Treatments for papillary thyroid cancer

Last medical review:

You may be offered the following treatments for papillary thyroid cancer. Your healthcare team will suggest treatments based on your needs, the stage of the cancer and the risk group. They will work with you to develop a treatment plan.

Localized or regional papillary thyroid cancer has not spread outside of the thyroid. It is most often treated with surgery to remove part or all of the thyroid gland. Hormone therapy is used to replace the hormones normally made by the thyroid. Radiation therapy may also be used. If you have a small, low-risk tumour, you may be offered active surveillance.

Metastatic papillary thyroid cancer has spread outside of the thyroid to distant parts of the body. It may be treated with radiation therapy, hormone therapy, targeted therapy and sometimes surgery.

Recurrent papillary thyroid cancer means that the cancer has come back after it has been treated. Treatment will depend on where the cancer recurs. If the cancer is in the neck, it may be removed with surgery if possible. Radiation therapy may also be used, either alone or with surgery. Targeted therapy or chemotherapy may be used if the cancer has spread to several places and does not respond to radiation therapy.

Surgery

Surgery is usually the main treatment for papillary thyroid cancer. The type of surgery done depends on your age, the size of the tumour and if the cancer has spread outside the thyroid.

Total thyroidectomy is removal of the entire thyroid gland. It is the most common type of surgery used for papillary thyroid cancer. It is done if the doctor plans to use radioactive iodine therapy (also called RAI therapy).

Lobectomy is removal of one part, or lobe, of the thyroid. It may be done for some low-risk cancers. Lobectomy may be used if the area has never been exposed to radiation, there is no distant metastases, the tumour is only in the thyroid and the tumour is 1 to 4 cm in diameter.

Neck dissection removes lymph nodes from the neck. The surgeon may also remove other tissues around the thyroid. It is done if a biopsy shows there is cancer in the lymph nodes in the neck or the doctor thinks there is cancer in these lymph nodes based on the results of imaging tests such as an ultrasound or a CT scan. The type of neck dissection done depends on which lymph nodes in the neck the doctors think have cancer in them and how the lymph nodes look during surgery. It also depends on which tissues outside of the thyroid the cancer has spread to.

Find out more about surgery for thyroid cancer.

Active surveillance

Active surveillance may be used to treat some very small, low-risk papillary thyroid cancers. Active surveillance involves watching the cancer with regular tests and exams to check if it is starting to grow or cause symptoms.

Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy uses high-energy rays or particles to destroy cancer cells. It is often used to treat papillary thyroid cancer. Radiation therapy may be used after surgery to treat any cancer cells or thyroid tissue that remains. It may also be used to treat cancer that has spread to lymph nodes or other parts of the body.

Radioactive iodine (RAI) therapy is a type of internal radiation therapy. After surgery, a radioactive iodine uptake test can be done to find out if the thyroid cancer takes up RAI. For cancers that take up RAI, RAI therapy is used. It is sometimes given after surgery for early papillary thyroid cancer (T1 or T2 tumours). It can also be used to treat more advanced papillary thyroid cancer (such as T3 or T4 tumours or cancer that has spread to lymph nodes or distant areas).

External radiation therapy may be used to treat areas of distant spread that don't respond to RAI therapy.

Find out more about radiation therapy for thyroid cancer.

Hormone therapy

Hormone therapy is used to replace the hormone thyroxine, which would normally be made by the thyroid. It is also used to slow down the growth of any remaining cancer cells and help prevent the cancer from coming back, or recurring. It is a standard treatment after surgery to remove all of the thyroid.

The type of hormone therapy used is levothyroxine (Synthroid, Eltroxin). It is given as a pill once a day. If you are having RAI therapy, levothyroxine may not be started until RAI therapy is finished. You will have to take levothyroxine for the rest of your life if you have a total thyroidectomy.

Find out more about hormone therapy for thyroid cancer.

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on cancer cells or inside them to stop the growth and spread of cancer. You may be offered targeted therapy for metastatic or recurrent papillary thyroid cancer. It may also be given if the cancer doesn't respond to other treatments. It is typically used when RAI therapy has not worked or has stopped working.

The targeted therapy drugs used for papillary thyroid cancer are sorafenib (Nexavar) and lenvatinib (Lenvima). They are given as a pill.

Find out more about targeted therapy for thyroid cancer.

Clinical trials

Talk to your doctor about clinical trials open to people with thyroid cancer in Canada. Clinical trials look at new ways to prevent, find and treat cancer. Find out more about clinical trials.

