Non-cancerous tumours of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses

A non-cancerous (benign) tumour of the nasal cavity or paranasal sinuses is a growth that does not spread (metastasize) to other parts of the body. Non-cancerous tumours are not usually life-threatening, and they are typically removed with surgery. Non-cancerous tumours located in the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses usually come back (recur).

There are a few types of non-cancerous tumours of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses.

Nasal polyps

Nasal polyps are the most common non-cancerous nasal cavity and paranasal sinus tumour. They are abnormal growths in the mucous membrane of the nose and sinuses. Sometimes many polyps grow at the same time.

Nasal polyps can cause:

  • stuffy, blocked or runny nose

  • loss of sense of smell

  • headache

Most nasal polyps develop when allergies, infection or other conditions make the mucous membrane of the nose or paranasal sinuses inflamed. Nasal polyps may also develop in people with asthma.

Nasal polyps are usually treated when they start to cause symptoms. Treatments include nasal steroid sprays, corticosteroid medicines, allergy medicines and sometimes antibiotics. Steroid and allergy medicines can help shrink polyps and prevent them from growing back. Antibiotics are used to treat an infection. You may need surgery to remove polyps if they are large or don't go away with medicines.

Inverting papilloma

Inverting papilloma is the second most common non-cancerous nasal cavity and paranasal sinus tumour. Inverting papilloma is a warty growth that is most common in men between the ages of 40 and 70. Research suggests that about 30% of cases of inverting papilloma are linked to an infection with the human papillomavirus (HPV).

This type of tumour is considered non-cancerous, but inverting papilloma is aggressive. It can destroy the surrounding bone or grow deeply into the tissues near the sinuses, including brain tissue.

Inverting papilloma can cause:

  • blocked nose

  • watery eyes

  • nosebleeds

In 5% to 15% of cases, inverting papilloma may develop into squamous cell carcinoma (SCC), which is a cancerous tumour. Find out more about cancerous tumours of the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses.

Because inverting papilloma can be dangerous and may become cancerous, doctors usually remove these tumours with surgery using an endoscope. Inverting papilloma comes back or grows into surrounding tissues in about 10% to 20% of cases.

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Nasal and Paranasal Sinus Cancers. Atlanta, GA: 2014: http://www.cancer.org/acs/groups/cid/documents/webcontent/003123-pdf.pdf.
  • Kupferman ME, Sturgis ME, Schwartz DL, Garden A, Kies MS . Neoplasms of the head and neck. Hong WK, et al (eds.). Holland Frei Cancer Medicine. 8th ed. People's Medical Publishing House; 2010: 77: 959-998.
  • Mendenhall WM, Werning JW, Pfister DG . Cancer of the head and neck. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 38: 422-473.
  • Newkirk KA, Holsinger FC . Cancers of the head and neck. Feig BW & Ching CD. The MD Anderson Surgical Oncology Handbook. 5th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2012: 6: 196-219.
  • Princess Margaret Cancer Centre. Princess Margaret Cancer Centre Clinical Practice Guidelines - Head & Neck, Nasal Cavity and Paranasal Sinus. 2014: http://www.theprincessmargaret.ca/en/HealthcareProfessionals/ProgramDepartments/HN/Documents/Nasal-Cavity-Paranasal-Sinus.pdf.
  • Tabaee A, Persky MS . Cancer of the nasal vestibule, nasal cavity, paranasal sinuses, anterior skull base, and orbit: Surgical management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, & Kies MS. Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 20:525-559.
  • US National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health. Nasal Polyps. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health; 2013.
  • US National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health. Allergic Rhinitis. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health; 2014.

Tumeurs non cancéreuses des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux

Une tumeur non cancéreuse (bénigne) des fosses nasales ou des sinus paranasaux est une masse qui ne se propage pas à d’autres parties du corps (pas de métastases). Les tumeurs non cancéreuses ne mettent habituellement pas la vie en danger. En général, on les retire par chirurgie. Généralement, les tumeurs non cancéreuses logées dans les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux réapparaissent (on parle alors de récidive).

