Risks for rhabdomyosarcoma

Last medical review:

Certain behaviours, substances or conditions can affect your risk, or chance, of developing cancer. Some things increase your risk and some things decrease it. Most cancers are the result of many risks. But sometimes cancer develops in people who don't have any risks.

Rhabdomyosarcoma (RMS) is most common in children younger than 10 years old. It can also occur in teens and adults. It is slightly more common in boys than in girls.

People who have certain genetic conditions have a higher than average risk for RMS. A genetic condition is a disease caused by a change (mutation) in one or more genes.

The genetic conditions listed below can increase your child's risk for RMS. Talk to your child's doctor about the risk. Your child may need to visit the doctor more often to check for RMS. The doctor will recommend the tests your child should have and how often they should have them.

Li-Fraumeni syndrome

Neurofibromatosis type 1

Beckwith-Wiedemann syndrome

Costello syndrome

Noonan syndrome

Li-Fraumeni syndrome

Li-Fraumeni syndrome is an inherited condition that is associated with an increased risk of developing certain types of cancers, including breast cancer, brain tumours, acute leukemia, bone and soft tissue sarcomas (such as RMS), and adrenal cortical carcinomas.

People with Li-Fraumeni syndrome tend to develop several different types of cancer before the age of 45.

Neurofibromatosis type 1

Neurofibromatosis type 1 is an inherited condition that affects the nervous system. It affects the development and growth of neurons (nerve cells), causes tumours (neurofibromas) to grow on nerves and may produce other abnormalities in muscles, bones and skin. Sometimes cancerous tumours called malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumours may grow along the nerves.

Neurofibromatosis type 1 increases the risk for neuroendocrine tumours, soft tissue sarcoma, such as RMS, brain tumours, leukemia and neuroblastoma.

Beckwith-Wiedemann syndrome

Beckwith-Wiedemann syndrome is an inherited condition that affects how different parts of the body grow. Signs include large body size, large tongue, large organs, a defect in the abdominal wall and low blood sugar in newborns. Beckwith-Wiedemann syndrome is associated with an increased risk of developing cancer, including RMS, Wilms tumour, neuroblastoma and adrenal gland tumours.

Costello syndrome

Costello syndrome is a condition that affects many parts of the body. Children with Costello syndrome often have delayed physical development, intellectual disability, unique facial features including a large mouth with full lips, loose folds of extra skin especially on the hands and feet and unusually flexible joints. They also have a higher risk of developing certain types of cancers, including RMS and neuroblastoma.

Noonan syndrome

Noonan syndrome is an inherited condition that affects many parts of the body. Children with Noonan syndrome have a unique facial appearance including widely spaced eyes and a deep groove in the area between the nose and the mouth, short height, heart defects and bleeding problems. They have a higher risk for RMS.

