Risks for childhood bone cancer

Last medical review:

Certain behaviours, substances or conditions can affect your risk, or chance, of developing cancer. Some things increase your risk and some things decrease it. Most cancers are the result of many risks. But sometimes cancer develops in people who don't have any risks.

There are 2 main types of bone cancer that develop in children. The types are osteosarcoma and Ewing sarcoma.

Osteoscarcoma

The chance that this cancer will develop is highest during the growth spurt in the teenage years. It occurs slightly more often in boys and in Black children (including children of African or Caribbean ancestry).

The following can increase the risk for osteosarcoma.

Certain inherited genetic syndromes

Previous radiation therapy

Previous chemotherapy

Certain bone diseases

Certain inherited genetic syndromes

Genetic syndromes are diseases or disorders caused by a change (mutation) in one or more genes. Having the following inherited genetic syndromes can increase a child’s risk of developing osteosarcoma.

Familial retinoblastoma is an inherited form of retinoblastoma, which is an eye cancer that occurs in children. Children with familial retinoblastoma have a higher risk of developing osteosarcoma and soft tissue sarcoma.

Li-Fraumeni syndrome is associated with an increased risk of developing certain types of cancers, including breast cancer, brain tumours, acute leukemias, soft tissue and bone sarcomas and adrenal cortical carcinomas.

Rothmund-Thomson syndrome causes skin rashes, thinning skin, small groups of blood vessels under the skin (telangiectasia) and bone problems. It increases the risk of developing osteosarcoma.

Werner syndrome causes the body to age very rapidly after puberty. It increases the risk for melanoma, bone, soft tissue and thyroid cancers.

Bloom syndrome causes shorter than average height, a high-pitched voice and a characteristic facial appearance. It is associated with an increased risk of developing cancer, including leukemia, lymphoma, breast, cervical, colon, stomach, laryngeal, non-melanoma skin cancers and osteosarcoma, as well as Wilms tumour. People with Bloom syndrome often develop several different types of cancer.

Diamond-Blackfan anemia affects the bone marrow. It also increases the risk for osteosarcoma.

Neurofibromatosis type 1 affects the nervous system. It affects the development and growth of neurons (nerve cells), causes tumours (neurofibromas) to grow on nerves and may cause other abnormalities in muscles, bones and skin. Sometimes cancerous tumours called malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumours may grow along the nerves. Neurofibromatosis type 1 increases the risk for neuroendocrine tumours, soft tissue sarcoma, osteosarcoma, brain tumours, leukemia and neuroblastoma.

Previous radiation therapy

Children who had radiation therapy have a higher risk of developing osteosarcoma in the area that was treated. The risk is greater if higher doses of radiation therapy were used and if the child was treated at a young age. Osteosarcoma typically develops 5 to 20 years after radiation therapy.

Previous chemotherapy

Children who had certain types of chemotherapy have a higher risk of developing osteosarcoma. This risk may be even higher if the child also received radiation therapy.

Certain bone diseases

Children who have Paget disease of the bone or other bone diseases have a higher risk of developing osteosarcoma later in life (usually as an adult).

No link to osteosarcoma

Significant evidence shows no link between osteosarcoma and fluoride use or previous bone injury or fracture.

Ewing sarcoma

Ewing sarcoma usually develops during the teenage years and is slightly more common in boys than in girls. It occurs more frequently in white children and is rare in Black children (including children of African or Caribbean ancestry).

There are no known risks for Ewing sarcoma.

