Research in salivary gland cancer

Last medical review:

We are always learning more about cancer. Researchers and healthcare professionals use what they learn from research studies to develop better ways to treat salivary gland cancer. The following is a selection of research showing promise for treating salivary gland cancer.

We've included information from the following sources. Each item has an identity number that links to a brief overview (sometimes called an abstract).

  • PubMed, US National Library of Medicine (PMID)
  • ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT)

Radiation therapy

The following is noteworthy research in radiation therapy for salivary gland cancer.

Radioligand therapy (RLT) delivers radiation directly to – and only to – cancer cells wherever they are in the body. Radiation is attached to a molecule that specifically binds to cancer cells. Researchers are currently seeing if RLT using lutetium-177 binds to the prostate-specific membrane antigen (PSMA) receptors on the surface of some salivary gland cancer cells to help treat advanced adenoid cystic carcinoma (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT 04801264).

Post-operative radiation therapy (PORT) means giving radiation therapy after surgery to remove a tumour. Studies show that PORT can reduce the spread of salivary gland cancer and improve survival (Journal of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network, PMID 33152705; Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, PMID 30721113).

Fast neutron therapy is a type of radiation therapy that uses fast-moving neutrons to kill cancer cells. Researchers are studying fast neutron therapy to find out if it is more effective than standard radiation therapy in treating some types of salivary gland tumours. Currently, fast neutron therapy is available only in a few centres around the world (Cureus, PMID 34104589).

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on cancer cells or inside them. These molecules help send signals that tell cells how to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells and limit harm to normal cells. Researchers are looking for the best ways to treat salivary gland cancer using targeted therapy.

Researchers are studying which targeted therapy drug may be best to treat advanced salivary gland cancer based on the specific parts of the cells, such as hormone receptors and genes. Early research shows that targeted therapy drugs that specifically target these parts of the cancer cells can provide better treatment and improve survival (Annals of Oncology, PMID 32067683).

Selitrectinib (LOXO-195) and repotrectinib (TPX-0005) are a new generation of neurotrophic tyrosine receptor kinase (NTRK) inhibitors. Researchers are currently seeing if these 2 drugs are helpful in treating TRK fusion-positive salivary gland cancers that no longer respond to larotrectinib (Vitrakvi) and entrectinib (Rozlytrek) (Annals of Oncology, PMID 31738426; Nature Reviews Clinical Oncology, PMID 30333516).

Trastuzumab (Herceptin) is a drug that targets the HER2 gene on the surface of some cancer cells. Researchers are currently looking at using trastuzumab to treat HER2-positive salivary gland cancer after other treatments were used (The Oncologist, PMID 32310325). They are also studying trastuzumab in combination with a chemotherapy drug called docetaxel (Journal of Clinical Oncology, PMID 30452336).

Trastuzumab emtansine (Kadcyla or T-DM1) is a combination of trastuzumab and the chemotherapy drug emtansine (DM1). Researchers are trying to find out if it is effective at treating metastatic salivary gland cancer (JCO Precision Oncology, PMID 30906914).

Trastuzumab deruxtecan (Enhertu) is a combination of trastuzumab and the chemotherapy drug deruxtecan. Early studies show that it may be effective at treating metastatic salivary gland cancer that was previously treated (Cancer Discovery, PMID 32213540).

Pertuzumab and trastuzumab (Phesgo) is a combination of trastuzumab and another targeted therapy drug called pertuzumab (Perjeta). Studies are looking to see if it is effective at treating advanced salivary gland cancer (Annals of Oncology, PMID 32067683).

Lenvatinib (Lenvima) is a type of targeted therapy called a tyrosine kinase inhibitor. Researchers are trying to find out if lenvatinib can treat recurrent or metastatic adenoid cystic carcinoma (Journal of Clinical Oncology, PMID 30939095; Cancer, PMID 32031693).

Tipifarnib (Zarnestra) is a new type of targeted therapy drug called a farnesyltransferase inhibitor. It works by blocking the protein that signals HRAS, which is involved in cell growth. Early research shows that tipifarnib can slow the growth of recurrent and metastatic salivary gland cancer cells with HRAS mutations (Cancer, PMID 32557577).

