Treatments for recurrent neuroblastoma

Recurrent neuroblastoma means that the cancer has come back after it has been treated. The following are treatment options for recurrent neuroblastoma. The healthcare team will suggest treatments based on your child's needs and work with you to develop a treatment plan.

High-risk neuroblastoma has a greater chance of recurring than low- or intermediate-risk neuroblastoma. In general, when the disease comes back (recurs) in only one area, the prognosis is better than when it recurs in many locations, such as bone and bone marrow.

Treatments for recurrent neuroblastoma are given based on the risk group given to the cancer when it was first diagnosed. The treatments offered also depend on:

  • the stage of the cancer at diagnosis
  • certain characteristics of the recurrent tumour, such as chromosome changes
  • where the cancer recurs
  • treatments the child has already received
  • the child's overall health

Treatments for low-risk neuroblastoma that recurs

Children first treated for low-risk neuroblastoma who have a recurrence that is found in one place may be treated with surgery or chemotherapy or both.

If the recurrent neuroblastoma has spread to other parts of the body, it is often treated with chemotherapy. Surgery may be done to remove as much of the recurrent tumour as possible.

Chemotherapy combinations used to treat recurrent neuroblastoma include:

  • carboplatin, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin and etoposide
  • cyclophosphamide and topotecan
  • irinotecan and temozolomide

Find out more about chemotherapy for neuroblastoma.

Treatments for intermediate-risk neuroblastoma that recurs

Children first treated for intermediate-risk neuroblastoma who have a recurrence that is found in one place may be treated with surgery. Chemotherapy may also be given. Radiation therapy may be used if the cancer keeps growing or spreads after chemotherapy and second-look surgery.

If the recurrent neuroblastoma has spread to other parts of the body, treatment often needs to be more aggressive. A combination of therapies are used, including chemotherapy, surgery, radiation therapy, stem cell rescue, retinoids and immunotherapy.

Treatments for high-risk neuroblastoma that recurs

Children first treated for high-risk neuroblastoma who have a recurrence or who have refractory disease (neuroblastoma that does not respond to initial induction chemotherapy) may be treated with a variety of different treatments. One of the most effective regimens is chemotherapy combined with immunotherapy.

Chemotherapy combinations that may be used are:

  • temozolomide and irinotecan (sometimes with dinutuximab, an immunotherapy drug)
  • topotecan and cyclophosphamide

Find out more about chemotherapy for neuroblastoma.

Sometimes radioisotope therapy with metaiodobenzylguanidine (MIBG) may be used to treat high-risk neuroblastoma that recurs. This treatment is only available in a few Canadian centres and is often given within a clinical trial. Stem cell rescue may be needed after treatment to help the bone marrow to recover. Find out more about radiation therapy for neuroblastoma and stem cell rescue for neuroblastoma.

ALK inhibitors (such as crizotinib) target neuroblastoma cells that have an abnormal ALK gene. ALK inhibitors may be used to treat neuroblastoma that is no longer responding to other treatments if there is evidence that the tumour has an abnormal ALK gene. Find out more about targeted therapy for neuroblastoma.

If the neuroblastoma does not respond fully to these treatments, or if it comes back multiple times, doctors may be able to treat it with newer, more experimental drugs as part of an early phase clinical trial.

Neuroblastoma that recurs in the central nervous system (CNS)

Children who have neuroblastoma that recurs in the central nervous system (CNS, or the brain and spinal cord) may have surgery to remove the tumour. Radiation therapy is usually given after surgery.

Clinical trials

Children with cancer may be treated in a clinical trial. Clinical trials look at new and better ways to prevent, find and treat cancer. Find out more about clinical trials.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Neuroblastoma. Atlanta, GA: 2014: http://www.cancer.org/acs/groups/cid/documents/webcontent/003125-pdf.pdf.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Neuroblastoma. 2014.
  • Bartholomew, J . Neuroblastoma. Baggott C, Fochtman D, Foley GV & Patterson Kelly, K (eds.). Nursing Care of Children and Adolescents with Cancer and Blood Disorders. 4th ed. APHON; 2011: 30: pp. 1038-1053.
  • Brodeur GM, Hogarty MC, et al . Neuroblastoma. Pizzo, P. A. & Poplack, D. G. (Eds.). Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 30:886-922.
  • Duffey-Lind, E . Neuroblastoma. Kline, N. E. (Ed.). Essentials of Pediatric Oncology Nursing: A Core Curriculum. 2nd ed. Association of Pediatric Oncology Nurses; 2004: 2:6: pp. 35-30.
  • National Cancer Institute. Neuroblastoma Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.
  • National Cancer Institute. Neuroblastoma Treatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.

Traitements de la récidive du neuroblastome

La récidive d’un neuroblastome signifie que le cancer réapparaît à la suite du traitement. En présence d’un neuroblastome récidivant, on peut avoir recours aux options de traitement suivantes. L’équipe de soins suggérera des traitements qui se basent sur les besoins de votre enfant et travaillera en collaboration avec vous pour élaborer un plan de traitement.

Le neuroblastome à risque élevé est associé à un plus grand risque de récidive que le neuroblastome à risque faible ou moyen. En général, lorsque la maladie ne réapparaît (récidive) que dans une région, le pronostic est plus favorable que lorsqu’elle récidive à de nombreux endroits, comme les os et la moelle osseuse.

