What is multiple myeloma?

Multiple myeloma is a cancer that starts in plasma cells. Plasma cells are a type of white blood cell that makes antibodies (also called immunoglobulins) to help the body fight infection.

Plasma cells are found mainly in the bone marrow but are also in some other tissues and organs. Bone marrow is the soft, spongy tissue inside most bones where different types of blood cells are made. Plasma cells in the bone marrow sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These abnormal plasma cells begin to divide uncontrollably and make more abnormal plasma cells. These changes can lead to multiple myeloma (a cancer of the plasma cells) or a precancerous condition called monoclonal gammopathy of undetermined significance (MGUS). Precancerous means that the cells are not yet cancer but there is a higher chance these abnormal changes will become cancer. In some cases, MGUS can develop into multiple myeloma.

Multiple myeloma develops when there is a buildup of many abnormal plasma cells (called myeloma cells) in the bone marrow. This makes it hard for other blood cells in the bone marrow to develop and work normally. This can cause anemia and fatigue because there are fewer red blood cells. The buildup of myeloma cells can also upset the balance of certain minerals in the body. The myeloma cells make a substance that leads to bone damage and high levels of calcium in the blood. Myeloma cells also make abnormal proteins that can affect other organs such as the kidneys.

Myeloma cells can form tumours in bones (called plasmacytomas). If there is only one tumour in a bone, it is called a solitary plasmacytoma. When many plasmacytomas are found in the bones, the condition is called multiple myeloma. Plasmacytomas can also form outside of the bones. These tumours are called extramedullary plasmacytomas.

Diagram of plasma cell development
Diagram of plasma cell development

Expert review and references

  • American Cancer Society. Multiple myeloma. Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2014: http://www.cancer.org/acs/groups/cid/documents/webcontent/003121-pdf.pdf.
  • Dispenzieri A, Lacy MQ, Kumar S . Multiple myeloma. Greer JP, Arber DA, Glader B, List AF, Means RT Jr, Paraskevas F, Rodgers GM, Foerster J, (eds.). Wintrobe's Clinical Hematology. 13th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 98: 2046-2097.
  • Mushi NC, Anderson KC . Plasma cell neoplasms. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 112: 1682-1719.
  • Myeloma Canada. Multiple Myeloma Patient Handbook. Third ed. Kirkland, QC: Myeloma Canada; 2014.
  • National Cancer Institute. Plasma Cell Neoplasms (Including Multiple Myeloma) Treatment PDQ®: Patient Version. National Cancer Institute; 2015: http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/treatment/myeloma/Patient.
  • Rajkumar SV, Kyle RA . Diagnosis and treatment of multiple myeloma. Wiernik PH, Goldman JM, Dutcher JP, Kyle RA (eds.). Neoplastic Diseases of the Blood. 5th ed. Springer; 2013: 33: 637-664.

The plasma cells

Multiple myeloma is a cancer of the plasma cells, a type of white blood cell. Learn more about the anatomy and physiology related to multiple myeloma.

Types of multiple myeloma

Multiple myeloma is the most common type of plasma cell cancer. Learn more about types of multiple myeloma, including smouldering, active and light chain myeloma.

Conditions related to multiple myeloma

There are conditions related to multiple myeloma. Learn more about osteosclerotic myeloma, Waldenstrom macroglobulinemia and other related conditions.

Monoclonal gammopathy of undetermined significance

MGUS is a precancerous condition and the most common plasma cell disorder. Over time, MGUS may develop into multiple myeloma. Learn more about MGUS.

Qu’est-ce que le myélome multiple?

Le myélome multiple est un cancer qui prend naissance dans les plasmocytes. Les plasmocytes sont un type de globules blancs qui fabriquent des anticorps (immunoglobulines) pour aider à combattre les infections.

