Prognosis and survival for thyroid cancer

If you have thyroid cancer, you may have questions about your prognosis. A prognosis is the doctor’s best estimate of how cancer will affect someone and how it will respond to treatment. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with your medical history, the type, stage and characteristics of your cancer, the treatments chosen and the response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

A prognostic factor is an aspect of the cancer or a characteristic of the person that the doctor will consider when making a prognosis. A predictive factor influences how a cancer will respond to a certain treatment. Prognostic and predictive factors are often discussed together. They both play a part in deciding on a treatment plan and a prognosis.

The following are prognostic and predictive factors for thyroid cancer.

Type of tumour

The type of tumour is the most important prognostic factor for thyroid cancer. Papillary thyroid cancer has the best outcome and most favourable prognosis. It tends to respond well to treatment. Follicular thyroid cancer or medullary thyroid cancer has a good prognosis, but less favourable than papillary thyroid cancer. Anaplastic thyroid cancer has a very poor prognosis.

Age

Age is an important prognostic factor for papillary and follicular thyroid cancer. People under 40 years of age have a more favourable prognosis.

Stage

The lower the stage at diagnosis, the better the prognosis. Tumours that are larger than 4 cm or have grown through the thyroid to surrounding tissues and structures have a less favourable prognosis. Thyroid cancer that has spread to other parts of the body (called distant metastases) also has a less favourable prognosis.

Multiple endocrine neoplasia type 2B (MEN2B)

People who have medullary thyroid cancer associated with the hereditary condition MEN2B tend to have a poor prognosis. They are often diagnosed with more advanced thyroid cancer.

Expert review and references

  • American Joint Committee on Cancer. AJCC Cancer Staging Handbook. 7th ed. Chicago: Springer; 2010.
  • BC Cancer Agency (BCCA). Cancer Management Guidelines: Head and Neck - Thyroid Malignancies. 2004: http://www.bccancer.bc.ca/.
  • Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB . Thyroid tumors. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 82:1175-1188.
  • Davidson BJ, Newkirk KA, Burman KD . Cancer of the thyroid and the parathyroid: general principles and management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, Kies MS (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 28A:779-824.
  • Haugen BR, Alexander DK, Bible KC, et al . 2015 American Thyroid Association management guidelines for adult patients with thyroid nodules and differentiated thyroid cancer . Thyroid . 2015 .
  • Jonklaas J, Bianco AC, Bauer AJ, et al . Guidelines for the treatment of hypothyroidism: prepared by the American Thyroid Association Task Force on Thyroid Hormone Replacement . Thyroid . 2014 .
  • National Cancer Institute. Thyroid CancerTreatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. 2015: http://www.cancer.gov/types/thyroid/patient/thyroid-treatment-pdq#section/all.
  • National Cancer Institute. Thyroid Cancer Treatment for Health Professionals (PDQ®). 2015: http://www.cancer.gov/types/thyroid/hp/thyroid-treatment-pdq.

Risk groups for papillary or follicular thyroid cancer

Papillary thyroid cancer and follicular thyroid cancer may be described as low risk, intermediate risk or high risk.

Survival statistics for thyroid cancer

Survival statistics for thyroid cancer are very general estimates. Survival is different for each stage and type of tumour.

Pronostic et survie pour le cancer de la thyroïde

Si vous avez un cancer de la thyroïde, vous vous posez peut-être des questions sur votre pronostic. Le pronostic est l’acte par lequel le médecin évalue le mieux comment le cancer affectera une personne et comment il répondra au traitement. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien vos antécédents médicaux, le type de cancer que vous avez, le stade et d'autres caractéristiques de la maladie, les traitements choisis et la réponse au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données en même temps que les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Un facteur pronostique est un aspect du cancer ou une caractéristique de la personne que le médecin prend en considération lorsqu'il fait un pronostic. Un facteur prédictif influence la façon dont le cancer répond à un certain traitement. On aborde souvent les facteurs pronostiques et les facteurs prédictifs ensemble. Ils jouent tous les deux un rôle dans le choix du plan de traitement et dans l'établissement du pronostic.

Les éléments suivants sont des facteurs pronostiques ou prédictifs du cancer de la thyroïde.

Type de tumeur

Le type de tumeur est le facteur pronostique le plus important du cancer de la thyroïde. Le cancer papillaire engendre la meilleure issue et le pronostic le plus favorable. Il a tendance à bien répondre au traitement. Le cancer folliculaire et le cancer médullaire engendrent de bons pronostics, qui sont cependant moins favorables que celui du cancer papillaire. Le pronostic du cancer anaplasique est très sombre.

Âge

L’âge est un facteur pronostique important du cancer papillaire et du cancer folliculaire de la thyroïde. Le pronostic des personnes âgées de moins de 40 ans est plus favorable.

Stade

Plus le stade est précoce au moment du diagnostic, meilleur est le pronostic. Les tumeurs dont la taille est supérieure à 4 cm ou qui ont traversé la thyroïde et envahi les tissus et les structures voisins ont un pronostic moins favorable. Le cancer de la thyroïde qui s’est propagé à d’autres parties du corps (métastases à distance) est également moins favorable.

Néoplasie endocrinienne multiple de type 2B (NEM 2B)

Le pronostic des personnes atteintes d’un cancer médullaire de la thyroïde associé à la NEM 2B, une affection héréditaire, est généralement sombre. Ce type de cancer est souvent avancé au moment du diagnostic.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Joint Committee on Cancer. AJCC Cancer Staging Handbook. 7th ed. Chicago: Springer; 2010.
  • BC Cancer Agency (BCCA). Cancer Management Guidelines: Head and Neck - Thyroid Malignancies. 2004: http://www.bccancer.bc.ca/.
  • Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB . Thyroid tumors. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 82:1175-1188.
  • Davidson BJ, Newkirk KA, Burman KD . Cancer of the thyroid and the parathyroid: general principles and management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, Kies MS (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 28A:779-824.
  • Haugen BR, Alexander DK, Bible KC, et al . 2015 American Thyroid Association management guidelines for adult patients with thyroid nodules and differentiated thyroid cancer . Thyroid . 2015 .
  • Jonklaas J, Bianco AC, Bauer AJ, et al . Guidelines for the treatment of hypothyroidism: prepared by the American Thyroid Association Task Force on Thyroid Hormone Replacement . Thyroid . 2014 .
  • National Cancer Institute. Thyroid CancerTreatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. 2015: http://www.cancer.gov/types/thyroid/patient/thyroid-treatment-pdq#section/all.
  • National Cancer Institute. Thyroid Cancer Treatment for Health Professionals (PDQ®). 2015: http://www.cancer.gov/types/thyroid/hp/thyroid-treatment-pdq.

Catégories de risque pour le cancer papillaire ou folliculaire de la thyroïde

Le cancer papillaire et le cancer folliculaire de la thyroïde sont à risque faible, moyen ou élevé.

Statistiques de survie pour le cancer de la thyroïde

Les statistiques de survie au cancer de la thyroïde sont des estimations très générales. La survie varie selon le stade et le type de tumeur.