What is thyroid cancer?

Thyroid cancer is a malignant tumour that starts in the cells of the thyroid. Malignant means that it can invade, or grow into, and destroy nearby tissue. It can also spread, or metastasize, to other parts of the body.

The thyroid is part of the endocrine system. It is a small gland in the front of the neck below the larynx (voice box) and near the trachea (windpipe). It has a right and left lobe, one on each side of the trachea. The lobes are joined by a thin piece of tissue called the isthmus.

The thyroid is mainly made up of follicular cells and C cells. Follicular cells make thyroid hormones. These hormones help break down food into energy. They also help control body functions such as body temperature, heart rate and breathing. C cells (also called parafollicular cells) make the hormone calcitonin, which helps control the level of calcium in the blood.

Cells in the thyroid sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous, or benign, conditions such as hypothyroidism, hyperthyroidism, thyroid nodules, thyroiditis or goitre.

In some cases, changes to thyroid cells can cause cancer. The most common types of thyroid cancer are papillary carcinoma and follicular carcinoma. They are usually grouped together as differentiated thyroid cancer, which makes up more than 90% of all thyroid cancers.

Less common and rare types of thyroid cancer can also develop. These include poorly differentiated carcinoma, anaplastic carcinoma, medullary carcinoma, non-Hodgkin lymphoma and soft tissue sarcoma.

Diagram of the location and structure of the thyroid
Diagram of the location and structure of the thyroid

Expert review and references

  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Thyroid Cancer. 2015: http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/thyroid-cancer/view-all.
  • Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB . Thyroid tumors. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 82:1175-1188.
  • Davidson BJ, Newkirk KA, Burman KD . Cancer of the thyroid and the parathyroid: general principles and management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, Kies MS (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 28A:779-824.
  • National Cancer Institute. Thyroid CancerTreatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. 2015: http://www.cancer.gov/types/thyroid/patient/thyroid-treatment-pdq#section/all.

The thyroid

The thyroid is a gland in the neck that makes hormones to control many body functions. Learn about the thyroid, including its structure and the hormones.

Cancerous tumours of the thyroid

Most thyroid cancers are papillary or follicular carcinoma (also called differentiated thyroid cancer). Learn about cancerous tumours of the thyroid.

Non-cancerous conditions of the thyroid

Learn about non-cancerous conditions of the thyroid, such as hypothyroidism and benign thyroid nodules, which are not usually life-threatening.

Qu’est-ce que le cancer de la thyroïde?

Le cancer de la thyroïde est une tumeur maligne qui prend naissance dans les cellules de la thyroïde. Une tumeur maligne signifie qu’elle peut envahir les tissus avoisinants et les détruire. Elle peut aussi se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

La thyroïde fait partie du système endocrinien. C’est une petite glande située dans le devant du cou, sous le larynx (organe de la parole) et près de la trachée. Elle est formée de deux lobes, droit et gauche, situés de chaque côté de la trachée. Les lobes sont reliés par un fin morceau de tissu appelé isthme.

La thyroïde est principalement composée de cellules folliculaires et de cellules C. Les cellules folliculaires produisent les hormones thyroïdiennes. Celles-ci contribuent à décomposer la nourriture pour la transformer en énergie. Elles aident aussi à réguler certaines fonctions du corps comme la température corporelle, la fréquence cardiaque et la respiration. Les cellules C, aussi appelées cellules parafolliculaires, produisent la calcitonine, une hormone qui aide à réguler le taux de calcium dans le sang.

Les cellules de la thyroïde subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormaux. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des affections non cancéreuses, ou bénignes, comme l’hypothyroïdie, l’hyperthyroïdie, les nodules thyroïdiens, la thyroïdite et le goitre.

Dans certains cas, les cellules modifiées de la thyroïde peuvent devenir cancéreuses. Les types de cancer de la thyroïde les plus courants sont le carcinome papillaire et le carcinome folliculaire. Ils sont habituellement classés ensemble et on leur donne le nom de cancer différencié de la thyroïde. Il représente plus de 90 % des cancers de la thyroïde.

Il existe aussi des types moins courants et des types rares de cancer de la thyroïde. Parmi ceux-ci, on compte le carcinome peu différencié, le carcinome anaplasique, le carcinome médullaire, le lymphome non hodgkinien et le sarcome des tissus mous.

Schéma de l'emplacement et de la structure de la thyroïde
Schéma de l'emplacement et de la structure de la thyroïde

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Thyroid Cancer. 2015: http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/thyroid-cancer/view-all.
  • Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB . Thyroid tumors. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 82:1175-1188.
  • Davidson BJ, Newkirk KA, Burman KD . Cancer of the thyroid and the parathyroid: general principles and management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, Kies MS (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 28A:779-824.
  • National Cancer Institute. Thyroid CancerTreatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. 2015: http://www.cancer.gov/types/thyroid/patient/thyroid-treatment-pdq#section/all.

La thyroïde

La thyroïde est une glande du cou produisant des hormones qui régulent de nombreuses fonctions du corps. Apprenez-en plus sur la thyroïde, sa structure et ces hormones.

Tumeurs cancéreuses de la thyroïde

Les tumeurs malignes de la glande thyroïde sont des masses cancéreuses qui ont la capacité de se propager vers d’autres parties du corps (métastases).

Affections non cancéreuses de la thyroïde

Les affections bénignes de la thyroïde ne sont pas cancéreuses. Elles ne forment pas de métastases (ne se propagent pas vers d’autres parties du corps) et ne mettent généralement pas la vie en danger. Les affections bénignes de la thyroïde les plus courantes sont les suivantes.