Cancerous tumours of the salivary glands

A cancerous tumour of the salivary glands can grow into nearby tissue and destroy it. The tumour can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body.

Not many people develop salivary gland cancer. The following are the most common types of cancerous salivary gland tumours.

Mucoepidermoid carcinoma

Mucoepidermoid carcinoma (MEC) is the most common type of salivary gland cancer. Most MEC tumours develop in the parotid glands, though some develop in the submandibular glands and minor salivary glands. It is the most common salivary gland cancer found in people over the age of 20.

MEC tumours are made up of 3 different cell types. They are called mucin-secreting, epidermoid and intermediate cells. The amount of each cell type found in a tumour can vary.

The different grades of MEC tumours have different characteristics:

Low-grade MEC is found more often in younger people and more frequently in women. These tumours are most often found at an early stage and have an excellent prognosis.

High-grade MEC is usually found in older people and more often in men. These tumours are more likely to spread to other parts of the body and are often diagnosed at later stages (3 or 4). This type of MEC has a poor prognosis.

Intermediate MEC has characteristics in between low-grade and high-grade MEC. Tumours are smaller than high-grade MEC, but they are often found when they have spread to the lymph nodes in the neck. Some people with intermediate MEC do as well as people with low-grade MEC, while others have a tumour that behaves more like a high-grade MEC. Research is looking for ways to identify what causes these different behaviours in intermediate MEC.

Adenoid cystic carcinoma

Adenoid cystic carcinoma is the second most common salivary gland tumour. While it can occur in almost any salivary gland, it is most often found in the minor salivary glands. They are more common in people between 40 and 60 years of age.

While adenoid cystic carcinoma doesn't usually spread to the lymph nodes near the tumour, it can grow along the space around the nerves (called perineural invasion) in the area around the tumour. It also spreads through the bloodstream to distant parts of the body. Adenoid cystic carcinoma can also come back (recur) many years after treatment.

Adenoid cystic carcinoma tumours can be made up of 3 different types of cells. Most tumours have 2 or 3 different types of cells in them. Adenoid cystic carcinoma is divided into types based on the cells in the tumour.

Solid adenoid cystic carcinoma tumours have cells that look like solid sheets when examined under a microscope. This type of adenoid cystic carcinoma has the worst prognosis among the 3 types.

Tubular adenoid cystic carcinoma tumours are made up of cells shaped like tubes. They have the best prognosis.

Cribriform adenoid cystic carcinoma tumours have cancer cells surrounded by normal cells. Under the microscope, the tumour sample looks like it has a lot of holes. Cribriform is the most common form of adenoid cystic carcinoma. These tumours have a prognosis in between the solid and tubular types.

Acinic cell carcinoma

Acinic cell carcinoma most often develops in a parotid gland. This type of salivary gland tumour is found in children and in adults around the age of 50. Most acinic cell carcinoma tumours are slow growing and have a good prognosis.

Salivary duct carcinoma

Salivary duct carcinoma is a high grade tumour that starts to grow suddenly and spreads quickly to the lymph nodes and other parts of the body. It often spreads along the space around the nerves (called perineural invasion). Most people are diagnosed at later stages of the disease, when the cancer has already spread. Salivary duct carcinomas are most commonly found in a parotid gland.

Rare salivary gland tumours

The following types of salivary gland tumours are rare.

Polymorphous low-grade adenocarcinoma is a very slow-growing tumour that almost always starts in the minor salivary glands. This cancer usually develops at the junction of the hard and soft palates. It rarely spreads to other parts of the body and does not come back very often.

Carcinoma ex-pleomorphic adenoma starts when the cells in a non-cancerous tumour called a pleomorphic adenoma change to cancer cells. Mammary analog secretory carcinoma is a slow-growing tumour that usually starts in a parotid gland. It can spread to the lymph nodes.

