What is nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer?

Nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer starts in the cells in the nose or a sinus around the nose. A cancerous (malignant) tumour is a group of cancer cells that can grow into nearby tissue and destroy it. The tumour can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

The nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses are part of the respiratory system. The nasal cavity is made up of the nostrils and the hollow passageway just behind the nose. The nasal cavity filters, warms and moistens the air you breathe and gives you a sense of smell. The paranasal sinuses are hollow chambers around the nose, filled with air. These sinuses give your voice its unique sound and protect the brain from injury.

Cells in the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous (benign) tumours such as nasal polyps or inverting papilloma.

Find out more about non-cancerous tumours of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses.

But in some cases, changes to nasal cavity or paranasal cavity cells can cause cancer. Most often, nasal cavity or paranasal sinus cancer starts in flat, thin cells called squamous cells. These cells line the inside of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses. This type of cancer is called squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses. Sometimes cancer can start in the gland cells of the nose or sinuses. This type of cancer is called adenocarcinoma of the nasal cavity or paranasal sinus.

Rare types of nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer can also develop. These include esthesioneuroblastoma and sinonasal undifferentiated carcinoma (SNUC).

Find out more about treatments for nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Nasal and Paranasal Sinus Cancers. Atlanta, GA: 2014: http://www.cancer.org/acs/groups/cid/documents/webcontent/003123-pdf.pdf.
  • Kupferman ME, Sturgis ME, Schwartz DL, Garden A, Kies MS . Neoplasms of the head and neck. Hong WK, et al (eds.). Holland Frei Cancer Medicine. 8th ed. People's Medical Publishing House; 2010: 77: 959-998.
  • Martini FH, Timmons MJ, Tallitsch RB. Human Anatomy. 7th ed. San Francisco: Pearson Benjamin Cummings; 2012.
  • Mendenhall WM, Werning JW, Pfister DG . Cancer of the head and neck. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 38: 422-473.
  • National Cancer Institute. Paranasal Sinus and Nasal Cavity CancerTreatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014: http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/treatment/paranasalsinus/HealthProfessional/page2/AllPages/Print.
  • Runbin P, Hansen JT. TNM Staging Atlas with Oncoanatomy. 2nd ed. Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2012: http://www.lwwoncology.com.
  • Tabaee A, Persky MS . Cancer of the nasal vestibule, nasal cavity, paranasal sinuses, anterior skull base, and orbit: Surgical management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, & Kies MS. Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 20:525-559.

The nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses

The nasal cavity and the paranasal sinuses are part of the respiratory system. Learn about the anatomy and physiology of these structures.

Cancerous tumours of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses

Squamous cell carcinoma is the most common nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancer. Learn about cancerous tumours of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses.

Non-cancerous tumours of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses

Nasal polyps are non-cancerous tumours of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses. Learn about non-cancerous nasal cavity and paranasal sinus tumours.

Qu’est-ce que le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux?

Le cancer des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux prend naissance dans les cellules du nez ou d'un sinus autour du nez. La tumeur cancéreuse (maligne) est un groupe de cellules cancéreuses qui peuvent envahir les tissus voisins et les détruire. La tumeur peut également se propager à d’autres parties du corps (métastases).

Les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux font partie de l’appareil respiratoire du corps. Les fosses nasales sont formées des narines et du passage creux situé juste derrière le nez. Les fosses nasales filtrent, réchauffent et humidifient l’air que vous respirez et vous permettent de percevoir les odeurs. Les sinus paranasaux sont des espaces creux qui entourent le nez et qui sont remplis d'air. Ces sinus donnent à votre voix sa sonorité unique et protègent votre cerveau des blessures.

Les cellules des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des tumeurs non cancéreuses (bénignes), comme les polypes nasaux ou le papillome inversé.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les tumeurs non cancéreuses des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.

Dans certains cas, des changements dans les cellules des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux peuvent toutefois causer un cancer. Le cancer des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux apparaît le plus souvent dans des cellules plates et minces appelées cellules pavimenteuses. Ces cellules tapissent l'intérieur des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux. Ce type de cancer porte le nom de carcinome épidermoïde des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux. Le cancer peut parfois prendre naissance dans les cellules glandulaires du nez ou des sinus. Ce type de cancer porte le nom d'adénocarcinome des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux.

Des types rares de cancers des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux peuvent aussi survenir. L’esthésioneuroblastome et le carcinome naso-sinusal indifférencié (CNSI) en sont des exemples.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les traitements du cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Nasal and Paranasal Sinus Cancers. Atlanta, GA: 2014: http://www.cancer.org/acs/groups/cid/documents/webcontent/003123-pdf.pdf.
  • Kupferman ME, Sturgis ME, Schwartz DL, Garden A, Kies MS . Neoplasms of the head and neck. Hong WK, et al (eds.). Holland Frei Cancer Medicine. 8th ed. People's Medical Publishing House; 2010: 77: 959-998.
  • Martini FH, Timmons MJ, Tallitsch RB. Human Anatomy. 7th ed. San Francisco: Pearson Benjamin Cummings; 2012.
  • Mendenhall WM, Werning JW, Pfister DG . Cancer of the head and neck. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 38: 422-473.
  • National Cancer Institute. Paranasal Sinus and Nasal Cavity CancerTreatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014: http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/treatment/paranasalsinus/HealthProfessional/page2/AllPages/Print.
  • Runbin P, Hansen JT. TNM Staging Atlas with Oncoanatomy. 2nd ed. Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2012: http://www.lwwoncology.com.
  • Tabaee A, Persky MS . Cancer of the nasal vestibule, nasal cavity, paranasal sinuses, anterior skull base, and orbit: Surgical management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, & Kies MS. Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 20:525-559.

Les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux

Les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux font partie de l’appareil respiratoire du corps. Renseignez-vous sur l’anatomie et la physiologie de ces structures.

Tumeurs cancéreuses des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

Le carcinome épidermoïde est le cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux le plus fréquent. Renseignez-vous sur les différentes tumeurs cancéreuses.

Tumeurs non cancéreuses des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

Les polypes nasaux sont des tumeurs non cancéreuses. Renseignez-vous sur les tumeurs non cancéreuses des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.