Research in bone cancer

We are always learning more about cancer. Researchers and healthcare professionals use what they learn from research studies to develop better ways to find and treat cancer. They are also looking for ways to improve the quality of life of people with cancer.

The following is a selection of research showing promise for treating bone cancer. We've included information from the following sources. Each item has an identity number that links to a brief overview (abstract).

  • PubMed, US National Library of Medicine (PMID)

  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)
  • Canadian Cancer Trials and ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT)

Surgery

Researchers are looking for the best ways to treat bone cancer using surgery and improve how surgery is done.

Computer-assisted surgery can be helpful in planning and making decisions about treatment. It can also improve the accuracy of surgery by guiding surgeons and giving them feedback. One study showed computer-assisted surgery gave outcomes similar to using fluoroscopy (which uses radiation) to plan surgery to treat grade 1 chondrosarcoma in long bones (PLoS One, PMID 29771927).

Chemotherapy

The following is noteworthy research in chemotherapy for bone cancer.

High-dose methotrexate is one of the chemotherapy drugs used to treat osteosarcoma. This drug is often given to children and young adults because it passes through their bodies quickly. The bodies of older adults can't remove this drug as quickly, so it can cause kidney problems. One study reported a new chemotherapy regimen using high-dose methotrexate with etoposide (Vepesid, VP-16) and ifosfamide (Ifex) was as effective as standard chemotherapy using high-dose methotrexate, doxorubicin (Adriamycin) and cisplatin for preoperative chemotherapy in adults 25 years and younger (European Journal of Cancer, PMID 29190507). Another study showed that protocols used for younger people can increase the survival in people older than 40 years of age with high-grade osteosarcoma, but side effects are much more severe in older people (Tumori, PMID 29218692).

Gemcitabine (Gemzar) combined with docetaxel (Taxotere) showed promise in one clinical trial for treating newly diagnosed high-risk Ewing sarcoma in children and adults (British Journal of Cancer, PMID 28787430).

Irinotecan (Camptosar) and temozolomide (Temodal) is an effective salvage chemotherapy regimen for relapsed Ewing sarcoma (ASCO, Abstract e22500).

Metformin and chloroquine are being studied in an early clinical trial to treat IDH1- or IDH2-mutated high-grade chondrosarcoma (BMJ Open, PMID 28601826).

Immunotherapy

Immunotherapy uses the immune system to help destroy cancer cells. Research is looking at new ways to use immunotherapy as a treatment for bone cancer, including the following.

Immune checkpoint inhibitors work by stopping cancer cells from affecting immune system cells in our bodies. The immune system normally stops itself from attacking healthy cells in the body by having some cells make specific proteins called checkpoints. Cancer cells sometimes use these checkpoints to avoid being attacked by the immune system. Immune checkpoint inhibitors are monoclonal antibodies that work by blocking checkpoint proteins so T cells (a type of white blood cell) can attack and kill cancer cells. Researchers are studying the following immune checkpoint inhibitors in early clinical trials to treat advanced bone cancers:

Dendritic cells are special immune cells in the body that help the immune system recognize cancer cells. An early study showed that dendritic cell therapy resulted in an immune response in people with refractory bone cancer, but it improved the outcome in only a small number of people (Cancer, PMID 28241093).

Targeted therapy

Targeted therapy uses drugs to target specific molecules (such as proteins) on or inside cancer cells. These molecules help send signals that tell cells to grow or divide. By targeting these molecules, the drugs stop the growth and spread of cancer cells while limiting harm to normal cells. The following is noteworthy research in targeted therapy for bone cancer.

Sorafenib (Nexavar) may be a treatment option for advanced chordoma. Results of a clinical trial show that sorafenib may improve progression-free survival, but more study is needed to find out what role it may have in treating this type of bone cancer (ASCO, Abstract 10520).

Tyrosine kinase inhibitors block a specific enzyme (called tyrosine kinase) that helps send signals within cells. When this enzyme is blocked, the cells stop growing and dividing. Researchers are looking at the following tyrosine kinase inhibitors in treating bone cancer that doesn't respond to other treatments:

mTOR inhibitors work by blocking mTOR, which is a protein that regulates cellular metabolism and growth and how quickly cells multiply. In early studies, researchers are looking for possible benefits of adding the following mTOR inhibitors to treatment regimens for advanced bone cancer:

  • ABI-009 (nab-sirolimus) with nivolumab for advanced chondrosarcoma, osteosarcoma and Ewing sarcoma (ASCO, Abstract 11057; ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT03190174)

  • sirolimus (Rapamune) with gemcitabine for advanced osteosarcoma (ASCO, Abstract 10530; Annals of Oncology, PMID 29045512)

Follow-up

Research is looking at ways to improve quality of life for cancer survivors. Lifelong follow-up is important for people who have bone cancer because the risk for late effects after treatment is very high and lasts for the rest of the person's life (Cancer, PMID 28222219).

