Bone cancer

What is bone cancer?

Primary bone cancer starts in bone cells. Learn about symptoms, diagnosis, treatment and risks in our guide to primary bone cancer.

Risks for bone cancer

Risks for bone cancer include radiation, bone disorders or conditions, and genetic conditions. Learn about bone cancer risk.

Symptoms of bone cancer

Symptoms of bone cancer include pain in a bone or joint and swelling or a lump that can be felt over a bone. Learn about the symptoms of bone cancer.

Diagnosis of bone cancer

Tests to diagnose bone cancer, such as x-rays, are done when symptoms are present or a doctor suspects bone cancer. Learn about diagnosing bone cancer.

Grading bone cancer

Grading is a way to classify bone cancer cells based on their appearance and behaviour when viewed under a microscope. To find out the grade of a tumour, a biopsy sample is examined under a microscope. A grade is given based on how the cancer cells look and behave compared with normal cells.

Stages of bone cancer

Staging is a way to describe or classify a cancer based on how much cancer there is in the body. The most common staging system for bone cancer is the TNM system.

If bone cancer spreads

Cancer cells have the potential to spread from the bone to other parts of the body where they can grow into new tumours. This process is called metastasis. The tumours are also called metastasis (singular) or metastases (plural). Metastases are also called secondary tumours.

Prognosis and survival for bone cancer

People with bone cancer may have questions about their prognosis and survival. Prognosis and survival depend on many factors. Only a doctor familiar with a person’s medical history, type of cancer, stage, characteristics of the cancer, treatments chosen and response to treatment can put all of this information together with survival statistics to arrive at a prognosis.

Treatments for bone cancer

Treatments for bone cancer include surgery, chemotherapy and radiation. Learn about treatment plans and options for bone cancer.

Supportive care for bone cancer

Supportive care helps people meet the physical, practical, emotional and spiritual challenges of bone cancer. It is an important part of cancer care. There are many programs and services available to help meet the needs and improve the quality of life of people living with cancer and their loved ones.

Research in bone cancer

Researchers and healthcare professionals take the knowledge gained from research studies and use it to develop better practices that will help detect and treat bone cancer as well as improve the quality of life of people with bone cancer.

Bone cancer statistics

Primary bone cancer (cancer that starts in the bone) is rare. Learn about incidence and mortality statistics for bone cancer in Canada.

Cancer des os

Qu’est-ce que le cancer des os?

Le cancer primitif des os des prend naissance dans les cellules osseuses. Renseignez-vous sur les symptômes, le diagnostic, les traitements et les facteurs de risque dans notre guide du cancer primitif des os.

Facteurs de risque du cancer des os

Les facteurs de risque du cancer des os comportent la radiation, les affections ou troubles osseux, et les troubles génétiques. Renseignez-vous sur les facteurs de risque du cancer des os.

Symptômes du cancer des os

On fait des tests diagnostiques du cancer des os quand il y a des symptômes ou si le médecin soupçonne ce cancer. Apprenez-en plus sur le diagnostic.

Diagnostic du cancer des os

On fait des tests diagnostiques du cancer des os quand il y a des symptômes ou si le médecin soupçonne la présence de ce cancer. Renseignez-vous sur le diagnostic.

Classification histologique du cancer des os

La classification histologique (grade) permet de classer les cellules du cancer des os selon leur apparence et leur comportement lorsqu’on les observe au microscope. Pour connaître le grade d'une tumeur, on examine au microscope le prélèvement fait par biopsie. Le grade est défini par l'apparence et le comportement des cellules cancéreuses qu'on compare à ceux des cellules normales.

Stades du cancer des os

La stadification décrit ou classe un cancer selon la quantité de cancer présente dans le corps. Pour le cancer des os, on utilise surtout la classification TNM.

Si le cancer des os se propage

Les cellules cancéreuses ont la capacité de se propager à partir des os à d’autres parties du corps où elles peuvent former de nouvelles tumeurs. Ce processus porte le nom de métastase.

Pronostic et survie pour le cancer des os

Il est possible que les personnes atteintes d'un cancer de la parathyroïde se posent des questions sur leur pronostic et sur leur survie. Le pronostic et la survie dépendent de nombreux facteurs. Seul un médecin qui connaît bien les antécédents médicaux de la personne, le type de cancer dont elle est atteinte, le stade et les caractéristiques de la maladie, les traitements choisis et la réaction au traitement peut examiner toutes ces données de concert avec les statistiques de survie pour en arriver à un pronostic.

Traitements du cancer des os

Les traitements du cancer des os comportent: chirurgie, chimiothérapie, radiothérapie. Renseignez-vous sur les plans et choix de traitement du cancer des os.

Soins de soutien pour le cancer des os

Les soins de soutien permettent aux gens de surmonter les obstacles physiques, pratiques, émotifs et spirituels engendrés par le cancer des os. C'est une composante importante des soins apportés aux personnes atteintes de cancer. De nombreux programmes et services permettent de répondre aux besoins et d'améliorer la qualité de vie de ces femmes et de leurs proches, en particulier une fois que le traitement est terminé.

Recherche sur le cancer des os

Les chercheurs et les professionnels de la santé transforment les informations obtenues par la recherche en meilleures pratiques qui auront un effet sur la détection et le traitement du cancer des os et qui permettront également d’améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes du cancer des os.

Statistiques sur le cancer des os

Le cancer primitif des os (cancer qui débute dans l’os) est rare. Découvrez les statistiques canadiennes d’incidence et de mortalité sur ce cancer.