Radiation therapy for thyroid cancer

Last medical review:

Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells.

Many people with thyroid cancer have radiation therapy. Your healthcare team will use what they know about the cancer and about your health to plan the type and amount of radiation, and when and how it is given.

You could have radiation therapy to:

  • destroy cancer cells left behind after surgery to reduce the risk of the cancer coming back, or recurring (called adjuvant therapy)
  • destroy any normal thyroid tissue remaining after surgery to reduce the risk of the cancer coming back (called thyroid remnant ablation)
  • treat cancer that has spread to lymph nodes or other parts of the body
  • relieve pain or control the symptoms of advanced thyroid cancer (called palliative therapy)

Types of radiation therapy

The following types of radiation therapy are most commonly used to treat thyroid cancer.

Radioactive iodine (RAI) therapy

Radioactive iodine (RAI) therapy is a type of internal radiation therapy. The radioactive material is called radioactive iodine, or I-131. It is given by mouth and travels to reach cells all over the body. Cancer cells take up the radioactive material, which destroys them.

RAI therapy is usually given after surgery for thyroid cancer. It doesn't work for all types of thyroid cancer because some cancer cells don't absorb iodine. You may be given a small test dose of I-131 to see if the cells absorb iodine. RAI therapy is used most often for papillary and follicular (including Hurthle cell) thyroid cancers.

Radioactive iodine therapy may be offered if the:

  • tumour is larger than 4 cm
  • tumour has grown through the thyroid and spread to nearby tissues and structures
  • cancer has spread to many lymph nodes in the neck
  • cancer is an aggressive variant of papillary or follicular (including Hurthle cell) thyroid cancer, is a rare type of thyroid cancer or has other high-risk features when seen under a microscope
  • cancer comes back in the same place or close to where it started (called a local or regional recurrence)
  • cancer has spread to other parts of the body (called distant metastasis)

Preparing for treatment

The normal amount of iodine in the body needs to be lowered before RAI therapy starts. This will help make sure that the thyroid cancer cells absorb the radioactive iodine. When there is less iodine in the body, the pituitary gland makes more thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) and releases it into the bloodstream. High TSH levels will make any thyroid tissue and thyroid cancer cells absorb radioactive iodine.

People who have had a thyroidectomy to treat thyroid cancer usually have to take hormone therapy with levothyroxine (Synthroid, Eltroxin). This drug replaces thyroxine, which is a hormone that would normally be made by the thyroid. It also lowers the amount of TSH in the body. To increase TSH levels, you may be asked to stop taking levothyroxine for several weeks before you start RAI therapy.

Another way to increase TSH levels is to give a drug called recombinant TSH (Thyrogen). It is an artificial form of TSH that is given by injection into muscle usually once daily for 2 days before RAI therapy.

You may also be told to follow a low iodine diet for 1 to 2 weeks before RAI treatment. You should avoid or limit salt and salty foods, milk and milk products and seafood. Ask your healthcare team for a complete list of foods to avoid or limit.

During and after treatment

Your body gives off small amounts of radiation during and for some time after the treatment. Once the dose of radioactive iodine is given, you will need to stay away from people for a few days. This may be done by staying in a private room in the hospital or treatment centre or by following special precautions at home. Talk to your healthcare team about safety precautions you will need to take while in the hospital or at home to protect others from exposure to radiation.

A radioactive iodine scan is a nuclear medicine imaging test that uses radioactive material to examine the thyroid and look for any abnormal areas or thyroid cancer cells in other parts of the body. It is usually done about 1 week after RAI therapy. It is also repeated 6 to 12 months after RAI therapy to check how the cancer responded to the treatment and if there are any cancer cells remaining. You may need to have more RAI therapy if cancer cells are found with the scan.

Blood tests are also done to check if you need more treatment. The healthcare team will measure the levels of thyroglobulin (Tg) and TSH in your blood. Abnormal levels may mean that cancer cells were left behind after radioactive iodine therapy or that the thyroid cancer has recurred. An ultrasound of the neck may be done along with the blood tests.

External radiation therapy

During external radiation therapy, a machine directs radiation through the skin to the tumour and some of the tissue around it. External radiation therapy is also called external beam radiation therapy.

