Targeted therapy for stomach cancer

Targeted therapy is sometimes used to treat stomach cancer. It uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on the surface of cancer cells. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells while limiting harm to normal cells. Targeted therapy may also be called molecular targeted therapy.

Targeted therapy is used to:

  • kill stomach cancer cells
  • treat advanced or recurrent stomach cancer in combination with chemotherapy

Your healthcare team will consider your personal needs to plan the drugs, doses and schedules of targeted therapy. You may also receive other treatments.

Targeted therapy drugs used for stomach cancer

Trastuzumab (Herceptin) and ramucirumab (Cyramza) are targeted therapy drugs used to treat stomach cancer.

Trastuzumab

Trastuzumab is designed to attach to extra proteins on the surface of some stomach cancer cells. It stops the growth of the cancer in people with HER2-positive stomach cancer. About 1 in 5 people with stomach cancer have too much of the HER2 protein. This is called overexpression of HER2.

People with HER2-negative stomach cancer don’t benefit from trastuzumab.

Trastuzumab is given as an intravenous (IV) drug injected into a vein. It is often given every 2 or 3 weeks along with the chemotherapy drugs cisplatin (Platinol AQ) and either 5-fluorouracil (Adrucil, 5-FU) or capecitabine (Xeloda).

Ramucirumab

Ramucirumab (Cyramza) is a monoclonal antibody that targets a substance called vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF). VEGF helps cells form new blood vessels that carry oxygen and nutrients, which cells need to grow and develop.

Many tumour cells, including stomach cancer cells, make VEGF. Ramucirumab works by finding and attaching to VEGF and preventing cells from forming new blood vessels. This means the cells can’t get oxygen and nutrients that they need to grow. Targeted therapy drugs like ramucirumab are also called anti-angiogenesis drugs because they stop new blood vessels from forming.

Ramucirumab is given intravenously every 2 weeks. It may be given alone or combined with the chemotherapy drug paclitaxel (Taxol). Ramucirumab is used for advanced, metastatic or recurrent stomach cancer when other chemotherapy drugs no longer seem to be working (are refractory to treatment).

Information about specific cancer drugs

Details on specific drugs change quite regularly. Find out more about sources of drug information and where to get details on specific drugs.

Questions to ask about targeted therapy

Find out more about targeted therapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about targeted therapy.

Expert review and references

  • Alberta Health Services. Gastric Cancer. Alberta Health Services; 2013.
  • Alberts SR & Grothey A . Gastrointestinal tract cancers. Casciato DA & Territo MC (eds.). Manual of Clinical Oncology. 7th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2012: 9: pp. 227-284.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Stomach cancer. Alexandria, VA.: American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO); 2014.
  • Avital, I. et al . Cancer of the stomach. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 80: pp. 924-954.
  • BC Cancer Agency (BCCA). Stomach Cancer Management Guidelines. BC Cancer Agency; 2013: http://www.bccancer.bc.ca/HPI/CancerManagementGuidelines/Gastrointestinal/02.Stomach/default.htm.
  • Czito BG, Palta M & Willett CG . Stomach cancer. Halperin EC, Wazer DE, Perez CA et al. Perez and Brady's Principles and Practice of Radiation Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2013: 58.
  • Health Canada. Cyramza Summary Basis of Decision (SBD). 2015: http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/prodpharma/sbd-smd/drug-med/sbd_smd_2015_cyramza_176810-eng.php.
  • Kelsen, D. P., Van De Velde, C. J. H., & Minsky, B. D . Gastric cancer: clinical management. Kelsen, D. P., Daly, J. M., Kern, S. E., Levin, B., Tepper, J. E., & Van Cutsem, E. (eds.). Principles and Practice of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: 23: pp. 285-316.
  • Knight G, Earle CC, Cosby R, et al . Neoadjuvant or Adjuvant Therapy for Resectable Gastric Cancer. Cancer Care Ontario. Evidence-Based Series (EBS) and Practice Guidelines (PG). Toronto, ON: Cancer Care Ontario; 2013.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. Gastric Cancer (Version 1.2014). National Comprehensive Cancer Network; 2014.
  • Russell MC, Hsu C & Mansfield PF . Primary gastric malignancies. Feig BW & Ching CD. The MD Anderson Surgical Oncology Handbook. 5th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2012: 9: pp. 270-315.
  • Yao JC, Crane CH, Sano T, et al . Carcinoma of the stomach. Hong WK, et al (eds.). Holland Frei Cancer Medicine. 8th ed. People's Medical Publishing House; 2010: 84: pp. 1086-1108.

Side effects of targeted therapy for stomach cancer

Targeted therapy has fewer side effects than other treatments. Learn about side effects of targeted therapy for stomach cancer and how they are managed.

Traitement ciblé du cancer de l’estomac

On a parfois recours au traitement ciblé pour traiter le cancer de l’estomac. Le traitement ciblé a recours à de médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques (comme des protéines) présentes à la surface des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments ciblés interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales. Le traitement ciblé est aussi parfois appelé traitement à ciblage moléculaire.

On a recours au traitement ciblé pour :

  • détruire les cellules cancéreuses de l’estomac
  • traiter le cancer de l’estomac avancé ou récidivant, en association avec de la chimiothérapie

Votre équipe de soins prendra vos besoins personnels en considération pour choisir les médicaments ciblés, les doses et les modes d’administration. Vous pourriez aussi recevoir d’autres traitements.