Rare salivary gland tumours are removed with surgery. A neck dissection may be done to check and remove lymph nodes. External radiation therapy may be given if the cancer has spread into the surrounding tissues or to the lymph nodes.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Salivary Gland Cancer. American Cancer Society; 2014: http://www.cancer.org/cancer/salivaryglandcancer/index.
  • Amirlak B . Malignant parotid tumors. eMedicine.Medscape.com. WebMD LLC; 2013: http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/1289616-overview.
  • Bai S, Clubwala R, Adler E, Sarta C, Schiff B, Smith RV, Gnepp DR & Brandenwein-Gensler M . Salivary mucoepidermoid carcinoma: a multi-institutional review of 76 patients. Head and Neck Pathology. Springer; 2013: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3642259/.
  • Bar-Ad V, Tuluc M, Cognetti D & Axelrod R . Uncommon tumors of the oral cavity and adjacent structures. Raghavan D, Blanke CD, Honson DH, et al. (eds.). Textbook of Uncommon Cancer. 4th ed. Wiley Blackwell; 2012: 6:pp. 97-117.
  • Lee SC . Salivary gland neoplasms. eMedicine.Medscape.com. WebMD LLC; 2013: http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/852373-overview.
  • McHugh JB, Visscher DW & Barnes EL . Update on selected salivary gland neoplasms. Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine. College of American Pathologists; 2009.
  • Mendenhall WM, Werning JW and Pfister DG . Treatment of head and neck cancer. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 72:729-80.
  • National Cancer Institute. Salivary Gland Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. 2014.
  • Thompson LDR . Salivary gland acinic cell carcinoma. Ear, Nose & Throat Journal. Vendome Healthcare Media; 2010.
  • Vander Poorten VLM, Marchal F, Nuyts S & Clement PMJ . Parotid carcinoma: current diagnostic workup and treatment. Indian Journal of Surgical Oncology. Springer; 2010.

Tumeurs cancéreuses des glandes salivaires

La tumeur cancéreuse des glandes salivaires peut envahir les tissus voisins et les détruire. Elle peut également se propager à d’autres parties du corps (métastases).

Peu de personnes sont atteintes de cancer des glandes salivaires. Les types suivants de tumeurs cancéreuses des glandes salivaires sont les plus courants.

Carcinome mucoépidermoïde

Le carcinome mucoépidermoïde est le type de cancer des glandes salivaires le plus courant. La plupart de ces tumeurs apparaissent dans la glande parotide quoique certaines se développent dans les glandes sous-maxillaires et les glandes salivaires accessoires. Il s'agit du cancer des glandes salivaires qui touche le plus souvent les personnes de plus de 20 ans.

Ces tumeurs sont constituées de 3 types différents de cellules, soit des cellules productrices de mucine, des cellules épidermoïdes et des cellules intermédiaires. La quantité de chaque type de cellule présente dans une tumeur peut varier.

Les différents grades des carcinomes mucoépidermoïdes possèdent chacun leurs caractéristiques :

Le carcinome mucoépidermoïde de bas grade apparaît plus fréquemment chez les personnes plus jeunes et chez les femmes. On le détecte le plus souvent à un stade précoce et le pronostic est excellent.

Le carcinome mucoépidermoïde de haut grade touche habituellement des personnes plus âgées et plus souvent des hommes. Il est plus susceptible de se propager à d'autres parties du corps et on le diagnostique souvent lorsqu'il a atteint un stade avancé (3 ou 4). Ce type de carcinome mucoépidermoïde a un pronostic sombre.

Le carcinome mucoépidermoïde de grade intermédiaire possède des caractéristiques qui se situent entre celles du carcinome de bas grade et celles du carcinome de haut grade. Les tumeurs sont plus petites que dans le cas du carcinome mucoépidermoïde de haut grade, mais on les détecte souvent lorsqu'elles se sont propagées aux ganglions lymphatiques du cou. Certaines personnes atteintes d'un carcinome mucoépidermoïde de grade intermédiaire sont affectées de manière comparable à celles qui ont un carcinome de bas grade, alors que d'autres présentent une tumeur se comportant davantage comme un carcinome de haut grade. Les chercheurs tentent actuellement de déterminer la cause de ces différents comportements des carcinomes mucoépidermoïdes de grade intermédiaire.

