Supportive therapy

Last medical review:

Supportive therapy is an important part of treatment for leukemia. It is given to treat complications from treatment and the leukemia itself. Some of these complications can include infection, bleeding and low blood cell counts.

Antibiotics, antivirals and antifungals

Different types of drugs are used to prevent and treat infections. An infection is when bacteria, viruses or other harmful organisms enter the body and your immune system cannot destroy them. Your immune system is your body's natural defence against infection and disease.

You may receive antibiotics, antivirals and antifungals to prevent or treat bacterial, viral and fungal infections. These are given to help prevent an infection if your white blood cell (WBC) count is too low, the risk of infection is high, or it is suspected you have an infection. Antibiotics, antiviral or antifungal drugs are given orally (by mouth) or intravenously (through an IV).

An infection is a serious complication in people with leukemia. Infections can be caused by the leukemia as well as treatments such as chemotherapy. Infections are common in people receiving cancer treatment because it lowers the number of WBCs. WBCs are an important part of your immune system and play a key role in defending your body against viruses and bacteria. When your WBC counts are low, your immune system is less able to fight an infection on its own (called immunosuppression or immunocompromised). You will usually need to be treated in the hospital with infection-fighting drugs.

An infection can start in almost any part of your body. Common locations of an infection include the skin, mouth, respiratory tract (such as sinuses or lungs), mucous membranes, blood and urinary tract (such as the bladder and kidney), and rectum. Examples of infections include pneumonia, sepsis, shingles and influenza.

The most common symptom of an infection is a fever. Other symptoms include:

  • chills or shivering

  • mouth sores, red or white patches in the mouth

  • sore throat

  • cough

  • shortness of breath or rapid breathing

  • frequent, painful urination

  • diarrhea

  • pain, redness or swelling of the rectal area

  • drainage, pus, redness or swelling from a cut, a sore, an incision, a venous access device or a drainage tube

Find out more about treating infections and managing low white blood cell counts.

Blood transfusions

Your healthcare team will check your blood cell counts during treatment. You will be given blood transfusions when needed to replace the blood cells you may have lost. The types of replacement transfusions used include:

  • red blood cells
  • platelets
  • fresh frozen plasma
  • cryoprecipitate (a product that replaces clotting factors)

Find out more about blood transfusions.

Growth factors

Granulocyte colony-stimulating factors (G-CSFs, called growth factors), such as filgrastim (Neupogen) and pegfilgrastim (Neulasta), may be used to stimulate the production of white blood cells. This shortens the length of time you will have a low white blood cell count and lowers the risk of infection.

These drugs may be given as a subcutaneous injection (just under the skin) or intravenously.

Treatment for tumour lysis syndrome

Tumour lysis syndrome (TLS) usually occurs at the start of chemotherapy when many tumour cells are destroyed. When the cells die, their contents are released into the bloodstream. This can create abnormally high levels of uric acid, potassium and phosphorus. TLS occurs when cancer cells break down so quickly that kidneys can't remove these substances from the blood fast enough.

The following treatments are used to lower the levels of these substances in the blood. These treatments may be given orally as a tablet or intravenously.

  • increased intravenous fluids
  • allopurinol (Zyloprim)
  • sodium bicarbonate
  • rasburicase (Fasturtec)

TLS can be life-threatening and requires urgent treatment.

Find out more about tumour lysis syndrome.

Leukapheresis

Leukapheresis is a procedure that uses a special machine to remove large numbers of white blood cells from a sample of blood. The blood is then given back to the person. This may be done to lower a very high white blood cell count in people with leukemia.

Questions to ask about treatment

To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about treatment. For more detailed information on specific drugs, go to sources of drug information.

Expert review and references

  • O'Brien SG, Goldman JM . Diagnosis and treatment of chronic myeloid leukemia. Wiernik PH, Goldman JM, Dutcher JP & Kyle RA (eds.). Neoplastic Diseases of the Blood. 5th ed. Springer; 2013: 5: pp. 45-62.
  • American Cancer Society . Treating Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia (ALL) . 2021 : https://www.cancer.org/.
  • Kebriaei P, Ravandi F, de Lima M, Champlin R. Management of acute leukemias. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 102:1742–1763..
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network . NCCN Guidelines for Patients: Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia . 2021 : https://www.nccn.org/.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) . Cancer.net: Leukemia - Acute Lymphocytic - ALL. 2017 : https://www.cancer.net/.
  • Amgen Canada Inc.. Product Monograph: Neulasta. https://pdf.hres.ca/dpd_pm/00059540.PDF.
  • Amgen Canada Inc.. Product Monograph: Neulasta. https://pdf.hres.ca/dpd_pm/00059540.PDF.

Traitement de soutien

Dernière révision médicale :

Le traitement de soutien joue un rôle important dans le traitement de la leucémie. On y a recours pour gérer les complications engendrées par le traitement et par la leucémie même. Ces complications peuvent comprendre les infections, les saignements et une baisse du nombre de cellules sanguines.

Antibiotiques, antiviraux et antifongiques

On a recours à différents types de médicaments pour prévenir et traiter les infections. Une infection apparaît quand des bactéries, des virus ou d'autres organismes nuisibles entrent dans le corps et que le système immunitaire est incapable de les détruire. Le système immunitaire est le mécanisme de défense naturel du corps contre les infections et les maladies.