Expert review and references

  • Shereen Ezzat, MD, FRCPC, FACP
  • American Cancer Society. Treating Thyroid Cancer . 2021: https://www.cancer.org/.
  • HealthLinkBC. Thyroid Cancer. 2019: https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/.
  • Alberta Health Services. Thyroid Cancer Treatment in Alberta. Edmonton: 2019: https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/.
  • Sharma PK. Medscape Reference: Thyroid Cancer. WebMD LLC; 2021: https://www.medscape.com/.
  • Alberta Health Services. MyHealth Alberta.ca: Thyroid Cancer. Government of Alberta; https://myhealth.alberta.ca/.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Thyroid Cancer. 2021: https://www.cancer.net/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Guidelines for Patients: Thyroid Cancer. 2020.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network . NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Thyroid Carcinoma (Version 3.2021) . 2021 .
  • Kotwal A, Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB. Thyroid Tumors. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 81:1326–1337.

Traitements du cancer papillaire de la thyroïde

Dernière révision médicale :

On peut vous offrir les traitements suivants pour le cancer papillaire de la thyroïde. Votre équipe de soins vous proposera des traitements en fonction de vos besoins, du stade du cancer et de la catégorie de risque. On discutera avec vous afin d’élaborer un plan de traitement.

Le cancer papillaire localisé ou régional ne s'est pas propagé hors de la thyroïde. On le traite le plus souvent par chirurgie dans le but d'enlever la glande thyroïde en partie ou en totalité. L'hormonothérapie permet de remplacer les hormones normalement fabriquées par la thyroïde. On peut aussi administrer une radiothérapie. Si la tumeur est petite et à risque faible, on pourrait proposer la surveillance active.

Le cancer papillaire métastatique s'est propagé hors de la thyroïde jusqu'à des parties du corps éloignées de cette glande. On peut le traiter par radiothérapie, hormonothérapie, traitement ciblé et parfois par chirurgie.

La récidive d'un cancer papillaire de la thyroïde signifie que le cancer est réapparu à la suite du traitement. Le traitement dépend d'où le cancer a récidivé. Si le cancer est dans le cou, il est possible qu'on puisse l'enlever par chirurgie. On peut aussi avoir recours à la radiothérapie, seule ou associée à une chirurgie. Un traitement ciblé ou une chimiothérapie peut être administré si le cancer s'est propagé à différents endroits et s'il ne répond pas à la radiothérapie.

Chirurgie

La chirurgie est habituellement le traitement principal du cancer papillaire de la thyroïde. Le type de chirurgie pratiqué dépend de votre âge, de la taille de la tumeur et de la propagation du cancer hors de la thyroïde.

La thyroïdectomie totale consiste à enlever toute la glande thyroïde. C’est le type de chirurgie le plus couramment pratiqué pour traiter le cancer papillaire de la thyroïde. On effectue une thyroïdectomie totale si le médecin envisage d’avoir recours au traitement à l’iode radioactif (parfois appelé traitement à l'IRA).

La lobectomie consiste à enlever une partie de la thyroïde appelée lobe. On peut y avoir recours pour traiter certains cancers à risque faible. Pratiquer une lobectomie pourrait être possible si la région n'a jamais été exposée à la radiation, s'il n'y a pas de métastases à distance, si la tumeur ne se trouve que dans la thyroïde et si elle mesure de 1 à 4 cm de diamètre.

Le curage ganglionnaire cervical consiste à enlever les ganglions lymphatiques du cou. Le chirurgien peut aussi retirer d’autres tissus autour de la thyroïde. On fait un curage ganglionnaire cervical lorsqu’une biopsie révèle que le cancer s’est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques du cou ou que le médecin croit qu'ils sont atteints en raison des résultats d’examens d’imagerie tels que l’échographie ou la tomodensitométrie (TDM). Le type de curage ganglionnaire cervical effectué dépend des ganglions que le médecin croit atteints et de l’apparence des ganglions pendant l’opération. Il dépend également de la propagation du cancer aux tissus situés hors de la thyroïde.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la chirurgie du cancer de la thyroïde.

Surveillance active

On peut avoir recours à la surveillance active comme traitement de certains cancers papillaires de la thyroïde à risque faible et de très petite taille. La surveillance active consiste à suivre de près le cancer à l'aide de tests et d'examens effectués régulièrement pour vérifier s'il commence à grossir ou à provoquer des symptômes.

