Prognosis and survival for stomach cancer

If you have stomach cancer, you may have questions about your prognosis. A prognosis is the doctor’s best estimate of how cancer will affect someone and how it will respond to treatment. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with your medical history, the type, stage and characteristics of your cancer, the treatments chosen and the response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

A prognostic factor is an aspect of the cancer or a characteristic of the person that the doctor will consider when making a prognosis. A predictive factor influences how a cancer will respond to a certain treatment. Prognostic and predictive factors are often discussed together. They both play a part in deciding on a treatment plan and a prognosis.

The following are prognostic factors for stomach cancer.

Stage

Stage is the most important prognostic factor for stomach cancer. When stomach cancer is found in an earlier stage, there is a more favourable outcome.

The 2 most important stage indicators are the tumour and the lymph nodes. Tumours that have not grown beyond the stomach wall have a better prognosis than tumours that have grown through the wall. The number of lymph nodes that the cancer has spread to affects the prognosis. If the cancer has spread to 3 or more lymph nodes, the prognosis is less favourable than if it hasn’t spread to the lymph nodes or has only spread to 1 or 2 lymph nodes. If the cancer has spread to 7 or more lymph nodes, the prognosis is even less favourable.

Cancer cells in peritoneal washings

If cancer cells are found in the washings of the peritoneum taken during surgery, the prognosis is less favourable.

Lymphovascular invasion

Cancer that has not spread into the blood or lymph vessels (lymphovascular invasion) tends to have a better prognosis than cancer that has spread to the blood vessels.

Type of tumour

Intestinal type tumours have a better prognosis than diffuse type tumours. Adenocarcinoma tends to have a better prognosis than adenosquamous carcinoma.

Location of the tumour

Tumours found in the lower part of the stomach have a more favourable prognosis than tumours found in the upper part of the stomach.

Surgical removal

If the stomach cancer can be completely removed (resected) during surgery, the prognosis is more favourable than if it cannot be completely removed.

HER2 status

People who have tumours that test positive for HER2 have a poorer prognosis.

Performance status

People with a high performance status (Karnofsky score of 70 or greater) have a more favourable prognosis than those with a lower status.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Stomach Cancer. Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2014: http://www.cancer.org/acs/groups/cid/documents/webcontent/003141-pdf.pdf.
  • American Joint Committee on Cancer. AJCC Cancer Staging Handbook. 7th ed. Chicago: Springer; 2010.
  • Avital, I. et al . Cancer of the stomach. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 80: pp. 924-954.
  • Cabebe EC . Gastric cancer. eMedicine.Medscape.com. WebMD LLC; 2014.
  • Czito BG, Palta M & Willett CG . Stomach cancer. Halperin EC, Wazer DE, Perez CA et al. Perez and Brady's Principles and Practice of Radiation Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2013: 58.
  • National Cancer Institute. Gastric Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.
  • National Cancer Institute & National Library of Medicine. Stomach cancer. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute & National Library of Medicine; 2013.
  • Stemmermann, G. N. & Fenoglio-Preiser, C. M . Gastric cancer: pathology. Kelsen, D. P., Daly, J. M., Kern, S. E., Levin, B., Tepper, J. E., & Van Cutsem, E. (eds.). Principles and Practice of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: 21: pp. 257-274.
  • Van Krieken, J. H. J. M. & Van De Velde, C. J. H . Gastric cancer. Gospodarowicz, M. K., O'Sullivan, B., Sobin, L. H., et al. (Eds.). Prognostic Factors in Cancer. 3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.; 2006: 13: pp. 129-132.

Survival statistics for stomach cancer

Learn about survival statistics for stomach cancer, including relative survival, survival by stage and questions about survival.

Pronostic et survie pour le cancer de l’estomac

Si vous êtes atteint d’un cancer de l’estomac, vous vous posez peut-être des questions sur votre pronostic. Un pronostic est l’acte par lequel le médecin évalue le mieux comment le cancer affectera une personne et comment il réagira au traitement. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien vos antécédents médicaux, le type, le stade et les caractéristiques du cancer dont vous êtes atteint, les traitements choisis et la réaction au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Un facteur pronostique est un aspect du cancer ou une caractéristique de la personne que le médecin prend en considération lorsqu’il établit un pronostic. Un facteur prédictif influence la façon dont le cancer répond à un certain traitement. On aborde souvent les facteurs pronostiques et les facteurs prédictifs ensemble. Ils jouent tous les deux un rôle dans le choix du plan de traitement et dans l’établissement du pronostic.

