Prognosis and survival for lung cancer

If you have lung cancer, you may have questions about your prognosis. A prognosis is the doctor's best estimate of how cancer will affect someone and how it will respond to treatment. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with your medical history, the type and stage and other features of the cancer, the treatments chosen and the response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

A prognostic factor is an aspect of the cancer or a characteristic of the person (such as their overall health) that the doctor will consider when making a prognosis. A predictive factor influences how a cancer will respond to a certain treatment. Prognostic and predictive factors are often discussed together. They both play a part in deciding on a treatment plan and a prognosis.

The following are prognostic and predictive factors for lung cancer.

Stage

The stage of lung cancer is the most important prognostic factor. Early stages of non-small lung cancer (stages 0 and 1) have a better prognosis than later stages (stages 2, 3 or 4).

With small cell lung cancer, limited stage cancers have a better prognosis than extensive stage cancers.

Weight loss

People who have lost more than 5% of their body weight before treatment starts have a less favourable prognosis than people who haven’t lost much weight.

Performance status

Performance status measures how well a person can do their daily activities and everyday tasks. People with a higher performance status score have a better prognosis than people who have a lower performance status score.

Sex

Women with lung cancer have a slightly better prognosis than men who are diagnosed with the same cancer.

Overall health

People who are in better overall health are more likely to be able to have surgery to remove the lung cancer, which may improve survival. They may also be able to tolerate chemotherapy and radiation better than people in poor health.

People with lung and heart problems have a less favourable prognosis when diagnosed with lung cancer.

Genetic changes to the cancer cells

Tissue tests are done on lung cancer cells during diagnosis to see if there are certain changes (mutations) to the genes of the cancer cells. Lung cancers that have certain genetic changes may respond better to treatments that are designed to target that specific change.

Expert review and references

  • Stephen Lam, MD, FRCPC
  • Goldstraw P, Chansky K, Crowley J, et al. The IASLC lung cancer staging project: proposals for the revision of the TNM stage groupings in the forthcoming (eighth) edition of the TNM Classification for Lung Cancer. Journal of Thoracic Oncology. 2015: 11(1):39–51.
  • American Cancer Society. Lung Cancer Early Detection, Diagnosis, and Staging. 2019: https://www.cancer.org/cancer/lung-cancer/detection-diagnosis-staging.html.
  • Brundage M, MacKillop W. Lung cancer. Gospodarowicz MK, O'Sullivan B, Tobin, LH, et al. (Eds.). Prognostic Factors in Cancer. 3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.; 2006: 19:159-163.

Survival statistics for non–small cell lung cancer

Survival statistics for non–small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) are very general estimates and must be interpreted very carefully. Because these statistics are based on the experience of groups of people, they cannot be used to predict a particular person’s chances of survival.

Survival statistics for small cell lung cancer

Survival statistics for small cell lung cancer are very general estimates and must be interpreted very carefully. Because these statistics are based on the experience of groups of people, they cannot be used to predict a particular person’s chances of survival.

Pronostic et survie pour le cancer du poumon

Si vous êtes atteint d'un cancer du poumon, vous vous posez peut-être des questions sur votre pronostic. Le pronostic est l'acte par lequel le médecin évalue le mieux comment le cancer affectera une personne et comment il réagira au traitement. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien vos antécédents médicaux, le type de cancer dont vous êtes atteint, le stade et d'autres caractéristiques de la maladie, les traitements choisis et la réaction au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Un facteur pronostique est un aspect du cancer ou une caractéristique de la personne, comme son état de santé global, que le médecin prend en considération lorsqu'il fait un pronostic. Un facteur prédictif influence la façon dont le cancer répond à un certain traitement. On aborde souvent les facteurs pronostiques et les facteurs prédictifs ensemble. Ils jouent tous les deux un rôle dans le choix du plan de traitement et dans l'établissement du pronostic.

Les éléments suivants sont les facteurs pronostiques ou prédictifs du cancer du poumon.

Stade

Le stade est le plus important facteur pronostique du cancer du poumon. Les stades précoces du cancer du poumon non à petites cellules (stades 0 et 1) engendrent un meilleur pronostic que les stades avancés (stades 2, 3 et 4).

Dans le cas du cancer du poumon à petites cellules, une maladie de stade limité engendre un meilleur pronostic qu'une maladie de stade étendu.

Perte de poids

Une personne qui a perdu plus de 5 % de son poids corporel avant le traitement a un pronostic moins favorable qu’une personne qui n’a pas perdu beaucoup de poids.

Indice fonctionnel

L’indice fonctionnel est la mesure de la capacité d’une personne à effectuer ses activités quotidiennes et ses tâches courantes. Les personnes dont l’indice fonctionnel est élevé ont un meilleur pronostic que celles dont l’indice est faible.

Sexe

La femme atteinte d’un cancer du poumon a un pronostic un peu plus encourageant qu’un homme atteint de la même maladie.

État de santé global

Les personnes dont l'état de santé global est meilleur sont plus susceptibles d'être en mesure de subir une chirurgie pour enlever le cancer du poumon, ce qui pourrait améliorer leur survie. Elles pourraient également mieux tolérer la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie que les personnes qui ne sont pas en bonne santé.

Les personnes atteintes de troubles pulmonaires et cardiaques ont un pronostic moins favorable si elles reçoivent un diagnostic de cancer du poumon.

Changements génétiques dans les cellules cancéreuses

Lors du processus diagnostique, on fait des analyses sur les cellules du cancer du poumon afin de savoir si les gènes des cellules cancéreuses ont subi certains changements (mutations). Un cancer du poumon qui présente certains changements génétiques pourrait mieux répondre aux traitements conçus pour cibler ces changements spécifiques.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Stephen Lam, MD, FRCPC
  • Goldstraw P, Chansky K, Crowley J, et al. The IASLC lung cancer staging project: proposals for the revision of the TNM stage groupings in the forthcoming (eighth) edition of the TNM Classification for Lung Cancer. Journal of Thoracic Oncology. 2015: 11(1):39–51.
  • American Cancer Society. Lung Cancer Early Detection, Diagnosis, and Staging. 2019: https://www.cancer.org/cancer/lung-cancer/detection-diagnosis-staging.html.
  • Brundage M, MacKillop W. Lung cancer. Gospodarowicz MK, O'Sullivan B, Tobin, LH, et al. (Eds.). Prognostic Factors in Cancer. 3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.; 2006: 19:159-163.

Statistiques de survie pour le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules

Les statistiques de survie au cancer du poumon non à petites cellules (CPNPC) sont des estimations très générales qui doivent être interprétées avec prudence. Puisqu’elles sont fondées sur l’expérience de groupes de personnes, elles ne permettent pas de prévoir les chances de survie d’une personne en particulier.

Statistiques de survie pour le cancer du poumon à petites cellules

Les statistiques de survie au cancer du poumon à petites cellules sont des estimations très générales qui doivent être interprétées avec prudence. Puisqu’elles sont fondées sur l’expérience de groupes de personnes, elles ne permettent pas de prévoir les chances de survie d’une personne en particulier.