Risk factors for non-melanoma skin cancer

A risk factor is something that increases the risk of developing cancer. It could be a behaviour, substance or condition. Most cancers are the result of many risk factors. The most important risk factor for non-melanoma skin cancer is ultraviolet radiation (UVR) from the sun and indoor tanning.

Non-melanoma skin cancer is the most common cancer diagnosed in Canadians. It makes up at least 40% of all new cancer cases in Canada.

Statistics for non-melanoma skin cancers show that the chance of developing non-melanoma skin cancer increases with age. Most new cases are diagnosed in people between 80 and 90 years of age. But most cancer registries in Canada do not collect information about non-melanoma skin cancers. This is because these cancers are hard to keep track of. The information often doesn’t get reported because non-melanoma skin cancer is usually diagnosed and treated easily in a doctor’s office.

Of the most common types of non-melanoma skin cancer, basal cell carcinoma (BCC) seems to affect men and women equally, and squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) is diagnosed more often in men.

Actinic keratosis is a precancerous condition of the skin. It isn’t cancer, but it can sometimes become SCC if it isn’t treated. Some of the risk factors for non-melanoma skin cancer may also cause actinic keratosis. Find out more about actinic keratosis.

Risk factors are generally listed in order from most to least important. But in most cases, it is impossible to rank them with absolute certainty.

Ultraviolet radiation (UVR)

Being in contact with ultraviolet radiation (UVR) is the most important risk factor for developing skin cancer. The sun is the main source of UVR. Indoor tanning equipment, such as tanning beds and sun lamps, is also a source of UVR.

Having a tan means that your skin has been damaged by contact with UVR. UVR can cause sunburns, premature aging, cataracts and skin cancers.

Most cases of non-melanoma skin cancer are caused by contact with UVR from the sun over a long time. People who work outside, such as farmers, have a higher risk of developing non-melanoma skin cancer because they are outdoors for long periods. People who live at high altitudes or in areas with year-round, bright sunlight also have a greater risk of developing non-melanoma skin cancer.

BCC is most common in people with a fair complexion. It has been most strongly linked to on-and-off exposure to UVR, sunburns and overexposure during the childhood or teenage years.

SCC is most strongly linked to total lifetime sun exposure. This includes recreational and work-related exposure and being exposed to UVR a lot during childhood.

Light-coloured skin, eyes and hair

People with fair or light-coloured skin have a higher risk of developing non-melanoma skin cancer than people with other skin types. People with blonde or red hair and blue, green or grey eyes also have a higher risk of developing non-melanoma skin cancer. Their risk is greater because people with these features have less melanin. Melanin is what gives colour to your skin, hair and eyes. Experts think that it also helps protect the skin from UVR. People with a fair or light-coloured skin who had very bad sunburns at an early age have the highest risk for non-melanoma skin cancers.

Albinism is a condition that causes a lack of melanin in the skin, eyes and hair. People with this condition burn easily, increasing their risk of developing non-melanoma skin cancer.

Personal history of skin cancer

People who have already had skin cancer (non-melanoma or melanoma) have a greater risk of developing another skin cancer, including BCC and SCC.

Ionizing radiation

People who had radiation therapy (a source of ionizing radiation) have a greater risk of developing non-melanoma skin cancer in the treatment area. This type of skin cancer can develop 15 to 20 years after they received radiation therapy.

Radiation exposure from nuclear fallout, such as in Hiroshima, Japan, is linked with a higher risk of developing non-melanoma skin cancer.

Arsenic

Coming into contact with arsenic increases the risk of developing non-melanoma skin cancer. Arsenic is a naturally occurring substance found in rocks and soil. Arsenic and substances that contain arsenic are also found in certain types of wood preservatives, pesticides and insecticides.

People who work in mining and smelting industries can be exposed to arsenic. People who manufacture and apply pesticides and insecticides may also be exposed to arsenic.

The biggest risk of exposure is through drinking water that contains high levels of arsenic. Arsenic can get into drinking water from natural sources or from certain types of mining, smelting or manufacturing plants.

Working with certain products

Working with certain products increases the risk of developing non-melanoma skin cancer. These products include coal and shale, industrial tar and pitch, creosote, chimney soot and paraffin.

PUVA therapy

PUVA therapy is a treatment used for skin conditions such as psoriasis. It uses the drug psoralen and UVA radiation. Psoralen makes the skin more sensitive to UVA light. Receiving PUVA therapy for a long time increases your risk of developing SCC.

