Cancerous tumours of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses

A cancerous tumour of the nasal cavity or paranasal sinus can grow into nearby tissue and destroy it. The tumour can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body. Cancerous tumours are also called malignant tumours.

It is often difficult for a doctor to tell the difference between a non-cancerous tumour and a cancerous tumour of the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses. Non-cancerous tumours and cancerous tumours have the same symptoms such as a stuffy, blocked or runny nose, mucus or bloody discharge from the nose, headache and sinus pain.

About 70% of all nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancers start in the maxillary sinus. Tumours can also start in the nasal cavity and ethmoid sinuses. Cancerous tumours of the frontal sinus or sphenoid sinus are very rare.

The most common cancerous tumours of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses are:

  • squamous cell carcinoma

  • minor salivary gland cancer

  • adenocarcinoma

  • neuroendocrine cancer

Squamous cell carcinoma

Squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) starts in the flat, thin cells that cover many of the surfaces inside and outside of the body, including the mucous membrane in the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses.

Over 80% of all nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancers are SCC. Subtypes of SCC include:

  • verrucous carcinoma

  • basaloid SCC

  • spindle cell carcinoma

  • papillary squamous cell carcinoma

  • non-keratinizing squamous cell carcinoma

Minor salivary gland cancer

The salivary glands are very small glands found in the mucous membrane in the mouth, hard and soft palates, the nasal cavity and the paranasal sinuses.

Minor salivary gland cancer makes up about 10% to 15% of all nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancers.

The types of minor salivary gland cancer that affect the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses are:

  • adenoid cystic carcinoma
  • carcinoma ex-pleomorphic adenoma
  • mucoepidermoid carcinoma

Minor salivary gland cancer is usually treated with both surgery and radiation therapy.

Find out more about cancerous tumours of the salivary gland.

Adenocarcinoma

Adenocarcinoma starts in gland cells in the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses. This type of tumour is most often found in the upper part of the nasal cavity and the ethmoid sinuses. Adenocarcinoma can be slow growing (low grade) or fast growing (high grade).

Some of these tumours diagnosed in men are strongly linked to breathing in wood dust.

Adenocarcinoma of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses is usually treated with both surgery and radiation therapy.

Neuroendocrine cancer

Neuroendocrine cancer is a rare cancer that starts in the neuroendocrine system. The neuroendocrine system is made up of neuroendocrine cells. Neuroendocrine cells are like nerve cells, but they also make hormones and release them into the blood. Neuroendocrine cells are spread throughout the body, but are found most often in the organs of the digestive system and the respiratory system (including the nose, paranasal sinuses and lungs).

Esthesioneuroblastoma

Esthesioneuroblastoma is a rare neuroendocrine tumour that starts in the nervous system cells that are responsible for smell (called olfactory cells). It often starts in the upper part of the nasal cavity. It is a slow-growing cancer that has a better prognosis than other types of nasal cavity and paranasal sinus cancers.

Esthesioneuroblastoma is also called olfactory neuroblastoma.

Treatment for esthesioneuroblastoma often includes a combination of surgery and radiation therapy and sometimes chemotherapy.

Sinonasal undifferentiated carcinoma

Sinonasal undifferentiated carcinoma (SNUC) is a rare and aggressive type of neuroendocrine cancer in the nasal cavity and paranasal sinus. It grows very quickly and spreads to other parts of the body, such as the liver and lungs. SNUC is often treated with chemoradiation followed by surgery.

Rare nasal cavity and paranasal sinus tumours

The following cancerous tumours of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses are rare:

Lymphoma

Most cases of nasal cavity and paranasal sinus lymphoma are non-Hodgkin lymphoma. Extranodal natural killer (NK)/T-cell lymphoma, a type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma, is most often found in the nasal cavity. It can be a slow-growing or fast-growing cancer.

Nasal cavity and paranasal sinus lymphoma is usually treated with a combination of chemotherapy and radiation therapy.

Find out more about extranodal natural killer (NK)/T-cell lymphoma.

Mucosal melanoma

Melanoma is a type of skin cancer, but it can start in the mucous membranes of the body. It can start in the nasal cavity and, in rare cases, it develops in the paranasal sinuses. About 1% to 2% of all melanomas develop in the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses. Melanoma in the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses is often aggressive and is treated with a combination of surgery, radiation therapy and sometimes chemotherapy.

Find out more about melanoma skin cancer.

Soft tissue sarcoma

Soft tissue sarcoma starts in the cells of connective and supporting tissues. The most common type of soft tissue sarcoma of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses is glomangiopericytoma. It starts in cells that surround blood vessels. Cancerous glomangiopericytomas are rare. Most glomangiopericytomas are non-cancerous (benign). Benign glomaniopericytomas can grow quickly in the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses, but they do not spread to other areas of the body.

Find out more about soft tissue sarcoma.

Bone cancer

Ewing sarcoma, chondrosarcoma and osteosarcoma are types of bone cancer that can start in the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses. They are usually treated like other bone cancers.

Find out more about bone cancer.

Expert review and references

Tumeurs cancéreuses des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

La tumeur cancéreuse des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux peut envahir les tissus voisins et les détruire. La tumeur peut également se propager à d’autres parties du corps (métastases). La tumeur cancéreuse est aussi appelée tumeur maligne.

Dans le cas des tumeurs touchant les fosses nasales ou les sinus paranasaux, il est souvent difficile pour les médecins de différencier les tumeurs non cancéreuses des tumeurs cancéreuses. Elles provoquent les mêmes symptômes, comme un nez congestionné, bouché ou qui coule, un écoulement nasal contenant du mucus ou du sang, des maux de tête et une douleur aux sinus.

