Treatments for stage 3 non–small cell lung cancer

Last medical review:

The following are treatment options for stage 3 non−small cell lung cancer. Your healthcare team will suggest treatments based on your needs and work with you to develop a treatment plan.

Chemoradiation

Chemotherapy and external radiation therapy may be given together before surgery for stage 3 non–small cell lung cancer. You need to be well enough to have this treatment. Chemoradiation may also be given if you won't be having surgery and are well enough to have this treatment.

The chemotherapy drug combinations most often used with chemoradiation are cisplatin with etoposide (Vepesid).

Surgery

Surgery may be offered after chemoradiation if the chemoradiation shrinks the tumour enough to make removing it possible.

A lobectomy removes the lobe of the lung where the tumour is. A bilobectomy is a type of lobectomy that removes 2 of the 3 lobes of the right lung.

A sleeve resection removes a tumour from one of the airway tubes of the lung (the bronchi) along with a margin of healthy tissue around the tumour.

A pneumonectomy removes the whole lung.

An extended pulmonary resection removes the muscles, nerves, blood vessels and other tissues near the lung. During the surgery, a wide area of tissue surrounding the lung is taken out to remove as much of the cancer as possible. Surgery for cancer that has grown into the bones of the spine is done using 2 surgeries, one to support the spine with rods followed by another surgery to remove the tumour.

A chest wall resection removes the muscles, bones and other tissues of the chest wall.

For stage 3A non–small cell lung cancer, you may be offered surgery after chemoradiation if the cancer has responded to chemoradiation. You need to be healthy enough to have surgery.

For stage 3B and 3C non–small cell lung cancer, you will not be offered surgery because surgery will not help given where the cancer has spread. You will be offered other treatments.

Chemotherapy

The chemotherapy drug combinations that may be used to treat non−small cell lung cancer are:

  • cisplatin with vinorelbine or etoposide – most common 2 combinations

  • cisplatin (or carboplatin) and gemcitabine

  • cisplatin (or carboplatin) and docetaxel (Taxotere)

  • carboplatin (or cisplatin) and paclitaxel

  • gemcitabine and docetaxel

  • gemcitabine and vinorelbine

  • carboplatin (or cisplatin) and pemetrexed (Alimta) – not used for squamous cell carcinoma of the lung

For stage 3A non–small cell lung cancer, you may have chemotherapy before surgery if you cannot be given radiation therapy. Chemotherapy may also be given after surgery if no chemotherapy was given before surgery or if the cancer responded to chemotherapy given before surgery.

For stage 3B and 3C non–small cell lung cancer, you may have chemotherapy by itself if you are not well enough to have chemoradiation or radiation therapy.

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy may be used to treat stage 3 non−small cell lung cancer. The type of targeted therapy you have will depend on the type of genetic change (mutation) found during diagnosis using cell and tissue studies and whether there is treatment based on that mutation.

EGFR targeted therapy

Epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) is a receptor on the surface of cells that sends signals to cells that allow them to grow and divide. A mutation in the EGFR gene can cause cancer cells to grow and divide more than normal. Cancer cells that have the EGFR mutation are called EGFR positive (EGFR+).

EGFR-positive stage 3B and 3C non−small cell lung cancer may be treated with targeted therapy instead of chemotherapy. Drugs that may be used are:

  • erlotinib (Tarceva)

  • gefitinib (Iressa)

  • osimertinib (Tagrisso)

Erlotinib may also be given as maintenance therapy for stage 3 non−small cell lung cancer after 4 cycles of chemotherapy with cisplatin or carboplatin.

EGFR exon 20 insertion mutation

The EGFR exon 20 insertion mutation happens when a small piece of genetic material gets added (inserted) into the area of the EGFR gene called the exon 20.

Targeted therapy drugs used for other EGFR mutations don't work for the exon 20 insertion mutation.

