Prognosis and survival for salivary gland cancer

If you have salivary gland cancer, you may have questions about your prognosis. A prognosis is the doctor's best estimate of how cancer will affect someone and how it will respond to treatment. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with your medical history, the type and stage and other features of the cancer, the treatments chosen and the response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

A prognostic factor is an aspect of the cancer or a characteristic of the person that the doctor will consider when making a prognosis. A predictive factor influences how a cancer will respond to a certain treatment. Prognostic and predictive factors are often discussed together. They both play a part in deciding on a treatment plan and a prognosis.

The following are prognostic and predictive factors for salivary gland cancer.

Stage

The stage, especially the tumour (T) category, is the most important prognostic factor for salivary gland cancer. Large tumours and tumours that have grown into tissue around the salivary glands have a less favourable prognosis.

Grade

High-grade tumours have a less favourable prognosis than low-grade tumours. This is because high-grade tumours are usually aggressive, which means they tend to grow and spread quickly. They also have a higher risk of coming back (recurring) in other parts of the body such as the lungs or bone.

Type of tumour

Adenoid cystic carcinoma has the least favourable prognosis of all types of salivary gland cancer. This is because it tends to grow into and along the nerves of the face (perineural invasion). It also tends to come back even many years after first treatment.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Salivary Gland Cancer. American Cancer Society; 2014: http://www.cancer.org/cancer/salivaryglandcancer/index.
  • Garden, A. S . Salivary gland cancer. Gospodarowicz, M. K., O'Sullivan, B., Sobin, L. H., et al. (Eds.). Prognostic Factors in Cancer. 3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc; 2006: 10:pp. 113-117.
  • Iqbal H, Bhatti ABH, Husain R & Jamshed A . Ten year experience with surgery and radiation in the management of malignat major salivary gland tumors. Asian Pacific Journal of Cancer Prevention. National Cancer Center Korea; 2014.
  • Lee SC . Salivary gland neoplasms. eMedicine.Medscape.com. WebMD LLC; 2013: http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/852373-overview.
  • Mendenhall WM, Werning JW and Pfister DG . Treatment of head and neck cancer. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 72:729-80.
  • National Cancer Institute. Salivary Gland Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. 2014.

Survival statistics for salivary gland cancer

Survival statistics are different for each stage of salivary gland cancer. Learn about salivary gland cancer survival by stage.

Pronostic et survie pour le cancer des glandes salivaires

Si vous êtes atteint d'un cancer des glandes salivaires, vous vous posez peut-être des questions sur votre pronostic. Le pronostic est l'acte par lequel le médecin évalue le mieux comment le cancer affectera une personne et comment il répondra au traitement. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien vos antécédents médicaux, le type de cancer dont vous êtes atteint, le stade et d’autres caractéristiques de la maladie, les traitements choisis et la réaction au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Un facteur pronostique est un aspect du cancer ou une caractéristique de la personne que le médecin prend en considération lorsqu’il fait un pronostic. Un facteur prédictif influence la façon dont le cancer répond à un certain traitement. On aborde souvent les facteurs pronostiques et les facteurs prédictifs ensemble. Ils jouent tous les deux un rôle dans le choix du plan de traitement et dans l’établissement du pronostic.

Les éléments suivants sont les facteurs pronostiques ou prédictifs du cancer des glandes salivaires.

Stade

Le stade, en particulier la catégorie T, de la tumeur est le facteur pronostique le plus important pour le cancer des glandes salivaires. Les grosses tumeurs et celles qui se sont propagées aux tissus entourant les glandes salivaires engendrent un pronostic moins favorable.

Grade

Les tumeurs de haut grade ont un pronostic moins favorable que les tumeurs de bas grade. Cela s’explique par le fait que les tumeurs de haut grade sont habituellement agressives, c’est-à-dire qu’elles ont tendance à évoluer et à se propager rapidement. Elles présentent aussi un risque plus élevé de réapparition, ou récidive, dans d'autres parties du corps comme les poumons ou les os.

Type de tumeur

Le carcinome adénoïde kystique présente le pronostic le moins favorable de tous les types de cancer des glandes salivaires. C'est qu'il a tendance à se propager aux nerfs du visage, ou le long de ces nerfs (envahissement périneural). Il a aussi tendance à réapparaître même de nombreuses années après le traitement initial.

Statistiques de survie au cancer des glandes salivaires

Les statistiques de survie varient selon le stade du cancer des glandes salivaires. Renseignez-vous sur les taux de survie par stade pour ce type de cancer.