Xeroderma pigmentosum

Xeroderma pigmentosum is a hereditary condition that affects the skin so it can’t repair sun damage. When someone has xeroderma pigmentosum, their skin is more sensitive to UVR so that it changes colour and ages prematurely. People with xeroderma pigmentosum also have a high risk of developing non-melanoma and melanoma skin cancers.

Basal cell nevus syndrome

Basal cell nevus syndrome is also known as Gorlin syndrome or nevoid basal cell carcinoma syndrome. It is a rare hereditary condition caused by a mutation in a gene that suppresses tumours, known as the patched 1 gene (PTCH1).

Basal cell nevus syndrome causes different problems with the skin, eyes, nervous system, endocrine glands and jawbone. People with this syndrome also have a high risk of developing many basal cell carcinomas.

Weakened immune system

People with a weakened immune system have a higher risk of developing non-melanoma skin cancer. This includes people who had an organ transplant and must take medicines to suppress their immune system and those infected with the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV).

Possible risk factors

The following factors have been linked with non-melanoma skin cancer, but there is not enough evidence to show for sure that they are risk factors. More research is needed to clarify the role of these factors for non-melanoma skin cancer.

  • human papillomavirus (HPV) infection
  • taking medicines that make your skin more sensitive to the sun (called photosensitizing drugs)
  • having lots of freckles or moles
  • smoking tobacco

Questions to ask your healthcare team

To make the decisions that are right for you, ask your healthcare team questions about risks.

Expert review and references

  • Canadian Cancer Society's Advisory Committee on Cancer Statistics. Canadian Cancer Statistics 2014. Toronto, ON: Canadian Cancer Society; 2014.
  • Chahoud J, Semaan A, Chen Y, et al . Association between ß-genus human papillomavirus and cutaneous squamous cell carcinoma in immunocompetent individuals: a meta-analysis. JAMA Dermatology. 2016.
  • Ferrucci LM, Cartmel B, Molinaro AM, Leffell DJ, Bale AE, Mayne ST . Indoor tanning and risk of early-onset basal cell carcinoma. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. Elsevier; 2012.
  • HealthLink BC, Government of British Columbia. Actinic Keratosis. 2015: http://www.healthlinkbc.ca/healthtopics/content.asp?hwid=tr5806spec.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) . Volume 90: Human Papillomaviruses . 2007 : http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol90/mono90.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 75: Ionizing Radiation Part 1: X- and Gamma (y)-Radiation, and Neutrons. 2000: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol75/mono75.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 67: Human immunodeficiency viruses and human T-cell lymphotropic viruses. 1996: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol67/mono67.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100C: Arsenic, metals, fibres and dusts: a review of human carcinogens. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100C/mono100C.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 55: Solar and Ultraviolet Radiation. 1992: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol55/mono55.pdf.
  • Karagas MR, Weinstock MA, Nelson HH . Keratinocyte carcinomas (basal and squamous cell carcinomas of the skin). Schottenfeld D, Fraumeni JF Jr (eds.). Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press; 2006: 64:1230-1250.
  • Khalesi M, Whiteman DC, Tran B, Kimlin MG, Olsen CM, Neale RE . A meta-analysis of pigmentary characteristics, sun sensitivity, freckling and melanocytic nevi and risk of basal cell carcinoma of the skin. Cancer Epidemiology. 2013.
  • Kroumpouzos G, Konstadoulakis MM, Cabral H, Karakousis CP . Risk of basal cell and squamous cell carcinoma in persons with prior cutaneous melanoma. Dermatologic Surgery. 2000.
  • Lindelof B, Sigurgeirsson B, Gabel H, et al . Incidence of skin cancer in 5356 patients following organ transplantation. British Journal of Dermatology. 2000.
  • National Institutes of Health. Genetics Home Reference: Gorlin Syndrome. Bethesda, MD: US National Library of Medicine; 2008.
  • National Toxicology Program. 14th Report on Carcinogens. Department of Health and Human Services; 2016: http://ntp.niehs.nih.gov/pubhealth/roc/index-1.html.
  • Perez HC, Benavides X, Perez JS, et al . Basic aspects of the pathogenesis and prevention of non-melanoma skin cancer in solid organ transplant recipients: a review. International Journal of Dermatology. 2017.
  • Pouplard C, Brenaut E, Horreau C, et al . Risk of cancer in psoriasis: a systematic review and meta-analysis of epidemiological studies. Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology. 2013.
  • Robinson SN, Zens MS, Perry AE, Spencer SK, Duell EJ, Karagas MR . Photosensitizing agents and the risk of non-melanoma skin cancer: a population-based case-control study. Journal of Investigative Dermatology. 2013: http://www.jidonline.org/article/S0022-202X(15)36351-X/fulltext.
  • van der Leest RJ, Flohil SC, Arends LR, de Vries E, Nijsten T . Risk of subsequent cutaneous malignancy in patients with prior melanoma: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology. 2015.
  • Yang K, Kurian A, Barankin B . Actinic keratosis: a practical overview. Skin Therapy Letter. SkinCareGuide; 2013: http://www.skintherapyletter.com/fp/download/stl_fp_9_2_en.pdf.