Médicaments ciblés administrés pour le cancer de l’estomac

Le trastuzumab (Herceptin) et le ramucirumab (Cyramza) sont des médicaments ciblés employés pour traiter le cancer de l’estomac.

Trastuzumab

Le trastuzumab est conçu pour se lier à des protéines excédentaires présentes sur la surface de certaines cellules cancéreuses de l’estomac. Chez les personnes atteintes d’un cancer de l’estomac HER2 positif, il permet d’arrêter la croissance du cancer. La protéine HER2 est surexprimée chez environ 1 personne atteinte d’un cancer de l’estomac sur 5. La surexpression de la HER2 signifie que cette protéine est présente en trop grande quantité.

Le trastuzumab n’entraîne aucun bienfait chez les personnes dont le cancer de l’estomac est HER2 négatif.

Le trastuzumab est un médicament administré sous forme d’une injection intraveineuse (faite dans une veine). On administre souvent le trastuzumab toutes les 2 ou 3 semaines, en association avec les agents chimiothérapeutiques suivants : cisplatine (Platinol AQ) et soit 5-fluorouracile (Adrucil, 5-FU), soit capécitabine (Xeloda).

Ramucirumab

Le ramucirumab (Cyramza) est un anticorps monoclonal ciblant une substance appelée facteur de croissance de l’endothélium vasculaire (VEGF). Le VEGF aide les cellules à former de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins qui transportent l’oxygène et les nutriments dont elles ont besoin pour croître et proliférer.

De nombreuses cellules tumorales produisent du VEGF, y compris les cellules du cancer de l’estomac. Le ramucirumab agit en reconnaissant le VEGF et en s’y liant, empêchant ainsi les cellules de former de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins. Par conséquent, les cellules ne reçoivent plus l’oxygène et les nutriments dont elles ont besoin pour croître. Les médicaments ciblés tels que le ramucirumab sont aussi appelés médicaments antiangiogéniques puisqu’ils empêchent la formation de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins.

Le ramucirumab est administré chaque 2 semaines par voie intraveineuse, seul ou en association avec le paclitaxel (Taxol), un agent chimiothérapeutique. On emploie le ramucirumab pour traiter le cancer de l’estomac avancé, métastatique ou récidivant lorsque les autres agents chimiothérapeutiques ne semblent plus faire effet (en cas de résistance au traitement).

Informations sur des médicaments anticancéreux spécifiques

Les renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques changent assez régulièrement. Apprenez-en davantage sur les sources d’information sur les médicaments ainsi que sur les endroits où vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques.

Questions à poser sur le traitement ciblé

Apprenez-en davantage sur le traitement ciblé. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur le traitement ciblé à votre équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Alberta Health Services. Gastric Cancer. Alberta Health Services; 2013.
  • Alberts SR & Grothey A . Gastrointestinal tract cancers. Casciato DA & Territo MC (eds.). Manual of Clinical Oncology. 7th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2012: 9: pp. 227-284.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Stomach cancer. Alexandria, VA.: American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO); 2014.
  • Avital, I. et al . Cancer of the stomach. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 80: pp. 924-954.
  • BC Cancer Agency (BCCA). Stomach Cancer Management Guidelines. BC Cancer Agency; 2013: http://www.bccancer.bc.ca/HPI/CancerManagementGuidelines/Gastrointestinal/02.Stomach/default.htm.
  • Czito BG, Palta M & Willett CG . Stomach cancer. Halperin EC, Wazer DE, Perez CA et al. Perez and Brady's Principles and Practice of Radiation Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2013: 58.
  • Health Canada. Cyramza Summary Basis of Decision (SBD). 2015: http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/prodpharma/sbd-smd/drug-med/sbd_smd_2015_cyramza_176810-eng.php.
  • Kelsen, D. P., Van De Velde, C. J. H., & Minsky, B. D . Gastric cancer: clinical management. Kelsen, D. P., Daly, J. M., Kern, S. E., Levin, B., Tepper, J. E., & Van Cutsem, E. (eds.). Principles and Practice of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: 23: pp. 285-316.
  • Knight G, Earle CC, Cosby R, et al . Neoadjuvant or Adjuvant Therapy for Resectable Gastric Cancer. Cancer Care Ontario. Evidence-Based Series (EBS) and Practice Guidelines (PG). Toronto, ON: Cancer Care Ontario; 2013.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. Gastric Cancer (Version 1.2014). National Comprehensive Cancer Network; 2014.
  • Russell MC, Hsu C & Mansfield PF . Primary gastric malignancies. Feig BW & Ching CD. The MD Anderson Surgical Oncology Handbook. 5th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2012: 9: pp. 270-315.
  • Yao JC, Crane CH, Sano T, et al . Carcinoma of the stomach. Hong WK, et al (eds.). Holland Frei Cancer Medicine. 8th ed. People's Medical Publishing House; 2010: 84: pp. 1086-1108.

Effets secondaires du traitement ciblé du cancer de l’estomac

Targeted therapy has fewer side effects than other treatments. Learn about side effects of targeted therapy for stomach cancer and how they are managed.