Surgery for rhabdomyosarcoma

Last medical review:

Most children with rhabdomyosarcoma (RMS) will have surgery either to do a biopsy or to remove a tumour. The type of surgery depends mainly on where the tumour started, the size of the tumour, how well the tumour responds to chemotherapy or radiation therapy (if it is given before surgery) and the child's overall health.

The goal of surgery is to completely remove the tumour, but this isn't always possible. Sometimes RMS develops in an area of the body where it is hard to do surgery, such as close to vital organs, blood vessels or nerves. Sometimes surgery can't be done because it will affect how the child looks (their appearance) or how well that part of the body will work after surgery. In these cases, surgery may only be used to collect a biopsy sample rather than remove the tumour, and other treatments may be used instead.

Before surgery, chemotherapy, radiation therapy or both may be given to try to shrink the tumour to make it easier to remove. One or both of these treatments may also be used after surgery if the tumour was not able to be completely removed. RMS responds very well to chemotherapy and radiation therapy.

The following types of surgery may be used to treat RMS. Your child may also have other treatments before or after surgery.

Wide local excision

Wide local excision is the most common surgery to treat RMS. The surgeon removes the tumour and some normal tissue around it. The amount of healthy tissue removed depends on the location and stage of the RMS. The surgeon will try to remove all of the tissue from or near the biopsy area along with the tumour.

For RMS around the testicles or in the arm or leg, surgeons often take a biopsy sample from nearby lymph nodes or remove lymph nodes to find out if the cancer has spread to them.

A second surgery is sometimes needed to make sure all of the cancer was removed. Chemotherapy is usually given after the first surgery to help destroy or control the growth of any cancer cells left behind before the second surgery is done.

Reconstructive surgery

After the tumour is removed, reconstructive surgery may be needed to repair damage to the body or to improve the child's appearance.

A skin graft is a piece of healthy skin taken from one part of the body and placed over the surgical wound. Graft surgery is usually done at the same time as the surgery to remove the cancer.

Side effects

Side effects can happen with any type of treatment for RMS, but every child's experience is different. Some children have many side effects. Other children have only a few side effects.

If your child develops side effects, they can happen any time during, immediately after or a few days or weeks after surgery. Sometimes late side effects develop months or years after surgery. Most side effects will go away on their own or can be treated, but some may last a long time or become permanent.

Side effects of surgery will depend mainly on the type and area of surgery, how much tissue was removed and the child's overall health.

Surgery for RMS may cause these side effects:

Tell the healthcare team if your child has these side effects or others you think might be from surgery. The sooner you tell them of any problems, the sooner they can suggest ways to help your child deal with them.

Questions to ask about surgery

Find out more about surgery and side effects of surgery. To make the decisions that are right for your child, ask the healthcare team questions about surgery.

Expert review and references

  • Paul Nathan, MD, MSc, FRCPC
  • Normand Laperriere, MD, FRCPC
  • PDQ® Pediatric Treatment Editorial Board . Childhood Rhabdomyosarcoma Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version . Bethesda, MD : National Cancer Institute ; 2019 : https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • American Cancer Society. Treating Rhabdomyosarcoma. 2018: https://www.cancer.org/.
  • Rhabdomyosarcoma. Provincial Health Services Authority. Musculoskeletal and Sarcoma. Vancouver, BC: http://www.bccancer.bc.ca/. Friday, March 20, 2020.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Rhabdomyosarcoma - Childhood: Types of Treatment. 2018: https://www.cancer.net/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Soft Tissue Sarcoma (Version 6.2019). 2020: https://www.nccn.org/home.
  • PDQ® Pediatric Treatment Editorial Board . Childhood Rhabdomyosarcoma Treatment (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version . Bethesda, MD : National Cancer Institute ; 2020 : https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • Singer S, Tap WD, Kirsch DG, Crago AM. Soft tissue sarcoma. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 88:1400–1450.
  • Cripe TP . Medscape Reference: Pediatric Rhabdomyosarcoma. WebMD LLC; 2018: https://www.medscape.com/.
  • Princess Margaret Cancer Centre . Princess Margaret Cancer Centre Clinical Practice Guidelines - Sarcoma, Soft Tissue Sarcoma . 2019 : https://www.uhn.ca/PrincessMargaret/Health_Professionals/Programs_Departments/Pages/clinical_practice_guidelines.aspx.
  • Wexler LH, Skapek SX, Helman LJ. Rhabdomyosarcoma. Pizzo PA, Poplack DG, eds.. Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology. 7th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2016: 31:798–827.

