Treatments for stage 4S neuroblastoma

Last medical review:

There is no standard treatment for stage 4S neuroblastoma, and many children may not need to have any treatment. If your child doesn't have any symptoms or unfavourable prognostic factors, they may just need watchful waiting (observation). Children with symptoms or unfavourable prognostic factors may be treated with chemotherapy. Surgery may not be necessary for stage 4S neuroblastoma other than a biopsy of the primary site or a site where the disease has spread.

Watchful waiting

Watchful waiting may be the only treatment needed for children with stage 4S neuroblastoma who don't have any symptoms. Often these tumours will disappear on their own or will turn into a non-cancerous ganglioneuroma. If symptoms develop, doctors may offer chemotherapy or other treatments available in a clinical trial.

Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy is sometimes used to treat stage 4S neuroblastoma if children have symptoms or unfavourable prognostic factors. Chemotherapy uses anticancer drugs to destroy cancer cells.

Chemotherapy drugs that may be used include:

  • etoposide
  • cyclophosphamide
  • carboplatin
  • doxorubicin
  • vincristine
Find out more about chemotherapy for neuroblastoma.

Radiation therapy

Low-dose radiation therapy is sometimes, but rarely, used to treat stage 4S neuroblastoma. Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. It may be given to treat symptoms of liver metastases.

Find out more about radiation therapy for neuroblastoma.

Clinical trials

Children with cancer may be treated in a clinical trial. Clinical trials look at new and better ways to prevent, find and treat cancer. Find out more about clinical trials.

Expert review and references

  • Meredith Irwin, MD
  • Daniel Morgenstern, MD
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Neuroblastoma. 2018: https://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/neuroblastoma-childhood/view-all.
  • Lacayo NJ. Pediatric Neuroblastoma. eMedicine/Medscape; 2017: https://emedicine.medscape.com/.
  • Cancer Research UK. Neuroblastoma. Cancer Research UK; 2014.
  • PDQ® Pediatric Treatment Editorial Board. Neuroblastoma Treatment (PDQ®)–Health ProfessionalVersion. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute ; 2020: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • Brodeur GM, Hogarty MD, Bagatell R, Mosse YP, Maris JM. Neuroblastoma. Pizzo PA, Poplack DG, eds.. Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology . 7th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2016: 30:772–797.
  • PDQ® Pediatric Treatment Editorial Board. Neuroblastoma Treatment (PDQ®)–Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/types/neuroblastoma/patient/neuroblastoma-treatment-pdq.
  • American Cancer Society. Treating Neuroblastoma. 2020: https://www.cancer.org/.
  • Bartholomew, J . Neuroblastoma. Baggott C, Fochtman D, Foley GV & Patterson Kelly, K (eds.). Nursing Care of Children and Adolescents with Cancer and Blood Disorders. 4th ed. APHON; 2011: 30: pp. 1038-1053.
  • Lacayo NJ. Medscape: Pediatric Neuroblastoma Treatment and Management. WebMD LLC; 2012.

Traitements du neuroblastome de stade 4S

Il n’y a pas de traitement standard pour le neuroblastome de stade 4S et beaucoup d’enfants n’ont pas besoin de traitement. Si votre enfant ne présente aucun symptôme ni facteur pronostique défavorable, il est possible qu’on n’ait recours qu’à l’observation vigilante (surveillance active). Les enfants présentant des symptômes ou des facteurs pronostiques défavorables peuvent être traités par chimiothérapie. À part la biopsie du siège primitif ou du foyer de métastase (emplacement où la maladie s’est propagée), il est possible que la chirurgie ne soit pas nécessaire dans le cas d’un neuroblastome de stade 4S.

Observation vigilante

L’observation vigilante peut être le seul traitement nécessaire chez les enfants atteints d’un neuroblastome de stade 4S qui ne présentent aucun symptôme. Ces tumeurs disparaissent souvent d’elles-mêmes ou bien elles se transforment en ganglioneurome non cancéreux. Si des symptômes apparaissent, les médecins pourraient proposer de la chimiothérapie ou d’autres traitements offerts dans le cadre d’essais cliniques.

Chimiothérapie

On a parfois recours à la chimiothérapie pour traiter le neuroblastome de stade 4S lorsque les enfants présentent des symptômes ou des facteurs pronostiques défavorables. En chimiothérapie, on a recours à des médicaments anticancéreux pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses.

Les agents chimiothérapeutiques qui peuvent être employés comprennent les suivants :

  • étoposide;
  • cyclophosphamide;
  • carboplatine;
  • doxorubicine;
  • vincristine.
Apprenez-en davantage sur la chimiothérapie pour le neuroblastome.

Radiothérapie

On emploie parfois, quoique rarement, la radiothérapie à faible dose pour traiter le neuroblastome de stade 4S. En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. On peut l’administrer pour traiter les symptômes causés par des métastases hépatiques.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie pour le neuroblastome.

Essais cliniques

Les enfants atteints de cancer peuvent être traités en essais cliniques. L’essai clinique met à l’étude de nouvelles façons de prévenir, de trouver ou de traiter le cancer. Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Neuroblastoma. 2014.
  • Bartholomew, J . Neuroblastoma. Baggott C, Fochtman D, Foley GV & Patterson Kelly, K (eds.). Nursing Care of Children and Adolescents with Cancer and Blood Disorders. 4th ed. APHON; 2011: 30: pp. 1038-1053.
  • Brodeur GM, Hogarty MC, et al . Neuroblastoma. Pizzo, P. A. & Poplack, D. G. (Eds.). Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 30:886-922.
  • National Cancer Institute. Neuroblastoma Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.