Types of neuroendocrine tumours (NETs)

Neuroendocrine tumours (NETs) start in cells of the neuroendocrine system. Neuroendocrine cells are spread throughout the body. They receive messages (signals) from the nervous system and respond by making and releasing hormones. These hormones control many body functions, such as digestion and breathing.

NETs are classified as functional or non-functional. Functional tumours make too much of a certain hormone and cause symptoms. Non-functional tumours may make hormones but don’t cause any symptoms.

NETs can be indolent or aggressive. Indolent means the tumour grows slowly. Aggressive NETs grow quickly and tend to spread to other parts of the body.

NETs are grouped by where the tumour started in the body.

Gastrointestinal neuroendocrine tumours (GI NETs)

Gastrointestinal neuroendocrine tumours (GI NETs) are a common type of neuroendocrine tumour. They develop in organs of the gastrointestinal (GI) tract, including the small intestine, rectum, stomach, colon, esophagus and appendix. Most GI NETs grow slowly.

The most common GI NETs start in the small intestine and release serotonin. Too much serotonin leads to carcinoid syndrome, which is a group of symptoms caused by large amounts of serotonin and other chemicals released into the blood.

GI NETs used to be called carcinoid tumours. Carcinoid means carcinoma-like, but this does not accurately describe all GI NETs. Also carcinoid tumours are often confused with carcinoid syndrome, but GI NETs do not always make serotonin and cause carcinoid syndrome. For these reasons, the term carcinoid is no longer used to describe these tumours.

GI NETs are classified based on how different the cells are from normal cells (differentiation) and how fast the cells are growing (grade).

Well-differentiated GI NETs are made of cells that look and act much like normal cells. These tumours can be indolent, grow more quickly or be aggressive, so well-differentiated NETs are also given a grade. Find out more about grading for neuroendocrine tumours.

Poorly differentiated GI neuroendocrine carcinomas are aggressive cancerous tumours. They are made of cells that are very abnormal. These cells grow and divide very quickly compared to normal cells.

Lung neuroendocrine tumours (lung NETs)

Lung neuroendocrine tumours (lung NETs) are a common type of neuroendocrine tumour. They develop in the lungs or airways, often in the airways that branch off from the windpipe into the lungs (bronchi).

There are 4 subtypes of lung NETs:

Typical carcinoid tumours are indolent tumours of the lung. The cells look and act much like normal cells. Typical carcinoid tumours tend to grow slowly.

Atypical carcinoid tumours are well-differentiated cancerous tumours of the lung. The cancer cells look and act much like normal cells. Atypical carcinoid tumours tend to grow slowly, but they may spread to other parts of the body.

Large cell lung neuroendocrine carcinomas are poorly differentiated cancerous tumours. This means the cancer cells are very abnormal. Large cell neuroendocrine tumours tend to be aggressive tumours that grow quickly. They are more likely to spread to other parts of the body.

Small cell lung neuroendocrine carcinomas, or small cell lung cancers, are also poorly differentiated cancerous tumours. They are aggressive tumours that grow quickly and often spread to other parts of the body.

Pancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (pNETs)

Pancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (pNETs) are tumours that look like the islet cells of the pancreas. Islet cells form clusters that include different types of cells that make hormones, including alpha cells (A cells) that make glucagon, beta cells (B cells) that make insulin and delta cells (D cells) that make somatostatin.

pNETs are classified based on how different the cells are from normal cells and how fast the cells are growing.

Well-differentiated pNETs are made of cells that look and act much like normal cells. They tend to be indolent tumours that grow slowly.

Poorly differentiated pancreatic neuroendocrine carcinomas are cancerous tumours with very abnormal cells. They tend to be aggressive tumours that grow quickly and are usually advanced when diagnosed.

The naming of pNETs may include the type of cell it looks like or the hormone it makes, such as beta cell insulin-producing NET.

Functional pNETs cause symptoms from the hormones that are released. They are often named based on the type of hormone they produce, such as:

  • gastrinoma
  • insulinoma
  • glucagonoma
  • somatostatinoma
  • VIPoma
  • ACTHoma

Other neuroendocrine tumours

Since neuroendocrine cells are spread throughout the body, NETs can develop in many different places, including in endocrine glands. The following are also NETs:

Expert review and references

  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Neuroendocrine Tumor. 2014: http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/neuroendocrine-tumor.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Carcinoid Tumor. 2015: http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/carcinoid-tumor.
  • Gridelli C, Rossi A, Airoma G et al . Treatment of pulmonary neuroendocrine tumours: state of the art and future developments. Cancer Treatment Reviews. 2013: http://www.cnetscanada.org/pdf/Pulminary_nets_Gridelli.pdf.
  • Inzani F, Rindi G . Neuroendocrine neoplasms of the pancreas. Mete O, Asa SL (eds.). Endocrine Pathology. United Kingdom: Cambridge University Press; 2016: 18D:726-742.
  • Klimstra, DS, Beltran H, Lilenbaum R, Bergsland E . The spectrum of neuroendocrine tumors: histologic classification, unique features and areas of overlap. 2015 ASCO Educational Book. American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2015: 92–103. http://meetinglibrary.asco.org/content/115000092-156.
  • National Cancer Institute. Gastrointestinal Carcinoid Tumors Treatment for Health Professionals (PDQ®). 2015: http://www.cancer.gov/types/gi-carcinoid-tumors/hp/gi-carcinoid-treatment-pdq.
  • Norton JA, Kunz PL . Carcinoid tumors and the carcinoid syndrome. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 86:1218-1226.
  • Serra S . Endocrine lesions of the gastrointestinal tract. Mete O, Asa SL (eds.). Endocrine Pathology. United Kingdom: Cambridge University Press; 2016: 17:677-717.
  • Singh S, Asa SL, Dey C, et al . Diagnosis and management of gastrointestinal neuroendocrine tumors: an evidence-based Canadian consensus. Cancer Treatment Reviews. 2016: 47:32–45. https://cnetscanada.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/Dx-and-Mgmt-of-GI-NETS_Cancer-Treatment-Reviews.pdf.
  • Yao JC, Evans DB . Pancreatic neuroendocrine tumors. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 85:1205-1217.

Types de tumeurs neuroendocrines

Les tumeurs neuroendocrines (TNE) prennent naissance dans les cellules du système neuroendocrinien. Les cellules neuroendocrines sont dispersées dans tout le corps. Elles reçoivent des messages (signaux) du système nerveux et y répondent en fabriquant et en sécrétant des hormones. Ces hormones contrôlent de nombreuses fonctions de l’organisme, comme la digestion et la respiration.

Les TNE sont divisées en deux groupes : les TNE fonctionnelles et les TNE non fonctionnelles. Les tumeurs fonctionnelles produisent une trop grande quantité de certaines hormones et causent des symptômes. Les tumeurs non fonctionnelles peuvent sécréter des hormones, mais elles ne causent pas de symptômes.

Les TNE peuvent être indolentes ou agressives. Lorsqu’une tumeur est indolente, cela signifie qu’elle se développe lentement. Les TNE agressives se développent rapidement et tendent à se propager à d’autres parties du corps.

Les TNE sont classées selon l’emplacement où la tumeur a pris naissance dans le corps.

Tumeurs neuroendocrines gastro-intestinales (TNEGI)

Les tumeurs neuroendocrines gastro-intestinales (TNEGI) forment un type courant de tumeur neuroendocrine. Les TNE apparaissent dans les organes du tube digestif (tractus gastro-intestinal), dont l’intestin grêle, le rectum, l’estomac, le côlon, l’œsophage et l’appendice. La plupart des TNEGI se développent lentement.

Les types de TNEGI les plus fréquents prennent naissance dans l’intestin grêle et libèrent de la sérotonine. Une sécrétion excessive de sérotonine engendre le syndrome carcinoïde, c’est-à-dire un groupe de symptômes causés par une grande quantité de sérotonine et d’autres substances chimiques libérées dans le sang.

Les TNEGI étaient auparavant appelées tumeurs carcinoïdes. Le terme « carcinoïde » signifie que la tumeur ressemble à un carcinome, mais cela ne décrit pas avec exactitude toutes les TNEGI. De plus, les tumeurs carcinoïdes sont souvent confondues avec le syndrome carcinoïde, mais les TNEGI ne produisent pas toujours de sérotonine et ne causent pas toujours le syndrome carcinoïde. Pour ces raisons, le terme « carcinoïde » n’est plus utilisé pour décrire ces tumeurs.

Les TNEGI sont classées en fonction du degré de différence des cellules par rapport aux cellules normales (différenciation) et selon la rapidité avec laquelle les cellules se développent (grade).

Les TNEGI bien différenciées sont constituées de cellules qui ont une apparence et un comportement assez semblables à ceux des cellules normales. Ces tumeurs peuvent être indolentes, croître plus rapidement ou être agressives; c’est pourquoi on attribue aussi un grade aux TNE bien différenciées. Apprenez-en davantage sur les grades des tumeurs neuroendocrines.

Les carcinomes neuroendocriniens gastro-intestinaux peu différenciés sont des tumeurs cancéreuses agressives Ils sont constitués de cellules qui sont très anormales. Ces cellules se développent et se divisent très rapidement en comparaison des cellules normales.

Tumeurs neuroendocrines du poumon (TNE du poumon)

Les tumeurs neuroendocrines du poumon (TNE du poumon) forment un type courant de tumeur neuroendocrine. Elles apparaissent dans les poumons ou les voies respiratoires, souvent dans les voies respiratoires qui relient la trachée aux poumons (bronches).

Il existe 4 sous-types de TNE du poumon :

Les tumeurs carcinoïdes typiques sont des tumeurs indolentes du poumon. Les cellules ont une apparence et un comportement à peu près semblables à ceux des cellules normales. Les tumeurs carcinoïdes typiques ont tendance à croître lentement.