Reducing your risk for non-melanoma skin cancer

The best way to reduce your risk of non-melanoma is to protect yourself from UV rays. Learn how to lower your risk of developing skin cancer.

Facteurs de risque du cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome

Un facteur de risque est quelque chose qui accroît le risque d’apparition d’un cancer. Ce peut être un comportement, une substance ou un état. La plupart des cancers sont attribuables à de nombreux facteurs de risque. Le plus important facteur de risque du cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome est les rayons ultraviolets (UV) émanant du soleil et du bronzage artificiel.

Le cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome est le cancer le plus souvent diagnostiqué chez les Canadiens. Il représente au moins 40 % de tous les nouveaux cas de cancer au Canada.

Les statistiques sur le cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome révèlent que le risque d’en être atteint augmente avec l’âge. La plupart des nouveaux cas sont diagnostiqués chez des personnes âgées en 80 et 90 ans. Mais au Canada, la plupart des registres du cancer ne recueillent pas de données sur le cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome puisqu’il est difficile d’en faire le suivi. Il arrive souvent que les données ne soient pas consignées parce qu’en général, on diagnostique et on traite facilement le cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome dans le bureau du médecin.

Parmi les types les plus courants de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome, le carcinome basocellulaire (CBC) semble affecter l’homme autant que la femme, et on diagnostique plus souvent le carcinome spinocellulaire (CSC) chez l’homme.

La kératose sénile est un état précancéreux de la peau. Ce n’est pas un cancer, mais elle peut parfois se transformer en CSC si elle n’est pas traitée. Certains des facteurs de risque du cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome peuvent aussi causer la kératose sénile. Apprenez-en davantage sur la kératose sénile.

Les facteurs de risque sont habituellement classés du plus important au moins important. Mais, dans la plupart des cas, il est impossible de les classer avec une certitude absolue.

Rayons ultraviolets (UV)

Être en contact avec des rayons ultraviolets (UV) est le facteur de risque le plus important du cancer de la peau. Le soleil est la source principale de rayons UV. Les appareils de bronzage artificiel, comme les lits de bronzage et les lampes solaires, sont également une source de rayons UV.

Être bronzé signifie que votre peau a été endommagée par les rayons UV. Les rayons UV peuvent causer des coups de soleil, le vieillissement prématuré, des cataractes et des cancers de la peau.

La plupart des cas de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome sont causés par un contact prolongé avec les rayons UV du soleil. Les personnes qui travaillent dehors, comme les agriculteurs, risquent davantage d’être atteintes d’un cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome parce qu’elles sont dehors pendant de longues périodes. Les personnes qui vivent à haute altitude ou dans des régions où le soleil brille ardemment tout au long de l'année risquent également davantage d'être atteintes d'un cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome.

Le CBC affecte plus souvent les personnes au teint clair. Son apparition a surtout été liée à une exposition intermittente aux rayons UV, aux coups de soleil et à une surexposition dans l’enfance et à l’adolescence.

L’apparition du CSC a surtout été liée à l’exposition totale à vie au soleil, dont l’exposition récréative et professionnelle et la surexposition aux rayons UV dans l’enfance.