Learn more about cancer research

Researchers continue to try to find out more about cancer. Clinical trials are research studies that test new ways to treat cancer. They also look at ways to prevent, find and manage cancer.

Clinical trials provide information about the safety and effectiveness of new approaches to see if they should become widely available. Most of the standard treatments for cancer were first shown to be effective through clinical trials.

Expert review and references

  • Amela E, Bompas E, Le Cesne A, Tresch E, Italiano A, Piperno-Neumann S, Collard O, et al . A phase II trial of sorafenib (SO) in advanced chordoma patients (pt). ASCO 2015 Annual Meeting. Alexandria, VA: American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2015.
  • Broto JM, Redondo A, Valverde CM, Vaz Salgado MA, Mora J, del Muro XG, Sancho Marquez MP, et al . Phase II trial of gemcitabine plus rapamycin as second line in advanced osteosarcoma: A Spanish Group for Sarcoma Research (GEIS) Study. ASCO 2015 Annual Meeting. Alexandria, VA: American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2015.
  • Carcano FM, dos Santos LV, Vidal DO, Lopes LF, da Silveria Nogeira Lima JP . Prognosis value of HER2 in osteosarcomas: A systematic review with meta-analysis. ASCO 2015 Annual Meeting. Alexandria, VA: American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2015.
  • Chawla NS . Sustained response of complex giant cell tumors with denosumab: single center 8-year experience. ASCO 2015 Annual Meeting. Alexandria, VA: American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2015.
  • Huang JF, Du WX, Chen JJ . Elevated expression of matrix metalloproteinase-3 in human osteosarcoma and its association with tumor metastasis. Journal of BUON. 2016.
  • Liu Y, Teng Z, Wang Y, Gao P, Chen J . Prognostic significance of surviving expression in osteosarcoma patients: a meta-analysis. Medical Science Monitor. International Scientific Information, Inc; 2015.
  • Lugowska I, Mikula M, Teterycz P, Kulecka M, Kluska A, Piatkowska M, et al . IDH mutations to predict shorter survival in chondrosarcoma. ASCO 2016 Annual Meeting. Alexandria, VA: American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2016.
  • Palmerini E, Picci P, Marchesi E, Staals EL, Cesari M, Longhi A, Paioli A, et al . High dose ifosfamide in metastatic high-grade osteosarcoma, after failure of standard multimodal chemotherapy. ASCO 2015 Annual Meeting. Alexandria, VA: American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2015.
  • van de Luijtgaarden AC, Kapusta L, Bellersen L, Bokkerink JP, Kaal SE, Versleijen-Jonkers YM, et al . High prevalence of late adverse events in malignant bone tumour survivors diagnosed at adult age. Netherlands Journal of Medicine. 2014.
  • Yu H, Yu J, Ren Y, Yang Y, Xiao X . Serum CEACAM1 level is associated with diagnosis and prognosis in patients with osteosarcoma. PLoS One. 2016.

Recherche sur le cancer des os

On en apprend toujours plus sur le cancer. Les chercheurs et les professionnels de la santé se servent de ce qu’ils ont appris lors des études de recherche pour élaborer de meilleures façons de détecter et de traiter le cancer. Les chercheurs tentent aussi de trouver comment améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes de cancer.

Le texte qui suit traite de différentes recherches qui se révèlent prometteuses dans le traitement du cancer des os. Nous avons inclus de l’information qui provient des sources suivantes. Chaque article comporte un numéro d’identification dont le lien mène à un bref résumé.

  • PubMed, US National Library of Medicine (PMID)

  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)
  • Essais canadiens sur le cancer et ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT)

Chirurgie

Des chercheurs tentent de trouver les meilleures façons de traiter le cancer des os à l’aide de la chirurgie et d’améliorer comment on pratique la chirurgie.

La chirurgie assistée par ordinateur peut être utile à la planification et à la prise de décisions en ce qui a trait au traitement. Elle permet de guider les chirurgiens et de leur fournir une rétroaction, ce qui peut aussi améliorer la précision de la chirurgie. Une étude a révélé que la chirurgie assistée par ordinateur avait donné des résultats semblables à ceux obtenus au moyen de la radioscopie (une technique de radiographie) pour planifier la chirurgie visant à traiter un chondrosarcome de grade 1 dans des os longs (PLoS One, PMID 29771927).

Chimiothérapie

Voici des recherches importantes sur la chimiothérapie du cancer des os.

