Staging small cell lung cancer

Staging is a way to describe or classify a cancer based on the extent of cancer in the body. Extent includes the size of the tumour and where the cancer is in the body. Your healthcare team uses the stage to plan treatment and estimate the outcome (your prognosis).

Small cell lung cancer is divided into 2 stages – limited and extensive.

Limited stage small cell lung cancer is found only on one side of the chest. This could include cancer that is found in part of one lung and may have spread to the lymph nodes on the same side as the tumour. It may also include the lymph nodes in the centre of the chest (mediastinum). Limited stage small cell lung cancer can be treated with radiation to a single area of the body.

Extensive stage small cell lung cancer has spread widely in the lung with the tumour, to the other lung, to the lymph nodes on the other side of the chest from the tumour, or to other parts of the body. It may also include cancer that has spread to the fluid around the lung. Most people with small cell lung cancer are diagnosed with extensive stage cancer because the cancer spreads early and quickly, before it causes symptoms.

Small cell lung cancer can also be staged using the TNM system. Each stage is given a number from 1 to 4. Stages 1 to 4 are usually given as the Roman numerals I, II, III and IV. Generally, the higher the number, the more the cancer has spread. However, the TNM system is not used as often as the limited or extensive staging.

Expert review and references

  • Cancer Care Ontario. Small Cell Lung Cancer Treatment Pathway Map. 2019: Version 2019.05.
  • American Cancer Society. Treating Small Cell Lung Cancer. 2019 : https://www.cancer.org/cancer/lung-cancer/treating-small-cell.html.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Small Cell Lung Cancer (Version 1.2021). 2020.

Stadification du cancer du poumon à petites cellules

La stadification est une façon de décrire ou de classer un cancer selon l’étendue de la maladie dans le corps. L’étendue comprend la taille de la tumeur et l’emplacement du cancer dans le corps. Votre équipe de soins a recours au stade pour planifier votre traitement et prévoir l’issue (votre pronostic).

Le cancer du poumon à petites cellules est divisé en 2 stades, soit le stade limité et le stade étendu.

On observe le cancer du poumon à petites cellules de stade limité d’un seul côté du thorax. Cela peut comprendre un cancer présent dans une partie d’un poumon qui peut s’être propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques du même côté du corps que la tumeur. Les ganglions lymphatiques situés au centre du thorax (médiastin) peuvent aussi en faire partie. Le cancer du poumon à petites cellules de stade limité peut être traité par radiothérapie dirigée vers une seule région du corps.

Le cancer du poumon à petites cellules de stade étendu s’est grandement répandu dans le poumon où se trouve la tumeur, dans l’autre poumon, aux ganglions lymphatiques du thorax situés du côté opposé à la tumeur ou à d’autres parties du corps. Un cancer qui s’est propagé au liquide entourant les poumons peut aussi en faire partie. La plupart des personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon à petites cellules reçoivent leur diagnostic de cancer de stade étendu parce que la maladie se propage tôt et rapidement, avant de causer des symptômes.

On peut aussi établir le stade du cancer du poumon à petites cellules à l’aide de la classification TNM. On assigne un chiffre de 1 à 4 à chaque stade. Pour les stades 1 à 4, on utilise habituellement les chiffres romains I, II, III et IV. En général, plus le chiffre est élevé, plus le cancer s’est propagé. Cependant, la classification TNM n’est pas aussi souvent employée que les stades limité et étendu.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Cancer Care Ontario. Small Cell Lung Cancer Treatment Pathway Map. 2019: Version 2019.05.
  • American Cancer Society. Treating Small Cell Lung Cancer. 2019 : https://www.cancer.org/cancer/lung-cancer/treating-small-cell.html.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Small Cell Lung Cancer (Version 1.2021). 2020.