Vous pourriez recevoir des antibiotiques, des antiviraux ou des antifongiques pour prévenir ou traiter des infections bactériennes, virales ou fongiques. On les administre pour aider à prévenir les infections si le nombre de vos globules blancs (GB) est trop bas, si le risque d'infection est élevé ou si on croit que vous êtes atteint d'une infection. Les antibiotiques, les antiviraux et les antifongiques sont administrés par la bouche (voie orale) ou dans une veine (voie intraveineuse, ou IV).

L’infection est une complication grave chez les personnes atteintes de leucémie. Les infections peuvent être causées par la leucémie ainsi que par certains traitements comme la chimiothérapie. Les infections sont courantes chez les personnes qui reçoivent un traitement pour un cancer puisqu’il réduit le nombre de GB. Les GB sont une composante importante du système immunitaire et ils jouent un rôle clé dans la défense du corps contre les virus et les bactéries. Quand le nombre de GB est bas, le système immunitaire est moins en mesure de combattre les infections par lui-même; vous êtes donc immunosupprimé, ou immunodéprimé. Dans ce cas-là, il faut habituellement être traité à l'hôpital à l'aide de médicaments qui combattent les infections.

Les infections peuvent apparaître dans presque n'importe quelle partie du corps. Elles le font fréquemment dans la peau, la bouche, les voies respiratoires (comme les sinus ou les poumons), les muqueuses, le sang et les voies urinaires (comme la vessie et les reins) ainsi que le rectum. La pneumonie, la septicémie, le zona et la grippe sont des exemples d'infections.

Le symptôme le plus courant d'une infection est la fièvre. Voici d’autres symptômes :

  • frissons ou tremblements;

  • lésions et plaques rouges ou blanches dans la bouche;

  • maux de gorge;

  • toux;

  • essoufflement ou respiration rapide;

  • urines fréquentes et douloureuses;

  • diarrhée;

  • douleur, rougeur ou enflure dans la région du rectum;

  • écoulement ou pus provenant d'une coupure, d'une lésion, d'une incision, d'un dispositif d'accès veineux ou d'un drain ou bien rougeur ou enflure dans cette région.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le traitement des infections et la gestion de la baisse du nombre de globules blancs.

Transfusions sanguines

Votre équipe de soins vérifie le nombre de vos cellules sanguines pendant le traitement. Vous recevrez des transfusions de sang au besoin dans le but de remplacer les cellules sanguines qui ont été détruites. Les types de transfusions d'échange sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • globules rouges;
  • plaquettes;
  • plasma frais congelé;
  • cryoprécipité (produit qui remplace les facteurs de coagulation).

Apprenez-en davantage sur les transfusions sanguines.

Facteurs de croissance

On peut avoir recours aux facteurs de stimulation des colonies de granulocytes (G-CSF, des facteurs de croissance), comme le filgrastim (Neupogen) et le pegfilgrastim (Neulasta), pour stimuler la production de globules blancs. Cela raccourcit la période pendant laquelle le nombre de vos globules blancs est bas et réduit le risque d'infection.

Il est possible d'administrer ces médicaments par injection sous-cutanée (juste sous la peau) ou par intraveineuse.

Traitement du syndrome de lyse tumorale

Le syndrome de lyse tumorale (SLT) apparaît habituellement au début de la chimiothérapie alors qu’un grand nombre de cellules tumorales sont détruites. Lorsque les cellules meurent, leur contenu est libéré dans la circulation sanguine. Cela peut engendrer des taux anormalement élevés d’acide urique, de potassium et de phosphore. Le SLT se manifeste quand les cellules cancéreuses se décomposent tellement vite que les reins ne parviennent pas à éliminer ces substances du sang assez rapidement.

Les traitements suivants permettent de réduire le taux de ces substances dans le sang. On les administre par voie orale, sous forme de comprimé, ou par voie intraveineuse :

  • liquides supplémentaires par intraveineuse;
  • allopurinol (Zyloprim);
  • bicarbonate de soude;
  • rasburicase (Fasturtec).

Le SLT peut mettre la vie en danger et doit être traité d'urgence.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le syndrome de lyse tumorale.

Leucaphérèse

La leucaphérèse est une intervention lors de laquelle on utilise un appareil particulier pour enlever beaucoup de globules blancs dans un prélèvement de sang. On redonne ensuite le sang à la personne. On peut y avoir recours pour réduire un nombre très élevé de globules blancs chez les personnes atteintes de leucémie.

Questions à poser sur le traitement

Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur le traitement à votre équipe de soins. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur des médicaments spécifiques, consultez la section Sources d’information sur les médicaments.

Révision par les experts et références

  • O'Brien SG, Goldman JM . Diagnosis and treatment of chronic myeloid leukemia. Wiernik PH, Goldman JM, Dutcher JP & Kyle RA (eds.). Neoplastic Diseases of the Blood. 5th ed. Springer; 2013: 5: pp. 45-62.
  • American Cancer Society . Treating Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia (ALL) . 2021 : https://www.cancer.org/.
  • Kebriaei P, Ravandi F, de Lima M, Champlin R. Management of acute leukemias. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 102:1742–1763..
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network . NCCN Guidelines for Patients: Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia . 2021 : https://www.nccn.org/.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) . Cancer.net: Leukemia - Acute Lymphocytic - ALL. 2017 : https://www.cancer.net/.
  • Amgen Canada Inc.. Product Monograph: Neulasta. https://pdf.hres.ca/dpd_pm/00059540.PDF.
  • Amgen Canada Inc.. Product Monograph: Neulasta. https://pdf.hres.ca/dpd_pm/00059540.PDF.