Expert review and references

  • Canadian Cancer Society | Société canadienne du cancer
  • American Cancer Society . Risk Factors for Rhabdomyosarcoma . 2018 : https://www.cancer.org/.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Rhabdomyosarcoma - Childhood: Risk Factors. 2018: https://www.cancer.net/.
  • Burningham Z, Hasibe M, Spector L & Schiffman JD . The epidemiology of sarcoma. Clinical Sarcoma Research. BioMed Central; 2012.
  • Cripe TP . Medscape Reference: Pediatric Rhabdomyosarcoma. WebMD LLC; 2018: https://www.medscape.com/.
  • Grufferman S, Ruymann F, Ognjanovic S, Erhardt EB, & Maurer HM . Prenatal X-ray exposure and rhabdomyosarcoma in children: a report from the children's oncology group. Cancer Epidemiology, Biomarkers & Prevention. American Association for Cancer Research; 2009.
  • Grufferman S, Schwartz AG, Ruymann FB & Maurer HM . Parents' use of cocaine and marijuana and increased risk of rhabdomyosarcoma in their children . Cancer Causes & Control . Springer ; 1993 .
  • Macmillan Cancer Support. Rhabdomyosarcoma. 2019: https://www.macmillan.org.uk/.
  • PDQ Pediatric Treatment Editorial Board. Childhood Rhabdomyosarcoma Treatment (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • PDQ Pediatric Treatment Editorial Board. Childhood Rhabdomyosarcoma Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2020: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • National Institutes of Health. MedlinePlus Genetics: Costello Syndrome. Bethesda, MD: US Department of Health & Human Services; 2020: https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/.
  • National Institutes of Health. MedlinePlus Genetics: Noonan Syndrome. Bethesda, MD: US Department of Health & Human Services; 2018: https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/.
  • Ognjanovic S, Carozza SE, Chow EJ, et al . Birth characteristics and the risk of childhood rhabdomyosarcoma based on histological subtype. British Journal of Cancer (BJC). Nature Publishing Group; 2010.
  • Roman E, Lightfoot T, Picton S, Kinsey S. Childhood cancers. Thun MJ, Linet MS, Cerhan JR, Haiman CA Schottenfeld D, eds.. Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: Kindle version, 59 https://read.amazon.ca/?asin=B0777JYQQC&language=en-CA.
  • Singer S, Tap WD, Kirsch DG, Crago AM. Soft tissue sarcoma. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 88:1400–1450.
  • Wexler LH, Skapek SX, Helman LJ. Rhandomyosarcoma. Pizzo PA, Poplack DG, eds.. Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology. 7th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2016: 31:798–826.

Risques de rhabdomyosarcome

Dernière révision médicale :

Certains comportements, substances ou états peuvent affecter votre risque, ou probabilité, d’avoir le cancer. Il y a des choses qui font augmenter votre risque alors que d’autres le font diminuer. La plupart des cancers sont attribuables à de nombreux risques. Mais le cancer apparaît parfois chez des personnes qui ne présentent aucun risque.

On observe le rhabdomyosarcome (RMS) le plus souvent chez les enfants de moins de 10 ans. Il peut aussi apparaître chez les adolescents et les adultes. Il est légèrement plus courant chez les garçons que chez les filles.

Les personnes atteintes de certains troubles génétiques présentent un risque plus élevé que la moyenne d’avoir un RMS. Un trouble génétique est une maladie causée par un changement (mutation) dans un ou plusieurs gènes.

Les troubles génétiques indiqués ci-dessous peuvent accroître le risque de RMS de votre enfant. Discutez de ce risque avec le médecin de votre enfant. Votre enfant pourrait devoir consulter le médecin plus souvent pour vérifier la présence d'un RMS. Le médecin vous indiquera quels examens votre enfant devrait passer et à quelle fréquence.

Syndrome de Li-Fraumeni

Neurofibromatose de type 1

Syndrome de Beckwith-Wiedemann

Syndrome de Costello

Syndrome de Noonan

Syndrome de Li-Fraumeni

Le syndrome de Li-Fraumeni est un trouble héréditaire associé à un risque accru d’avoir certains types de cancer, dont le cancer du sein, les tumeurs au cerveau, la leucémie aiguë, les sarcomes des os et des tissus mous (comme le RMS) et les corticosurrénalomes.

Les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Li-Fraumeni ont tendance à développer plusieurs types différents de cancer avant l’âge de 45 ans.

Neurofibromatose de type 1

La neurofibromatose de type 1 est un trouble héréditaire qui touche le système nerveux. Elle nuit au développement des cellules nerveuses (neurones), est responsable de la formation de tumeurs sur les nerfs (neurofibromes) et peut provoquer d’autres anomalies dans les muscles, les os et la peau. Il arrive que des tumeurs cancéreuses appelées tumeurs malignes de la gaine des nerfs périphériques apparaissent le long des nerfs.

La neurofibromatose de type 1 fait augmenter le risque de tumeurs neuroendocrines, de sarcome des tissus mous (comme le RMS), de tumeurs au cerveau, de leucémie et de neuroblastome.