Amivantamab (Rybrevant) may be offered for stage 3B or stage 3C non–small cell lung cancer with the EGFR exon 20 insertion mutation if it doesn't respond to, or stops responding to, chemotherapy with cisplatin or carboplatin.

ALK targeted therapy

Anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) is a protein that helps with cell growth and division. It is controlled by the ALK gene. A very small number of non–small cell lung cancers have a change (mutation) in the ALK gene. Cancer cells that have the ALK mutation are called ALK positive (ALK+).

ALK-positive stage 3 non−small cell lung cancer may be treated with crizotinib (Xalkori). If you can't take crizotinib, other drugs that may be given are:

  • ceritinib (Zykadia)

  • alectinib (Alecensaro)

  • brigatinib (Alunbrig)

KRAS G12C mutation

KRAS G12C is a common genetic mutation found in people with non–small cell lung cancer. A tumour that has the KRAS G12C mutation is called KRAS G12C-positive.

Sotorasib (Lumakras) is a targeted therapy drug that can be used to treat people with stage 3 KRAS G12C-positive non–small cell lung cancer that have received at least one other systemic treatment.

ROS1 targeted therapy

The ROS1 gene makes a protein that is responsible for signals in cells and helps with cell growth. A mutation in the ROS1 gene can cause cancer cells to grow and divide more than normal. Cancer cells that have the ROS1 mutation are called ROS1 positive (ROS1+).

ROS1-positive stage 3 non−small cell lung cancer may be treated with crizotinib.

Entrectinib (Rozlytrek) may be offered for ROS1-positive stage 3 non–small cell lung cancer, if you have not been given crizotinib as a treatment.

MET exon 14 skipping mutations

MET exon 14 skipping mutations (METex 14) is a mutation that has been found in a small number of non–small cell lung cancer tumours.

Tepotinib (Tepmetko) or capmatinib (Tabrecta) may be used in people who have stage 3 non–small cell lung cancer that has METex 14 mutations, and can't be removed with surgery.

RET–positive therapy

The RET gene makes a protein that is responsible for signals in cells and in cell growth. A very small number of non–small cell lung cancers have a change in the RET gene. Cancer cells that have changes in the RET gene are called RET–positive (RET+).

RET+ stage 3 non–small cell lung cancer that can't be removed with surgery may be treated with Gavreto (pralsetinib), instead of chemotherapy.

Angiogenesis inhibitors

Bevacizumab (Avastin, MVASI, Zirabev) is a type of targeted therapy called an angiogenesis inhibitor. It targets a protein called vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF), which helps new blood vessels grow. Bevacizumab is combined with the chemotherapy drugs carboplatin and paclitaxel. This combination may be offered for stage 3 non−small cell lung cancer.

Immunotherapy

Immunotherapy with different types of PD-L1 checkpoint inhibitors may be used to treat stage 3 non−small cell lung cancer.

Durvalumab (Imfinzi) may be used if you can't have surgery to treat non–small cell lung cancer that has stopped growing when it has been treated with chemoradiation. Durvalumab is given until the cancer starts to progress (grow again).

Cemiplimab (Libtayo) is used for non−small cell lung cancer tumours that make a lot PD-L1, but don't have changes to other genes such as EGFR, ALK or ROS-1. You may be given cemiplimab if you can't have surgery or chemoradiation.

Atezolizumab (Tecentriq) may be offered by itself for stage 3A non–small cell lung cancer that has been completely removed with surgery, and that hasn't progressed after chemotherapy given after surgery is finished.

Radiation therapy

External radiation therapy by itself may be given as the main treatment if you have stage 3 non–small cell lung cancer and are not well enough to have surgery, chemotherapy or chemoradiation as treatment.

External radiation therapy may be delivered by 3D conformal radiation therapy (3D-CRT) or intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT).

Clinical trials

Talk to your doctor about clinical trials open to people with non−small cell lung cancer in Canada. Clinical trials look at new ways to prevent, find and treat cancer. Find out more about clinical trials.