External radiation therapy may be used to treat:

  • medullary and anaplastic thyroid cancers
  • thyroid cancers that don't take up iodine
  • thyroid cancers that have spread beyond the thyroid and to lower the chance of cancer coming back after surgery
  • pain or symptoms of advanced thyroid cancer that has spread (metastasized) or that can't be removed with surgery (unresectable)

How long and how often external radiation therapy is given depends on many factors including the type of thyroid cancer, the size of the area being treated and the goal of treatment. External radiation therapy is usually given once a day, 5 days a week. Smaller doses of radiation therapy may be given 2 times a day (called hyperfractionation) for anaplastic thyroid cancer.

Doctors may use the following external radiation techniques to accurately target the area to be treated and spare as much surrounding normal tissue as possible.

3D conformal radiation therapy (3D-CRT) directs many beams of radiation at the tumour. The radiation oncologist uses a CT scan or an MRI to map the exact location and shape of the tumour. The radiation beams are then shaped and aimed at the tumour from different directions to treat the tumour from all angles. Each individual beam is fairly weak and less likely to damage normal tissue. A higher dose of radiation is delivered where the beams meet at the tumour.

Intensity-modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) is similar to 3D-CRT in that it delivers radiation from many different angles to treat the entire tumour. In addition to shaping and aiming the radiation beams, IMRT allows the radiation oncologist to adjust the strength (intensity) of the individual beams. This reduces the dose of radiation reaching nearby normal tissue while allowing a higher dose to be delivered to the tumour. It is useful for treating tumours in hard-to-reach areas.

Side effects of radiation therapy

During radiation therapy, your healthcare team protects healthy cells in the treatment area as much as possible. Side effects of radiation therapy will depend mainly on the type of radiation therapy used, the size of the area being treated, the specific area or organs being treated, the total dose of radiation and the treatment schedule. Tell your healthcare team if you have side effects that you think are from radiation therapy. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help you deal with them.

These are common side effects of RAI therapy for thyroid cancer:

These are common side effects of external radiation therapy for thyroid cancer:

Find out more about radiation therapy

Find out more about radiation therapy and side effects of radiation therapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about radiation therapy.

Expert review and references

  • Shereen Ezzat, MD, FRCPC, FACP
  • Bible KC, Kebebebew E, Brierley J, Brito JP, Cabanillas ME et al . 2021 American Thyroid Association guidelines for management of patients with anaplastic thryoid cancer . Thyroid . 2021 : 31(3): 337–386 .
  • American Cancer Society. Treating Thyroid Cancer . 2021: https://www.cancer.org/.
  • HealthLinkBC. Thyroid Cancer. 2019: https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/.
  • Alberta Health Services. Thyroid Cancer Treatment in Alberta. Edmonton: 2019: https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/.
  • Sharma PK. Medscape Reference: Thyroid Cancer. WebMD LLC; 2021: https://www.medscape.com/.
  • Alberta Health Services. MyHealth Alberta.ca: Thyroid Cancer. Government of Alberta; https://myhealth.alberta.ca/.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Thyroid Cancer. 2021: https://www.cancer.net/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Guidelines for Patients: Thyroid Cancer. 2020.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network . NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Thyroid Carcinoma (Version 3.2021) . 2021 .
  • Kotwal A, Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB. Thyroid Tumors. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 81:1326–1337.

Radiothérapie pour le cancer de la thyroïde

Dernière révision médicale :

En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses.

De nombreuses personnes atteintes d'un cancer de la thyroïde reçoivent une radiothérapie. Votre équipe de soins se basera sur ce qu'elle sait relativement au cancer et à votre état de santé pour décider du type et de la dose de radiothérapie, de la façon de l'administrer et du calendrier à suivre.

Vous pourriez recevoir une radiothérapie pour :

  • détruire les cellules cancéreuses qui restent après la chirurgie afin de réduire le risque de réapparition (récidive) du cancer (traitement adjuvant);
  • détruire tout le tissu thyroïdien normal qui reste après la chirurgie afin de réduire le risque de réapparition du cancer (destruction du tissu thyroïdien résiduel);
  • traiter un cancer qui s’est propagé à des ganglions lymphatiques ou à d’autres parties du corps;
  • soulager la douleur ou contrôler les symptômes d’un cancer de la thyroïde avancé (traitement palliatif).

Types de radiothérapie

On a le plus souvent recours aux types suivants de radiothérapie pour traiter le cancer de la thyroïde.

Traitement à l’iode radioactif (IRA)

Le traitement à l'iode radioactif (IRA) est un type de radiothérapie interne. La matière radioactive employée est l'iode radioactif, ou I-131. On l'administre par la bouche et elle circule dans tout le corps pour atteindre les cellules. Les cellules cancéreuses captent la matière radioactive, qui les détruit.