Il existe quelques types de tumeurs non cancéreuses des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.

Polypes nasaux

La tumeur non cancéreuse qui survient le plus souvent dans les fosses nasales et les sinus paranasaux est le polype nasal. Il s’agit d’une masse anormale qui apparaît dans la muqueuse du nez et des sinus. De nombreux polypes peuvent parfois se manifester en même temps.

Les polypes nasaux peuvent provoquer les effets suivants :

  • nez congestionné, bouché ou qui coule;

  • perte de l’odorat;

  • maux de tête.

La plupart des polypes nasaux apparaissent lorsque la muqueuse du nez ou des sinus paranasaux est enflammée en raison d’allergies, d’une infection ou d’autres affections. Ils peuvent aussi survenir chez des personnes atteintes d’asthme.

On traite habituellement les polypes nasaux lorsqu’ils commencent à provoquer des symptômes. Pour ce faire, on utilise des stéroïdes en vaporisateur nasal, des corticostéroïdes, des médicaments contre les allergies et, parfois, des antibiotiques. Les stéroïdes et les médicaments contre les allergies aident à réduire la taille des polypes et les empêchent de croître de nouveau. Les antibiotiques servent à traiter les infections. Vous pourriez avoir besoin d'une chirurgie pour enlever les polypes s'ils sont volumineux ou s'ils ne disparaissent pas malgré l’emploi de médicaments.

Papillome inversé

Le papillome inversé est le deuxième type le plus courant de tumeur des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux. Le papillome inversé est une masse verruqueuse qui survient le plus souvent chez les hommes âgés de 40 à 70 ans. La recherche semble indiquer que 30 % environ des cas de papillome inversé sont liés à une infection au virus du papillome humain (VPH).

Le papillome inversé est considéré comme non cancéreux, mais il s'agit d'un type agressif de tumeur. Il peut détruire les os qui l’entourent ou croître en profondeur dans les tissus situés près des sinus, dont le tissu cérébral.

Le papillome inversé peut provoquer les effets suivants :

  • nez bouché;

  • yeux mouillés (larmoiement);

  • saignements de nez.

Dans 5 à 15 % des cas, le papillome inversé se transforme en carcinome épidermoïde, qui est cancéreux. Apprenez-en davantage sur les tumeurs cancéreuses des fosses nasales et des sinus paranasaux.

Puisque le papillome inversé peut être dangereux et qu’il risque de devenir cancéreux, les médecins retirent habituellement cette tumeur par chirurgie au moyen d’un endoscope. Le papillome inversé réapparaît ou envahit les tissus voisins dans environ 10 à 20 % des cas.

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Nasal and Paranasal Sinus Cancers. Atlanta, GA: 2014: http://www.cancer.org/acs/groups/cid/documents/webcontent/003123-pdf.pdf.
  • Kupferman ME, Sturgis ME, Schwartz DL, Garden A, Kies MS . Neoplasms of the head and neck. Hong WK, et al (eds.). Holland Frei Cancer Medicine. 8th ed. People's Medical Publishing House; 2010: 77: 959-998.
  • Mendenhall WM, Werning JW, Pfister DG . Cancer of the head and neck. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 38: 422-473.
  • Newkirk KA, Holsinger FC . Cancers of the head and neck. Feig BW & Ching CD. The MD Anderson Surgical Oncology Handbook. 5th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2012: 6: 196-219.
  • Princess Margaret Cancer Centre. Princess Margaret Cancer Centre Clinical Practice Guidelines - Head & Neck, Nasal Cavity and Paranasal Sinus. 2014: http://www.theprincessmargaret.ca/en/HealthcareProfessionals/ProgramDepartments/HN/Documents/Nasal-Cavity-Paranasal-Sinus.pdf.
  • Tabaee A, Persky MS . Cancer of the nasal vestibule, nasal cavity, paranasal sinuses, anterior skull base, and orbit: Surgical management. Harrison LB, Sessions RB, & Kies MS. Head and Neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 20:525-559.
  • US National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health. Nasal Polyps. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health; 2013.
  • US National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health. Allergic Rhinitis. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health; 2014.