Expert review and references

  • Stephen Lam, MD, FRCPC
  • Osmani L, Askin F, Gabrielson E, Li QK. Current WHO guidelines and the critical role of immunohistochemical markers in the subclassification of non-small cell lung carcinoma (NSCLC): moving from targeted therapy to immunotherapy. Seminars in Cancer Biology. 52(Pt 1): 103-109.
  • Dong J, Li B, Lin D, Zhou Q, Huang D. Advances in targeted therapy and immunotherapy for non–small cell lung cancer based on accurate molecular typing. Frontiers in Pharmacology. 2019: 10:230.
  • Sui H, Ningxia M, Wang Y, Li H, Xiaoming L, Su Y, Yang J. Anti-PD1/PD-L1 therapy for non-small cell lung cancer: toward personalized medicine and combination strategies. Journal of Immunology Research. 2018: 2018: 6984948.
  • Cancer Care Ontario. Non-small Cell Lung Cancer Treatment Pathway Map. 2019: Version 2019.05.
  • Chiang A, Detterbeck FC, Stewart T, Decker RH, Tanoue L. Non–small cell lung cancer. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 48:618–670.
  • Brahmer JR, Covindan R, Anders RA, Antonia SJ, Sagorksy S, et al. The Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer consensus statement on immunotherapy for the treatment of non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC). Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer. 2018: 6:75.
  • Sui H, Ningxia M, Wang Y, Li H, Xiaoming L, Su Y, Yang J. Anti-PD1/PD-L1 therapy for non-small cell lung cancer: toward personalized medicine and combination strategies. Journal of Immunology Research. 2018: 2018: 6984948.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network . NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (Version 3.2020) . 2020 .
  • Osmani L, Askin F, Gabrielson E, Li QK. Current WHO guidelines and the critical role of immunohistochemical markers in the subclassification of non-small cell lung carcinoma (NSCLC): moving from targeted therapy to immunotherapy. Seminars in Cancer Biology. 52(Pt 1): 103-109.
  • Janssen, Inc.. Product Monograph: Rybrevant. Toronto, ON: https://pdf.hres.ca/dpd_pm/00065221.PDF.
  • Novartis Pharmaceuticals Canada Inc.. Product Monograph: Tabrecta. Dorval QC: https://pdf.hres.ca/dpd_pm/00066041.PDF.

Traitements du cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3

Dernière révision médicale :

En présence d'un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3, on peut avoir recours aux options de traitement suivantes. Votre équipe de soins vous proposera des traitements en fonction de vos besoins et discutera avec vous afin d’élaborer un plan de traitement.

Chimioradiothérapie

Il est possible qu’on administre une chimiothérapie et une radiothérapie externe pendant la même période avant la chirurgie d’un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3. Vous devez être en assez bonne santé pour recevoir ce traitement. On pourrait aussi vous administrer une chimioradiothérapie si vous n'aurez pas de chirurgie et si vous êtes assez bien pour recevoir ce traitement.

Les associations chimiothérapeutiques les plus souvent administrées en chimioradiothérapie sont constituées de cisplatine et d’étoposide (Vepesid).

Chirurgie

On pourrait proposer une chirurgie après la chimioradiothérapie si elle a permis de réduire suffisamment la taille de la tumeur pour qu'on puisse maintenant l'enlever.

La lobectomie consiste à enlever le lobe du poumon où se trouve la tumeur. La bilobectomie est un type de lobectomie qui permet d’enlever 2 des 3 lobes du poumon droit.

La résection en manchon consiste à enlever la tumeur qui se trouve dans l'une des voies respiratoires (bronches) du poumon ainsi qu’une marge de tissu sain tout autour.

La pneumonectomie consiste à enlever tout le poumon.

