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les façons d'apaiser les préoccupations liées à l'image corporelle et à l'estime de soi.

Malnutrition et perte de poids

Après une chirurgie ou une radiothérapie du cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux, il peut être difficile de mâcher et d’avaler. D’autres effets secondaires du traitement de ce cancer comprennent la difficulté à ouvrir la mâchoire (trismus), la douleur dans la bouche (mucosite), la sécheresse de la bouche (xérostomie), les changements du goût, la perte de dents et la perte d’appétit. Ces problèmes peuvent tous entraîner la malnutrition et une perte de poids.

Votre équipe de soins peut vous proposer des moyens de bien vous alimenter pendant et après votre traitement. Une diététiste professionnelle est souvent en mesure de vous aider à gérer les effets secondaires liés à l'alimentation et à éviter la perte de poids.

En raison des traitements, la nourriture ou les suppléments pris par la bouche pourraient dans certains cas ne pas suffire à combler tous vos besoins nutritionnels. Vous devrez peut-être alors recevoir des éléments nutritifs au moyen d’une sonde d’alimentation jusqu’à ce que vous soyez capable de vous nourrir normalement. Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon de bien manger après un traitement et sur l’alimentation par sonde. Renseignez-vous également sur les problèmes suivants et les moyens de les atténuer :

Hygiène buccodentaire

Une bonne hygiène buccodentaire est très importante après le traitement d’un cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux. La radiothérapie et certains types de chirurgie peuvent augmenter votre risque d’infection de la bouche et de caries dentaires. La radiothérapie dirigée vers la tête et le cou peut provoquer une sécheresse de la bouche si elle endommage les glandes salivaires. Une bouche sèche augmente le risque d’avoir des caries.

On vous recommandera probablement de rincer et de nettoyer l'intérieur de votre bouche avec une solution d’eau, de sel et de bicarbonate de soude (solution saline). Il est important de vous assurer que la région où la chirurgie a été pratiquée est bien propre. Brossez vos dents et utilisez la soie dentaire dès que possible après avoir mangé. Vous aurez régulièrement des traitements au fluorure et vous verrez fréquemment votre dentiste afin de prévenir la carie dentaire et la perte de dents.

Ostéoradionécrose

L’ostéoradionécrose est la mort des os causée par la radiothérapie. L’os meurt parce que la radiation endommage ses vaisseaux sanguins. La radiothérapie pour le cancer des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux peut causer l’ostéoradionécrose dans la mâchoire.

Ayez une bonne hygiène buccodentaire avant et après le traitement, ce qui inclut des examens dentaires et des traitements au fluorure de façon régulière afin de prévenir les caries.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’ostéoradionécrose.

Cessation tabagique

Le tabagisme peut augmenter le risque que le cancer réapparaisse. Il peut aussi affecter la qualité de votre guérison et de votre réadaptation après le traitement. Apprenez-en davantage sur les façons pour vous de vivre sans fumée.

Questions à poser sur les soins de soutien

Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur les soins de soutien à votre équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Nasal Cavity and Paranasal Sinuses Cancer. Atlanta: American Cancer Society; 2009.
  • Living with nasal and sinus cancer . Cancer Research UK . CancerHelp UK . Cancer Research UK ; 2006 .
  • Costantino, P. D., Murphy, M. R. & Moche, J. A . Cancer of the nasal vestibule, nasal cavity, and paranasal sinus: surgical management. Harrison, L. B., Sessions, R. B., & Hong, W. K., (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2004: 21: pp. 455-479.
  • Helsper, J. T., Recabaren, J. A. & Dollinger, M . Head and neck. Dollinger, M., Rosenbaum, E., Tempero, M., & Mulvihill, S. Everyone's Guide to Cancer Therapy: How Cancer is Diagnosed, Treated and Managed Day to Day. 4th ed. Kansas City: Andrews McMeel Publishing; 2002: pp. 543-566.
  • National Cancer Institute. Oral Complications of Chemotherapy and Head/Neck Radiation (PDQ®): Health Professional Version. Bethesda: National Cancer Institute; 2009.
  • National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. Oral Complications of Cancer Treatment: What the Dental Team Can Do. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health; 2008.
  • National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. Oral Complications of Cancer Treatment: What the Oncology Team Can Do. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health; 2008.
  • Parsons, J. T., & Kies, M. S . Cancer of the nasal vestibule, nasal cavity, and paranasal sinus: radiation therapy and chemotherapy management. Harrison, L. B., Sessions, R. B., & Hong, W. K., (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2004: 22: pp. 480-528.

Réadaptation après le traitement du cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

Renseignez-vous sur la réadaptation après le traitement du cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.