On trouve les plasmocytes principalement dans la moelle osseuse, mais il y en a aussi dans certains autres tissus et organes. La moelle osseuse est le tissu mou et spongieux qui occupe l’intérieur de la plupart des os où sont produits différents types de cellules sanguines. Les plasmocytes présents dans la moelle osseuse subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces plasmocytes anormaux commencent à proliférer de manière désordonnée et à produire d’autres plasmocytes anormaux. Ces changements peuvent engendrer le myélome multiple (cancer des plasmocytes) ou un état précancéreux appelé gammapathie monoclonale de signification indéterminée (MGUS). Précancéreux signifie que les cellules ne sont pas encore cancéreuses, mais que leur risque de devenir cancéreuses est plus élevé. Dans certains cas, une MGUS peut évoluer en myélome multiple.

Le myélome multiple se manifeste quand il y a une accumulation de nombreux plasmocytes anormaux (cellules myélomateuses) dans la moelle osseuse. Cela empêche les autres cellules sanguines de la moelle de se développer normalement et de faire leur travail habituel. L’accumulation de cellules myélomateuses peut causer de l’anémie et de la fatigue puisqu’il y a moins de globules rouges. Elle peut aussi rompre l’équilibre de certains minéraux dans le corps. Les cellules myélomateuses fabriquent une substance qui peut entraîner des dommages aux os et une hausse des taux de calcium dans le sang. Elles produisent également des protéines anormales qui peuvent affecter d’autres organes, comme les reins.

Les cellules myélomateuses peuvent former des tumeurs dans les os appelées plasmocytomes. On parle d’un plasmocytome solitaire quand il n’y a qu’une seule tumeur dans un os. Quand il y a beaucoup de plasmocytomes dans les os, la maladie porte le nom de myélome multiple. Les plasmocytomes peuvent aussi se former à l’extérieur des os. Ces tumeurs sont appelées plasmocytomes extramédullaires.

Schéma du développement du plasmocyte
Schéma du développement du plasmocyte

Révision par les experts et références

  • American Cancer Society. Multiple myeloma. Atlanta, GA: American Cancer Society; 2014: http://www.cancer.org/acs/groups/cid/documents/webcontent/003121-pdf.pdf.
  • Dispenzieri A, Lacy MQ, Kumar S . Multiple myeloma. Greer JP, Arber DA, Glader B, List AF, Means RT Jr, Paraskevas F, Rodgers GM, Foerster J, (eds.). Wintrobe's Clinical Hematology. 13th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014: 98: 2046-2097.
  • Mushi NC, Anderson KC . Plasma cell neoplasms. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, & Rosenberg SA. Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology. 10th ed. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015: 112: 1682-1719.
  • Myeloma Canada. Multiple Myeloma Patient Handbook. Third ed. Kirkland, QC: Myeloma Canada; 2014.
  • National Cancer Institute. Plasma Cell Neoplasms (Including Multiple Myeloma) Treatment PDQ®: Patient Version. National Cancer Institute; 2015: http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/treatment/myeloma/Patient.
  • Rajkumar SV, Kyle RA . Diagnosis and treatment of multiple myeloma. Wiernik PH, Goldman JM, Dutcher JP, Kyle RA (eds.). Neoplastic Diseases of the Blood. 5th ed. Springer; 2013: 33: 637-664.

Les plasmocytes

Le myélome multiple est un cancer des plasmocytes, un type de globule blanc. Apprenez-en davantage sur l'anatomie et la physiologie relative au myélome multiple.

Types de myélome multiple

Le myélome multiple est le type le plus courant de prolifération plasmocytaire maligne. Apprenez-en davantage sur les types de myélome multiple, dont le latent, l'actif et celui à chaînes légères.

Affections connexes au myélome multiple

Il existe des affections connexes au myélome multiple. Apprenez-en davantage sur le myélome ostéocondensant, la macroglobulinémie de Waldenström et d'autres affections connexes.

Gammapathie monoclonale de signification indéterminée

La MGUS est un état précancéreux et le type de trouble plasmocytaire le plus courant. Avec le temps, elle peut évoluer en myélome multiple. Apprenez-en davantage sur la MGUS.