Hormone therapy for thyroid cancer

Last medical review:

Hormones are substances that control some body functions, including how cells act and grow. Hormone therapy adds, blocks or removes hormones to slow or stop the growth of cancer cells that need hormones to grow. Hormone levels can be changed or blocked by drugs, surgery or radiation therapy.

Most people with thyroid cancer have hormone therapy. Your healthcare team will use what they know about the cancer and your health to plan the treatment.

If you have surgery to remove your thyroid (called a total thyroidectomy), you will need hormone therapy. Your thyroid normally makes a hormone called thyroxine (also called T4). Thyroxine helps control growth and development, and it helps maintain the body's normal metabolism. If the thyroid is removed, you will need to take drugs to replace thyroxine.

Thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) is made by the pituitary gland. It controls how the thyroid functions and grows, including when it makes thyroxine. TSH also controls the growth of thyroid cancer cells.

Hormone therapy is used to control TSH, which in turn helps prevent cancer cells from growing and reduces the risk of thyroid cancer coming back, or recurring. This therapy is also called thyroid hormone therapy or TSH-suppression therapy.

Hormone therapies used for thyroid cancer

Levothyroxine (Synthroid, Eltroxin) is the standard hormone therapy for people who have a total thyroidectomy to treat thyroid cancer. This drug replaces the thyroxine that would normally be made by the thyroid.

Levothyroxine is also used to help prevent papillary or follicular (including Hurthle cell) thyroid cancer from coming back (recurring). Taking levothyroxine makes sure there is enough thyroid hormone in the body so the pituitary gland makes less TSH. Lowering the amount of TSH in the body may slow the growth of any remaining thyroid cancer cells.

Levothyroxine is usually given as a pill once a day. You will need to take it for the rest of your life. Doctors will regularly check thyroxine and TSH levels in the blood. This helps make sure that the right dose of levothyroxine is being given to keep TSH low without making thyroxine levels too high.

Side effects of hormone therapy

Side effects of hormone therapy will depend mainly on the type of hormone therapy, the dose of a drug or combination of drugs, and your overall health. Tell your healthcare team if you have side effects that you think are from hormone therapy. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help you deal with them.

Levothyroxine may cause these side effects:

  • fast or irregular heartbeat
  • skin rash
  • hair loss
  • weight loss
  • nervousness
  • shakiness or tremors
  • sleep problems, such as insomnia
  • osteoporosis, especially the longer you take the drug

Find out more about hormone therapy

Find out more about hormone therapy and side effects of hormone therapy. To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about hormone therapy.

Details on specific drugs change quite regularly. Find out more about sources of drug information and where to get details on specific drugs.

Expert review and references

  • Shereen Ezzat, MD, FRCPC, FACP
  • Bible KC, Kebebebew E, Brierley J, Brito JP, Cabanillas ME et al . 2021 American Thyroid Association guidelines for management of patients with anaplastic thryoid cancer . Thyroid . 2021 : 31(3): 337–386 .
  • American Cancer Society. Treating Thyroid Cancer . 2021: https://www.cancer.org/.
  • HealthLinkBC. Thyroid Cancer. 2019: https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/.
  • Alberta Health Services. Thyroid Cancer Treatment in Alberta. Edmonton: 2019: https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/.
  • Sharma PK. Medscape Reference: Thyroid Cancer. WebMD LLC; 2021: https://www.medscape.com/.
  • Alberta Health Services. MyHealth Alberta.ca: Thyroid Cancer. Government of Alberta; https://myhealth.alberta.ca/.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Thyroid Cancer. 2021: https://www.cancer.net/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Guidelines for Patients: Thyroid Cancer. 2020.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network . NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Thyroid Carcinoma (Version 3.2021) . 2021 .
  • Kotwal A, Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB. Thyroid Tumors. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 81:1326–1337.

Hormonothérapie du cancer de la thyroïde

Dernière révision médicale :

Les hormones sont des substances qui contrôlent certaines fonctions du corps, dont l’activité et la croissance des cellules. L’hormonothérapie ajoute, bloque ou enlève des hormones afin de ralentir ou d'interrompre la croissance des cellules cancéreuses qui ont besoin d’hormones pour se développer. On peut modifier ou bloquer les taux d'hormones à l'aide de médicaments, de la chirurgie ou de la radiothérapie.

La plupart des personnes atteintes d’un cancer de la thyroïde reçoivent une hormonothérapie. Votre équipe de soins se basera sur ce qu'elle sait relativement au cancer et à votre état de santé pour planifier le traitement.