Environ 70 % de tous les cancers des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux touchent les sinus maxillaires. Des tumeurs peuvent aussi apparaître dans les fosses nasales et les sinus ethmoïdaux. Les tumeurs cancéreuses survenant dans les sinus frontaux ou sphénoïdaux sont très rares.

Les tumeurs cancéreuses des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux qui suivent sont les plus fréquentes :

  • carcinome épidermoïde;

  • cancer des glandes salivaires accessoires;

  • adénocarcinome;

  • cancer neuroendocrinien.

Carcinome épidermoïde

Le carcinome épidermoïde prend naissance dans les cellules minces et plates qui tapissent de nombreuses surfaces externes et internes du corps, dont la muqueuse des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.

Le carcinome épidermoïde représente plus de 80 % de tous les cancers des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux. Le carcinome épidermoïde comprend ces sous-types :

  • carcinome verruqueux;

  • carcinome basaloïde;

  • carcinome à cellules fusiformes;

  • carcinome épidermoïde papillaire;

  • carcinome épidermoïde non kératinisant.

Cancer des glandes salivaires accessoires

Les glandes salivaires sont des glandes très petites qu’on trouve dans la muqueuse de la bouche, des palais dur et mou, des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.

Le cancer des glandes salivaires accessoires représente environ de 10 à 15 % de tous les cancers des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.

Les types de cancer des glandes salivaires accessoires affectant les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux sont les suivants :

  • carcinome adénoïde kystique;
  • carcinome ex-adénome pléomorphe;
  • carcinome mucoépidermoïde.

On traite généralement le cancer des glandes salivaires accessoires à la fois par chirurgie et par radiothérapie.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les tumeurs cancéreuses des glandes salivaires.

Adénocarcinome

L’adénocarcinome prend naissance dans les cellules glandulaires des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux. On observe le plus souvent ce type de tumeur dans la partie supérieure des fosses nasales et les sinus ethmoïdaux. L’adénocarcinome peut se développer lentement (bas grade) ou rapidement (haut grade).

Certaines de ces tumeurs diagnostiquées chez les hommes sont fortement liés à l'inhalation de poussière de bois.

On traite habituellement l'adénocarcinome des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux par la chirurgie et la radiothérapie.

Cancer neuroendocrinien

Le cancer neuroendocrinien est un cancer rare qui prend naissance dans le système neuroendocrinien. Le système neuroendocrinien se compose de cellules neuroendocrines, qui ressemblent aux cellules nerveuses mais qui produisent aussi des hormones et les libèrent dans le sang. Les cellules neuroendocrines sont dispersées dans le corps, mais on les trouve le plus souvent dans les organes de l’appareil digestif et de l’appareil respiratoire (dont le nez, les sinus paranasaux et les poumons).

Esthésioneuroblastome

L’esthésioneuroblastome est une tumeur neuroendocrine rare qui prend naissance dans les cellules du système nerveux responsables de l’odorat (cellules olfactives). Il se forme souvent dans la partie supérieure des fosses nasales. Il s'agit d'un cancer qui évolue lentement et qui engendre un meilleur pronostic que d’autres types de cancer des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.

L’esthésioneuroblastome est aussi appelé neuroblastome olfactif.

On traite souvent l’esthésioneuroblastome à la fois par chirurgie et par radiothérapie. On peut parfois aussi avoir recours à la chimiothérapie.

Carcinome naso-sinusal indifférencié

Le carcinome naso-sinusal indifférencié (CNSI) est un type rare et agressif de cancer neuroendocrinien qui se développe dans les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux. Il évolue très rapidement et se propage à d’autres parties du corps, comme le foie et les poumons. Le traitement du CNSI consiste souvent en une chimioradiothérapie suivie d’une chirurgie.

Tumeurs rares des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

Les tumeurs malignes des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux qui suivent sont rares.

Lymphome

La plupart des cas de lymphome des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux sont des lymphomes non hodgkiniens. Le lymphome T ou NK extraganglionnaire de type nasal est une forme de lymphome non hodgkinien qui survient le plus souvent dans les fosses nasales. Ce cancer peut évoluer lentement ou rapidement.

On traite habituellement le lymphome des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux à la fois par chimiothérapie et par radiothérapie.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le lymphome T ou NK extraganglionnaire de type nasal.

Mélanome muqueux

Le mélanome est un type de cancer de la peau, mais il peut prendre naissance dans les muqueuses du corps. Il peut apparaître dans les fosses nasales et, dans de rares cas, les sinus paranasaux. De 1 à 2 % environ de tous les mélanomes se forment dans les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux. Le mélanome des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux est souvent agressif. On le traite à la fois par chirurgie et par radiothérapie. On peut parfois aussi avoir recours à la chimiothérapie.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le mélanome.

Sarcome des tissus mous

Le sarcome des tissus mous prend naissance dans les cellules des tissus conjonctifs et des tissus de soutien. Le type de sarcome des tissus mous des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux est le glomangiopéricytome. Ce dernier prend naissance dans les cellules entourant les vaisseaux sanguins. Les glomangiopéricytomes cancéreux sont rares. La plupart des glomangiopéricytomes sont non cancéreux (bénins). Les glomaniopéricytomes bénins peuvent croître rapidement dans les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux, mais ils ne se propagent pas à d'autres régions du corps.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le sarcome des tissus mous.

Cancer des os

Le sarcome d’Ewing, le chondrosarcome et l’ostéosarcome sont des types de cancer des os qui peuvent survenir dans les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux. On les traite généralement de la même manière que les autres cancers des os.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le cancer des os.

Révision par les experts et références