Les tumeurs carcinoïdes atypiques sont des tumeurs cancéreuses bien différenciées du poumon. Les cellules cancéreuses ont une apparence et un comportement à peu près semblables à ceux des cellules normales. Les tumeurs carcinoïdes atypiques ont tendance à croître lentement, mais elles peuvent se propager à d’autres parties du corps.

Les carcinomes neuroendocriniens du poumon à grandes cellules sont des tumeurs cancéreuses peu différenciées. Cela signifie que les cellules cancéreuses sont très anormales. Les tumeurs neuroendocriniennes à grandes cellules ont tendance à être des tumeurs agressives qui se développent rapidement. Elles sont plus susceptibles de se propager à d’autres parties du corps.

Les carcinomes neuroendocriniens du poumon à petites cellules, ou cancers du poumon à petites cellules, sont aussi des tumeurs cancéreuses peu différenciées. Ce sont des tumeurs agressives qui se développent rapidement et qui se propagent souvent à d’autres parties du corps.

Tumeurs neuroendocrines du pancréas (TNEp)

Les tumeurs neuroendocrines du pancréas (TNEp) sont des tumeurs qui ressemblent aux cellules des îlots pancréatiques présentes dans le pancréas. Les cellules des îlots pancréatiques forment des amas qui comprennent différents types de cellules sécrétrices d’hormones, y compris les cellules alpha (cellules A) qui produisent le glucagon, les cellules bêta (cellules B) qui produisent l’insuline et les cellules delta (cellules D) qui produisent la somatostatine.

On classe les TNEp en fonction du degré de différence des cellules par rapport aux cellules normales et selon la rapidité avec laquelle les cellules se développent.

Les TNEp bien différenciées sont constituées de cellules qui ont une apparence et un comportement à peu près semblables à ceux des cellules normales. Elles ont tendance à être des tumeurs indolentes qui se développent lentement.

Les carcinomes neuroendocriniens du pancréas peu différenciés sont des tumeurs cancéreuses possédant des cellules très anormales. Ces carcinomes ont tendance à être des tumeurs agressives qui se développent rapidement et qui sont habituellement avancées au moment du diagnostic.

On nomme les TNEp en incluant parfois le type de cellule auquel la tumeur ressemble ou l’hormone qu’elle sécrète, comme la TNE à cellules bêta sécrétrices d’insuline.

Les TNEp fonctionnelles causent des symptômes en raison des hormones qu’elles sécrètent. Elles sont souvent nommées selon le type d’hormone qu’elles produisent, par exemple :

  • Gastrinome
  • Insulinome
  • Glucagonome
  • Somatostatinome
  • Vipome
  • ACTHome

Autres tumeurs neuroendocrines

Comme les cellules neuroendocrines sont dispersées dans tout le corps, les TNE peuvent apparaître dans de nombreux emplacements différents, dont les glandes endocrines. Les tumeurs suivantes sont aussi des TNE :

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Neuroendocrine Tumor. 2014: http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/neuroendocrine-tumor.
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology. Carcinoid Tumor. 2015: http://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/carcinoid-tumor.
  • Gridelli C, Rossi A, Airoma G et al . Treatment of pulmonary neuroendocrine tumours: state of the art and future developments. Cancer Treatment Reviews. 2013: http://www.cnetscanada.org/pdf/Pulminary_nets_Gridelli.pdf.
  • Inzani F, Rindi G . Neuroendocrine neoplasms of the pancreas. Mete O, Asa SL (eds.). Endocrine Pathology. United Kingdom: Cambridge University Press; 2016: 18D:726-742.
  • Klimstra, DS, Beltran H, Lilenbaum R, Bergsland E . The spectrum of neuroendocrine tumors: histologic classification, unique features and areas of overlap. 2015 ASCO Educational Book. American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2015: 92–103. http://meetinglibrary.asco.org/content/115000092-156.
  • National Cancer Institute. Gastrointestinal Carcinoid Tumors Treatment for Health Professionals (PDQ®). 2015: http://www.cancer.gov/types/gi-carcinoid-tumors/hp/gi-carcinoid-treatment-pdq.
  • Norton JA, Kunz PL . Carcinoid tumors and the carcinoid syndrome. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 86:1218-1226.
  • Serra S . Endocrine lesions of the gastrointestinal tract. Mete O, Asa SL (eds.). Endocrine Pathology. United Kingdom: Cambridge University Press; 2016: 17:677-717.
  • Singh S, Asa SL, Dey C, et al . Diagnosis and management of gastrointestinal neuroendocrine tumors: an evidence-based Canadian consensus. Cancer Treatment Reviews. 2016: 47:32–45. https://cnetscanada.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/Dx-and-Mgmt-of-GI-NETS_Cancer-Treatment-Reviews.pdf.
  • Yao JC, Evans DB . Pancreatic neuroendocrine tumors. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 85:1205-1217.