Grading salivary gland cancer

Grading describes how the cancer cells look compared to normal, healthy cells. Knowing the grade gives your healthcare team an idea of how quickly the cancer may be growing and how likely it is to spread. This helps them plan your treatment. The grade can also help the healthcare team predict future outcomes (your prognosis) and how the cancer might respond to treatment.

To find out the grade of salivary gland cancer, a pathologist looks at a tissue sample from the tumour under a microscope. They look at how different the cells look from normal cells (called differentiation) and other features of the tumour such as the size and shape of the cells and how the cells are arranged. They can usually tell how fast a tumour is growing by looking at how many cells are dividing.

The pathologist grades salivary gland cancer from low grade to high grade. They may also use numbers from 1 to 3 to describe a grade.

Low-grade or grade 1 tumours have cancer cells that are well differentiated. The cells are abnormal but look a lot like normal cells and are arranged a lot like normal cells. Lower grade cancers tend to grow slowly and are less likely to spread.

Intermediate-grade or grade 2 tumours have cancer cells that are moderately differentiated. The cells are more abnormal than low grade cancers, but not as abnormal as high grade tumours.

High-grade or grade 3 tumours have cancer cells that are poorly differentiated or undifferentiated. The cells don't look like normal cells and are arranged very differently. Higher grade cancers tend to grow more quickly and are more likely to spread than low-grade cancers.

Knowing the grade is most important for these types of salivary gland tumours, as they can be any grade:

  • mucoepidermoid carcinoma (MEC)
  • adenoid cystic carcinoma
  • squamous cell carcinoma (SCC)
  • adenocarcinoma not otherwise specified (NOS)

Most other types of salivary gland tumours are always either low grade or high grade.

Expert review and references

  • HeadandNeckCancerGuide.org. Salivary Gland Cancer Tumor Grade. 2018.
  • Deschler DG, Emerick KS, Wirth LJ, Busse PM . Management of salivary gland tumors: general principles and management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, Kies MS (eds.). Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 25(A): 697-724.
  • Locati LD, Guzzo M, Orlandi E, Licitra L . Management of salivary gland cancer. Bernier J (ed.). Head and Neck Cancer: Multimodality Management. Springer; 2016: 36:625-640.

Grades du cancer des glandes salivaires

Le grade, ou classification histologique, définit l’apparence des cellules cancéreuses qu’on compare à celle des cellules normales et saines. Connaître le grade donne à votre équipe de soins une idée de la rapidité à laquelle le cancer peut se développer et de sa probabilité de propagation. Cela l’aide à planifier votre traitement. Le grade peut aussi aider l’équipe de soins à déterminer l’issue possible de la maladie (pronostic) et à prévoir comment le cancer pourrait répondre au traitement.

Pour établir le grade du cancer des glandes salivaires, le pathologiste examine au microscope un échantillon de tissu prélevé dans la tumeur. Il vérifie jusqu’à quel point les cellules cancéreuses diffèrent des cellules normales (différenciation) et d’autres caractéristiques de la tumeur comme la taille et la forme des cellules et leur disposition. Il est habituellement en mesure de dire à quelle vitesse la tumeur se développe en observant le nombre de cellules qui se divisent.

Le pathologiste attribue au cancer des glandes salivaires un grade allant de bas à élevé. Il peut également décrire le grade au moyen d'un chiffre de 1 à 3.

Les tumeurs de bas grade ou de grade 1 sont formées de cellules cancéreuses bien différenciées. Ces cellules sont anormales, mais elles ressemblent beaucoup aux cellules normales et sont disposées de façon très semblable aux cellules normales. Les cancers de bas grade ont tendance à se développer lentement et risquent moins de se propager.

Les tumeurs de grade intermédiaire ou de grade 2 sont formées de cellules modérément différenciées. Les cellules sont plus anormales que dans le cas de cancers de bas grade, mais pas autant que dans le cas de tumeurs de haut grade.

Les tumeurs de haut grade ou de grade 3 sont formées de cellules cancéreuses peu différenciées ou indifférenciées. Ces cellules ne ressemblent pas aux cellules normales et sont disposées de façon très différente. Les cancers de haut grade ont tendance à se développer rapidement et sont plus susceptibles de se propager que les cancers de bas grade.

Il est particulièrement important de connaître le grade des types suivants de tumeurs des glandes salivaires, car celles-ci peuvent être de n'importe quel grade :

  • carcinome mucoépidermoïde (MEC);
  • carcinome adénoïde kystique;
  • carcinome épidermoïde;
  • adénocarcinome sans autre indication.

La plupart des autres types de tumeurs des glandes salivaires sont soit de bas grade, soit de haut grade.