Les traitements du neuroblastome récidivant sont basés sur la catégorie de risque assignée au cancer au moment du diagnostic. Les traitements dépendent aussi des éléments suivants :

  • le stade du cancer au moment du diagnostic;
  • certaines caractéristiques de la tumeur récidivante, comme des changements chromosomiques;
  • l’emplacement de la récidive;
  • les traitements que l’enfant a déjà reçus;
  • l’état de santé global de l’enfant.

Traitements de la récidive d’un neuroblastome à risque faible

Lorsqu’une récidive survient dans un seul emplacement chez des enfants initialement traités pour un neuroblastome à risque faible, les options de traitement comprennent la chirurgie, la chimiothérapie ou les deux.

Si le neuroblastome récidivant s’est propagé à d’autres parties du corps, on le traite habituellement par chimiothérapie. On peut faire une chirurgie pour enlever la plus grande partie possible de la tumeur récidivante.

Les associations chimiothérapeutiques administrées pour traiter le neuroblastome récidivant incluent les suivantes :

  • carboplatine, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicine et étoposide;
  • cyclophosphamide et topotécan;
  • irinotécan et témozolomide.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chimiothérapie pour le neuroblastome.

Traitements de la récidive d’un neuroblastome à risque moyen

Une récidive qui survient dans un seul emplacement chez des enfants initialement traités pour un neuroblastome à risque moyen peut être traitée par une chirurgie. On peut aussi administrer une chimiothérapie. On peut avoir recours à la radiothérapie si le cancer continue de croître ou se répand après une chimiothérapie et une chirurgie de second regard.

Si le neuroblastome récidivant s’est propagé à d’autres parties du corps, le traitement doit souvent être plus agressif et peut consister en une association de traitements comprenant la chimiothérapie, la chirurgie, la radiothérapie, le sauvetage par greffe de cellules souches, les rétinoïdes et l’immunothérapie.

Traitements de la récidive d’un neuroblastome à risque élevé

Lorsqu’une récidive survient chez des enfants d’abord traités pour un neuroblastome à risque élevé ou lorsque la maladie est réfractaire (le neuroblastome ne répond pas à la chimiothérapie d’induction initiale), les options de traitement sont variées. Un des protocoles les plus efficaces consiste en une chimiothérapie associée à une immunothérapie.

On peut employer les associations chimiothérapeutiques suivantes :

  • témozolomide et irinotécan (parfois associés au dinutuximab, un médicament immunothérapeutique);
  • topotécan et cyclophosphamide.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chimiothérapie pour le neuroblastome.

On a parfois recours à un traitement radio-isotopique utilisant la métaiodobenzylguanidine (MIBG) pour traiter la récidive d’un neuroblastome à risque élevé. Ce traitement n’est offert que dans quelques centres canadiens, souvent dans le cadre d’un essai clinique. Un sauvetage par greffe de cellules souches peut être nécessaire par la suite pour faciliter le rétablissement de la moelle osseuse. Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie pour le neuroblastome et le sauvetage par greffe de cellules souches pour le neuroblastome.

Les inhibiteurs de l’ALK (comme le crizotinib) ciblent les cellules du neuroblastome qui comportent un gène ALK anormal. On peut faire appel aux inhibiteurs de l’ALK pour traiter un neuroblastome qui ne répond plus aux autres traitements si la présence d’un gène ALK anormal dans la tumeur a été confirmée. Apprenez-en davantage sur le traitement ciblé pour le neuroblastome.

Si le neuroblastome ne répond pas pleinement à ces traitements, ou s’il réapparaît à plusieurs reprises, les médecins pourraient être en mesure de le traiter à l’aide de médicaments plus récents et expérimentaux dans le cadre d’un essai clinique de phase précoce.

Neuroblastome récidivant dans le système nerveux central (SNC)

On peut avoir recours à la chirurgie pour enlever la tumeur chez des enfants dont le neuroblastome récidive dans le système nerveux central (SNC, soit l’encéphale et la moelle épinière). On administre habituellement de la radiothérapie après la chirurgie.

Essais cliniques

Les enfants atteints de cancer peuvent être traités en essais cliniques. L’essai clinique met à l’étude de nouvelles façons de prévenir, de trouver ou de traiter le cancer. Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Neuroblastoma. Atlanta, GA: 2014: http://www.cancer.org/acs/groups/cid/documents/webcontent/003125-pdf.pdf.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Neuroblastoma. 2014.
  • Bartholomew, J . Neuroblastoma. Baggott C, Fochtman D, Foley GV & Patterson Kelly, K (eds.). Nursing Care of Children and Adolescents with Cancer and Blood Disorders. 4th ed. APHON; 2011: 30: pp. 1038-1053.
  • Brodeur GM, Hogarty MC, et al . Neuroblastoma. Pizzo, P. A. & Poplack, D. G. (Eds.). Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 30:886-922.
  • Duffey-Lind, E . Neuroblastoma. Kline, N. E. (Ed.). Essentials of Pediatric Oncology Nursing: A Core Curriculum. 2nd ed. Association of Pediatric Oncology Nurses; 2004: 2:6: pp. 35-30.
  • National Cancer Institute. Neuroblastoma Treatment (PDQ®) Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.
  • National Cancer Institute. Neuroblastoma Treatment (PDQ®) Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2014.