Les éléments suivants sont des facteurs pronostiques du cancer de l’estomac.

Stade

Le stade du cancer de l’estomac est le facteur pronostique le plus important. Lorsque le cancer de l’estomac est détecté à un stade précoce, le pronostic est plus favorable.

Les 2 indicateurs pronostiques les plus importants du stade sont la tumeur et les ganglions lymphatiques. Une tumeur qui ne s’est pas étendue au-delà de la paroi de l’estomac engendre un meilleur pronostic qu’une tumeur qui a traversé la paroi. Le nombre de ganglions lymphatiques dans lesquels le cancer s’est propagé affecte le pronostic. Si le cancer s’est propagé à 3 ganglions lymphatiques ou plus, le pronostic est moins favorable que s’il s’est propagé 2 ganglions ou moins. Si le cancer s’est propagé à 7 ganglions lymphatiques ou plus, le pronostic est encore moins favorable.

Cellules cancéreuses présentes dans les lavages péritonéaux

Si on observe des cellules cancéreuses dans les lavages du péritoine faits lors d’une chirurgie, le pronostic est moins favorable.

Envahissement lymphovasculaire

Le pronostic d’un cancer qui n’a pas envahi les vaisseaux sanguins et les vaisseaux lymphatiques (envahissement lymphovasculaire) est typiquement meilleur que celui d’un cancer qui s’est propagé aux vaisseaux sanguins.

Type de tumeur

Les tumeurs de type intestinal engendrent un meilleur pronostic que les tumeurs diffuses. L’adénocarcinome engendre habituellement un meilleur pronostic que le carcinome adénosquameux.

Emplacement de la tumeur

Les tumeurs détectées dans la partie inférieure de l’estomac engendrent un meilleur pronostic que les tumeurs observées dans la partie supérieure de l’estomac.

Ablation chirurgicale

S’il est possible d’enlever complètement le cancer de l’estomac par chirurgie (résection), le pronostic est plus favorable que si on ne peut pas l’enlever en entier.

Statut HER2

Lorsque les tumeurs sont HER2 positives, le pronostic est plus sombre.

Indice fonctionnel

Le pronostic des personnes dont l’indice fonctionnel est élevé (indice de Karnofsky supérieur ou égal à 70) est meilleur que celles dont l’indice fonctionnel est faible.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Stomach Cancer. Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2014: http://www.cancer.org/acs/groups/cid/documents/webcontent/003141-pdf.pdf.
  • American Joint Committee on Cancer. AJCC Cancer Staging Handbook. 7th ed. Chicago: Springer; 2010.
  • Avital, I. et al . Cancer of the stomach. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 80: pp. 924-954.
  • Cabebe EC . Gastric cancer. eMedicine.Medscape.com. WebMD LLC; 2014.
  • Czito BG, Palta M & Willett CG . Stomach cancer. Halperin EC, Wazer DE, Perez CA et al. Perez and Brady's Principles and Practice of Radiation Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2013: 58.
  • National Cancer Institute. Gastric Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.
  • National Cancer Institute & National Library of Medicine. Stomach cancer. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute & National Library of Medicine; 2013.
  • Stemmermann, G. N. & Fenoglio-Preiser, C. M . Gastric cancer: pathology. Kelsen, D. P., Daly, J. M., Kern, S. E., Levin, B., Tepper, J. E., & Van Cutsem, E. (eds.). Principles and Practice of Gastrointestinal Oncology. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008: 21: pp. 257-274.
  • Van Krieken, J. H. J. M. & Van De Velde, C. J. H . Gastric cancer. Gospodarowicz, M. K., O'Sullivan, B., Sobin, L. H., et al. (Eds.). Prognostic Factors in Cancer. 3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.; 2006: 13: pp. 129-132.

Statistiques de survie pour le cancer de l’estomac

Renseignez-vous sur les statistiques de survie au cancer de l’estomac, dont la survie relative, la survie par stade et les questions sur la survie.