Supportive care for stomach cancer

Last medical review:

Supportive care helps people meet the physical, practical, emotional and spiritual challenges of stomach cancer. It is an important part of cancer care. There are many programs and services available to help meet the needs and improve the quality of life of people living with cancer and their loved ones, especially after treatment has ended.

Recovering from stomach cancer and adjusting to life after treatment is different for each person, depending on the stage of the cancer, the organs and tissues removed during surgery, the type of treatment and many other factors. The end of cancer treatment may bring mixed emotions. Even though treatment has ended, there may be other issues to deal with, such as coping with long-term side effects. A person who has been treated for stomach cancer may have the following concerns.

Self-esteem and body image

How a person feels about themselves is called self-esteem. Body image is how a person sees their own body. Stomach cancer and its treatments can affect a person's self-esteem and body image. Often this is because cancer or cancer treatments may result in body changes, such as:

  • scars
  • hair loss
  • skin changes
  • changes in body weight
  • needing a feeding tube

Some of these changes can be temporary. Others will last for a long time or be permanent.

Find out more about coping with body image and self-esteem worries.

Blockage in the stomach

Sometimes advanced stomach cancer can grow large enough to block the stomach so that food can't pass from the esophagus to the stomach or from the stomach to the small intestine. A blockage can be managed by:

  • placing a stent to bypass the tumour and allow food to pass
  • radiation therapy to shrink a tumour and relieve a blockage
  • laser surgery to shrink a tumour and relieve a blockage

Nutrition problems

People with stomach cancer often have nutritional problems related to the stomach cancer or treatment for stomach cancer. Nutritional problems include:

  • weight loss
  • feeling full after eating or drinking
  • not getting enough vitamins and minerals

The healthcare team, including a registered dietitian, can help you maintain nutrition during treatment and deal with any side effects.

Find out more about nutrition and stomach cancer.

Indigestion

Indigestion is when there is pain or discomfort in the upper abdomen. It is sometimes called an upset stomach. Indigestion can be a side effect of stomach surgery. The signs and symptoms of indigestion include heartburn, burping (belching), bloating, discomfort in the chest, and gastroesophageal reflux (stomach contents back up into the esophagus). Indigestion may be managed by:

  • changing your diet, such as avoiding spicy and acidic foods, alcohol and carbonated (fizzy) drinks
  • sitting upright after eating and drinking
  • keeping your head and shoulders elevated when lying down or sleeping
  • using antacids as prescribed by the healthcare team

Pain

Pain associated with stomach cancer can be related to surgery, the location of the tumour and the effect the tumour has on other structures (such as nearby tissues and organs, nerves and blood vessels) as the cancer grows larger or spreads.

Pain management is an important part of improving the quality of life for a person with stomach cancer. Pain medicines are commonly used to treat the pain. There are many types of pain medicines. Your doctor will determine which type and dose will work best for you.

Sometimes surgery may be used to treat pain caused by a blockage in the stomach. Surgery may involve placing a stent to bypass the blockage.

Radiation therapy can also help relieve pain by shrinking a tumour that is pressing on a nerve or other organ.

Physical, psychological and complementary therapies can also be used to manage pain. These include massage, relaxation methods and deep breathing.

Find out more about pain.

Fatigue

Many people with stomach cancer have extreme tiredness (fatigue). Fatigue may be caused by the cancer or cancer treatment. Fatigue can also be made worse by having trouble eating and poor nutrition. It can be hard to cope when you feel very tired and don't have a lot of energy, especially for a while after treatment or if the cancer is advanced.

Find out more about fatigue.

Dumping syndrome

Dumping syndrome occurs when food moves too quickly from the stomach into the small intestine. This may occur after surgery for stomach cancer if all or part of the stomach has been removed. Dumping syndrome can lead to nausea and vomiting, diarrhea, sweating and becoming flushed after eating. These symptoms usually get better over time.

Find out more about dumping syndrome.

Questions to ask about supportive care

To make decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about supportive care.

Expert review and references

  • Michael Sanatani, MD, FRCPC
  • American Cancer Society. After Stomach Cancer Treatment. 2017: www.cancer.org.
  • Kanth, R. Medscape Reference: Dumping Syndrome. 2019: www.medscape.com.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board . Fatigue (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version . Bethesda, MD : National Cancer Institute ; 2021 : .

Nutrition and stomach cancer

People with stomach cancer may have problems eating and digesting food.

Soins de soutien pour le cancer de l’estomac

Les soins de soutien permettent aux personnes atteintes de surmonter les obstacles physiques, pratiques, émotifs et spirituels engendrés par le cancer de l’estomac. C’est une composante importante des soins apportés aux personnes atteintes de cette maladie. De nombreux programmes et services permettent de répondre aux besoins et d’améliorer la qualité de vie de ces personnes et de leurs proches, en particulier une fois que le traitement est terminé.

Le rétablissement d’un cancer de l’estomac et l’adaptation à la vie après le traitement diffèrent d’une personne à l’autre. Ils varient selon l’étendue de la maladie, le type de traitement administré et bien d’autres facteurs. La fin du traitement d’un cancer peut engendrer des émotions partagées. Même si le traitement est terminé, il pourrait y avoir d’autres questions à régler, comme l’adaptation aux effets secondaires à long terme. Une personne qui a été traitée pour un cancer de l’estomac peut se préoccuper des aspects suivants.