Syndrome de Beckwith-Wiedemann

Le syndrome de Beckwith-Wiedemann est un trouble héréditaire qui affecte la manière dont différentes parties du corps se développent. Les signes sont entre autres un corps surdimensionné, une grosse langue, des organes volumineux, une anomalie de la paroi abdominale et un faible taux de sucre dans le sang chez les nouveau-nés. Le syndrome de Beckwith-Wiedemann est lié à une hausse du risque de certains cancers, dont le RMS, la tumeur de Wilms, le neuroblastome et les tumeurs des glandes surrénales.

Syndrome de Costello

Le syndrome de Costello est un trouble qui affecte de nombreuses parties du corps. Les enfants atteints du syndrome de Costello présentent souvent un retard du développement physique, une déficience intellectuelle, des caractéristiques faciales uniques (notamment une grande bouche et des lèvres charnues), des replis supplémentaires de peau flasque (en particulier sur les mains et les pieds) ainsi que des articulations anormalement flexibles. Ils risquent aussi davantage d’avoir certains types de cancer, dont le RMS et le neuroblastome.

Syndrome de Noonan

Le syndrome de Noonan est un trouble héréditaire qui affecte de nombreuses parties du corps. Les enfants atteints du syndrome de Noonan présentent un aspect facial particulier (dont des yeux très écartés et un profond sillon dans la région située entre le nez et la bouche), sont de petite taille, et ont des malformations cardiaques ainsi que des troubles de saignement. Ils risquent davantage d'être atteints d'un RMS.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Canadian Cancer Society | Société canadienne du cancer
  • American Cancer Society . Risk Factors for Rhabdomyosarcoma . 2018 : https://www.cancer.org/.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Rhabdomyosarcoma - Childhood: Risk Factors. 2018: https://www.cancer.net/.
  • Burningham Z, Hasibe M, Spector L & Schiffman JD . The epidemiology of sarcoma. Clinical Sarcoma Research. BioMed Central; 2012.
  • Cripe TP . Medscape Reference: Pediatric Rhabdomyosarcoma. WebMD LLC; 2018: https://www.medscape.com/.
  • Grufferman S, Ruymann F, Ognjanovic S, Erhardt EB, & Maurer HM . Prenatal X-ray exposure and rhabdomyosarcoma in children: a report from the children's oncology group. Cancer Epidemiology, Biomarkers & Prevention. American Association for Cancer Research; 2009.
  • Grufferman S, Schwartz AG, Ruymann FB & Maurer HM . Parents' use of cocaine and marijuana and increased risk of rhabdomyosarcoma in their children . Cancer Causes & Control . Springer ; 1993 .
  • Macmillan Cancer Support. Rhabdomyosarcoma. 2019: https://www.macmillan.org.uk/.
  • PDQ Pediatric Treatment Editorial Board. Childhood Rhabdomyosarcoma Treatment (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • PDQ Pediatric Treatment Editorial Board. Childhood Rhabdomyosarcoma Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2020: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • National Institutes of Health. MedlinePlus Genetics: Costello Syndrome. Bethesda, MD: US Department of Health & Human Services; 2020: https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/.
  • National Institutes of Health. MedlinePlus Genetics: Noonan Syndrome. Bethesda, MD: US Department of Health & Human Services; 2018: https://medlineplus.gov/genetics/.
  • Ognjanovic S, Carozza SE, Chow EJ, et al . Birth characteristics and the risk of childhood rhabdomyosarcoma based on histological subtype. British Journal of Cancer (BJC). Nature Publishing Group; 2010.
  • Roman E, Lightfoot T, Picton S, Kinsey S. Childhood cancers. Thun MJ, Linet MS, Cerhan JR, Haiman CA Schottenfeld D, eds.. Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: Kindle version, 59 https://read.amazon.ca/?asin=B0777JYQQC&language=en-CA.
  • Singer S, Tap WD, Kirsch DG, Crago AM. Soft tissue sarcoma. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 88:1400–1450.
  • Wexler LH, Skapek SX, Helman LJ. Rhandomyosarcoma. Pizzo PA, Poplack DG, eds.. Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology. 7th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2016: 31:798–826.