Radiothérapie

En radiothérapie, on a recours à des rayons ou à des particules de haute énergie pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses. On emploie souvent la radiothérapie pour traiter le cancer papillaire de la thyroïde. Il est possible qu'on administre la radiothérapie après une chirurgie pour traiter les cellules cancéreuses ou le tissu thyroïdien qui restent. On peut aussi avoir recours à la radiothérapie pour traiter un cancer qui s'est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques ou à d'autres parties du corps.

Le traitement à l'iode radioactif (IRA) est un type de radiothérapie interne. Après la chirurgie, on peut effectuer une épreuve de fixation de l'iode radioactif pour savoir si le cancer de la thyroïde absorbe l'IRA. Quand le cancer absorbe l'IRA, on fait alors un traitement à l'IRA. On l'administre parfois après une chirurgie dans le cas du cancer papillaire précoce de la thyroïde (tumeur T1 ou T2). On peut aussi y avoir recours pour traiter un cancer papillaire de la thyroïde qui est plus avancé (comme une tumeur T3 ou T4 ou un cancer qui s'est propagé aux ganglions lymphatiques ou à des emplacements éloignés de la thyroïde).

Une radiothérapie externe peut être administrée pour traiter des régions éloignées de la thyroïde où le cancer s'est propagé et qui ne répondent pas au traitement à l'IRA.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la radiothérapie pour le cancer de la thyroïde.

Hormonothérapie

L'hormonothérapie permet de remplacer la thyroxine, une hormone normalement fabriquée par la thyroïde. On y a aussi recours pour ralentir la croissance des cellules cancéreuses qui restent et pour aider à prévenir la réapparition (récidive) du cancer. C'est un traitement standard qu'on administre après la chirurgie pratiquée pour enlever toute la thyroïde.

Le type de médicament hormonal employé est la lévothyroxine (Synthroid, Eltroxin). On le prend sous forme de pilule une fois par jour. Si vous recevez un traitement à l'IRA, il est possible que la lévothyroxine ne soit administrée qu'après ce traitement. Si on vous a fait une thyroïdectomie totale, vous devrez prendre de la lévothyroxine pour le reste de votre vie.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l'hormonothérapie du cancer de la thyroïde.

Traitement ciblé

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques, comme des protéines, présentes à la surface ou à l’intérieur des cellules cancéreuses dans le but d’interrompre la croissance et la propagation du cancer. On peut vous proposer le traitement ciblé pour un cancer papillaire de la thyroïde métastatique ou récidivant. On pourrait aussi l'administrer si le cancer ne répond pas à d'autres traitements. On y a généralement recours quand le traitement à l'IRA n'a pas été efficace ou qu'il ne fait plus effet.

Les médicaments ciblés employés pour traiter le cancer papillaire de la thyroïde sont le sorafenib (Nexavar) et le lenvatinib (Lenvima). On les administre sous forme de pilule.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le traitement ciblé du cancer de la thyroïde.

Essais cliniques

Demandez à votre médecin s’il y a des essais cliniques en cours au Canada pour les personnes atteintes d’un cancer de la thyroïde. Les essais cliniques visent à trouver de nouvelles méthodes de prévention, de détection et de traitement du cancer. Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Shereen Ezzat, MD, FRCPC, FACP
  • American Cancer Society. Treating Thyroid Cancer . 2021: https://www.cancer.org/.
  • HealthLinkBC. Thyroid Cancer. 2019: https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/.
  • Alberta Health Services. Thyroid Cancer Treatment in Alberta. Edmonton: 2019: https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/.
  • Sharma PK. Medscape Reference: Thyroid Cancer. WebMD LLC; 2021: https://www.medscape.com/.
  • Alberta Health Services. MyHealth Alberta.ca: Thyroid Cancer. Government of Alberta; https://myhealth.alberta.ca/.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Health Professional Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). Cancer.net: Thyroid Cancer. 2021: https://www.cancer.net/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network. NCCN Guidelines for Patients: Thyroid Cancer. 2020.
  • PDQ® Adult Treatment Editorial Board. Thyroid Cancer Treatment (PDQ®) – Patient Version. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute; 2021: https://www.cancer.gov/.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network . NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Thyroid Carcinoma (Version 3.2021) . 2021 .
  • Kotwal A, Davidge-Pitts CJ, Thompson GB. Thyroid Tumors. DeVita VT Jr., Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 81:1326–1337.