La résection pulmonaire élargie permet d’enlever les muscles, les nerfs, les vaisseaux sanguins et d’autres tissus situés près du poumon. Lors de la chirurgie, on enlève une large bande de tissu autour du poumon afin de retirer la plus grande partie possible du cancer. La chirurgie d’un cancer qui a envahi les os de la colonne vertébrale est constituée de 2 opérations : la première pour supporter la colonne avec des tiges et la deuxième pour enlever la tumeur.

La résection de la paroi thoracique consiste à enlever les muscles, les os et d’autres tissus de la paroi du thorax.

Si vous êtes atteint d'un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3A, on peut vous proposer une chirurgie après une chimioradiothérapie si le cancer a répondu à la chimioradiothérapie. Vous devez être en assez bonne santé pour subir la chirurgie.

Si vous êtes atteint d'un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3B ou 3C, on ne vous proposera pas de chirurgie puisqu'elle ne sera pas efficace vu où le cancer s'est propagé. On vous offrira d'autres traitements.

Chimiothérapie

On peut avoir recours aux associations chimiothérapeutiques qui suivent pour traiter le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules :

  • cisplatine et vinorelbine ou étoposide − 2 associations les plus courantes

  • cisplatine (ou carboplatine) et gemcitabine

  • cisplatine (ou carboplatine) et docétaxel (Taxotere)

  • carboplatine (ou cisplatine) et paclitaxel

  • gemcitabine et docétaxel

  • gemcitabine et vinorelbine

  • carboplatine (ou cisplatine) et pemetrexed (Alimta) − non administré pour le carcinome épidermoïde du poumon

Si vous êtes atteint d'un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3A, on pourrait vous administrer une chimiothérapie avant la chirurgie si vous ne pouvez pas recevoir de radiothérapie. On peut aussi la proposer après la chirurgie si on n’a pas administré de chimiothérapie avant l’opération ou si le cancer a répondu à la chimiothérapie reçue avant la chirurgie.

Si vous êtes atteint d'un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3B ou 3C, on pourrait vous administrer seulement une chimiothérapie si vous n'êtes pas assez bien pour recevoir une chimioradiothérapie ou une radiothérapie.

Traitement ciblé

On peut avoir recours au traitement ciblé pour traiter le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3. Le type de traitement ciblé que vous recevrez dépend du type de changement génétique (mutation) observé lors du diagnostic posé à partir d'études des cellules et des tissus et de l'existence d'un traitement fondé sur cette mutation.

Médicaments qui ciblent le R-EGF

Le récepteur du facteur de croissance épidermique (R-EGF) est présent à la surface des cellules et il leur envoie des signaux qui leur permettent de croître et de se diviser. Une mutation dans le gène R-EGF peut provoquer une croissance et une division cellulaires plus importantes qu’à l’habitude. Les cellules cancéreuses porteuses de la mutation R-EGF sont dites R-EGF positives (R-EGF+).

On peut traiter le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3B ou 3C qui est R-EGF positif par traitement ciblé plutôt que par chimiothérapie. Voici les médicaments qu'on peut administrer :

  • erlotinib (Tarceva)

  • gefitinib (Iressa)

  • osimertinib (Tagrisso)

On peut aussi avoir recours à l'erlotinib comme traitement d'entretien pour un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3 après 4 cycles de chimiothérapie à base de cisplatine ou de carboplatine.

Mutation par insertion dans l'exon 20 du R-EGF

Une mutation par insertion dans l'exon 20 du R-EGF se produit lorsqu'un petit élément de matériel génétique est ajouté (inséré) dans le segment du gène R-EGF appelé exon 20.

Les médicaments ciblés auxquels on a recours dans le cas d'autres mutations du R-EGF n'ont pas d'effet s'il s'agit d'une mutation par insertion dans l'exon 20.

On peut proposer l'amivantamab (Rybrevant) pour traiter un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3B ou 3C avec mutation par insertion dans l'exon 20 du R-EGF si le cancer ne répond pas ou cesse de répondre à la chimiothérapie à base de cisplatine ou de carboplatine.