Chirurgie du rhabdomyosarcome

Dernière révision médicale :

La plupart des enfants atteints d’un rhabdomyosarcome (RMS) subiront une chirurgie que ce soit pour faire une biopsie ou enlever la tumeur. Le type de chirurgie pratiqué dépend surtout de l’emplacement où la tumeur a pris naissance, de la taille de la tumeur, de sa réponse à la chimiothérapie ou à la radiothérapie (si on l’administre avant la chirurgie) et de l’état de santé global de l’enfant.

Le but de la chirurgie est d’enlever complètement la tumeur, mais ce n’est pas toujours possible. Il arrive que le RMS prenne naissance dans une région du corps où il est difficile de faire une chirurgie, comme près d’organes vitaux, de vaisseaux sanguins ou de nerfs. Il est parfois impossible de pratiquer une chirurgie parce qu’elle affectera l’apparence de l’enfant ou le bon fonctionnement de cette partie du corps après l’opération. Dans ces cas-là, la chirurgie pourrait seulement permettre de faire un prélèvement biopsique au lieu d’enlever la tumeur, et on pourrait plutôt avoir recours à d’autres traitements.

Avant la chirurgie, il est possible qu’on administre une chimiothérapie, une radiothérapie, ou bien les deux, afin d’essayer de réduire la taille de la tumeur pour la rendre plus facile à enlever. On peut aussi administrer l’un de ces traitements, ou bien les deux, après la chirurgie s’il n’a pas été possible d’enlever complètement la tumeur. Le RMS répond très bien à la chimiothérapie et à la radiothérapie.

On peut avoir recours aux types suivants de chirurgie pour traiter le RMS. Votre enfant pourrait aussi recevoir d’autres traitements avant ou après la chirurgie.

Excision locale large

L’excision locale large est la chirurgie qu’on pratique le plus souvent pour traiter le RMS. Le chirurgien enlève la tumeur et un peu de tissu normal tout autour. La quantité de tissu sain enlevée dépend de l’emplacement et du stade du RMS. Le chirurgien essaiera d’enlever tout le tissu du site de la biopsie ou de la région voisine avec la tumeur.

Dans le cas du RMS qui apparaît autour des testicules ou bien dans un bras ou une jambe, les chirurgiens font souvent un prélèvement biopsique des ganglions lymphatiques voisins ou bien ils retirent des ganglions lymphatiques pour savoir si le cancer s’y est propagé.

Il faut parfois faire une deuxième chirurgie pour s’assurer que tout le cancer a été enlevé. On administre habituellement une chimiothérapie après la première chirurgie pour aider à détruire les cellules cancéreuses qui restent ou à en maîtriser la croissance avant la deuxième chirurgie.

Chirurgie reconstructive

Une fois la tumeur enlevée, il pourrait être nécessaire de pratiquer une chirurgie reconstructive afin de réparer les dommages subis par le corps ou d’améliorer l’apparence de l’enfant.

Un greffon cutané est un morceau de peau saine prélevé sur une partie du corps et placé sur la plaie chirurgicale. On fait habituellement la greffe en même temps que la chirurgie pratiquée pour enlever le cancer.

Effets secondaires

Peu importe le traitement du RMS, il est possible que des effets secondaires se produisent, mais chaque enfant les ressent différemment. Certains en ont beaucoup alors que d’autres en éprouvent peu.

Si des effets secondaires se manifestent, ils peuvent le faire n’importe quand pendant la chirurgie, tout de suite après ou quelques jours, voire quelques semaines plus tard. Il arrive que des effets secondaires apparaissent des mois ou des années à la suite de la chirurgie (effets tardifs). La plupart disparaissent d’eux-mêmes ou peuvent être traités, mais certains risquent de durer longtemps ou d’être permanents.

Les effets secondaires de la chirurgie dépendent surtout du type de chirurgie et de la région chirurgicale ainsi que de la quantité de tissu enlevé et de l’état de santé global de l’enfant.

La chirurgie du RMS peut causer les effets suivants :

Avisez l’équipe de soins si votre enfant éprouve ces effets secondaires ou d’autres que vous croyez liés à la chirurgie. Plus vite vous mentionnez un problème, plus rapidement on pourra vous dire comment aider à le soulager.

Questions à poser sur la chirurgie

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chirurgie et les effets secondaires de la chirurgie. Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour votre enfant, posez des questions sur la chirurgie à son équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Paul Nathan, MD, MSc, FRCPC
  • Normand Laperriere, MD, FRCPC