Le méthotrexate à forte dose est un des agents chimiothérapeutiques employés pour traiter l’ostéosarcome. Ce médicament est souvent administré aux enfants et aux jeunes adultes puisqu’il est évacué du corps rapidement. Les corps d’adultes plus âgés ne peuvent éliminer ce médicament aussi vite et celui-ci peut donc causer des troubles rénaux. Une étude a indiqué qu’un nouveau protocole de chimiothérapie utilisant le méthotrexate à forte dose, l’étoposide (Vepesid, VP-16) et l’ifosfamide (Ifex) était aussi efficace que la chimiothérapie standard utilisant le méthotrexate à forte dose, la doxorubicine (Adriamycin) et le cisplatine pour la chimiothérapie préopératoire chez les adultes de 25 ans et moins (European Journal of Cancer, PMID 29190507). Une autre étude a montré que les protocoles utilisés pour les personnes plus jeunes peuvent améliorer la survie chez les personnes de plus de 40 ans atteintes d’un ostéosarcome de haut grade, mais que les effets secondaires sont beaucoup plus graves chez les personnes plus âgées (Tumori, PMID 29218692).

L’association de la gemcitabine (Gemzar) au docétaxel (Taxotere) s’est avérée prometteuse dans le cadre d’un essai clinique sur le traitement du sarcome d’Ewing à risque élevé récemment diagnostiqué chez les enfants et les adultes (British Journal of Cancer, PMID 28787430).

L’irinotécan (Camptosar) et le témozolomide (Temodal) constituent un protocole de chimiothérapie de rattrapage efficace dans le cas d’un sarcome d’Ewing récidivant (ASCO, Abstract e22500).

La metformine et la chloroquine sont actuellement à l’étude dans un essai clinique de phase précoce pour le traitement du chondrosarcome de haut grade ayant des mutations au gène IDH1 ou IDH2 (BMJ Open, PMID 28601826).

Immunothérapie

L'immunothérapie fait appel au système immunitaire pour aider à détruire les cellules cancéreuses. Des chercheurs étudient de nouvelles façons d’utiliser l’immunothérapie comme traitement du cancer des os, notamment les suivantes.

Les inhibiteurs du point de contrôle immunitaire empêchent les cellules cancéreuses d’affecter les cellules du système immunitaire de notre corps. Le système immunitaire s’empêche habituellement d’attaquer les cellules saines en ayant recours à certaines de ses cellules pour fabriquer des protéines spécifiques appelées points de contrôle. Les cellules cancéreuses se servent parfois de ces points de contrôle pour éviter d’être attaquées par le système immunitaire. Les inhibiteurs du point de contrôle immunitaire sont des anticorps monoclonaux qui bloquent les protéines spécifiques des points de contrôle, permettant ainsi aux cellules T (type de globule blanc) d’attaquer et de détruire les cellules cancéreuses. Les chercheurs sont en train d’étudier les inhibiteurs du point de contrôle immunitaire suivants dans des essais cliniques de phase précoce portant sur le cancer des os avancé :

  • le nivolumab (Opdivo) pour l’ostéosarcome, le chondrosarcome ou le sarcome d’Ewing (ASCO, Abstract 11057; ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT03190174);

  • le camrélizumab et l’apatinib pour l’ostéosarcome (ASCO, Abstract 11013).

Les cellules dendritiques sont des cellules immunitaires particulières dans le corps qui aident le système immunitaire à reconnaître les cellules cancéreuses. Une étude préliminaire a révélé que le traitement par des cellules dendritiques avait engendré une réaction immunitaire chez des personnes atteintes d’un cancer des os réfractaire, mais qu’il n’avait amélioré les résultats à l’issue du traitement que chez un petit nombre de personnes seulement (Cancer, PMID 28241093).

Traitement ciblé

Le traitement ciblé a recours à des médicaments pour cibler des molécules spécifiques, comme des protéines, présentes à la surface ou à l’intérieur des cellules cancéreuses. Ces molécules contribuent à l’envoi de signaux qui indiquent aux cellules de croître ou de se diviser. En ciblant ces molécules, les médicaments interrompent la croissance et la propagation des cellules cancéreuses tout en limitant les dommages aux cellules normales. Voici des recherches importantes sur le traitement ciblé pour le cancer des os.

Le sorafenid (Nexavar) pourrait constituer une option thérapeutique dans le cas du chordome de stade avancé. Les résultats d’un essai clinique montrent que le sorafenib peut améliorer la survie sans évolution, mais on devra effectuer plus d’études pour savoir quel rôle ce médicament peut jouer dans le traitement de ce type de cancer des os (ASCO, Abstract 10520).

