Prognosis and survival for childhood osteosarcoma

Last medical review:

The following are prognostic and predictive factors for childhood osteosarcoma.

If the cancer has spread

Metastasis is when cancer spreads from where it started to another part of the body. Whether or not the cancer has already spread when it is first diagnosed is the most important prognostic factor for childhood osteosarcoma. Metastasis is linked with a poorer prognosis.

Osteosarcoma that has only spread to a lung has a more favourable prognosis than osteosarcoma that has spread to other bones.

Location of the tumour

Tumours farther from the centre of the body have a better prognosis than tumours closer to the centre of the body. This may be because tumours farther from the centre of the body are usually easier to remove surgically.

Tumours in the upper arms or upper legs have a better prognosis than tumours in the pelvis or spine. Tumours in the pelvis or spine tend to have the poorest prognosis. They are often detected late and are often closer to other important organs, which makes them hard to completely remove.

Size of the primary tumour

Larger tumours appear to have a poorer prognosis than smaller tumours.

Response to neoadjuvant chemotherapy

Chemotherapy is usually given before surgery to shrink the tumour and make surgery easier. This is called neoadjuvant chemotherapy. Osteosarcoma that responds well to neoadjuvant chemotherapy (more than 90% of the tumour cells are killed) has a better prognosis than osteosarcoma that does not respond to neoadjuvant chemotherapy.

Whether the tumour is completely removed

Tumours that can be completely removed have a better prognosis than tumours that can't be completely removed.

Broken bones

Tumours that cause breaks (fractures) in the bone have a poorer prognosis than tumours that have not led to broken bones.

Expert review and references

  • Abha Gupta, MD, MSc, FRCPC
  • Raveena Ramphal, MBChB, FRACP

Survival statistics for childhood osteosarcoma

Survival statistics for osteosarcoma (a type of childhood bone cancer) are very general estimates and depend on stage.

Pronostic et survie pour l’ostéosarcome chez l'enfant

Dernière révision médicale :

Les éléments suivants sont les facteurs pronostiques et les facteurs prédictifs de l’ostéosarcome chez l'enfant.

Si le cancer s’est propagé

Une métastase est la propagation du cancer à partir de son emplacement d’origine vers une autre partie du corps. Que le cancer se soit ou non déjà propagé au moment du diagnostic initial est le facteur pronostique le plus important de l’ostéosarcome chez l’enfant. La présence de métastases est liée à un pronostic plus sombre.

Un ostéosarcome qui ne s’est propagé qu’à un seul poumon engendre un pronostic plus favorable qu'un ostéosarcome qui s'est propagé à d'autres os.

Emplacement de la tumeur

Les tumeurs qui prennent naissance dans les os situés loin du centre du corps engendrent un meilleur pronostic que les tumeurs qui apparaissent dans les os situés près du centre du corps. C’est peut-être parce que les tumeurs plus éloignées du centre du corps sont habituellement plus faciles à enlever par chirurgie.

Les tumeurs au bras et à la cuisse ont un meilleur pronostic que les tumeurs au bassin ou à la colonne vertébrale. Les tumeurs au bassin ou à la colonne vertébrale ont tendance à engendrer le pronostic le plus sombre. On les détecte souvent tardivement et elles sont souvent plus près d’autres organes importants, ce qui les rend plus difficiles à enlever complètement.

Taille de la tumeur primitive

Les grosses tumeurs semblent avoir un pronostic plus sombre que les petites tumeurs.

Réponse à la chimiothérapie néoadjuvante

On administre habituellement une chimiothérapie avant la chirurgie afin de réduire la taille de la tumeur et ainsi faciliter la chirurgie. C’est une chimiothérapie néoadjuvante. L'ostéosarcome qui répond bien à la chimiothérapie néoadjuvante (plus de 90 % des cellules tumorales sont détruites) engendre un meilleur pronostic que l’ostéosarcome qui ne répond pas à la chimiothérapie néoadjuvante.

Tumeur enlevée complètement ou non

Les tumeurs qu’on peut enlever complètement engendrent un meilleur pronostic que les tumeurs qu’on ne peut pas enlever en entier.

Os fracturés

Les tumeurs qui provoquent des fractures (cassures) dans les os engendrent un pronostic plus sombre que celles qui ne causent pas de fractures.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Abha Gupta, MD, MSc, FRCPC
  • Raveena Ramphal, MBChB, FRACP

Statistiques de survie pour l’ostéosarcome chez l'enfant

Les statistiques de survie à l'ostéosarcome (type de cancer des os chez l’enfant) sont des estimations très générales qui dépendent du stade.