Estime de soi et image corporelle

L’estime de soi, c’est ce qu’on ressent face à soi-même ou comment on se voit. L'image corporelle, c'est la façon dont on perçoit son propre corps. Le cancer de l’estomac et ses traitements peuvent affecter l’estime de soi et l’image corporelle d’une personne, souvent parce qu’ils peuvent modifier le corps, par exemple :

  • cicatrices;
  • perte de poils et de cheveux;
  • changements de la peau;
  • variation du poids corporel;
  • besoin d’une sonde d’alimentation.
Certains de ces changements peuvent être temporaires, d’autres dureront longtemps et certains seront permanents.

Blocage dans l’estomac

Le cancer de l’estomac à un stade avancé peut parfois tant croître qu’il bloque l’estomac, empêchant le passage de la nourriture de l’œsophage à l’estomac ou de l’estomac à l’intestin grêle. Différentes options existent pour traiter un tel blocage :

  • mise en place d’une endoprothèse pour contourner la tumeur et permettre le passage de la nourriture
  • radiothérapie pour réduire la taille de la tumeur et dégager une obstruction
  • chirurgie au laser pour réduire la taille de la tumeur et dégager une obstruction

Troubles nutritionnels

Les personnes atteintes d’un cancer de l’estomac éprouvent souvent des troubles nutritionnels, en raison du cancer lui-même ou de son traitement. Les troubles nutritionnels comprennent :

  • la perte de poids;
  • la sensation de plénitude après avoir bu ou mangé;
  • les carences en vitamines et en minéraux.
L’équipe de soins de santé, qui comprend une diététiste, peut vous aider à continuer de bien vous alimenter pendant le traitement et à faire face à tout effet secondaire.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les troubles nutritionnels associés au cancer de l’estomac.

Reflux gastro-œsophagien

Le reflux gastro-œsophagien (RGO) désigne la remontée du contenu de l’estomac (dont l’acide gastrique) ou de la bile dans l’œsophage (reflux). Le RGO peut-être un effet secondaire de la chirurgie à l’estomac. Les signes et signes et symptômes du RGO comprennent les brûlures d’estomac, les rots (éructations) et l’inconfort dans la poitrine ou l’abdomen. Voici quelques façons de soulager le RGO :

  • modifier son régime alimentaire, de manière à éviter les mets épicés, les aliments acides, l’alcool et les boissons gazeuses
  • s’asseoir droit après avoir bu et mangé
  • garder la tête et les épaules surélevées quand on s’allonge ou qu’on dort
  • prendre des antiacides, en respectant ce qu’a prescrit l’équipe soignante

Douleur

La douleur associée au cancer de l’estomac peut être liée à la chirurgie, à l’emplacement de la tumeur et à l’effet qu’a la tumeur sur les autres structures (comme les tissus, les organes, les nerfs et les vaisseaux sanguins avoisinants) au fur et à mesure que le cancer croît ou s’étend.

Le soulagement de la douleur contribue beaucoup à améliorer la qualité de vie d’une personne atteinte d’un cancer de l’estomac. On emploie couramment des médicaments antidouleur pour soulager la douleur. Il existe de nombreux types de médicaments antidouleur. Votre médecin déterminera le type et la dose qui vous conviennent le mieux.

On peut parfois effectuer une chirurgie pour traiter la douleur causée par un blocage dans l’estomac. La chirurgie peut comprendre la mise en place d’une endoprothèse pour contourner le blocage.

On peut aussi avoir uniquement recours à la radiothérapie pour aider à maîtriser la douleur. La douleur est parfois causée par une tumeur qui appuie sur un nerf ou un autre organe. Un tel traitement peut réduire la taille de la tumeur et soulager la douleur.

Il existe d’autres traitements physiques, psychologiques et complémentaires pour soulager la douleur, par exemple la massothérapie, les méthodes de relaxation et la respiration profonde.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la douleur.

Fatigue

De nombreuses personnes atteintes d’un cancer de l’estomac ressentent une lassitude extrême, ou fatigue. La fatigue peut être causée par le cancer lui-même ou son traitement. Elle peut aussi être aggravée par une difficulté à manger et une mauvaise nutrition. Il peut être difficile de faire face à la maladie lorsqu’on se sent très fatigué et qu’on a peu d’énergie, surtout après les traitements ou si le cancer est à un stade avancé.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la fatigue.

Syndrome de chasse

Le syndrome de chasse se manifeste quand les aliments passent trop rapidement de l’estomac à l’intestin grêle. Cette situation peut survenir après une chirurgie pour un cancer de l’estomac où on a enlevé une partie ou la totalité de cet organe. Le syndrome de chasse peut entraîner des nausées et des vomissements, de la diarrhée, de la transpiration et une rougeur corporelle après avoir mangé. Ces symptômes s’améliorent habituellement au fil du temps.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le syndrome de chasse.

Consultez la liste de questions à poser à votre médecin sur les soins de soutien après le traitement.

Révision par les experts et références

Alimentation et cancer de l’estomac

Les personnes atteintes d’un cancer de l’estomac peuvent avoir de la difficulté à manger et digérer la nourriture. Découvrez comment traiter ces problèmes.