Expert review and references

  • Canadian Cancer Society | Société canadienne du cancer
  • Archer NP, Napier TS, Villanacci JF . Fluoride exposure in public drinking water and childhood and adolescent osteosarcoma in Texas. Cancer Causes and Control. 2016.
  • Roman E, Lightfoot T, Picton S, Kinsey S. Childhood cancers. Thun MJ, Linet MS, Cerhan JR, Haiman CA Schottenfeld D, eds.. Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 59.
  • Bassin, E. B., Wypij, D., Davis, R. B., et al . Age-specific fluoride exposure in drinking water and osteosarcoma (United States). Cancer Causes & Control. Springer; 2006.
  • Blakey K, Feltbower RG, Parslow RC, James PW, Gomez PB, et al . Is fluoride a risk factor for bone cancer? Small area analysis of osteosarcoma and Ewing sarcoma diagnosed among 0-49 year olds in Great Britain, 1980-2005. International Journal of Epidemiology. 2014.
  • Gorlick R, Janeway K, Marina N. Osteosarcoma. Pizzo PA, Poplack DG, eds.. Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology . 7th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2016: 34:877–899.
  • Hawkins DS, Brennan BMD, Bolling T, Davidson DJ, Dirksen U, DuBois SG, Hogendoorn PCS, Lessnick SL. Ewing sarcoma. Pizzo PA, Poplack DG, eds.. Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology . 7th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2016: 33:855–876.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 75: Ionizing Radiation Part 1: X- and Gamma (y)-Radiation, and Neutrons. 2000: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol75/mono75.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100D: Radiation: a review of human carcinogens. 2011: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100D/mono100D.pdf.
  • Levy M, and Leclerc BS . Fluoride in drinking water and osteosarcoma incidence rates in the continental United States among children and adolescents. Cancer Epidemiology. Elsevier; 2012.
  • Miller RW, Boice JD, Jr & Curtis RE . Bone cancer. Schottenfeld, D. & Fraumeni, J. F. Jr. (eds.). Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press; 2006: 48: pp. 946-958.
  • Ross, J.A. & Spector, L.G . Cancers in children. Schottenfeld, D. & Fraumeni, J. F. Jr. (Eds.). Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press; 2006: 65: 1252-1268.
  • Wang LL, Yustein J, Louis C, et al . Solid tumors of childhood. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 123: pp. 1760-92.

Risques de cancer des os chez l'enfant

Dernière révision médicale :

Certains comportements, substances ou états peuvent affecter votre risque, ou probabilité, d’avoir le cancer. Il y a des choses qui font augmenter votre risque alors que d’autres le font diminuer. La plupart des cancers sont attribuables à de nombreux risques. Mais le cancer apparaît parfois chez des personnes qui ne présentent aucun risque.

Il existe 2 types principaux de cancer des os chez l’enfant. Ce sont l'ostéosarcome et le sarcome d'Ewing.

Ostéosarcome

Le risque d’apparition de ce cancer est le plus élevé au cours de la poussée de croissance de l’adolescence. L’ostéosarcome se manifeste un peu plus souvent chez les garçons ainsi que chez les enfants noirs (dont ceux qui sont d’origine africaine ou caribéenne).

Les facteurs suivants peuvent accroître le risque d'ostéosarcome.

Certains syndromes génétiques héréditaires

Radiothérapie antérieure

Chimiothérapie antérieure

Certaines maladies des os

Certains syndromes génétiques héréditaires

Les syndromes génétiques sont des maladies ou des troubles causés par un changement (mutation) dans un ou plusieurs gènes. Être atteint d'un des syndromes génétiques héréditaires suivants peut faire augmenter le risque d’ostéosarcome d'un enfant.

Le rétinoblastome familial est une forme héréditaire du rétinoblastome, qui est un cancer de l'œil affectant les enfants. Les enfants atteints d’un rétinoblastome familial risquent davantage d’avoir un ostéosarcome et un sarcome des tissus mous.

Le syndrome de Li-Fraumeni est associé à un risque accru d’avoir certains types de cancer, dont le cancer du sein, les tumeurs au cerveau, les leucémies aiguës, le sarcome des tissus mous, l’ostéosarcome et le corticosurrénalome.

Le syndrome de Rothmund-Thomson provoque des éruptions cutanées, l’amincissement de la peau, la formation de petits groupes de vaisseaux sanguins sous la peau (télangiectasie) et des problèmes osseux. Il fait augmenter le risque d'ostéosarcome.

Le syndrome de Werner engendre un vieillissement très rapide du corps après la puberté. Il accroît le risque de mélanome, de cancer des os, des tissus mous et de la thyroïde.

Le syndrome de Bloom est caractérisé par une taille plus petite que la moyenne, une voix aiguë et un visage à l’aspect distinctif. Il est lié à une hausse du risque de certains cancers, dont la leucémie, le lymphome, le cancer du sein, du col de l’utérus, du côlon, de l’estomac, du larynx, de la peau autre que le mélanome, de l'ostéosarcome ainsi que la tumeur de Wilms. Les personnes qui ont le syndrome de Bloom seront souvent atteintes de plusieurs types différents de cancer.

L'anémie de Diamond-Blackfan affecte la moelle osseuse. Elle fait aussi augmenter le risque d'ostéosarcome.