Hormone therapy

Hormone therapy is a treatment that adds, blocks or removes hormones to slow or stop the growth of cancer cells that need hormones to grow.

Androgen deprivation therapy blocks the action of hormones on the androgen receptors. Salivary duct carcinoma cells often have androgen receptors, so androgen deprivation therapy may work on these tumours. Giving androgen deprivation therapy after surgery for advanced salivary gland cancer may prevent the cancer from coming back (recurring) and improve survival (European Journal of Cancer, PMID 30771738).

Goserelin (Zoladex) combined with pembrolizumab (Keytruda) may be effective in treating salivary gland cancer. Goserelin is a type of hormone therapy called a luteinizing hormone–releasing hormone (LHRH) agonist. Pembrolizumab is an immunotherapy drug. Researchers are currently looking at whether this drug combination is effective at treating metastatic or recurrent salivary gland cancer that can't be treated with surgery or radiation therapy (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT 03942653).

Immunotherapy

Immunotherapy helps strengthen or restore the immune system's ability to find and destroy cancer cells. Researchers are trying to find out if immunotherapy can help treat salivary gland cancer.

Pembrolizumab (Keytruda) is an immune checkpoint inhibitor that works by blocking the PD-1 checkpoint proteins so immune system cells (called T cells) attack and kill cancer cells. Research is currently looking at the combination of pembrolizumab and a chemotherapy drug called docetaxel to treat salivary gland cancer that has no other treatment options available (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT 03360890). Another study is looking at the combination of pembrolizumab and pemetrexed (Alimta) to treat recurrent or metastatic salivary gland cancer (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT 04895735).

CAR T-cell therapy takes millions of T cells from a person with cancer. In the lab, the cells are changed so they have chimeric antigen receptors (CARs) on their surface. These receptors recognize a specific antigen (protein) found on the type of cancer cell being treated. The T cells are then given back to the person where they multiply, attack and destroy the cancer cells. For salivary gland cancer, researchers are studying P-PSMA-101 CAR T cells to target cancer cells that have PSMA receptors. They are looking at the best dose to safely treat advanced adenoid cystic carcinoma (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT 04249947).

Nivolumab (Opdivo) and ipilimumab (Yervoy) are monoclonal antibodies. Researchers are currently investigating how well these 2 drugs work when given together with a type of radiation therapy called stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) to treat advanced salivary gland cancer (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT 03749460).

Learn more about cancer research

Researchers continue to try to find out more about cancer. Clinical trials are research studies that test new ways to treat cancer. They also look at ways to prevent, find and manage cancer.

Clinical trials provide information about the safety and effectiveness of new approaches to see if they should become widely available. Most of the standard treatments for cancer were first shown to be effective through clinical trials.

Find out more about clinical trials.

Expert review and references

  • Lillian L Siu, MD, FRCPC

Recherche sur le cancer des glandes salivaires

Dernière révision médicale :

On en apprend toujours plus sur le cancer. Les chercheurs et les professionnels de la santé se servent de ce qu’ils ont appris lors des études de recherche pour élaborer de meilleures façons de traiter le cancer des glandes salivaires. Le texte qui suit traite de différentes recherches qui se révèlent prometteuses dans le traitement du cancer des glandes salivaires.

Nous avons inclus de l’information qui provient des sources suivantes. Chaque article comporte un numéro d’identification dont le lien mène à un bref résumé.

  • PubMed, US National Library of Medicine (PMID)
  • Essais canadiens sur le cancer et ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT)

Radiothérapie

Voici des recherches importantes sur la radiothérapie du cancer des glandes salivaires.

La thérapie par radioligand (RLT) envoie la radiation directement – et seulement – aux cellules cancéreuses, où qu'elles soient dans le corps. La radiation est fixée à une molécule qui se lie spécifiquement aux cellules cancéreuses. Les chercheurs examinent actuellement si le lutécium-177, lorsqu'il est utilisé pour la RLT, se lie aux récepteurs de l'antigène membranaire spécifique de la prostate (PSMA) à la surface de certaines cellules du cancer des glandes salivaires afin d'aider à traiter le carcinome adénoïde kystique avancé (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT 04801264).