On administre habituellement le traitement à l'IRA après une chirurgie du cancer de la thyroïde. Il n'est pas efficace contre tous les types de cancer de la thyroïde puisque certaines cellules cancéreuses n'absorbent pas l'iode. Vous pourriez recevoir une faible dose-test d'I-131 afin qu'on sache si les cellules absorbent l'iode. On a le plus souvent recours au traitement à l'IRA pour le cancer papillaire et le cancer folliculaire (dont le cancer à cellules de Hürthle) de la thyroïde.

On peut proposer le traitement à l’iode radioactif si :

  • la tumeur mesure plus de 4 cm;
  • la tumeur a traversé la thyroïde et a envahi les structures et les tissus voisins;
  • le cancer s’est propagé à de nombreux ganglions lymphatiques du cou;
  • le cancer est une variante agressive du cancer papillaire ou du cancer folliculaire (dont le cancer à cellules de Hürthle) de la thyroïde, si c'est un type rare de cancer de la thyroïde ou si le cancer présente d'autres caractéristiques à risque élevé lorsqu'on l'observe au microscope;
  • le cancer est réapparu au même endroit ou près d'où il a pris naissance (récidive locale ou régionale);
  • le cancer s’est propagé à d’autres parties du corps (métastases à distance).

Préparation au traitement

Il faut réduire la quantité normale d’iode dans le corps avant de commencer le traitement à l’IRA. Cela contribuera à s'assurer que les cellules du cancer de la thyroïde absorberont l'iode radioactif. Lorsqu’il y a moins d’iode dans le corps, l’hypophyse fabrique davantage de thyréostimuline (TSH) et la libère dans la circulation sanguine. Un taux élevé de TSH fait en sorte que le tissu thyroïdien et les cellules du cancer de la thyroïde absorbent l’iode radioactif.

Les personnes à qui on a fait une thyroïdectomie pour traiter un cancer de la thyroïde doivent habituellement recevoir une hormonothérapie à base de lévothyroxine (Synthroid, Eltroxin). Ce médicament remplace la thyroxine, une hormone normalement produite par la thyroïde. Il diminue aussi le taux de TSH dans le corps. Pour augmenter le taux de TSH, on peut vous demander d’arrêter de prendre de la lévothyroxine plusieurs semaines avant le début du traitement à l’IRA.

Une autre façon d'accroître le taux de TSH est de prendre un médicament appelé TSH recombinante (Thyrogen). Il s’agit d’une forme artificielle de TSH administrée par injection dans un muscle, habituellement une fois par jour pendant les 2 jours qui précèdent le traitement à l’IRA.

On peut aussi vous demander de suivre une diète faible en iode de 1 à 2 semaines avant le traitement à l'IRA. Vous devriez éviter le sel et les aliments salés, le lait et les produits laitiers ainsi que les fruits de mer ou en limiter la consommation. Consultez votre équipe de soins pour obtenir une liste complète des aliments à éviter ou à limiter.

Pendant et après le traitement

Votre corps émettra une petite quantité de radiation pendant le traitement et quelque temps après. Une fois que vous aurez reçu la dose d’iode radioactif, vous devrez vous tenir à l’écart des autres personnes pendant quelques jours. Vous devrez donc rester dans une chambre individuelle à l’hôpital ou au centre de traitement ou bien retourner à votre domicile où vous prendrez des précautions particulières. Discutez avec votre équipe de soins pour connaître les mesures de sécurité à prendre à l’hôpital ou à la maison afin de protéger les autres d'une exposition à la radiation.

La scintigraphie à l’iode radioactif est un examen d’imagerie en médecine nucléaire au cours duquel on emploie une matière radioactive pour examiner la thyroïde et chercher des régions anormales ou des cellules du cancer de la thyroïde dans d’autres parties du corps. En général, on l’effectue environ une semaine après un traitement à l’IRA. On la refait de 6 à 12 mois plus tard dans le but d'évaluer la réponse du cancer au traitement et de vérifier s’il reste des cellules cancéreuses. Vous pourriez recevoir un autre traitement à l'IRA si la scintigraphie révèle la présence de cellules cancéreuses.

On effectue également des analyses de sang pour déterminer si d'autres traitements sont nécessaires. L’équipe de soins mesurera les taux de thyroglobuline (Tg) et de TSH dans votre sang. Des taux anormaux de ces substances peuvent signifier qu’il restait des cellules cancéreuses après le traitement à l’iode radioactif ou que le cancer de la thyroïde a récidivé. On peut aussi faire une échographie du cou.