Peau, yeux, poils et cheveux de couleur pâle

Les personnes dont le teint est clair ou pâle risquent davantage d'être atteintes d'un cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome que les personnes dont le type de peau est différent. Les personnes qui ont les poils et les cheveux blonds ou roux et les yeux bleus, verts ou gris risquent également davantage d’avoir un cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome. Leur risque est plus élevé puisque les personnes qui présentent ces caractéristiques ont moins de mélanine. La mélanine est la substance qui donne la couleur à la peau, aux yeux, aux poils et aux cheveux. Les experts croient qu’elle aide aussi à protéger la peau des rayons UV. Les personnes qui ont un teint clair ou pâle et qui ont eu d’importants coups de soleil à un jeune âge risquent le plus d’être atteintes d’un cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome.

L'albinisme est une affection caractérisé par un manque de mélanine dans la peau, les yeux et les cheveux. La peau des personnes qui en sont atteintes brûle facilement, ce qui les rend plus à risque d’avoir un cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome.

Antécédents personnels de cancer de la peau

Les personnes qui ont déjà été atteintes d'un cancer de la peau (mélanome ou autre que le mélanome) risquent davantage d'avoir un autre cancer de la peau, dont le CBC et le CSC.

Rayonnement ionisant

Les personnes ayant déjà reçu une radiothérapie, qui est une source de rayonnement ionisant, risquent davantage d’avoir un cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome dans la région traitée. Ce type de cancer de la peau peut apparaître de 15 à 20 ans après la radiothérapie.

L'exposition à la radiation causée par des retombées nucléaires, comme à Hiroshima au Japon, est liée à une hausse du risque de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome.

Arsenic

Être en contact avec l’arsenic accroît le risque de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome. L’arsenic est une substance présente naturellement dans la roche et le sol. L’arsenic et les substances qui contiennent de l'arsenic sont aussi présents dans certains types de produits de préservation du bois, de pesticides et d’insecticides.

Les personnes qui travaillent dans l'exploitation minière et la fusion des minerais peuvent être exposées à l’arsenic. Celles qui fabriquent et appliquent des pesticides et des insecticides peuvent aussi être exposées à l'arsenic.

Le plus grand risque d'exposition est la consommation d'eau potable qui contient une concentration élevée d'arsenic. L’arsenic peut s’infiltrer dans l’eau potable à partir de sources naturelles ou de certains types d’exploitation minière, de fusion des minerais ou d’usines de fabrication.

Travail avec certains produits

Travailler avec certains produits fait augmenter le risque de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome. Ce sont entre autres le charbon et l'argile litée, le goudron et le brai industriels, la créosote, la suie de cheminée et la paraffine.

PUVA thérapie

La PUVA thérapie est employée pour traiter des affections cutanées comme le psoriasis. On associe le médicament appelé psoralène aux rayons ultraviolets A (UVA). Le psoralène rend la peau plus sensible aux rayons UVA. Recevoir une PUVA thérapie sur une longue période accroît votre risque d’être atteint d’un CSC.

Xeroderma pigmentosum

La xeroderma pigmentosum est une affection héréditaire de la peau qui l’empêche de réparer les dommages causés par le soleil. Une personne atteinte de xeroderma pigmentosum a la peau plus sensible aux rayons UV, ce qui la fait changer de couleur et vieillir prématurément. Les personnes atteintes de xeroderma pigmentosum risquent aussi davantage d’avoir un cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome ainsi qu’un mélanome.

Nævomatose basocellulaire

La nævomatose basocellulaire est aussi appelée syndrome de Gorlin ou carcinomatose basocellulaire. C’est un trouble héréditaire rare causé par une mutation dans un gène suppresseur de tumeur appelé gène patched 1 (PTCH1).

La nævomatose basocellulaire cause différents problèmes à la peau, aux yeux, au système nerveux, aux glandes endocrines et à la mâchoire. Les personnes atteintes de ce syndrome risquent davantage d’avoir de nombreux carcinomes basocellulaires.

Système immunitaire affaibli

Les personnes dont le système immunitaire est affaibli risquent davantage d’être atteintes d’un cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome. On parle entre autres des personnes qui ont subi une greffe d’organe et qui doivent prendre des médicaments pour inhiber leur système immunitaire ainsi que de celles qui ont été infectées par le virus de l’immunodéficience humaine (VIH).