Médicaments qui ciblent l’ALK

La kinase du lymphome anaplasique (ALK) est une protéine qui participe à la croissance et à la division des cellules. Elle est contrôlée par le gène ALK. Les cellules cancéreuses qui sont porteuses de la mutation ALK sont dites ALK positives (ALK+). Un très faible nombre de cancers du poumon non à petites cellules sont ALK+.

Si on n'a pas encore administré de médicaments ciblés, voici ceux qu'on pourrait proposer pour une récidive de cancer du poumon non à petites cellules ALK+ :

  • crizotinib (Xalkori)

  • céritinib (Zykadia)

Si un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules récidivant et ALK+ a cessé de répondre à d'autres médicaments ciblés, voici ceux qu'on pourrait offrir :

  • alectinib (Alecensaro)

  • brigatinib (Alunbrig)

  • lorlatinib (Lorbrena)

Mutation KRAS G12C

KRAS G12C est une mutation génétique courante chez les personnes atteintes d'un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules. Une tumeur qui présente la mutation KRAS G12C est dite KRAS G12C positive.

Le sotorasib (Lumakras) est un médicament ciblé auquel on peut avoir recours pour traiter les personnes atteintes d'un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules KRAS G12C positif de stade 3 qui ont reçu au moins un autre traitement systémique.

Médicaments qui ciblent le ROS1

Le gène ROS1 fabrique une protéine qui envoie des signaux dans les cellules et qui les aide à croître. Une mutation dans le gène ROS1 peut provoquer une croissance et une division cellulaires plus importantes qu’à l’habitude. Les cellules cancéreuses qui sont porteuses de la mutation ROS1 sont dites ROS1 positives (ROS1+).

Un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3 et ROS1 positif peut être traité avec du crizotinib.

On pourrait vous proposer de l'entrectinib (Rozlytrek) pour un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3 et ROS1 positif si vous n'avez pas reçu de crizotinib.

Mutations conduisant à un saut de l'exon 14 de la MET

Des mutations conduisant à un saut de l'exon 14 de la MET (METex 14) ont été observées dans un petit nombre de cancers du poumon non à petites cellules.

On peut avoir recours au tepotinib (Tepmetko) ou au capmatinib (Tabrecta) chez les personnes atteintes d'un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3 qui présente des mutations METex 14 et qui ne peut pas être enlevé par chirurgie.

Médicaments qui ciblent le gène RET

Le gène RET fabrique une protéine responsable des signaux dans les cellules et leur processus de croissance. Un très petit nombre de cancers du poumon non à petites cellules présentent un changement dans le gène RET. Les cellules cancéreuses qui présentent des changements dans le gène RET sont dites positives pour la fusion du gène RET (RET+).

Au lieu de la chimiothérapie, on peut avoir recours au médicament Gavreto (pralsetinib) pour traiter un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3 RET+ qui ne peut pas être enlevé par chirugie.

Inhibiteurs de l’angiogenèse

Le bévacizumab (Avastin, MVASI, Zirabev) est un type de médicament ciblé appelé inhibiteur de l'angiogenèse. Il cible une protéine appelée facteur de croissance de l'endothélium vasculaire (VEGF), qui participe à la formation de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins. On associe le bévacizumab au carboplatine et au paclitaxel, deux agents chimiothérapeutiques. Il est possible qu'on propose cette association pour une récidive de cancer du poumon non à petites cellules.

Immunothérapie

On peut avoir recours à l'immunothérapie par différents types d'inhibiteurs du point de contrôle PD-L1 pour traiter le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3.

On peut vous administrer du durvalumab (Imfinzi) si vous ne pouvez pas subir de chirurgie pour traiter un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules qui a cessé de croître après une chimioradiothérapie. On administre le durvalumab jusqu'à ce que le cancer commence à évoluer, c'est-à-dire qu'il se développe de nouveau.