Radiothérapie externe

Lors de la radiothérapie externe, un appareil émet des radiations à travers la peau jusqu’à la tumeur et une partie du tissu qui l’entoure.

On peut avoir recours à la radiothérapie externe pour traiter :

  • le cancer médullaire et le cancer anaplasique de la thyroïde;
  • un cancer de la thyroïde qui ne capte pas l'iode;
  • un cancer de la thyroïde qui s'est propagé au delà de cette glande et pour réduire le risque de réapparition du cancer après la chirurige;
  • la douleur ou les symptômes d'un cancer de la thyroïde avancé qui s'est propagé (métastases) ou qu'on ne peut pas enlever par chirurgie (non résécable).

La durée de la radiothérapie externe et la fréquence des séances dépendent de nombreux facteurs, dont le type de cancer de la thyroïde, la taille de la région à traiter et le but du traitement. On administre habituellement la radiothérapie externe une fois par jour, 5 jours par semaine. Dans le cas du cancer anaplasique de la thyroïde, on peut administrer de plus faibles doses de radiation 2 fois par jour, ce qu'on appelle hyperfractionnement.

Les médecins peuvent avoir recours aux techniques de radiothérapie externe qui suivent pour cibler avec précision la région à traiter et épargner le plus possible de tissu normal voisin.

La radiothérapie conformationnelle tridimensionnelle (RC 3D) consiste à diriger de nombreux faisceaux de radiation vers la tumeur. Le radio-oncologue a recours à la TDM ou à l’IRM pour cartographier l’emplacement et la forme exacts de la tumeur. Les faisceaux de radiation sont ensuite modelés et visent la tumeur en provenance de différentes directions afin de la traiter de tous les angles. Individuellement, chaque faisceau est assez faible et moins susceptible d’endommager les tissus normaux. La dose de radiation reçue par la tumeur est plus élevée là où les faisceaux se rencontrent.

La radiothérapie conformationnelle avec modulation d'intensité (RCMI) ressemble à la RC 3D puisqu’elle émet la radiation de nombreux angles différents afin de traiter toute la tumeur. En plus de modeler et de diriger les faisceaux de radiation, la RCMI permet au radio-oncologue d’ajuster la force (intensité) de chacun des faisceaux. Cela réduit la dose de radiation qui atteint les tissus normaux voisins, tout en permettant à la tumeur de recevoir une dose plus élevée. Elle est utile pour traiter les tumeurs situées dans des régions difficiles à atteindre.

Effets secondaires de la radiothérapie

Lors des séances de radiothérapie, votre équipe de soins protège le plus possible les cellules saines qui se trouvent dans la zone de traitement. Les effets secondaires de la radiothérapie dépendent surtout du type administré, de la taille de la région traitée, de la région ou des organes spécifiques traités, de la dose totale et du calendrier d’administration. Avisez votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez des effets secondaires que vous croyez liés à la radiothérapie. Plus tôt vous signalez un problème, plus rapidement on pourra vous dire comment aider à le traiter.

Voici des effets secondaires courants du traitement à l'IRA pour le cancer de la thyroïde :

Voici des effets secondaires courants de la radiothérapie externe pour le cancer de la thyroïde :

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie et les effets secondaires de la radiothérapie. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur la radiothérapie à votre équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Shereen Ezzat, MD, FRCPC, FACP
  • Bible KC, Kebebebew E, Brierley J, Brito JP, Cabanillas ME et al . 2021 American Thyroid Association guidelines for management of patients with anaplastic thryoid cancer . Thyroid . 2021 : 31(3): 337–386 .
  • American Cancer Society. Treating Thyroid Cancer . 2021: https://www.cancer.org/.
  • HealthLinkBC. Thyroid Cancer. 2019: https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/.
  • Alberta Health Services. Thyroid Cancer Treatment in Alberta. Edmonton: 2019: https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/.
  • Sharma PK. Medscape Reference: Thyroid Cancer. WebMD LLC; 2021: https://www.medscape.com/.
  • Alberta Health Services. MyHealth Alberta.ca: Thyroid Cancer. Government of Alberta; https://myhealth.alberta.ca/.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Thyroid Cancer. 2021: https://www.cancer.net/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Guidelines for Patients: Thyroid Cancer. 2020.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network . NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Thyroid Carcinoma (Version 3.2021) . 2021 .
  • Kotwal A, Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB. Thyroid Tumors. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 81:1326–1337.