La radiothérapie postopératoire est l’administration d’une radiothérapie après la chirurgie pour enlever une tumeur. Des études montrent ce type de radiothérapie peut réduire la propagation du cancer des glandes salivaires et améliorer la survie (Journal of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network, PMID 33152705; Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, PMID 30721113).

La neutronthérapie rapide est un type de radiothérapie qui emploie des neutrons se déplaçant rapidement pour détruire des cellules cancéreuses. Les chercheurs évaluent la neutronthérapie rapide afin de savoir si ce traitement est plus efficace que la radiothérapie standard dans le traitement de certains types de tumeurs des glandes salivaires. Actuellement, la neutronthérapie rapide est accessible seulement dans quelques centres dans le monde (Cureus, PMID 34104589).

Traitement ciblé

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques, comme des protéines, présentes à la surface ou à l’intérieur des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales. Des chercheurs tentent de trouver les meilleures façons de traiter le cancer des glandes salivaires à l’aide du traitement ciblé.

Des chercheurs étudient quel médicament ciblé conviendrait le mieux au traitement du cancer des glandes salivaires avancé en fonction des parties spécifiques des cellules, comme les récepteurs hormonaux et les gènes. Des études préliminaires indiquent que les médicaments ciblant spécifiquement ces parties des cellules cancéreuses peuvent constituer un meilleur traitement et améliorer la survie (Annals of Oncology, PMID 32067683).

Le selitrectinib (LOXO-195) et le repotrectinib (TPX-0005) constituent une nouvelle génération d'inhibiteurs du récepteur tyrosine-kinase de la neurotrophine (NTRK). Des chercheurs s'emploient à vérifier si ces 2 médicaments sont utiles pour le traitement des cancers des glandes salivaires avec fusion TRK qui ne répondent plus au larotrectinib (Vitrakvi) et à l'entrectinib (Rozlytrek) (Annals of Oncology, PMID 31738426; Nature Reviews Clinical Oncology, PMID 30333516).

Le trastuzumab (Herceptin) est un médicament qui cible le gène HER2 à la surface de certaines cellules cancéreuses. Des chercheurs se penchent présentement sur l'utilisation du trastuzumab pour traiter le cancer des glandes salivaires HER2 positif une fois qu'on a eu recours à d'autres traitements (The Oncologist, PMID 32310325). Ils étudient également le trastuzumab en association avec un agent chimiothérapeutique appelé docétaxel (Journal of Clinical Oncology, PMID 30452336).

Le trastuzumab emtansine (Kadcyla ou T-DM1) est une association de trastuzumab et de l’agent chimiothérapeutique appelé emtansine (DM1). Des chercheurs tentent de déterminer s'il est efficace pour traiter le cancer des glandes salivaires métastatique (JCO Precision Oncology, PMID 30906914).

Le trastuzumab deruxtecan (Enhertu) est un médicament qui réunit le trastuzumab et le deruxtecan, un agent chimiothérapeutique. Des études préliminaires montrent qu'il pourrait être efficace pour traiter un cancer des glandes salivaires métastatique ayant déjà fait l'objet d'un traitement (Cancer Discovery, PMID 32213540).

Le pertuzumab avec trastuzumab (Phesgo) est un médicament associant le trastuzumab à un autre médicament ciblé appelé pertuzumab (Perjeta). Des études sont menées afin d'en vérifier l'efficacité pour traiter le cancer des glandes salivaires avancé (Annals of Oncology, PMID 32067683).

Le lenvatinib (Lenvima) est un type de traitement ciblé qu’on appelle inhibiteur de la tyrosine kinase. Des chercheurs tentent de savoir sir le lenvatinib peut traiter le carcinome adénoïde kystique récidivant ou métastatique (Journal of Clinical Oncology, PMID 30939095; Cancer, PMID 32031693).

Le tipifarnib (Zarnestra) est un nouveau type de médicament ciblé appelé inhibiteur de la farnésyl-transférase. Il agit en bloquant la protéine HRAS, qui envoie des signaux et est impliquée dans la croissance cellulaire. Une recherche préliminaire montre que le tipifarnib peut ralentir la croissance des cellules du cancer des glandes salivaires récidivant ou métastatique qui présentent des mutations HRAS (Cancer, PMID 32557577).