On administre le cemiplimab (Libtayo) pour traiter les tumeurs cancéreuses du poumon non à petites cellules qui produisent une grande quantité de PD-L1, mais qui ne présentent pas de changements d'autres gènes tels que R-EGF, ALK ou ROS1. Vous pourriez recevoir du cemiplimab si vous ne pouvez pas subir de chirurgie ou de chimioradiothérapie.

On peut proposer l'atézolizumab (Tecentriq) seul dans le cas d'un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3A qui a été enlevé complètement par chirurgie et qui n'a pas évolué au terme de la chimiothérapie administrée après la chirurgie.

Radiothérapie

On pourrait vous administrer seulement une radiothérapie externe comme traitement principal si vous êtes atteint d'un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules de stade 3 et que vous n'êtes pas assez bien pour avoir une chirurgie, une chimioradiothérapie ou une radiothérapie.

On peut administrer la radiothérapie externe sous la forme d’une radiothérapie conformationnelle tridimensionnelle (RC 3D) ou d'une radiothérapie conformationnelle avec modulation d’intensité (RCMI).

Essais cliniques

Demandez à votre médecin s’il y a des essais cliniques en cours au Canada pour les personnes atteintes d’un cancer du poumon non à petites cellules. Les essais cliniques visent à trouver de nouvelles méthodes de prévention, de détection et de traitement du cancer. Apprenez-en davantage sur les essais cliniques.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Stephen Lam, MD, FRCPC
  • Osmani L, Askin F, Gabrielson E, Li QK. Current WHO guidelines and the critical role of immunohistochemical markers in the subclassification of non-small cell lung carcinoma (NSCLC): moving from targeted therapy to immunotherapy. Seminars in Cancer Biology. 52(Pt 1): 103-109.
  • Dong J, Li B, Lin D, Zhou Q, Huang D. Advances in targeted therapy and immunotherapy for non–small cell lung cancer based on accurate molecular typing. Frontiers in Pharmacology. 2019: 10:230.
  • Sui H, Ningxia M, Wang Y, Li H, Xiaoming L, Su Y, Yang J. Anti-PD1/PD-L1 therapy for non-small cell lung cancer: toward personalized medicine and combination strategies. Journal of Immunology Research. 2018: 2018: 6984948.
  • Cancer Care Ontario. Non-small Cell Lung Cancer Treatment Pathway Map. 2019: Version 2019.05.
  • Chiang A, Detterbeck FC, Stewart T, Decker RH, Tanoue L. Non–small cell lung cancer. DeVita VT Jr, Lawrence TS, Rosenberg SA, eds. DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer; 2019: 48:618–670.
  • Brahmer JR, Covindan R, Anders RA, Antonia SJ, Sagorksy S, et al. The Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer consensus statement on immunotherapy for the treatment of non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC). Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer. 2018: 6:75.
  • Sui H, Ningxia M, Wang Y, Li H, Xiaoming L, Su Y, Yang J. Anti-PD1/PD-L1 therapy for non-small cell lung cancer: toward personalized medicine and combination strategies. Journal of Immunology Research. 2018: 2018: 6984948.
  • National Comprehensive Cancer Network . NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (Version 3.2020) . 2020 .
  • Osmani L, Askin F, Gabrielson E, Li QK. Current WHO guidelines and the critical role of immunohistochemical markers in the subclassification of non-small cell lung carcinoma (NSCLC): moving from targeted therapy to immunotherapy. Seminars in Cancer Biology. 52(Pt 1): 103-109.
  • Janssen, Inc.. Product Monograph: Rybrevant. Toronto, ON: https://pdf.hres.ca/dpd_pm/00065221.PDF.
  • Novartis Pharmaceuticals Canada Inc.. Product Monograph: Tabrecta. Dorval QC: https://pdf.hres.ca/dpd_pm/00066041.PDF.