Si on enlève votre thyroïde par chirurgie (thyroïdectomie totale), vous aurez besoin d'une hormonothérapie. La thyroïde fabrique habituellement une hormone appelée thyroxine (T4). La thyroxine aide à contrôler la croissance et le développement et contribue au maintien du métabolisme normal du corps. Quand on enlève la thyroïde, il faut administrer des médicaments qui remplaceront la thyroxine.

La thyréostimuline (TSH) est produite par l’hypophyse. Elle contrôle la fonction et le développement de la thyroïde, dont à quel moment elle fabrique la thyroxine. La TSH contrôle également la croissance des cellules du cancer de la thyroïde.

On a recours à l’hormonothérapie pour contrôler la TSH, ce qui aide à empêcher la croissance des cellules cancéreuses et à réduire le risque de réapparition (récidive) du cancer de la thyroïde. Ce traitement est appelé hormonothérapie thyroïdienne ou traitement suppresseur de la TSH.

Hormonothérapies employées pour le cancer de la thyroïde

La lévothyroxine (Synthroid, Eltroxin) est l’hormonothérapie standard qu'on administre aux personnes ayant eu une thyroïdectomie totale comme traitement du cancer de la thyroïde. Ce médicament remplace la thyroxine, qui est normalement produite par la thyroïde.

On a aussi recours à la lévothyroxine pour aider à prévenir la réapparition (récidive) du cancer papillaire ou du cancer folliculaire (dont le cancer à cellules de Hürthle) de la thyroïde. La prise de lévothyroxine assure une quantité suffisante d’hormone thyroïdienne dans le corps, faisant ainsi en sorte que l’hypophyse produit moins de TSH. Diminuer la quantité de TSH dans le corps est susceptible de ralentir la croissance des cellules du cancer de la thyroïde qui pourraient rester après le traitement.

La lévothyroxine est habituellement administrée une fois par jour sous forme de pilule. Vous devrez prendre ce médicament pour le reste de votre vie. Les médecins mesureront régulièrement les taux de thyroxine et de TSH dans votre sang. Ils pourront ainsi s'assurer que la dose de lévothyroxine administrée permet de maintenir un taux peu élevé de TSH tout en ne faisant pas trop augmenter le taux de thyroxine.

Effets secondaires de l'hormonothérapie

Les effets secondaires de l’hormonothérapie dépendent surtout du type d’hormonothérapie, de la dose du médicament ou de l’association médicamenteuse et de votre état de santé global. Avisez votre équipe de soins si vous éprouvez des effets secondaires que vous croyez liés à l'hormonothérapie. Plus tôt vous signalez un problème, plus rapidement on pourra vous dire comment aider à le traiter.

La lévothyroxine peut causer les effets secondaires suivants :

  • battements du cœur rapides ou irréguliers;
  • éruption cutanée;
  • perte de poils et de cheveux;
  • perte de poids;
  • nervosité;
  • tremblements;
  • troubles du sommeil, comme l'insomnie;
  • ostéoporose, en particulier quand on prend le médicament sur une longue période.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’hormonothérapie

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’hormonothérapie et les effets secondaires de l’hormonothérapie. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur l’hormonothérapie à votre équipe de soins.

Les renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques changent assez régulièrement. Apprenez-en davantage sur les sources d’information sur les médicaments ainsi que sur les sites où vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Shereen Ezzat, MD, FRCPC, FACP
  • Bible KC, Kebebebew E, Brierley J, Brito JP, Cabanillas ME et al . 2021 American Thyroid Association guidelines for management of patients with anaplastic thryoid cancer . Thyroid . 2021 : 31(3): 337–386 .
  • American Cancer Society. Treating Thyroid Cancer . 2021: https://www.cancer.org/.
  • HealthLinkBC. Thyroid Cancer. 2019: https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/.
  • Alberta Health Services. Thyroid Cancer Treatment in Alberta. Edmonton: 2019: https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/.
  • Sharma PK. Medscape Reference: Thyroid Cancer. WebMD LLC; 2021: https://www.medscape.com/.
  • Alberta Health Services. MyHealth Alberta.ca: Thyroid Cancer. Government of Alberta; https://myhealth.alberta.ca/.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Thyroid Cancer. 2021: https://www.cancer.net/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Guidelines for Patients: Thyroid Cancer. 2020.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network . NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Thyroid Carcinoma (Version 3.2021) . 2021 .
  • Kotwal A, Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB. Thyroid Tumors. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 81:1326–1337.