Les inhibiteurs de la tyrosine kinase bloquent une enzyme particulière (appelée tyrosine kinase) qui contribue à l’envoi de signaux dans les cellules. Lorsque cette enzyme est bloquée, les cellules cessent de croître et de se diviser. Des chercheurs étudient actuellement ces inhibiteurs de la tyrosine kinase pour le traitement du cancer des os qui ne répond pas aux autres options thérapeutiques :

  • le dasatinib (Sprycel) pour le chondrosarcome et le chordome (Cancer, PMID 27696380; PMID 26710211);

  • l’anlotinib et l’irinotécan pour le sarcome d’Ewing avancé (ASCO, Abstract 11012; ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT03416517);
  • l’apatinib et le camrélizumab pour l’ostéosarcome de haut grade non résécable (ASCO, Abstract 11013).

Les inhibiteurs de la mTOR bloquent l’action de la mTOR, une protéine qui contrôle le métabolisme et la croissance des cellules ainsi que la rapidité à laquelle elles se multiplient. Dans le cadre d’études préliminaires, des chercheurs étudient les avantages possibles de l’ajout des inhibiteurs de la mTOR qui suivent aux protocoles de traitement du cancer des os avancé :

  • l’ABI-009 (nab-sirolimus) et le nivolumab pour le chondrosarcome, l’ostéosarcome et le sarcome d’Ewing de stade avancé (ASCO, Abstract 11057; ClinitalTrials.gov, NCT03190174);

  • le sirolimus (Rapamune) et la gemcitabine pour l’ostéosarcome de stade avancé (ASCO, Abstract 10530; Annals of Oncology, PMID 29045512).

Suivi

La recherche se penche sur les moyens d’améliorer la qualité de vie des survivants du cancer. Il est important que les personnes atteintes d’un cancer des os soient suivies toute leur vie, car le risque d’effets secondaires tardifs après le traitement est très élevé et demeure présent pour le reste de la vie de ces personnes (Cancer, PMID 28222219).

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la recherche sur le cancer

Les chercheurs tentent toujours d’en savoir davantage sur le cancer. L’essai clinique est une étude de recherche lors de laquelle on met à l’essai de nouvelles façons de traiter le cancer. On évalue également des manières de prévenir le cancer, de le trouver ou de le gérer.

L’essai clinique permet d'obtenir des renseignements sur l'innocuité et l'efficacité de nouvelles approches afin de déterminer si elles doivent être offertes à plus grande échelle. La plupart des traitements standards du cancer ont d'abord démontré leur efficacité en essai clinique.

Révision par les experts et références

  • Amela E, Bompas E, Le Cesne A, Tresch E, Italiano A, Piperno-Neumann S, Collard O, et al . A phase II trial of sorafenib (SO) in advanced chordoma patients (pt). ASCO 2015 Annual Meeting. Alexandria, VA: American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2015.
  • Broto JM, Redondo A, Valverde CM, Vaz Salgado MA, Mora J, del Muro XG, Sancho Marquez MP, et al . Phase II trial of gemcitabine plus rapamycin as second line in advanced osteosarcoma: A Spanish Group for Sarcoma Research (GEIS) Study. ASCO 2015 Annual Meeting. Alexandria, VA: American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2015.
  • Carcano FM, dos Santos LV, Vidal DO, Lopes LF, da Silveria Nogeira Lima JP . Prognosis value of HER2 in osteosarcomas: A systematic review with meta-analysis. ASCO 2015 Annual Meeting. Alexandria, VA: American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2015.
  • Chawla NS . Sustained response of complex giant cell tumors with denosumab: single center 8-year experience. ASCO 2015 Annual Meeting. Alexandria, VA: American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2015.
  • Huang JF, Du WX, Chen JJ . Elevated expression of matrix metalloproteinase-3 in human osteosarcoma and its association with tumor metastasis. Journal of BUON. 2016.
  • Liu Y, Teng Z, Wang Y, Gao P, Chen J . Prognostic significance of surviving expression in osteosarcoma patients: a meta-analysis. Medical Science Monitor. International Scientific Information, Inc; 2015.
  • Lugowska I, Mikula M, Teterycz P, Kulecka M, Kluska A, Piatkowska M, et al . IDH mutations to predict shorter survival in chondrosarcoma. ASCO 2016 Annual Meeting. Alexandria, VA: American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2016.
  • Palmerini E, Picci P, Marchesi E, Staals EL, Cesari M, Longhi A, Paioli A, et al . High dose ifosfamide in metastatic high-grade osteosarcoma, after failure of standard multimodal chemotherapy. ASCO 2015 Annual Meeting. Alexandria, VA: American Society of Clinical Oncology; 2015.
  • van de Luijtgaarden AC, Kapusta L, Bellersen L, Bokkerink JP, Kaal SE, Versleijen-Jonkers YM, et al . High prevalence of late adverse events in malignant bone tumour survivors diagnosed at adult age. Netherlands Journal of Medicine. 2014.
  • Yu H, Yu J, Ren Y, Yang Y, Xiao X . Serum CEACAM1 level is associated with diagnosis and prognosis in patients with osteosarcoma. PLoS One. 2016.