What is lung cancer?

Lung cancer starts in the cells of the lung. A cancerous (malignant) tumour is a group of cancer cells that can grow into and destroy nearby tissue. It can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body. When cancer starts in lung cells, it is called primary lung cancer.

The lung is part of the respiratory system. You use your lungs when you breathe. The lungs are in the chest, one on each side of the heart. The right lung has 3 main parts, called lobes. The left lung is a bit smaller and has 2 lobes. The lungs are cushioned and protected by a thin covering called the pleura.

Diagram of the location of the lungs
Diagram of the location of the lungs

Cells in the lung sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous (benign) tumours such as hamartoma and papilloma. But in some cases, changes to lung cells can cause cancer.

Lung cancers are divided into non–small cell lung cancer and small cell lung cancer based on the type of cell in which the cancer started.

Non–small cell lung cancer usually starts in glandular cells on the outer part of the lung. This type of cancer is called adenocarcinoma. Non–small cell lung cancer can also start in flat, thin cells called squamous cells. These cells line the bronchi, which are the large airways that branch off from the windpipe (trachea) into the lungs. This type of cancer is called squamous cell carcinoma of the lung. Large cell carcinoma is another type of non–small cell lung cancer, but it is less common. There are also several rare types of non–small cell lung cancer. These include sarcoma and sarcomatoid carcinoma.

Small cell lung cancer usually starts in cells that line the bronchi in the centre of the lungs. The main types of small cell lung cancer are small cell carcinoma and combined small cell carcinoma (mixed tumour with squamous or glandular cells).

Other types of cancer can spread to the lung, but this is not the same disease as primary lung cancer. Cancer that starts in another part of the body and spreads to the lung is called lung metastasis. It is not treated in the same way as primary lung cancer. Find out more about lung metastasis.

A rare type of cancer called pleural mesothelioma is often mistakenly called a lung cancer. But pleural mesothelioma starts in the pleura covering the lung and is very different from cancer that starts in the lung.

Expert review and references

  • Stephen Lam, MD, FRCPC
  • Chiang A, Detterbeck FC, Stewart T, Decker RH, Tanoue L. Non–small cell lung cancer. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 48:618–670.
  • Hann CL, Wu MA, Rekhtman N, Rudin CM. Small cell and neuroendocrine tumors of the lung. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 49:671–699.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board . Non–Small Cell Lung Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version . Bethesda, MD : National Cancer Institute ; 2020: https://www.cancer.gov/types/lung/patient/non-small-cell-lung-treatment-pdq.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board . Small Cell Lung Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD : National Cancer Institute ; 2020: https://www.cancer.gov/types/lung/patient/small-cell-lung-treatment-pdq.
  • American Cancer Society. What is Lung Cancer?. 2019.

The lungs

The lungs are located in the chest and are part of the respiratory system.

Cancerous tumours of the lung

Malignant tumours of the lung are cancerous growths that have the potential to spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

Non-cancerous lung tumours

A non-cancerous (benign) tumour of the lung is a growth that does not spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body. Non-cancerous tumours are usually not life-threatening.

Lung nodules

A lung nodule is a small area found in the lung, often during an imaging test such as an x-ray or CT scan.

Qu'est-ce que le cancer du poumon?

Le cancer du poumon prend naissance dans les cellules du poumon. La tumeur cancéreuse (maligne) est un groupe de cellules cancéreuses qui peuvent envahir les tissus voisins et les détruire. La tumeur peut également se propager (métastases) à d'autres parties du corps. Quand le cancer apparaît d'abord dans les cellules du poumon, il est appelé cancer primitif du poumon.

Le poumon fait partie de l’appareil respiratoire. Vous utilisez vos poumons quand vous respirez. Les poumons sont situés dans le thorax, de chaque côté du cœur. Le poumon droit est constitué de 3 sections principales appelées lobes. Le poumon gauche, un peu plus petit, comporte 2 lobes. Les poumons sont enveloppés d’une fine membrane protectrice appelée plèvre, qui constitue un genre de coussin pour ces organes.

Schéma de l'emplacement des poumons
Schéma de l'emplacement des poumons

Les cellules du poumon subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer la formation de tumeurs non cancéreuses (bénignes), comme l’hamartome et le papillome. Mais dans certains cas, les changements qui se produisent dans les cellules pulmonaires peuvent causer le cancer.

Les cancers du poumon sont divisés en cancer du poumon non à petites cellules et en cancer du poumon à petites cellules selon le type de cellule à partir duquel ils se développent.

Le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules prend habituellement naissance dans les cellules glandulaires situées dans la partie externe du poumon. Ce type de cancer porte le nom d’adénocarcinome. Le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules peut aussi prendre naissance dans les cellules minces et plates appelées cellules squameuses. Celles-ci tapissent les bronches qui sont les grosses voies respiratoires se ramifiant de la trachée jusqu’aux poumons. On parle alors d’un carcinome épidermoïde du poumon. Le carcinome à grandes cellules est un autre type de cancer du poumon non à petites cellules, mais il est moins fréquent. Il existe également plusieurs types rares de cancer du poumon non à petites cellules, dont le sarcome et le carcinome sarcomatoïde.

Le cancer du poumon à petites cellules prend habituellement naissance dans les cellules qui tapissent les bronches situées au centre des poumons. Les principaux types de cancer du poumon à petites cellules sont le carcinome à petites cellules et le carcinome mixte à petites cellules (tumeur mixte formée entre autres de cellules squameuses ou glandulaires).

D’autres types de cancer peuvent se propager au poumon, mais il s’agit alors d’une maladie différente du cancer primitif du poumon. Un cancer qui prend naissance dans une autre partie du corps et qui se propage ensuite au poumon est appelé métastase pulmonaire. On la traite différemment du cancer primitif du poumon. Apprenez-en davantage sur les métastases pulmonaires.

Un type rare de cancer, le mésothéliome pleural, est souvent appelé à tort cancer du poumon. Bien que le mésothéliome se forme dans la plèvre qui recouvre le poumon, il est très différent d’un cancer qui prend naissance dans le poumon.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Stephen Lam, MD, FRCPC
  • Chiang A, Detterbeck FC, Stewart T, Decker RH, Tanoue L. Non–small cell lung cancer. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 48:618–670.
  • Hann CL, Wu MA, Rekhtman N, Rudin CM. Small cell and neuroendocrine tumors of the lung. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 49:671–699.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board . Non–Small Cell Lung Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version . Bethesda, MD : National Cancer Institute ; 2020: https://www.cancer.gov/types/lung/patient/non-small-cell-lung-treatment-pdq.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board . Small Cell Lung Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD : National Cancer Institute ; 2020: https://www.cancer.gov/types/lung/patient/small-cell-lung-treatment-pdq.
  • American Cancer Society. What is Lung Cancer?. 2019.

Les poumons

Les poumons sont situés dans le thorax et font partie de l'appareil respiratoire.

Tumeurs cancéreuses du poumon

La tumeur maligne du poumon est une masse cancéreuse qui peut se propager à d'autres parties du corps (métastases).

Tumeurs pulmonaires non cancéreuses

Une tumeur non cancéreuse (bénigne) du poumon est une masse qui ne se propage pas à d'autres parties du corps (pas de métastases). Une tumeur non cancéreuse ne met généralement pas la vie en danger.

Nodules pulmonaires

Un nodule pulmonaire est une petite région de tissu anormal observée dans le poumon, souvent au cours d'un examen d'imagerie comme une radiographie ou une tomodensitométrie (TDM).