Facteurs de risque possibles

On a établi un certain lien entre les facteurs qui suivent et le cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome, mais on ne possède pas suffisamment de preuves pour affirmer qu'ils sont des facteurs de risque. On doit faire plus de recherches pour clarifier le rôle de ces facteurs dans l’apparition du cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome :

  • infection au virus du papillome humain (VPH)
  • médicaments qui rendent la peau plus sensible au soleil (photosensibilisants)
  • nombreux grains de beauté ou taches de rousseur
  • tabagisme

Questions à poser à votre équipe de soins

Afin de prendre les bonnes décisions pour vous, posez des questions sur les risques à votre équipe de soins.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Canadian Cancer Society's Advisory Committee on Cancer Statistics. Canadian Cancer Statistics 2014. Toronto, ON: Canadian Cancer Society; 2014.
  • Chahoud J, Semaan A, Chen Y, et al . Association between ß-genus human papillomavirus and cutaneous squamous cell carcinoma in immunocompetent individuals: a meta-analysis. JAMA Dermatology. 2016.
  • Ferrucci LM, Cartmel B, Molinaro AM, Leffell DJ, Bale AE, Mayne ST . Indoor tanning and risk of early-onset basal cell carcinoma. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. Elsevier; 2012.
  • HealthLink BC, Government of British Columbia. Actinic Keratosis. 2015: http://www.healthlinkbc.ca/healthtopics/content.asp?hwid=tr5806spec.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) . Volume 90: Human Papillomaviruses . 2007 : http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol90/mono90.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 75: Ionizing Radiation Part 1: X- and Gamma (y)-Radiation, and Neutrons. 2000: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol75/mono75.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 67: Human immunodeficiency viruses and human T-cell lymphotropic viruses. 1996: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol67/mono67.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 100C: Arsenic, metals, fibres and dusts: a review of human carcinogens. 2012: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol100C/mono100C.pdf.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). Volume 55: Solar and Ultraviolet Radiation. 1992: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol55/mono55.pdf.
  • Karagas MR, Weinstock MA, Nelson HH . Keratinocyte carcinomas (basal and squamous cell carcinomas of the skin). Schottenfeld D, Fraumeni JF Jr (eds.). Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press; 2006: 64:1230-1250.
  • Khalesi M, Whiteman DC, Tran B, Kimlin MG, Olsen CM, Neale RE . A meta-analysis of pigmentary characteristics, sun sensitivity, freckling and melanocytic nevi and risk of basal cell carcinoma of the skin. Cancer Epidemiology. 2013.
  • Kroumpouzos G, Konstadoulakis MM, Cabral H, Karakousis CP . Risk of basal cell and squamous cell carcinoma in persons with prior cutaneous melanoma. Dermatologic Surgery. 2000.
  • Lindelof B, Sigurgeirsson B, Gabel H, et al . Incidence of skin cancer in 5356 patients following organ transplantation. British Journal of Dermatology. 2000.
  • National Institutes of Health. Genetics Home Reference: Gorlin Syndrome. Bethesda, MD: US National Library of Medicine; 2008.
  • National Toxicology Program. 14th Report on Carcinogens. Department of Health and Human Services; 2016: http://ntp.niehs.nih.gov/pubhealth/roc/index-1.html.
  • Perez HC, Benavides X, Perez JS, et al . Basic aspects of the pathogenesis and prevention of non-melanoma skin cancer in solid organ transplant recipients: a review. International Journal of Dermatology. 2017.
  • Pouplard C, Brenaut E, Horreau C, et al . Risk of cancer in psoriasis: a systematic review and meta-analysis of epidemiological studies. Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology. 2013.
  • Robinson SN, Zens MS, Perry AE, Spencer SK, Duell EJ, Karagas MR . Photosensitizing agents and the risk of non-melanoma skin cancer: a population-based case-control study. Journal of Investigative Dermatology. 2013: http://www.jidonline.org/article/S0022-202X(15)36351-X/fulltext.
  • van der Leest RJ, Flohil SC, Arends LR, de Vries E, Nijsten T . Risk of subsequent cutaneous malignancy in patients with prior melanoma: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology. 2015.
  • Yang K, Kurian A, Barankin B . Actinic keratosis: a practical overview. Skin Therapy Letter. SkinCareGuide; 2013: http://www.skintherapyletter.com/fp/download/stl_fp_9_2_en.pdf.

Réduire le risque de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome

La meilleure façon de réduire votre risque de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome est de vous protéger des rayons UV. Apprenez comment.