Hormonothérapie

L’hormonothérapie est un traitement qui ajoute, bloque ou enlève des hormones afin de ralentir ou de faire cesser la croissance de cellules cancéreuses qui ont besoin d’hormones pour se développer.

Le traitement par privation androgénique bloque l’action des hormones sur les récepteurs des androgènes. Les cellules du carcinome des canaux salivaires présentent souvent des récepteurs d’androgènes; le traitement par privation androgénique pourrait donc être efficace contre ces tumeurs. L'administration d'un traitement par privation androgénique après la chirurgie d'un cancer des glandes salivaires pourrait prévenir la réapparition (récidive) du cancer et améliorer la survie (European Journal of Cancer, PMID 30771738).

La goséréline (Zoladex) associée au pembrolizumab (Keytruda) peut être efficace pour traiter le cancer des glandes salivaires. La goséréline, utilisée pour l'hormonothérapie, est un type de médicament appelé analogue de l’hormone de libération de la lutéinostimuline (LH-RH). Le pembrolizumab est un médicament immunothérapeutique. Des chercheurs vérifient actuellement si cette association de médicaments est efficace pour traiter un cancer des glandes salivaires métastatique ou récidivant qui ne peut pas être traité par chirurgie ou par radiothérapie (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT 03942653).

Immunothérapie

L’immunothérapie aide à renforcer ou à rétablir la capacité du système immunitaire de combattre le cancer. Des chercheurs tentent de déterminer si l’immunothérapie peut aider à traiter le cancer des glandes salivaires.

Le pembrolizumab (Keytruda) est un inhibiteur du point de contrôle immunitaire qui agit en bloquant les protéines spécifiques du point de contrôle PD-1 pour que les cellules du système immunitaire (lymphocytes T) attaquent et détruisent les cellules cancéreuses. La recherche se penche actuellement sur l'association du pembrolizumab et d'un agent chimiothérapeutique appelé docétaxel pour traiter le cancer des glandes salivaires en l'absence d'autres options de traitement (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT 03360890). Une autre étude porte sur l'association du pembrolizumab et du pemetrexed (Alimta) pour traiter le cancer des glandes salivaires récidivant ou métastatique (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT 04895735).

Lors de la thérapie par lymphocytes T à récepteur d’antigène chimérique (CAR), on prélève des millions de lymphocytes T chez une personne atteinte de cancer. En laboratoire, on les modifie de façon à ce qu’ils soient dotés de récepteurs d’antigènes chimériques (CAR) à leur surface. Ces récepteurs reconnaissent un antigène (protéine) spécifique exprimé par le type de cellules cancéreuses traitées. On réinjecte ensuite les lymphocytes T à la personne afin qu’ils se multiplient puis attaquent et détruisent les cellules cancéreuses. Dans le cas du cancer des glandes salivaires, les chercheurs étudient les lymphocytes T à CAR P-PSMA-101 comme moyen de cibler les cellules cancéreuses dotées de récepteurs PSMA. Ils cherchent à déterminer la meilleure dose pour traiter de façon sûre le carcinome adénoïde kystique (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT 04249947).

Le nivolumab (Opdivo) et l'ipilimumab (Yervoy) sont des anticorps monoclonaux. Les chercheurs sont en train d'examiner l'efficacité de ces 2 médicaments lorsqu'ils sont administrés en association avec un type de radiothérapie appelé radiothérapie stéréotaxique corporelle (RSC) pour traiter le cancer des glandes salivaires avancé (ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT 03749460).

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la recherche sur le cancer

Les chercheurs tentent toujours d’en savoir davantage sur le cancer. L’essai clinique est une étude de recherche lors de laquelle on met à l’essai de nouvelles façons de traiter le cancer. On évalue également des manières de prévenir le cancer, de le trouver ou de le gérer.

L’essai clinique permet d'obtenir des renseignements sur l'innocuité et l'efficacité de nouvelles approches afin de déterminer si elles doivent être offertes à plus grande échelle. La plupart des traitements standards du cancer ont d'abord démontré leur efficacité en essai clinique.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Lillian L Siu, MD, FRCPC