La neurofibromatose de type 1 touche le système nerveux. Elle nuit au développement des cellules nerveuses (neurones), est responsable de la formation de tumeurs sur les nerfs (neurofibromes) et peut causer d’autres anomalies dans les muscles, les os et la peau. Il arrive que des tumeurs cancéreuses appelées tumeurs malignes de la gaine des nerfs périphériques apparaissent le long des nerfs. La neurofibromatose de type 1 fait augmenter le risque de tumeurs neuroendocrines, de sarcome des tissus mous, d'ostéosarcome, de tumeurs au cerveau, de leucémie et de neuroblastome.

Radiothérapie antérieure

Les enfants qui ont déjà reçu une radiothérapie risquent davantage d'être atteints d'un ostéosarcome dans la région qui a été traitée. Le risque est encore plus grand si on a administré de fortes doses et si l’enfant a été traité à un jeune âge. L'ostéosarcome se manifeste généralement de 5 à 20 ans après la radiothérapie.

Chimiothérapie antérieure

Les enfants qui ont déjà reçu certains types de chimiothérapie risquent davantage d'être atteints d'un ostéosarcome. Ce risque peut être encore plus élevé si les enfants ont également été traités par radiothérapie.

Certaines maladies des os

Les enfants atteints de la maladie osseuse de Paget ou d’autres maladies des os risquent davantage d’avoir un ostéosarcome plus tard (habituellement à l'âge adulte).

Aucun lien avec l'ostéosarcome

Des preuves importantes ne révèlent aucun lien entre l'ostéosarcome et l'usage de fluorure ni une blessure ou une fracture osseuse antérieure.

Sarcome d’Ewing

Le sarcome d'Ewing apparaît habituellement au cours de l’adolescence et est légèrement plus courant chez les garçons que chez les filles. Il affecte davantage les enfants blancs et est rare chez les enfants noirs (dont ceux qui sont d'origine africaine ou caribéenne).

On ne connaît aucun risque au sarcome d’Ewing.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Canadian Cancer Society | Société canadienne du cancer
  • Archer NP, Napier TS, Villanacci JF . Fluoride exposure in public drinking water and childhood and adolescent osteosarcoma in Texas. Cancer Causes and Control. 2016.
  • Roman E, Lightfoot T, Picton S, Kinsey S. Childhood cancers. Thun MJ, Linet MS, Cerhan JR, Haiman CA Schottenfeld D, eds.. Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2018: 59.
  • Bassin, E. B., Wypij, D., Davis, R. B., et al . Age-specific fluoride exposure in drinking water and osteosarcoma (United States). Cancer Causes & Control. Springer; 2006.
  • Blakey K, Feltbower RG, Parslow RC, James PW, Gomez PB, et al . Is fluoride a risk factor for bone cancer? Small area analysis of osteosarcoma and Ewing sarcoma diagnosed among 0-49 year olds in Great Britain, 1980-2005. International Journal of Epidemiology. 2014.
  • Gorlick R, Janeway K, Marina N. Osteosarcoma. Pizzo PA, Poplack DG, eds.. Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology . 7th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2016: 34:877–899.
  • Hawkins DS, Brennan BMD, Bolling T, Davidson DJ, Dirksen U, DuBois SG, Hogendoorn PCS, Lessnick SL. Ewing sarcoma. Pizzo PA, Poplack DG, eds.. Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology . 7th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2016: 33:855–876.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 75: Ionizing Radiation Part 1: X- and Gamma (y)-Radiation, and Neutrons. 2000: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol75/mono75.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100D: Radiation: a review of human carcinogens. 2011: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100D/mono100D.pdf.
  • Levy M, and Leclerc BS . Fluoride in drinking water and osteosarcoma incidence rates in the continental United States among children and adolescents. Cancer Epidemiology. Elsevier; 2012.
  • Miller RW, Boice JD, Jr & Curtis RE . Bone cancer. Schottenfeld, D. & Fraumeni, J. F. Jr. (eds.). Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press; 2006: 48: pp. 946-958.
  • Ross, J.A. & Spector, L.G . Cancers in children. Schottenfeld, D. & Fraumeni, J. F. Jr. (Eds.). Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press; 2006: 65: 1252-1268.
  • Wang LL, Yustein J, Louis C, et al . Solid tumors of childhood. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 9th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011: 123: pp. 1760-92.