Carcinome adénoïde kystique

Le carcinome adénoïde kystique est la deuxième tumeur des glandes salivaires la plus courante. Bien qu'il puisse se développer dans presque n'importe quelle glande salivaire, on l’observe le plus souvent dans les glandes salivaires accessoires. Il touche surtout les personnes âgées de 40 à 60 ans.

Si le carcinome adénoïde kystique ne se propage habituellement pas aux ganglions lymphatiques voisins de la tumeur, il peut croître le long de l'espace entourant les nerfs (envahissement périneural) en périphérie de la tumeur. Il peut aussi s'étendre à des parties éloignées du corps par la circulation sanguine. Le carcinome adénoïde kystique est susceptible de réapparaître (récidive) de nombreuses années après avoir été traité.

Les carcinomes adénoïdes kystiques peuvent comporter jusqu’à 3 types différents de cellules. La plupart des tumeurs sont constituées de 2 ou 3 types différents de cellules. Le carcinome adénoïde kystique se divise en différents types selon les cellules qui le composent.

Le carcinome adénoïde kystique solide comporte des cellules qui ressemblent à des lamelles solides lorsqu’on les observe au microscope. Des 3 types, le carcinome adénoïde kystique est celui qui présente le pronostic le plus sombre.

Le carcinome adénoïde kystique tubuleux est constitué de cellules en forme de tubes. C'est celui qui a le meilleur pronostic.

Le carcinome adénoïde kystique cribriforme comporte des cellules cancéreuses entourées de cellules normales. Observé au microscope, le prélèvement de la tumeur apparaît comme s’il y avait beaucoup de trous. Le carcinome cribriforme est la forme la plus courante de carcinome adénoïde kystique. Ce type de tumeur engendre un pronostic qui se situe entre celui du carcinome solide et celui du carcinome tubuleux.

Carcinome à cellules acineuses

Le carcinome à cellules acineuses apparaît le plus souvent dans une glande parotide. Ce type de tumeur des glandes salivaires se manifeste chez les enfants et chez les adultes d’environ 50 ans. La plupart des carcinomes à cellules acineuses sont d’évolution lente et présentent un bon pronostic.

Carcinome des canaux salivaires

Le carcinome des canaux salivaires est une tumeur de haut grade qui commence à croître de façon soudaine et s'étend rapidement aux ganglions lymphatiques ainsi qu'à d'autres parties du corps. Il se propage souvent le long de l'espace entourant les nerfs (envahissement périneural). Chez la plupart des gens, on diagnostique la maladie à des stades plus avancés, lorsqu'elle s'est déjà propagée. On détecte le plus souvent le carcinome des canaux salivaires dans une glande parotide.

Tumeurs rares des glandes salivaires

Les tumeurs cancéreuses des glandes salivaires suivantes sont rares :

L'adénocarcinome polymorphe de bas grade est une tumeur à croissance très lente qui prend presque toujours naissance dans les glandes salivaires accessoires. Ce cancer apparaît habituellement à la jonction du palais dur et du palais mou. Il se propage rarement à d'autres parties du corps et ne réapparaît pas très souvent.

Le carcinome ex-adénome pléomorphe apparaît lorsque les cellules d'une tumeur non cancéreuse appelée adénome pléomorphe se transforment en cellules cancéreuses. Le carcinome analogue au carcinome mammaire sécrétoire est une tumeur à croissante lente qui prend habituellement naissance dans une glande parotide. Il peut se propager aux ganglions lymphatiques.

Les tumeurs rares des glandes salivaires sont retirées par voie chirurgicale. On peut procéder à un curage ganglionnaire cervical pour vérifier et retirer les ganglions lymphatiques. Une radiothérapie externe peut être administrée si le cancer s'est propagé aux tissus voisins ou aux ganglions lymphatiques.