What is hypopharyngeal cancer?

Hypopharyngeal cancer starts in the cells of the hypopharynx, which is part of the throat (pharynx). A cancerous (malignant) tumour is a group of cancer cells that can grow into and destroy nearby tissue. It can also spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body. Hypopharyngeal cancer is not common.

The hypopharynx is part of the pharynx (throat). The pharynx is part of the digestive and respiratory systems. It is divided into 3 parts. The nasopharynx is the top part. The oropharynx is the middle part. The hypopharynx is the bottom part. It connects the pharynx to the esophagus.

In some cases, changes to hypopharyngeal cells can cause hypopharyngeal cancer. Most often, hypopharyngeal cancer starts in the squamous cells that line the inside of the hypopharynx. This type of cancer is called squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx.

Rare types of hypopharyngeal cancer can also develop. These include minor salivary gland carcinoma and sarcoma.

Expert review and references

  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Laryngeal and Hypolaryngeal Cancer. 2016: http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/laryngeal-and-hypopharyngeal-cancer/view-all.
  • Hamoir M, Machiels JP, Schmitz S, Gregoire V . Multidisciplinary management of hypopharyngeal carcinoma. Bernier J (ed.). Head and Neck Cancer: Multimodality Management. Springer; 2016: 28: 511-537.
  • Kruser TJ, Pagedar NA, Hoffman HT, Harari PM . Cancers of the hypopharynx and cervical esophagus: general principles and management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, Kies MS (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 19: 482 - 509.
  • National Cancer Institute. Hypopharyngeal Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. 2016: https://www.cancer.gov/types/head-and-neck/hp/hypopharyngeal-treatment-pdq.

The pharynx

The pharynx, commonly called the throat, is part of the digestive and respiratory systems. The pharynx is part of the head and neck.

Cancerous tumours of the hypopharynx

Cancerous hypopharyngeal tumours are growths that can spread to other parts of the body. Learn about squamous cell carcinoma (SCC), the most common type of hypopharyngeal cancer.

Qu’est-ce que le cancer de l’hypopharynx?

Le cancer de l’hypopharynx prend naissance dans les cellules de l’hypopharynx, qui fait partie de la gorge (pharynx). La tumeur cancéreuse (maligne) est un groupe de cellules cancéreuses qui peuvent envahir et détruire le tissu voisin. Elle peut aussi se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps. Le cancer de l’hypopharynx n’est pas fréquent.

L’hypopharynx fait partie du pharynx (gorge). Le pharynx fait partie des appareils digestif et respiratoire. Il est divisé en 3 parties. Le nasopharynx forme le haut du pharynx. L’oropharynx est la partie centrale du pharynx. L’hypopharynx forme le bas du pharynx. Il relie le pharynx à l’œsophage.

Dans certains cas, les cellules de l’hypopharynx qui ont subi des changements peuvent devenir cancéreuses. Le cancer de l’hypopharynx prend le plus souvent naissance dans des cellules pavimenteuses (squameuses) qui tapissent l’intérieur de l’hypopharynx. Ce type de cancer porte le nom de carcinome épidermoïde de l’hypopharynx.

Des types rares de cancers de l’hypopharynx peuvent aussi se manifester. Le carcinome des glandes salivaires accessoires et le sarcome en sont des exemples.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Laryngeal and Hypolaryngeal Cancer. 2016: http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/laryngeal-and-hypopharyngeal-cancer/view-all.
  • Hamoir M, Machiels JP, Schmitz S, Gregoire V . Multidisciplinary management of hypopharyngeal carcinoma. Bernier J (ed.). Head and Neck Cancer: Multimodality Management. Springer; 2016: 28: 511-537.
  • Kruser TJ, Pagedar NA, Hoffman HT, Harari PM . Cancers of the hypopharynx and cervical esophagus: general principles and management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, Kies MS (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 19: 482 - 509.
  • National Cancer Institute. Hypopharyngeal Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. 2016: https://www.cancer.gov/types/head-and-neck/hp/hypopharyngeal-treatment-pdq.

Le pharynx

Le pharynx, communément appelé gorge, fait partie des appareils digestif et respiratoire. Il fait aussi partie de la tête et du cou.

Tumeurs cancéreuses de l’hypopharynx

Les tumeurs cancéreuses de l’hypopharynx sont des masses qui peuvent se propager à d’autres parties du corps. Renseignez-vous sur le carcinome épidermoïde, le type le plus courant de cancer de l’hypopharynx.